is enabled and that cookies are turned on.
Each category (like About the DPS), has multiple sub-categories. To browse these
categories, please click on the links in the global navigation bar, and you will
be presented with these links.
If you have any questions, please see the Help Section or contact us.
We apologize for any inconvenience.
Back to Search Steps
When tangible proof of ownership cannot be established, and DVS does not have a record of ownership or registration, the No Proof of Ownership process must be followed.
This procedure does not apply if there is an ownership record for the vehicle in Minnesota, or if DVS or the customer is aware of a title issued in another state.
If DVS has an ownership record for the vehicle, the title must be submitted with a complete chain of ownership. If this is not possible and the vehicle is six (6) model years or older, the customer must refer to the "defective title" bond process described below.
A foreign state registration is not acceptable proof of ownership for titling purposes. If the customer cannot present the foreign state title, the owner must follow the procedure outlined below.
When tangible proof of ownership cannot be established, and DVS has no record of the vehicle, and the customer is not aware of a title issued in another state, s/he must submit the following:
"Defective Title" Bond Process
Reference: Minn. Stat. 168A.07
A “Defective Title Bond” may be provided by an applicant when s/he cannot supply the required documents or information to transfer a vehicle, and the vehicle is six model years or older.
This does not include manufactured homes, mobile homes. This cannot be used for no proof of ownership transactions.
Policies and Procedures:When an applicant has exhausted all avenues to obtain the required documents or signatures to transfer ownership of a motor vehicle, the applicant must follow procedure outlined below:
6.5% of the purchase price of the vehicle unless the purchase is exempt from sales tax or qualifies for one of the following in-lieu taxes:
When transferring a motor vehicle, Registration Tax must be at an unexpired status
Refer to the Motor Vehicle Sales Tax Page for more information.
Title Transfer Fees
Title Fee: $7.25 (an additional $2 is due for each lien record)
Transfer Tax: $10
Public Safety Vehicle Fee: $3.50
Filing Fee: $10
*These are typical transfer fees for a titled vehicle, refer to the Title/Transfer Fees Page for a complete list of fees.
Minnesota Statutes 168A.05
Minnesota Statute 168A.10
Affidavit to Correct the Ownership Record of a Motor Vehicle (PS2025)
Application to Title and Register a Motor Vehicle (PS2000)
Notification of Lien Grant, Release and Reassignment Form (PS2017)
Expedited (Fast Track) Title - Just the Facts
Claim for Motor Vehicle Refund Form (PS2511)
Effective July 1, 2012 Minnesota’s $1.75 Technology Fee, applied to many driver and vehicle services transactions for several years to help pay for Driver and Vehicle Services technology upgrades, will be reduced to $1. Thus, several driver and vehicle transactions will reflect a new fee.
Driver and Vehicle Services – Central OfficeTown Square Building445 Minnesota Street, Suite 180Saint Paul, MN 55101-5180
DVS Office Locations
Automobile Insurance Page
U.S. Department of Transportation (DOT) Website
Tabs/Vehicle Registration Steps (select Type of Registration)
Status of Tabs
DVS Forms/Documents Library