Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
 
DVS Logo

Driver and Vehicle Services

A Division of the Minnesota Department of Public Safety
 

Title/Transfer Fees

Typical fees to transfer and title a vehicle:

  • Title Fee: $8.25 (plus $2 for each lien recorded)  
  • Transfer Tax: $10 
  • Public Safety Vehicle Fee: $3.50
  • Technology Surcharge: $2.25 
  • Filing Fee: $11 
  • Motor Vehicle Sales Tax Page  
​The typical fees listed above do not include registration tax, as that is determined for each specific vehicle. 

Listed below are additional or different fess which may apply to specific title transactions. To verify fees, please contact Motor Vehicle Services at DVS.motor.vehicles@state.mn.us.
 

Fee Chart

  

​Type of Fee

​Cost

​Details

 Filing Fee

$11
Due with each title transaction.
 Technology Surcharge ​$2.25 ​Due with each title transaction except when the only change is the addition or remval of a lien holder. 

 Title Fee

$8.25
Due on all initial applications for title and title transfers; including:
 
  • Each time a title is issued
  • Repossessions
  • Corrections on titles
  • Name changes

 Duplicate Title Fee

$7.25
 

Duplicate Lien Card Fee

 

​No Fee There is no fee for a duplicate lien card. However, a deputy registrar may charge the $11 filing fee.​

 Grant of Security Interest (Lien)

$2
 

 Late Transfer Penalty

 

$2
Due if a transfer is not submitted within 10 business days of the sale date.

 Non-Title Transfer

$3
 

 Public Safety Vehicle Fee

$3.50
Not due on transfers of non-titled trailers.

 Assignment of Security Interest

$1
 

 Release of Security Interest

 

Varies
No fee, if submitted with another transaction.  However, the $11 filing fee is due to clear a lien from a title.

 Title Transfer Fee

 

$0.00
Removed as of Jan. 1, 2017.
Due for each additional dealer reassignment on a Minnesota title.

 Transfer Tax

 

$10
Not due on these applications:

  • To transfer from joint to single ownership (the fee is due to transfer from single to joint ownership)
  • In a licensed dealer name (if held for resale)
  • In the name of a government entity
  • In the owner’s name listed on the foreign state title or registration card
  • For vehicles weighing less than 1,000 pounds