New residents have a 60-day grace period in which to register their cars, passenger vans, 3/4 ton or less pickups, motorcycles, utility trailers or house trailers as long as the displayed license plates are current. If your registration expires before the 60-day grace period is up, you must obtain Minnesota registration at the time of expiration. If the registration currently displayed on the vehicle is expired, or if you had to surrender your license plates in your previous state of residency, you must apply for Minnesota registration immediately.
What you will Need
Proof of vehicle ownership
This will be your current vehicle title or, when the title is not available, the current registration card.
- If the title reflects a lien and it has been paid, you may submit a lien release at this time.
- If your title is held by a lending institution, surrender your current registration card. A Minnesota title will not be issued until you surrender the foreign state title.
Completed Application to Title and Register a Motor Vehicle (PS2000)
This form is also available at any Motor Vehicle Deputy Registrar office statewide.
- If the vehicle is under joint ownership, only one owner is required to sign the Minnesota application.
- You must record the current odometer reading on your vehicle.
Refer to the Buying or Selling a Motor Vehicle - Just the Facts for all the information regarding transferring vehicle ownership.
Acceptable forms of Identification can be found in these documents:
Provide a copy of your leasing agreement or a power of attorney agreement between the leasing company and you. Also furnish the leasing company's Minnesota Tax ID number.
Motor Vehicle Fees
Refer to the Title/Transfer Fees Page for registering your vehicle in MN.
Minnesota has an "ad valorem" registration tax system for passenger class vehicles. The age of the vehicle is also a factor in determining passenger registration tax. The minimum tax for vehicles 10 years old and older is $35. To determine your registration tax, you may wish to contact (651) -297-2126 or a Motor Vehicle Deputy Registrar office.
The Minnesota No-Fault Act (Minnesota Statute 65B.48) requires motor vehicle owners to maintain "no fault insurance." The law means that it's a crime for an owner to operate (or permit operation) of uninsured motorcycles or motor vehicles on public roads and highways. Violations may result in fines, imprisonment, and/or revocation of driving privileges and license plates. Minnesota Statute 169.791 requires that proof of insurance be in the vehicle at all times and shown to a peace officer upon demand.
Read about Automobile Insurance for more information. See the Automobile Insurance Page for more details.