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This fact sheet is intended to help you become more familiar with Minnesota tax 
laws and your rights and responsibilities under the laws. Nothing in this fact sheet 
supersedes, alters, or otherwise changes any provisions of the tax law, administrative 
rules, court decisions, or revenue notices.  Alternative formats available upon request. 
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What’s New  
Starting October 1, 2021, the TAM fee will decrease to 6 cents and the E911 fee will decrease to 80 cents.  

Prepaid wireless E911 and Telecommunications Access Minnesota (TAM) fees are reported and paid to the Minnesota 
Department of Revenue.  

Revenue from the fees is used as follows: 

 E911 – For improvements to “enhanced 911” services that let wireless callers use the 911 emergency calling 
system. 

 TAM – For relay centers and equipment that help people with hearing or speech disabilities communicate by 
phone. 

The fees are similar to 911 and TAM fees on monthly landline or wireless bills.  

Collecting the Fees 

Starting October 1, 2021, the TAM fee will decrease to 6 cents. The E911 fee will decrease to 80 cents – or $0.86 in all. 
The fees apply to each retail sale of an item that is subject to them. The fees are the same regardless of the amount of time 
purchased.   

For example, if a customer buys 10 prepaid wireless service cards, the fees apply to each card purchased. (That is, 10 x 
$0.86 = $8.60) 

The fees must be combined into one amount and listed separate from other charges on the invoice or receipt.  

Individuals, institutions, businesses, non-profit organizations, local government agencies, and the state of Minnesota must 
pay the fees.  

Federal government agencies are exempt from the fees.  

Items Subject to the Fees 

"Prepaid wireless calling service," means a telecommunications service that: 

1) provides the right to utilize mobile wireless service as well as other nontelecommunications services, including 
the download of digital products delivered electronically, content, and ancillary services; 

2) must be paid for in advance; and 

3) is sold in predetermined units or dollars of which the number declines with use in a known amount; or 

4) provides unlimited use for a predetermined time period. 

 
The E911 and TAM fees apply to sales of prepaid wireless telecommunications services, including: 

 Cell phones bundled with prepaid service 

 Prepaid wireless phone cards 
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 Recharge or refill authorization codes for wireless services 

 Other prepaid wireless devices preloaded or bundled with wireless airtime minutes  

Note: State and local sales taxes still apply to prepaid wireless telecommunications services, in addition to E911 and 
TAM fees. 

Prepaid wireless telecommunications services do not include sales of traditional prepaid long distance telephone cards, 
including prepaid international calling cards, used for either: 

 landlines or payphones 

 a wireless device where the wireless subscriber already has airtime minutes available 
 
Note: The state and local sales taxes still apply to these sales.  

Fee Exemptions 

The E911 and TAM fees are not due if you charge one price for a wireless device (i.e., a phone) with a small amount of 
prepaid service. A “small amount” is up to 10 minutes or $5 worth of airtime.  

Fee Changes 

The fee amounts may change. If they do, we will list the new amounts in this fact sheet. The Department of Public Safety 
will also list the new amounts on their website: www.dps.mn.gov. Any changes will be listed at least 30 days before the 
changes take effect.  

Note: It is the responsibility of retailers to monitor the department’s website for notice of fee changes. 

Reporting the Fees 

Report these fees on the Prepaid Wireless E911/TAM Fee line of your Minnesota Sales and Use Tax return.  

 Enter the number of retail transactions in the Amount field. 

 Enter the total fees collected LESS the 3% seller’s fee (see below) in the Tax due field. 

 The first time you report the fees, you will need to add the line for these fees to your return. If you file online, you 
can add the line when filing. 

The department can audit your return for E911 and TAM fees, just as we do for other taxes and fees. We can also assess 
penalties and interest if you are not collecting and sending the fees to us, as required by law. 

Seller’s Fee Retention 

If you sell prepaid wireless telecommunications services subject to the fees, you can deduct 3% of the E911 and TAM 
fees you collect and keep this amount as a seller’s fee. 

Prior Fees 

The prior E911 and TAM fees are listed below.  
 

Dates E911 Fee TAM Fee Total Fees 
9/1/2019 – 9/31/2021 95 cents 7 cents $1.02 

8/1/2016 – 8/31/2019 95 cents 5 cents $1.00 
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1/1/2016 – 7/31/2016 95 cents 7 cents $1.02 

12/1/2014 – 12/31/2015 78 cents 8 cents 86 cents 

1/1/2014 – 11/30/2014 78 cents 6 cents 84 cents 

Legal References 
Minnesota Statutes 403, 911 Emergency communications system 
Minnesota Statutes 297A, General Sales and Use Taxes 
Minnesota Statutes 270C, Department of Revenue 
Minnesota Statutes 289A, Administration and Compliance 
 
Other Fact Sheets 
Telecommunications, Pay Television, and Related Services 


