Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Vehicle Title Transfer

headlamp-web.jpg

Important Note:

 

As of April 14, 2014 DVS is working on title applications received on approximately March 19, 2014. 

Title applications are received daily and DVS processes requests in the order in which they are received.

To check the status of your title, select the "Check Status of Title" link below.

Note: Effective July 1, 2012 Minnesota’s $1.75 Technology Fee, applied to many driver and vehicle services transactions for several years to help pay for Driver and Vehicle Services technology upgrades, will be reduced to $1. Thus, several driver and vehicle transactions will reflect a new fee.

A certificate of title is proof of ownership. You may transfer the title of a vehicle at any deputy registrar office. If a vehicle is purchased through a licensed Minnesota dealer, the dealer will take care of the transfer paperwork.

 

Duplicate Title

A duplicate title means that the original title has been lost, mutilated or stolen and the owner had to apply for a replacement. It contains the legend: "This Duplicate Certificate of Title may be subject to the rights of a person under the original certificate."
 

Lien (Adding or Removing)

The term "security interest" (lien) refers to an agreement between the vehicle owner and the lender (lien holder), using the vehicle as collateral. While the vehicle title is mailed to the owner of the vehicle, a lien card is mailed to the lender, confirming that their loan is listed on DVS records.

Record or remove a lien on a vehicle. 

 

What is a title brand?

A vehicle title brand is a permanent label on a vehicle's title and may include the following designations:

  • Flood
  • Lemon Law
  • Prior Salvage
  • Reconstructed
  • Rebuilt

Learn more about title brands.