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QUESTIONS?  CONTACT DVS! 
Email: dvs.motor.vehicles@state.mn.us  ∙ Web: dvs.dps.mn.gov   
Motor Vehicle Questions: (651) 297-2126 ∙ Office Locations: (651) 297-2005 ∙ TTY/TDD: (651) 282-6555 

 

Vehicle New to the State of MN (with a Manufacturer’s Certificate of Origin or an Out-of-State Title) 

Required Fee Fee Amount Explanation 
Registration Tax Yes See registration fee chart 

Plate Fee Yes $6.00 for double plates/ $4.50 for single plate/See Special Plate fees 
Wheelage Tax $10.00  https://dps.mn.gov/divisions/dvs/Pages/Wheelage-Tax.aspx 

Contribution  See special plate fee chart to determine if your plate requires a minimum 
contribution 

PS Vehicle Fee $3.50 Due with transaction 
Transfer Tax $10.00 See exceptions 

Title/Transfer Fee $6.25 Due with transaction 
Lien Fee $2.00 $2 for each lien holder added to title  

MV Sales Tax 6.5% See qualifying exemptions 
Late Transfer Penalty $2.00 For  title transfer not submitted within 10 business days of the date-of-sale 
Expedited Processing $20.00 If requested and paid separately 

State/Deputy Filing Fee $10.00 Due with transaction 

Transfer of MN Title with Registration 

Required Fee Fee Amount Explanation 
Registration Tax Yes See registration fee chart 

Plate Fee Yes $6.00 for double plates/ $4.50 for single plate/See Special Plate fees 
Wheelage Tax $10.00 https://dps.mn.gov/divisions/dvs/Pages/Wheelage-Tax.aspx 

Contribution  See special plate fee chart to determine if your plate requires a minimum 
contribution 

PS Vehicle Fee $3.50 Due with transaction 
Transfer Tax $10.00 See exceptions 

Title/Transfer Fee $6.25 Due with transaction 
Dealer Reassignments $5.50 Due on each additional dealer reassignment on a Minnesota title  

Lien Fee $2.00 $2 for each lien holder added to title  
MV Sales Tax 6.5% See qualifying exemptions 

Late Transfer Penalty $2.00 For  title transfer not submitted within 10 business days of the date-of-sale 
Expedited Processing $20.00 If requested and paid separately 

State/Deputy Filing Fee $10.00 Due with transaction 

Transfer of MN Title without Registration 

Required Fee Fee Amount Explanation 
PS Vehicle Fee  $3.50 Due with transaction 

Transfer Tax $10.00 See exceptions 
Title/Transfer fee $6.25  Due with transaction 

Dealer Reassignments $5.50  Due on each additional dealer reassignment on a Minnesota title  
Lien Fee  $2.00 $2 for each lien holder added to title  

MV Sales Tax 6.5% See qualifying exemptions 
Late Transfer Penalty  $2.00 For  title transfer not submitted within 10 business days of the date-of-sale 
Expedited Processing  $20.00  If requested and paid separately 

State/Deputy Filing Fee $10.00 Due with transaction 
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Duplicate MN Title 

Required Fee Fee Amount Explanation 
Title/Transfer fee $7.25 Due with transaction 

Lien Fee $2.00 $2 for each lien holder added to title  
Expedited Processing $20.00 If requested and paid separately 

State/Deputy Filing Fee $10.00 Due with transaction 

Duplicate Plate 

Required Fee Fee Amount Explanation 
Double plates   $6.00-inlcudes stickers 

Single plate   $4.50-includes sticker 
Special Plate   see Special plate fee chart 

Non-titled trailer   $2.50 for adhesive plate/sticker 
State/Deputy Filing Fee $10.00  Due with transaction 

Duplicate Registration Sticker-Only 

Required Fee Fee Amount Explanation 
Sticker Fee $1.00  Due for sticker 

State/Deputy Filing Fee $10.00  Due with transaction 

Duplicate Registration Card 

Required Fee Fee Amount Explanation 
Card Fee $1.00  Due for registration card 

State/Deputy Filing Fee $10.00  Due with transaction 

Duplicate Lien Card 

Required Fee Fee Amount Explanation 
State/Deputy Filing Fee $10.00  Due with transaction 

Adding a Lien without MN Title Transfer 

Required Fee Fee Amount Explanation 
Lien Fee $2.00  for each lien added to the MN title 

Expedited Processing  $20.00  If requested and paid separately 
State/Deputy Filing Fee $10.00  Due with transaction 

Removing a Lien Only without MN Title Transfer 

Required Fee Fee Amount Explanation 
Expedited Processing  $20.00  If requested and paid separately 

State/Deputy Filing Fee $10.00  Due with transaction 

Repossession of a MN Title 

Required Fee Fee Amount Explanation 
PS Vehicle Fee $3.50  Due with transaction 

Title/Transfer Fee $6.25  Due with transaction 
Expedited Processing  $20.00  If requested and paid separately 

State/Deputy Filing Fee $10.00  Due with transaction 

 

 



Rev. 09/16 

 

Manufactured Home 

Required Fee Fee Amount Explanation 
PS Vehicle Fee $3.50  Due with transaction 

Title/Transfer Fee $6.25  Due with transaction 
Lien Fee $2.00  for each lien added to the MN title 

Late Transfer Penalty $2.00  Due for transactions taking place after ten business days of sale 
Expedited Processing  $20.00  If requested and paid separately 

State/Deputy Filing Fee $10.00  Due with transaction 

Initial Non-Titled Utility Trailer 

Required Fee Fee Amount Explanation 
Registration Tax $55.00  permanent one-time registration 

Plate Fee $2.50  adhesive plate/sticker 
MV Sales Tax   6.5% of net purchase price 

State/Deputy Filing Fee $10.00  Due with transaction 

Transfer of a Non-Titled Utility Trailer 

Required Fee Fee Amount Explanation 
Title/Transfer Fee $3.00  due for each transfer 

MV Sales Tax   6.5% of net purchase price 
State/Deputy Filing Fee $10.00  Due with transaction 

Salvage Inspection 

Required Fee Fee Amount Explanation 
Salvage Inspection Fee $35.00  Due for inspections of salvage vehicles only 

Expedited Processing  $20.00  If requested and paid separately 
State/Deputy Filing Fee $10.00  Due with transaction 

 
$10.00 Transfer Tax is Not Due on the following:  

• To transfer from joint to single ownership (the fee is due to transfer from single to joint ownership) 
• In a licensed dealer name (if held for resale) 
• In a leasing company name 
• In the name of a government entity 
• In the owner’s name listed on the foreign state title or registration card 
• For vehicles weighing less than 1,000 pounds 
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Required Fee Fee Amount Explanation 

Special Plate Transfer $5.00 Fee due when transferring a special plate to another vehicle. 

Special License Plate Fees Initial Duplicate 7-Year 
Replacement Additional Information 

Amateur Radio Operator $10 $14 $14 
 Citizen Band Radio $10 $14 $14 
 

Classic 
$15 Double 
$13.50 Single 

$15 Double 
$13.50 Single 

 
NA $25 one time registration due with 

initial application 

Classic Motorcycle $13.50 $13.50 NA $10 one-time registration due with 
initial application 

Collector 
$15 Double 
$13.50 Single 

$15 Double 
$13.50 Single 

 
NA $25 one time registration due with 

initial application 

Collegiate 
$10 Double 
$8.50 Single 

$10 Double 
$8.50 Single 

$10 Double 
$8.50 Single 

 
Minimum Contribution $25 

Congressional Medal of Honor No Fee No Fee No Fee 
 

Critical Habitat $10 $10 $10 Minimum Contribution $30 

Disability 
$6 Double 
$4.50 Single 

$6 Double 
$4.50 Single 

$6 Double 
$4.50 Single 

 

Ex-POW No Fee No Fee No Fee 
 

 
Gold Star 

 
No Fee 

 
No Fee 

 
No Fee 

Applicant provides proof of relation to 
deceased. Annual registration and filing 
fees are required. 

Limousine $10 $10 $10 
 

National Guard $10 $10 NA 
 

Original Plate    
$10 Fee is charged 

Pioneer 
$15 Double 
$13.50 Single 

$15 Double 
$13.50 Single 

 
NA $25 one time registration due with 

initial application 

 
Personalized 

 
$100 

$14 Double 
$10 Single 

$14 Double 
$10 Single 

$25 one time registration due with 
initial application for personalized 
collector plates. 

Ready Reserve $10 $10 NA 
 

Remembering Victims of 
Impaired Drivers $10 $10 $10  

Special Registration 
 

$50 
$6 Double 
$4.50 Single 

$6 Double 
$4.50 Single 

 

Street Rod 
$15 Double 
$13.50 Single 

$15 Double 
$13.50 Single 

 
NA $25 one time registration due with 

initial application 

Support Our Troops $10 $10 $10 Minimum Contribution $30 

Support Our Troops Motorcycle $10 $10 NA Minimum Contribution $30 

Veteran – Passenger $10 $10 NA 
 

Veteran – One Ton Truck $10 $10 NA 
 

Volunteer Ambulance $10 $10 $10 
 

Volunteer Firefighter $10 $10 $10 Requires fire chief’s signature 

Van Pool $10 Double $10 Double NA  
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