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Home School Materials 

Dear Home School Parents: 

Minnesota law approves home school parents to teach the classroom portion of driver education to students 
under the age of 18 when the student is receiving full-time instruction in a home school, within the meaning of 
Minnesota Statutes 120A.22 and 120A.24, the student is working toward a home-school diploma and the 
student is using driver training classroom materials approved by the commissioner of Public Safety. 

Students who attend an online school or a charter school, or students who are homebound, do not meet the 
definition of home school students. They are not eligible to complete the classroom portion at home. 

To provide the classroom portion of driver education, you must meet the following requirements: 

1. Your child must be at least 14 years of age. 
2. You must comply with the Minnesota rules governing classroom instruction. Attached are a summary of 

these rules and a list of pre-approved textbooks and other resources that you may use along with the 
Minnesota Driver’s Manual. If you wish to use classroom materials other than those on the list, you must 
contact this office for approval. 

3. When your child has finished the required 30 hours of classroom instruction, complete the Home School 
Driver’s Education Affidavit and mail or fax it to the Office of Driver Education. The affidavit may be found at  
https://dps.mn.gov/divisions/dvs/forms-documents/Documents/HomeSchoolAffidavit.pdf 

4. Upon receipt of your completed affidavit, a letter of completion will be mailed to you. The letter of 
completion will not be mailed more than 30 days before your child’s 15th birthday. You must present this 
document to the behind-the-wheel instruction provider, aka driving school, to obtain a Certificate of 
Enrollment (blue card) for your student. Bring the blue card, along with a primary and a secondary form of 
identification, when you go to the state examining station for the knowledge test. Your child must be at 
least 15 years of age to take the knowledge test. Please refer to the Minnesota Driver’s Manual for 
acceptable forms of identification. After your child has passed the knowledge test, he or she may apply for 
an instruction permit. 

5. In order to take the road test your child must: 
• Be at least 16 years old and have held an instruction permit for at least six months with no convictions 

for moving violations or alcohol/controlled substance violations. 
• Have completed driver's education and have the white course completion card. 
• Present a supervised driving log verifying that they have driven under the supervision of a licensed 

driver at least 21 years of age, for not less than 50 hours, at least 15 of which were at night; or if a 
parent/guardian completes the parent class and submits a certificate of completion to the driver exam 
staff at the time of the road test, 40 hours, 15 of which were at night. 

• The parent, court appointed guardian, county appointed foster parent or director of the transitional 
living program in which the child resides must approve the driver’s license application.  

  

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=120A.22
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=120A.24
https://dps.mn.gov/divisions/dvs/forms-documents/Documents/HomeSchoolAffidavit.pdf
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Home School Materials 
Summary of Minnesota Rules, Part 7411.0515 
Classroom Driver Education 

An instructor conducting classroom instruction must use a written classroom curriculum guide (textbook). 

The instructor must be physically present with the student during classroom instruction to instruct as well as to 
address the questions and comments of the student. 

A student must receive a minimum of 30 hours of classroom instruction, with no more than three hours of class 
per day. 

The curriculum presented to the student must include at least the following: 

• Decision-making analysis and assessment. 
• Information on the effects of alcohol, illegal drugs, prescription drugs, and nonprescription drugs on a 

person’s ability to drive. 
• Legal penalties and financial consequences of operating a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol 

or drugs. 
• Passenger restraint usage. 
• Roadway characteristics. 
• Vehicle speed under different driving conditions. 
• State traffic laws (the Minnesota Driver’s Manual will suffice). 
• Vehicle ownership, leasing, insurance, and maintenance. 
• Driver’s attitudes and emotions and their effect on safety. 
• Safe interaction with bicycles, pedestrians, commercial motor vehicles, and non-motorized vehicles. 
• Driver’s responsibility when around school buses and penalties for violating school bus laws-30 minutes. 
• Safety at railroad-highway grade crossings. 
• The physics involving tires, traction, braking, and accelerating. 
• Characteristics of both conventional and antilock (ABS) brake systems. 
• Information about becoming an organ donor-30 minutes. 
• Information on the dangers and risks of carbon monoxide poisoning from an idling vehicle. 
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Home School Materials 

Approved Sources for Driver Education Textbooks 

AAA Traffic Safety Department 
100 AAA Dr. 
Heathrow, FL 32746-5063 
(952) 927-2671 (Hennepin county residents) 
(800) 646-4222 (all other counties) 
(How to Drive) 

All Star Driver Education 
1011 S Main St. 
Ann Arbor, MI 48104 
(800) 967-7719 
www.allstardrivereducation.com 

AllGood Drivers (Correspondence course) 
22082 El Coyote Dr. 
Sonora, CA 95370 
(800) 977-1971 
(Includes Drive Right textbook, video, Driver Zed CD  
and workbook) 

Cengage Learning 
P.O. Box 6904 
Florence, KY 41022 
(800) 354-9706 
www.cengagesites.com/us/ 
(License to Drive) 

Driver Ed in a Box, LLC 
1539 S. Mason Rd. 
Katy, TX 77450 
(800) 562-6405 
www.driveredinabox.com 
(Includes parent tools, videos, Student Driver  
signs, instructor mirrors) 

DriverEdToGo.com 
6901 N. Lamar Ave. Suite 107 
Austin, TX 78752 
(512) 394-6115 ext. 500 
www.driveredtogo.com 

DriversEd.com (Correspondence course) 
283 4th St. Unit 301 
Oakland, CA 94607 
(888) 651-AUTO (2886) 
www.driversed.com 
(Includes student guide, parent guide, rear-view mirror) 

DriveSafeRideSafe 
P.O. Box 488 
Champlin, MN 55316 
(765) 281-2942 
www.DriveSafeRideSafe.com 
(Includes Parent Guidebook, Student Workbook, 
Roadworthy DVD, How to Drive book) 

Glencoe/McGraw-Hill 
P.O. Box 543 
Blacklick, OH 43004-0544 
(800) 334-7344 
www.glencoe.com 
(Responsible Driving) 

Keystone National High School  
(Correspondence course) 
920 Central Rd. 
Bloomsburg, PA 17815 
(717) 784-5520 
keystoneschoolonline.com 
(Includes Responsible Driving learning guide and video) 

National Driver Training Institute 
4432 Austin Bluffs Parkway 
Colorado Springs, CO 80918 
(800) 942-2050 
www.usdrivertraining.com 
(Includes Help for the Teenager Who Wants to Drive manual 
and accompanying CD or VHS video) 

NTSA International 
7953 Duranceau 
LaSalle, Quebec 
Canada H8P 3R8 
(866) 475-1999 
Email: ntsa.int@mac.com 
(Handbook Plus) 

Pearson 
P.O. Box 2500 
Lebanon, IN 46052 
(800) 848-9500 
www.pearsonschool.com 
(Drive Right) 

Virtual Drive of America (Main office) 
7101 Canterbury Pl. Suite 1 
Amarillo, TX 79109 
(806) 352-9558 
www.vdriveusa.com 

http://www.allstardrivereducation.com/
http://www.cengage.com/us/
http://driveredinabox.com/home/
http://www.driveredtogo.com/
http://www.driversed.com/
http://www.drivesaferidesafe.com/
http://www.glencoe.com/
http://keystoneschoolonline.com/
http://www.usdrivertraining.com/
mailto:ntsa.int@mac.com
http://www.pearsonschool.com/
http://www.vdriveusa.com/
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