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Department of Public Safety
Adopted Exempt Permanent Rules Relating to Ignition Interlock Device Program

7409.3600 LIMITED LICENSE.

Subpart 1. General procedures for obtaining limited license. In accordance
with part 7503.1800, except as specified in subparts 2 and 3 of this part 74693609,
the commissioner shall issue a limited license following a revocation under Minnesota
Statutes, section 169.792, 169.797, or 171.17, or suspension under Minnesota Statutes,

section 171.18, only when the person has met the conditions specified in this part:

[For text of items A to C, see M.R.]

D. One-half of the revocation or suspension period must be expired if the

person has had a limited license within the previous 24 months, except that one-half

of the revocation or suspension period does not apply to a program participant under

Minnesota Statutes, section 171.306, subdivision 1, paragraph (c), who is subject to part

7503.1800, subpart 4d.

[For text of items E and F, see M.R.]

[For text of subps 2 to 4, see M.R.]

Subp. 5. Chemical dependency treatment or counseling.

[For text of items A and B, see M.R.]

C. Driving time to attend the support group in item A, subitem (2), is authorized

for no more than twtee three times a week, or as otherwise ordered by a court.

[For text of subps 6 to 9, see M.R.]

Subp. 10. Ignition interlock device program needs. Upon the request of a driver

who chooses to have an ignition interlock device installed on a vehicle, the commissioner

7409.3600 1 Approved by Reviscﬁ
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shall 1ssue a limited license for the person to drive to a local service provider for periodic

device calibration and maintenance.

7503.0100 DEFINITIONS.

[For text of subp 1, see M.R.]

Subp. la. Alcohol and drug counselor. "Alcohol and drug counselor" has the

meaning given in Minnesota Statutes, section 148C.01, subdivision 2.

Subp. 1b. Assessor. "Assessor” has the meaning given in part 9530.6605, subpart 4.

Subp. 2. Chemical use assessment. A "chemical use assessment"” is a report

prepared under part 7503.1725 or Minnesota Statutes, section 169A.54, subdivision 11,

or 169A.70 or 171.306, to evaluate a person's driving ability in relation to possible

chemical abuse,

For text of subps 3 and 4, see M.R.]

Subp. 4a. Certificate of insurance. "Certificate of insurance" means a completed

insurance certificate from the authorized representative of the insurance carrier authorized

to do business in the state stating that the vehicle will be covered by a plan of reparation

securily as required by Minnesota Statutes, section 658.48, that is noncancelable for a

period of at least 12 months, or an equivalent certification when the insurance policy is

issued by an authonized insurance carrier for coverage of a vehicle registered in a state

other than Minnesota or in a Canadian province.

[For text of subps 5 to 6b, see M.R.]

Subp. 6¢. Employer-owned motor vehicle. "Employer-owned motor vehicle"

means a motor vehicle that is not equipped with an ignition interlock device and i1s made

available to a program participant by an employer for the program participant's use in the

normal course and scope of emplovment duties.

Subp. 7. [Repealed, 27 SR 707)

7503.0100 2
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Subp. 7a. Ignition interlock device or device. "lgnition interlock device" or

“device" has the meaning given in Minnesota Statutes, section 171.306, subdivision 1,

paragraph (b).

[For text of subp 8, see M.R.]

Subp. 8a. Program participant. "Program participant" has the meaning given in

Minnesota Statutes, section 171.306, subdivision 1, paragraph (c).

[For text of subps 9 and 10, see M.R.]

Subp. 11. Sufficient cause to believe. "Sufficient cause to believe" means grounds
put forth in good faith which are not arbitrary, irrational, unreasonable, or irrelevant and
which make the proposition asserted more likely than not, provided the grounds are based

on at least one of the following sources:
B A. facts or statements supplied by the applicant or driver;
€ B. driver's license and accident records;
B- C. court documents and police records;

E: D. facts of which the commissioner or the commissioner's employees have

personal knowledge:;

I:. ablood, breath, or urine test indicating the presence of alcohol or a test

refusal.

[For text of subp 12, see MLR.]

7503.0800 REVOCATION PERIODS.

Subpart 1. Statutory periods. The commissioner shall revoke drivers' licenses or
nonresident driving privileges for the minimum periods prescribed in current or former

Minnesota Statutes, sections 169.121, 169.123, 169A.52, and 169A.54. Therevoeatton

7503.0800 3
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[For text of subps 2 o0 6, see M.R.}

Subp. 7. |See repealer.]

7503.1300 LICENSE CANCELLATION AND DENIAL.

[For text of subp 1, see M.R.]

Subp. 2. Multiple alcohol- or controlled-substance-related incidents. The
commissioner shall cancel and deny the driver's license or the driving privilege of
a person who:
A. has incurred three alcohol- or controlled-substance-related incidents within
the past ten years;
B. has incurred three of these incidents and a special review has been completed

and entered in the driver's record within ten years of the third incident, except that this

provision does not apply to a cancellation and denial occurring on or after July 1, 2011; or

C. has four or more of these incidents on record.

Subp. 3. [Repealed, 27 SR 707]

7503.1650 IGNITION INTERLOCK DEVICE PROGRAM; QUALIFICATION,

Subpart 1. Ienition interlock device pilot project participant. A person whose

driving privilege has been revoked under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 169A, for an

impaired driving incident and is participating in the ignition interlock device pilot project

under Minnesota Statutes, section 171.306, on or before June 30, 2011, is not subject to

the ignition interlock device program requirements under Minnesota Statutes, section

171.306, on or after July 1, 2011.

7503.1650 4
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Subp. 2. Cancellation and denial prior to July 1, 2011. A person whose driver's

license or driving privilege was canceled and denied under part 7503.1300, subpart 2,

prior to Julv 1, 2011, and chooses to participate in the 1gnition interlock device program

shall do so for not less than three years, or for a period of time that is based on the

number of qualified impaired driving incidents as specified in Minnesota Statutes, section

169A.55, subdivision 4, whichever is longer.

Subp. 3. Revocation prior to July 1, 2011. A person whose driver's license or

driving privilege was revoked under Minnesota Statutes, section 169A.52 or 171.17,

subdivision 1, paragraph (a), clause (2), prior to July 1, 2011, and chooses to participate in

the ignition interlock device program is subject to the requirements of the program as if

the revocation was effective on or after July 1, 2011.

7503.1675 IGNITION INTERLOCK DEVICE PROGRAM; TERMINATION.

Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 171,306, subdivision 3, paragraph (b), the

commissioner shall terminate a program participant's participation in the program for a

nonprogram violation under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 169, or a departmental action

under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 171, that results in the withdrawal of a program

participant's driving privilege for more than one year.

7503.1700 REHABILITATION.

Subpart 1. When applicable. A person whose driving privilege has been canceled

and denied prior to July 1, 2011, is subject to the provisions of this part. A person must

complete rehabilitation whenever:

[For text of items A to C, see M.R.]

[For text of subps 2 t0 9, see M.R.]

7503.1725 IGNITION INTERLOCK DEVICE PROGRAM; REHABILITATION.

7503.1725 5
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Subpart 1. When applicable. A person whose driver's license or driving privilege

has been revoked or canceled and denied under part 7503.1300; Minnesota Statutes,

section 169A.52: 169A.54; 171.04, subdivision 1, clause (10); on or after July 1, 2011, is

subject to the provisions of this part. A person must complete rehabilitation whenever:

A. the person's driver's license or driving privilege has been canceled and

denied as a result of incurring three or more alcohol- or controlled-substance-related

incidents within the past ten years; or

B. there are four or more alcohol- or controlled-substance-related incidents

on record,

Subp. 2. Issuance of limited license with ignition interlock device installation.

The commissioner shall issue a limited license to a person, or a limited driving privilege to

a nonresident, for one year for participation in the ignition interlock device program when

the person has met the requirements of this subpart. The person must:

A. be 18 vears of age or older and in possession of a driver's license, as defined

in Minnesota Statutes, section 171.01, subdivision 37; or

B. be 18 years of age or older and in possession of a nonresident driver's license

according to the National Driver Register; and

C. complete a chemical use assessment after the last documented date of the

use of alcohol or controlled substance that:

(1} meets the requirements of part 9530.6422 or 9530.6615; or

(2) is comparable to the criteria in subitem (1) and demonstrates

consideration of all controlled substance or alcohol-related violations on the person's

driving record, if the chemical use assessment is from another state or Canadian province;

D. provide proof of enrollment in treatment or other programs as recommended

in the chemical use assessment report. If the report indicates that treatment or other

T503.1725 6
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programs are not necessary, then the person must provide the commissioner with the

chemical use assessment report. Proof of the chemical use assessment or proof of

enrollment in a treatment or other program must be sent or transmitted electronically to

the commissioner from the treatment center or the assessor or alcohol and drug counselor

completing the assessment. The commissioner shall verify the chemical use assessment

for accuracy and validity. If the commissioner has sufficient cause to believe that the

person provided fraudulent documentation relative to the requirements under this part,

the commissioner shall not accept the chemical use assessment report and require that the

person complete a new chemical use assessment. For purposes of this subpart, "fraudulent

documentation" means the deliberate submission of information that is false or misleading

and includes falsified assessment or treatment records, falsified records showing incorrect

abstinence periods, or other altered and incorrect records or documents;

E. substantiate abstinence by signing a statement, on a form provided by the

commissioner, attesting to the date on which the person applying for license reinstatement

last consumed alcohol or a controlled substance. The statement must be notarized or

completed in the presence of an authorized representative of the commissioner;

. provide a certificate of insurance stating that the coverage for the vehicle

equipped with an ignition interlock device is noncancelable for a period of at least 12

months;

G. complete the requirements under Minnesota Statutes, section 171.306,

subdivision 4;

H. satisfy the requirements under Minnesota Statutes, section 171.30; and

1. be eligible for a limited license under parts 7409.3600 and 7503.1800.

Subp. 3. Conditional reinstatement of restricted driver's license with ignition

interlock device restriction. Notwithstanding part 7503.1600, item C, the commissioner

shall issue a restricted driver's license with an ignition interlock device restriction {o a

7503.1725 7
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person, or issue a restricted driving privilege with an ignition interlock device restriction

to a nonresident, when the person or nonresident has met the requirements of subpart 2

and provides the commissioner with the following:

A. evidence of chemical dependency treatment that has been sent or transmitted

electronically to the commissioner from the treatment center or the assessor completing

the assessment that includes:

(1) the starting and ending dates of primary treatment, relapse treatment, or

PrOgrams;

(2) verification of successful completion of all treatment or programs,

including primary treatment or relapse treatment and aftercare if required by the treatment

program; and

(3) adischarge summary as outlined in part 9530.6425; and

B. a certificate of insurance stating that the coverage for the vehicle equipped

with an ignition interlock device is noncancelable for a period of at least 12 months.

Subp. 4. Abstinence documentation. Every person applying for a restricted driver's

license after rehabilitation must sign a statement acknowledging the person's awareness

that abstinence from the use of alcohol and controlled substances i1s a condition of

licensure.

A. The commissioner shall provide the format for the statement to the person

applying for license reinstatement.

B. The statement must contain an acknowledgment as well as an advisory that

the commissioner shall cancel and deny the driver's license and driving privilege of the

person if the commissioner has sufficient cause to believe that the person has consumed

alcohol or used a controlled substance, whether or not the circumstances involve the

operation of a motor vehicle.

7503.1725 &
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C. The restriction 1o abstain from the consumption of alcohol and use of

controlled substances must be placed on the person's driver's license and driving record.

Subp. 5. Required abstinence period for removal of ignition interlock device.

A. The commissioner shall not remove the ignition interlock device restriction

from a person's driver's license record whose driving privileges have been canceled and

denied under Minnesota Statutes, section 169A.52; 169A.54; 171.04, subdivision 1, clause

(10), or part 7503.1300, unti] the person has met the requirements under Minnesota

Statutes, sections 169A.55, subdivision 4, and 171.306, subdivisions 3 and 4.

B. During the course of the rehabilitation period, the person must demonstrate

regular and consistent use of the ignition interlock device as evidenced by no fewer than

30 breath alcohol concentration tests of less than .02 per month.

Subp. 6. Failure to abstain following abstinence documentation.

A. A person whose driving privilege is canceled and denied under subpart 4

and who has completed the ignition interlock device program may reenroll in the ignition

interlock device program under Minnesota Statufes, section 171.306, for a period of

12 months.

B. The commissioner shall issue a restricted driver's license or a restricted

driving privilege with an ignition interlock device restriction to a person upon reenrollment

in the ignition interlock device program and proof of installation of a device on the

person's vehicle.

€. The commissioner shall not remove the ignition interlock device restriction

from the driver's license or driving privilege of a person under this subpart until:

(1) the person's ignition interlock device has registered no positive breath

alcohol concentration tests of .02 or higher for the previous 12 months that is demonstrated

7503.1725 9
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by the regular and consistent use of the device as evidenced by no fewer than 30 breath

alcohol concentration tests per month; and

(2) the person has completed the rehabilitation requirements of subparts

2 and 3.

Notwithstanding part 7503.1600, item C, the commissioner shall reinstate a person's

driver's license or driving privilege under this subpart in accordance with subpart 4.

1. This subpart does not apply fo the consumption of a controlled substance in

accordance with a medical prescription.

7503.1775 EMPLOYMENT EXCEPTION.

Subpart 1. Authority. Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 171.306, subdivision

4, paragraph (b), the commissioner shall grant an employment exception variance to a

program participant when the conditions of variance have been satisfied in order for the

program participant to drive, operate, or be in physical control of an employer-owned

motor vehicle.

Subp. 2. Persons not eligible. The commissioner shall not grant an employment

exception variance to a program participant who is self~employed, or to a person who

wholly or partially owns an entity that owns an employer-owned motor vehicle.

Subp. 3. Restrictions and limitations. A program participant who is eranted an

employment varitance shall not drive, operate, or be in physical control of any of the

following:

A. arental car in the normal course and scope of employment duties;

B. an employer-owned motor vehicle for personal use; or

C. aType Il vehicle, within the meaning of Minnesota Statutes, section 169.011,

where the program participant is transporting children under the age of 18 or vulnerable

adults within the meaning of Minnesota Statutes, section 626.5572, subdivision 21.

7503.1775 10
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Subp. 4. Variance procedure. The program participant requesting the variance shall

submit the variance request in writing to the commissioner. The request must include a

letter from the program participant's employer that:

A. describes the program participant's need for use of an employer-owned

motor vehicle;

B. specifies the normal course and scope of employment duties of the program

participant;

C. avers that the employer-owned motor vehicle to be operated by the program

participant must display special registration plates under Minnesota Statutes, section

169A.60; and

D. must be notarized or completed in the presence of an authorized

representative of the commissioner.

Subp. 5. Variance criteria; conditions. The commissioner shall grant a variance

request if:

A. the request was made as prescribed in subpart 4;

B. the variance will have no potential adverse effect on public safety;
C. the variance has only future effect; and
D. the variance does not vary a statutory standard.

Subp. 6. Notice of decision. The commissioner shall notify the program participant

in writing of the commissioner's decision to grant or deny the variance.

A. If the variance is granted, the notice must specify the period of time for

which the vaniance will be effective.

B. The commissioner shall deny the variance request if the commissioner

determines that the criteria in subpart 4 or 5 are not met,

7503.3775 11
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C. If the variance is denied, the denial notice must specify the reasons

for the denial and indicate that the program participant may request a review of the

commissioner's decision. A person who disagrees with a decision of the commissioner

issued under this part may request a contested case hearing., The request for a contested

case hearing must be submitted in writing {o the commissioner within 15 days of the

date of the commissioner's decision. The request for a contested case hearing must set

out in detail the reasons why the person contends the decision of the commissioner

should be reversed or modified. If the commissioner receives a written request for a

contested case hearing, the commissioner shall schedule a hearing within 30 days after

the request is received under the procedures in Minnesota Statutes, sections 14.57 to

14.62, and the contested case rules of the Office of Administrative Hearings in parts

1400.5010 to 1400.8400. The decision of the administrative law judge shall be submitted

to the commussioner for the commissioner's adoption consideration. The commissioner's

decision on the issue under appeal 1s the final decision of the department.

D. Alternative measures or conditions attached to the variance have the force

and effect of the applicable rule.

E. The program participant must have proof of the variance in the program

participant's possession while driving, operating, or being in physical control of the

employer-owned motor vehicle.

E._ I the program participant violates the conditions attached to the variance,

the program participant is subject to the enforcement actions and penalties attached to

the applicable law or rule.

G. The program participant to whom a variance has been granted shall notify

the comumissioner in writing within 15 calendar days of a change in the conditions on

which the variance was granted, or if the program participant is no longer employed by the

emplover under whom the variance 1s granted.

7503.1775 12
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7503.1800 LIMITED LICENSES.

[For text of subps 1 to 3, see M.R.]

Subp. 3a. Judicial review waiver. The commissioner shall waive subpart 3, items A,
B, and C if the person has filed a petition for judicial review in the appropriate court and
has furnished a copy of the petition to the commissioner. If the revocation is sustained on

judicial review, the requirements must be met before reinstatement of driving privileges.

[For text of subp 4, see M.R.]

Subp. 4a. No limited commercial license. The commissioner shall not issue a

limited class A, B, or C license under the-previstons-of Minnesota Statutes, section 171.30,

during the period the individual is disqualified from holding a commercial class A, B, or C

license under Minnesota Statutes, section 171.165.

Subp. 4b. Limited class D license issuance exceptions. The commissioner shall
not issue a limited class D license under the-provistons-of Minnesota Statutes, section
171.30, to an individuoal:

[For text of items A to C, see M.R.]

[For text of subp 4c, see M.R.]

Subp. 4d. Ignition interlock device exceptions. The commissioner shall issue a

limited license to a program participant, subject to Minnesota Statutes, section 171.306,

subdivision 4, paragraph (c¢), and part 7503.1725, for the following purposes, except that

these purposes are not subject to part 7409.3600, subpart 4, item A:

A. appearing in court for an offense under Minnesota Statutes, sections

169A.20, and 169A.50 to 169A.53;

B. meeting with the program participant's probation officer for an alcohol-related

incident as scheduled or required;

7503,1800 13
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C. participating in a generally recognized support group based on ongoing

alcohol abstinence, controlled substance abstinence, or both, no more than three times a

week or as otherwise ordered by the court;

D. attending medical or psychological treatment that 1s ordered by a court as a

result of a violation of Minnesota Statutes, sections 169A.20, and 169A.50 to 169A.53: and

E. device calibration as required in Minnesota Statutes, section 171.306,

subdivision 3.

Subp. 5. Administrative review following denial of limited license. The
commissioner shall grant a person an administrative review according to the procedures
in part 7409.4600;subparts—tto4; to review a decision not o issue a limited license

to that person.

Subp. 6. Issuance of limited class D instruction permit.

A. The commissioner shall issue a limited class D instruction permit to a

resident of the state whose driving privilege 1s canceled and denied under Minnesota

Statutes, section 171.04, subdivision 1, clause (10), or 171.17, subdivision 1, paragraph

(a), clause (2), for a period of one year, in order to comply with Minnesota Statutes, section

171.306. Before a limited class D instruction permit may be issued under Minnesota

Statutes, section 171.05, subdivision 1, the person must;

(1} meet the requirements under part 7503.1725, subpart 2, items C to H;

(2) pass a class D knowledge test under part 7410.4500, subpart 2;

(3) pass a class D knowledge test on the effects of alcohol and drugs as

described in part 7410.4520; and

(4) meet the requirements for a limited license under part 7409.3600,

subpart 1.

B. The commissioner shall restrict and limit a limited class D instruction permit:

7503.1800 14
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(1) as provided in part 7409.3600, subpart 4, item A;

(2) as provided in Minnesota Statutes, section 171.05, subdivision la; and

(3) for the exclusive purpose of receiving instruction in operating a motor

vehicle.

C. The commissioner shall not issue a class D license with ignition interlock

device resiriction 1o a person who has possessed a limited class D instruction permit for

one vear until the person:

(1) passes the class D driver's license read test; and

(2) meets the requirements under part 7503.1725, subpart 5, and Minnesota

Statutes, section 171.306.

D. The commissioner shall pot issue a class D limited license with ignition

interlock device installation to a person who has possessed a limited class D instruction

permit for less than one year until the person:

(1) passes the class D driver's license road test; and

(2) meets the requirements under part 7503.1725, subpart 2, and Minnesota

Statutes, section 171.306.

REPEALER. Minnesota Rules, part 7503.0800, subpart 7, is repealed.
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