Driver and Vehicle Services Just the Facts

This legislation defines a "restored pioneer vehicle" as a vehicle manufactured prior to 1919 and whose restoration includes replacement of one or more essential parts, and only those necessary to retain the character and appearance of the vehicle as originally manufactured.

The law specifies that these pre-1919 vehicles are not subject to branding as reconstructed.

Effective August 1, 2021 Minnesota Statutes section 168.12 increased plate fees and are reflected below.

Title Documents - No Proof of Ownership		
Vehicle Description	• On the PS2000, record the year, make and model of the vehicle.	
Supporting Documents	 Pictures of reasonably completed vehicle Signed verification letter from antique car club verifying year, make and model** 	
Affidavit of Reconstruction (PS2015A)	 Complete Side A (Cars/Trucks/Pickups) Form must be completed in detail and signed by the owner or person doing the construction. 	
Original Receipts	• The owner must provide original receipts for all major parts used in the construction (frame, engine, transmission etc.).	
Vehicle Inspection	 Vehicle must be inspected before a title will be issued. There is no fee for this type of vehicle inspection. 	

Corrected Titles / With or Without Transfer				
Documents	•	Minnesota title/duplicate title or out of state title		
	٠	Completed and signed Application for Corrected Title/Odometer		
	•	Signed verification letter from antique car club verifying year, make and model**		

Fees	
Title	All usual application / title fees are due.
	Collect \$150 in lieu if sales tax is due.
Sales Tax	• Pioneer plate fee \$15 for double (\$13.50 for single)
Registration	*(8/1 will be \$15.50 double/\$13.50 single, any paperwork postmarked 8/1 or later) • Registration tax \$25
	 Applicant must apply for pioneer plates and pay the plate and registration fees unless a pioneer plate is already displayed on the vehicle.

**If the applicant is not a member of an antique car club and unable to obtain the required letter, they may also provide pictures and information from a catalog or the Internet to verify the year, make, model, serial number, and that it is not a complete "kit" vehicle.

Questions? Call DVS at (651) 297-2126 or Email: dvs.motor.vehicles@state.mn.us