is enabled and that cookies are turned on.
Each category (like About the DPS), has multiple sub-categories. To browse these
categories, please click on the links in the global navigation bar, and you will
be presented with these links.
If you have any questions, please see the Help Section or contact us.
We apologize for any inconvenience.
Back to Search Steps
Driver’s licenses expire on a person’s birthday, unless you have a provisional. If renewed on or before the expiration date, driving privileges will continue without interruption.
Anyone turning 21 years of age should not renew a license until 3 weeks before their 21st birthday.
Medical WaiverA commercial driver may be granted a waiver from the following physical qualification requirements: vision, insulin-dependent diabetes, deaf and hard of hearing and limb impairment.
If your medical examiner’s certificate is only valid with a vision, diabetes or a skills performance evaluation waiver granted by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Association (FMCSA), or if you are an intrastate driver with a MnDOT waiver or hold a DVS School Bus Waiver, you must also provide a copy of your waiver.To obtain a federal exemption or waiver, you must contact the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Association (FMCSA), which will advise on how to proceed.Diabetes/Vision waivers: http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov/rules-regulations/topics/medical/exemptions.htmSkill Performance: http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov/rules-regulations/topics/medical/spepackage.htmFMCSA Phone: 1 (800) 832-5660FMCSA Midwestern Service Center: (708) 283-3577For information about MnDOT waivers, contact the MnDOT Driver Medical Program at (651) 366-3674.
Adding EndorsementsWith a Class B CDL, you are eligible for endorsements on your license. Refer to the CDL Endorsements and Restrictions Page for more information.
Refer to the Complete Driver’s License Fee Page to see all fees, including endorsement and reinstatement fees.
Medical Self-CertificationReference: Minnesota Statutes, sections 171.162, 221.031 and 221.0314, and 49 CFR 383.71 and 383.73.
Minnesota Commercial Driver’s License Manual
Motor Carrier Safety Improvement Act
Requisitos de Identificacion
Full Face Photo Example
Medical Examination Report for Commercial Driver Fitness (PS30158)
Commercial Driver's License Medical Self-Certification Form (PS33203)
Medical Conditions and Your License - Just the Facts
Expedited (Fast Track) Driver's License - Just the Facts
Department of Transportation Website - Commercial Vehicle Operation PageMinnesota State Patrol Commercial Vehicles Page
CDL Medical Self-Certification FAQs
CDL Medical Self-certification Information Sheet
How early can I renew?As long as you are over age 21, you can renew your CDL at any time. If you are turning 21, wait to renew until at least 3 weeks before your 21st birthday.What if my license is currently canceled, suspended or revoked?Refer to the following pages:
Effective January 1, 2014, the driver’s license filing fee which pays for the costs of the services provided in the driver’s license/ID card issuance process, increases from $5 to $8, as required by Minn. Stat. 171.061, HF 1444, Chapter 117.
Starting January 30, 2012, if you hold a commercial driver’s license (CDL) or are applying for a CDL, you will need to certify the following information with Driver and Vehicle Services (DVS):
Driver and Vehicle Services – Central OfficeTown Square Building445 Minnesota Street, Suite 190Saint Paul, MN 55101-5190
Endorsements and Restrictions for CDL PageSchool Bus Endorsement PageMotorcycle Permit/Endorsement StepsCDL Disqualification Page
Class A - Renew Driver's License Page
Class C - Renew Driver's License PageClass D - Renew Driver's License PageDVS Office LocationsMotor Carrier Information PageTransportation Security Administration Hazardous Material Endorsement Enrollment Website
Federal Motor Carrier Safety Association (FMCSA) Website