

MINNESOTA DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY

DRIVER AND VEHICLE SERVICES

445 Minnesota St., Saint Paul, MN 55101 Phone: (651) 297-3298 TTY: (651) 282-6555 Fax: (651) 797-1120 dvs.dps.mn.gov

Driver Services Class D Instruction Permit FAQs

At what age can a person obtain a Class D Instruction Permit to practice driving?

- Must be at least 15 years of age
- If between ages 15-18, must have completed the appropriate amount of classroom instruction and be enrolled in behind-the-wheel instruction

What testing is required?

- Must pass Class D knowledge test
- Must pass vision screening

Where can I take the Class D knowledge test?

• Class D knowledge tests are offered by appointment only at DVS exam stations. Schedule an appointment online at <u>drive.mn.gov</u> by selecting **Schedule or Reschedule a Road or Class D Knowledge Test**.

What do I need to bring for the knowledge test?

- Identification documents (refer to <u>dvs.dps.mn.gov</u> or the driver's manual for a list of acceptable documents)
- Proof of completing driver education if under age 18
- If you fail two consecutive tests, a \$10 fee will be charged for each subsequent knowledge test

Where do I make application for the Instruction Permit?

There are 14 exam stations that accept applications and 127 Driver's License Agent offices. Refer to dvs.dps.mn.gov

What do I need to bring when making application for the Instruction Permit?

- Identification documents (refer to <u>dvs.dps.mn.gov</u> or the driver's manual for a list of acceptable documents)
- Corrective lenses (if needed)
- Parent or legal guardian, if under the age of 18. If they are not available at time of application, need their notarized signature on the application.
- Appropriate fee

How long do I need to have an Instruction Permit?

- If you are 18 and under, you must practice driving with a licensed adult driver for at least six months before a driving test can be taken
 - You must complete behind the wheel instruction and be age 16 to take the road test. Exceptions
 are for farm work and medical licenses
- If you are 19 or older, you must practice driving with an adult licensed driver for at least three months before taking a driving test

Driver Services Class D Instruction Permit FAQs

What if I am under age 18 and have an Instruction Permit from another state?

If applying for a Minnesota Instruction Permit:

- Must meet ID requirements
- Present out of state Instruction Permit
- Pass Class D knowledge test
- Fill out application
- Parent/legal guardian signature
- Pay Instruction Permit fee

If applying for a Minnesota Driver's License and using Instruction Permit time from another state:

- At the time of the road test, you must present a certified copy of your driving record from your previous state showing you had valid driving privileges the last six months
- Present proof of having driver's training equivalent to Minnesota's requirements of 30 hours classroom and 6 hours of behind-the-wheel
- Documentation of passing the road test
- Fill out application
- Parent/legal guardian signature
- Pay Driver's License fee

What if I am under age 15 and I have an Instruction Permit from another state?

• Minnesota law does not allow a person under the age of 15 to drive