is enabled and that cookies are turned on.
Each category (like About the DPS), has multiple sub-categories. To browse these
categories, please click on the links in the global navigation bar, and you will
be presented with these links.
If you have any questions, please see the Help Section or contact us.
We apologize for any inconvenience.
Back to Search Steps
Minnesota requires the registration of Concrete Pumpers and Truck-mounted Street Sweepers.
Commercial Concrete Pumper and Street Sweeper License Plate Image
Registration Period: March 1 through February 28 (29 in leap years) of the following year.
The plate for vehicles registered under this subdivision is a distinctive powder blue.
In order to qualify for the reduced six (6)-axle tax rate, a vehicle must be operated on six (6) or more axles for the entire registration period. If the vehicle operates at variable axles (5 or 6), then the five (5)-axle tax applies.
In late December, the owner on record will be mailed a renewal notice. Proof of payment of heavy vehicle use tax (HVUT) is required to renew the registration of any truck with a registered gross weight of 55,000 pounds or more.
You must make axle declaration if the vehicle is registered at 73,281 pounds or more. To continue to qualify for reduced tax rate, the vehicle must be used on at least six (6) axles for the entire registration period.
There is no penalty for delayed or late registration; however, the vehicle cannot be operated on the streets or highways with expired registration.
Minnesota requires the registration of concrete pumpers and truck-mounted street sweepers at 15 percent of the annual base tax.
See the Registration Tax Page to for more information.
Initial Registration: $8.50 fee is due at time of initial registration or (if applicable) when registration is converted from Y-class to 15 percent base.
Refer to License Plate Fee Page and Special Plate Brochure or contact DVS at (651) 297-2126 for more information on fees.
Minn. Stat. § 168.013(11)
Digital Plate Technology
In 2008, Minnesota began to transition to digital license plate (DLP) technology. For the past several years, Minnesota has used digital license plate technology to produce the Critical Habitat Loon and Support Our Troops license plates. In 2008, Minnesota began to transition passenger plates to DLP. Eventually, all license plates in Minnesota will be manufactured using the DLP system. Digital License Plates are flat. The license plate numbers produced for the DLP system are black. If you have questions about the DLP system, please contact DVS at (651) 284-3896.
It will take several years to transition all Minnesota plates to DLP. In the meantime, many vehicles will continue to display license plates that are made of reflectorized sheeting applied to steel or aluminum. In most cases the letter and number characters are embossed and are non-reflective.License plates issued to passenger automobiles and dealer license plates are replaced at seven (7) year intervals; all other license plates are issued for the life of the vehicle.
Driver and Vehicle Services – Central OfficeTown Square Building445 Minnesota Street, Suite 164Saint Paul, MN 55101-5164Email:Motor Vehicle DVS.firstname.lastname@example.orgPhone:Motor Vehicles: (651) 297-2126Special Plates: (651) 297-3166Digital License Plates: (651) 284-3896Office Locations: (651) 297-2005Assistance for Hearing Impaired Callers (TDD/TTY): (651) 282-6555
DVS Office Locations