Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
I want to:   

What's New?


REAL ID Will Require Additional Documents When Applying

REAL ID driver's licenseWhile there is no need for Minnesotans to obtain a REAL ID for two years, those who choose to apply for one will need to bring in more documentation than is needed for standard driver’s license.

To apply for a REAL ID, Minnesotans will need to present the following documents in person:

• One document proving identity, date of birth and legal presence in the    United States, such as a passport or a birth certificate.

• One document proving social security number.

• Two documents proving current residency in Minnesota. Examples    include a valid driver’s license or ID card, a cancelled check or a credit    card statement.

Here is the full list of accepted documentation.

Buckling Up: It's Not the 'why,' It's the 'Whether'

A seat belt being buckledThe 2018 Minnesota Seat Belt Survey shows that 92 percent of us wear our seat belts in the front seat. The numbers are similar for our kids, too: In Minnesota crashes from 2013 to 2017 in which children ages 0-7 were properly restrained, 87 percent of them were not injured.

But unbuckled drivers and passengers remain a problem here in Minnesota. That’s why more than 300 law enforcement agencies throughout the state will participate in extra seat belt and child restraint enforcement from Sept 17-29.

Learn more in our latest blog.


Driver’s License Agent Offices will be Closed Sept. 28 and 29

Driver’s License Agent offices will be closed on Friday, Sept. 28, and Saturday, Sept. 29, to transition to a new driver’s license system that will be able to issue REAL IDs in Minnesota. Some offices may choose to offer limited services on those days related to motor vehicles only. Please call ahead to find out which offices will be open for those services.

Remember: You will be able to apply for a REAL ID-compliant card beginning Oct. 1, but you have two years to obtain one if you choose. That means you will be able to use your standard license or ID card for federal purposes, including boarding domestic flights, until Oct. 1, 2020.

Featured Video

Video Description: These Highland Park Senior High School students know safety is the top priority when they are behind the wheel or are a passenger.