is enabled and that cookies are turned on.
Each category (like About the DPS), has multiple sub-categories. To browse these
categories, please click on the links in the global navigation bar, and you will
be presented with these links.
If you have any questions, please see the Help Section or contact us.
We apologize for any inconvenience.
Back to Search Steps
Anyone who transports material found to be hazardous and that requires the motor vehicle to be placarded under Code of Federal Regulations, title 49, parts 100-180 (see links below for additional information) must have a Hazardous Materials Endorsement (HME). In order to have a Hazardous Materials Endorsement (HME) a Federal TSA background check is required under Code of Federal Regulations, Title 49, part 1572.
You must have or qualify for a CDL. See the Minnesota Commercial Driver’s Manual or Apply for Commercial License Steps (select Class then prompted to select Apply) for more information. If you qualify or hold a CDL, follow the steps below to add the Hazardous Material Endorsement (HME):
If you have an existing HME and no longer want the HME or don’t qualify for an HME, make a written, signed statement to that effect when you renew your CDL.
How to Renew Your Minnesota CDL Hazardous Materials Endorsement:You must do this at least 30 days before your license expires in order to maintain continuous Hazmat privileges.
For more information on the fingerprinting application process, visit the Transportation Security Administration Website or call toll free 1 (855) DHS-UES1 - 1 (855) 347-8371.
TSA Application Fee: $86.50 – refer to Transportation Security Administration Website for more information on the federal regulationsRefer to the Complete Driver’s License Fee Page, to see all fees related to Commercial Driver’s Licenses and endorsements.
The USA PATRIOT Act requires all drivers who transport hazardous materials to undergo a security threat assessment. The Transportation Security Administration (TSA), which is part of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security, administers the threat assessment. *This rule does not apply to applicants for, or holders of, a commercial driver's license (CDL) who do not wish to hold a Hazardous Materials Endorsement (HME). TSA rules require that you apply at least 30 days before you license is due to expire.For more information on the federal regulations, including a list of disqualifying offenses, visit the Transportation Security Administration Website.
Minnesota Commercial Driver's Manual
I have an HME, but I do not use it, are fingerprints required?If you wish, you can drop the endorsement when you apply for another license by submitting a written, signed statement. If you want to keep the endorsement, fingerprints are required before renewal. How much will the threat assessment cost?The fee established by federal rule appears on the Transportation Security Administration WebsiteCan I have fingerprints taken at my local law enforcement office?No, an authorized TSA agent must collect your fingerprints.Do I still have to take the HME knowledge test before I renew my CDL?Yes, you are still required to pass the HME knowledge test before renewing your CDL with HME.What happens if I am not fingerprinted at least 30 days before my CDL expires?Minnesota can renew your CDL, but cannot issue you the HME until TSA gives approval. That means that you will not be able to transport Hazardous Material loads in the meantime.What if I’m on the road when I have to be fingerprinted?You can go to the TSA agent in Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Louisiana, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Rhode Island, South Dakota, Utah, Washington, West Virginia or Wyoming. I have a restricted seasonal farm CDL. Do I have to be fingerprinted? No, only drivers who have or who are required to have an HME must be fingerprinted.I only have a CDL instruction permit. Can I be fingerprinted now or do I have to wait until I've passed the road test?You can be fingerprinted now. The sooner you start the process, the better.What if I didn't get a renewal notice?A renewal notice is mailed at least 60 days before expiration to the address on your CDL. Even if you don't receive the notice, you are still required to renew your CDL and comply with state and federal regulations. Remember, if you move, the law requires you to apply for a duplicate license (select Class then prompted to select Get Duplicate) within 30 days that displays your change of address.How early can I renew?As long as you are over age 21, you can renew your CDL at any time. See Commercial Renew License Steps (select Class then prompted to select Renew).
Who can I contact if I have questions?
For questions about the fingerprinting process, including the status of your application, visit the TSA Website or call toll free 1 (855) DHS-UES1 - 1 (855) 347-8371
Mail:Driver and Vehicle Services – Central OfficeTown Square Building445 Minnesota Street, Suite 188Saint Paul, MN 55101-5188
Transportation Security Administration WebsiteDVS Office Locations