
 
 

What is a duplicate title? 
A duplicate title is needed when the original title is lost, mutilated or stolen and the owner must apply for a 
replacement. It contains the legend: "This Duplicate Certificate of Title may be subject to the rights of a person 
under the original certificate." Reference: Minnesota Statutes, section 168A.09. 

  

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

DUPLICATE TITLES OR  
DUPLICATE STICKERS 
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How do I apply? 
At a Deputy Registrar Office: Most duplicate titles can 
be processed at a Deputy Registrar Office; for a list of 
locations visit dvs.dps.mn.gov. In most cases the title will 
then be processed by the Central Office and in the mail 
by the next business day. 
*The Application for Duplicate Title, Registration Cab or Lien 
Card can be found and printed online at dvs.dps.mn.gov.  

Typical Fees 
Duplicate title: $8.25  

Filing fee: $10 

By mail: Send application for duplicate title to: 

Driver and Vehicle Services – Central Office  
445 Minnesota Street, Suite187  
Saint Paul, MN 55101-5187 
 
What if I haven’t received my title? 
If you have not received your title within a six-
month period, your application for duplicate title 
will be processed at no fee. 
 
 

QUESTIONS?  CONTACT DVS! 

Email:  dvs.motor.vehicles@state.mn.us  
 
Vehicle Title/Registration .. (651) 297-2126 
 
Office Locations ................ (651) 297-2005 

Customer Assistance for 
deaf or hard of hearing ..... (651) 282-6555 

What are duplicate stickers? 
When registration stickers are lost, stolen, or defaced, duplicate replacement stickers will be issued.  
Reference: Minnesota Statutes, section 168.29. 
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How do I apply? 
At a Deputy Registrar Office: Duplicate stickers 
will be issued at point of sale. 

*The Application for Duplicate Plates and/or Stickers 
can be found and printed online at dvs.dps.mn.gov.  

By mail: Send an application for duplicate stickers 
to the Central Office (address above) 

Typical Fees 
Duplicate stickers: $1  

Filing fee: $10 

If stickers were not received by mail within 60 
days the duplicate stickers will be issued at no 
fee. 

 

Minnesota Department of Public Safety, Driver and Vehicle Services Division – 445 Minnesota Street – St. Paul, MN 55101 
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