In order to receive a Minnesota Identification Card while temporarily not residing in the state of Minnesota, an out-of-state application packet must be completed. To request the Out-Of-State Driver’s License/ID Card Renewal Guide, contact DVS by phone (651) 297-3298. Or, send an email to email@example.com and include your:
Date of birth
Once the packet is received, be sure to follow the instruction sheet and to have met all requirements listed in the checklist. These requirements include:
- Answering all the questions on the application
- Signing your application and having it notarized (keep the yellow copy for your records)
- Enclose check/money order for all fees – if expediting the application, a separate check is required.
DVS will use the photo and signature already on record for your new card. However, if you are renewing your identification card, you must visit a DVS Office Locations within 30 days of your return to Minnesota to have a new photo taken.
Once the completed Out-Of-State application is mailed to DVS, allow six weeks for receipt of your new card; if you select to expedite your application (an additional $20 fee), allow two weeks for receipt of your new card.
Expedited applications cannot be mailed to a post office box, APO military address or foreign country address. If you have one of these addresses, the regular out-of-state procedure will be used.
Name Change Verification
Minnesota law requires that you apply for a new identification card within 30 days of legally changing your name.
You must provide your current identification card and a certified marriage certificate, a certified divorce or dissolution of marriage decree specifying the name change, or other certified court order specifying the name change, along with the out-of-state application.