is enabled and that cookies are turned on.
Each category (like About the DPS), has multiple sub-categories. To browse these
categories, please click on the links in the global navigation bar, and you will
be presented with these links.
If you have any questions, please see the Help Section or contact us.
We apologize for any inconvenience.
Back to Search Steps
A certificate of title is proof of vehicle ownership. You may transfer the ownership of a vehicle at any deputy registrar office. If a vehicle is purchased through a licensed Minnesota dealer, the dealer will take care of the transfer paperwork.
Minnesota titles cars, trucks, motorcycles, buses, vans and large trailers. Except in special situations, the transfer of ownership must take place on the certificate of title. Minnesota does not title utility, boat or snowmobile trailers with a gross vehicle weight less than 3,000 pounds unless there is a lien on the vehicle or the vehicle has been previously titled.
When Minnesota or another state has issued a certificate of title to a vehicle, the transfer of ownership must be recorded on the certificate of title and the title submitted with transfer fees by mail to DVS or in person at a local deputy registrar office.
Driver and Vehicle Services - Central Office Town Square Building 445 Minnesota Street, Suite 187 Saint Paul, MN 55101-5187
If the title has been lost, the owner of record must obtain a duplicate title before s/he can complete the transfer of ownership.
Current Minnesota titles have a Minnesota Motor Vehicle Registration Card and a Recorded Owner(s) Record of Sale. When the vehicle is sold, the seller should complete and remove the The Recorded Owner(s) Record of Sale stub from the title. The seller is required to report the sale of the vehicle by mailing the stub to DVS (see address above) or by filing a report of sale online.
If the vehicle has never been titled, the Minnesota registration card is acceptable proof of ownership.
Refer to the Buying or Selling a Motor Vehicle - Just the Facts for all the information regarding transferring vehicle ownership.
6.5% of the purchase price of the vehicle unless the purchase is exempt from sales tax or qualifies for one of the following in-lieu taxes:
When transferring a motor vehicle, Registration Tax must be at an unexpired status
Refer to the Motor Vehicle Sales Tax Page for more information.
Title Transfer Fees
Transfer Tax: $10
Public Safety Vehicle Fee: $3.50
Filing Fee: $10
*These are typical transfer fees for a titled vehicle, refer to the Title/Transfer Fees Page for a complete list of fees.
Minnesota Statutes 168A.05
Minnesota Statutes 168A.17, subd.3
Minnesota Statute 168A.10
Application to Title and Register a Motor Vehicle (PS2000)
Notification of Lien Grant, Release and Reassignment Form (PS2017)
Application for Duplicate Title, Registration, Cab or Lien Card (PS2067A)
Affidavit to Correct the Ownership Record of a Motor Vehicle (PS2025)
Application for Corrected Title/Odometer (PS2025)
Buying or Selling a Motor Vehicle - Just the Facts
Expedited (Fast Track) Title - Just the Facts
Claim for Motor Vehicle Refund Form (PS2511)
What if I haven’t received my title?
If you have not received your title within a 6 month period, your application for duplicate title will be processed at no fee.
Driver and Vehicle Services – Central OfficeTown Square Building445 Minnesota Street, Suite 187Saint Paul, MN 55101-5187
DVS Office Locations
New Resident Title Transfer Page
Deceased Relative Title Transfer Page
No Proof of Ownership Title Transfer Page
Non-Titled Vehicle Transfer Page
Tabs/Vehicle Registration Steps (select Type of Registration)
Status of Tabs
Automobile Insurance Page
U.S. Department of Transportation Website
Disability License Plates Page
DVS Forms/Documents Library