

MINNESOTA DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY DRIVER AND VEHICLE SERVICES - LICENSE PLATE IMPOUND UNIT 445 Minnesota Street, Suite 166 Saint Paul, MN 55101-5166 Phone: (651) 297-5034 FAX: (651) 797-1810 TTY: (651) 282-6555 Web: drive.mn.gov

NEW PLATE # ISSUED

Application for Special Registration Plates										
PLEASE READ INSTRUCTIONS ON BACK BEFORE COMPLETING THIS FORM.										NEW YEAR VALIDATION # ISSUED
CURRENT PLATE #	VEHICLE IDENTIFICATION NUMBER									
										NEW WEIGHT STICKER # ISSUED
MODEL YEAR	PLATE YEAR	MAKE	TYPE	ТҮРЕ			CURRENT EXP. DATE MONTH / YEAR		DEPUTY STAMP	
NAME OF OWNER(S) (LAST, FIRST AND MIDDLE) RAME OF OWNER(S) (LAST, FIRST AND MIDDLE)										
PRINT PERMANENT ADDRESS: STREET			CITY	c		TY STA		TE	ZIP CODE	
MAILING ADDRESS: STREET (if different than above)			СІТҮ	со		NTY STA		TE	ZIP CODE	
										FEES DUE
Name of Driver at Incident (at time of incident)										SPECIAL PLATE FEE
Incident Date (mm/dd/yyyy) Date of Birth (mm/dd/yyyy)									REGISTRATION TAX	
INSURANCE: MN									tion, or transfer	
of ownership, must provide information showing that the vehicle is covered by an insurance policy. Required information consists of:										FILING FEE
Company Name:										TOTAL DUE
Policy Number:										
Policy Expiration	Date: (mm/dd/yy	/y)								

Read carefully

Vehicle Owner:

- I request authorization for special registration plates for the above-described vehicle. I do certify all of the declarations are true and correct.
- I understand that only a driver with a valid or limited license may use the above-described vehicle with the special registration plates.
- I know that no person may drive, operate or be in physical control of a vehicle without a valid driver's license.
- I understand that Special Registration plates must be displayed for a minimum of one year from the date of qualifying incident.

Х

Vehicle Owner must sign here

Date

IMPORTANT NOTICE: PLEASE READ

All data collected on a motor vehicle application is required by law. This data is used to identify your motor vehicle. Failure to provide required data may result in denial of the transfer of ownership, registration of this vehicle, or other requested action.

INFORMATION LICENSE PLATE IMPOUNDMENT

ELIGIBILITY FOR SPECIAL REGISTRATION PLATES

Special series license plates may be issued to a vehicle owner by any person with a valid or limited license.

REINSTATEMENT OF REGULAR LICENSE PLATES AND REGISTRATION

Violator owners: The plate impound period is in effect on the vehicle used in conjunction with the violation for at least one year from the date of the qualifying incident and during the time the violator's driver's license status is canceled/revoked whichever period of time is longer. After one year you may qualify for regular license plates once your driver's license is reinstated (a limited license is not a reinstatement).

Non-violator owners: The plate impound period is at least one year from the date of qualifying incident.

Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 169A.60, a \$50 plate reinstatement fee is due in addition to regular license plate and registration fees.

Early reinstatement fee is \$100 or \$50 if Special Registration plates were previously purchased.

REQUEST FOR AN ADMINISTRATIVE REVIEW

You have the right to request the department to conduct an administrative review of a license plate impoundment order. You may request the administrative review anytime during the impoundment period. The request must be in writing or on the form prescribed by the department (PS31125).

The department will only rescind a license plate impoundment order if:

- The violator is not an owner or co-owner of the vehicle.
- The owner of the vehicle was not a passenger at the time of the incident, and
- · The violator had a valid drivers license at the time of the incident or,
- The owner filed a report with law enforcement before the incident stating that the vehicle had been taken from the owner's possession or was being used without permission. You must submit a copy of the police report with your request.

PETITION FOR JUDICIAL REVIEW

You have the right to petition the court for a judicial review of the license plate impoundment order in the county in which the incident occurred. The petition must be made to the court within 30-days of the Notice of License Plate Impoundment.

SALE OF VEHICLE SUBJECT TO IMPOUNDMENT ORDER

A registered owner may not sell a vehicle while the license plates are impounded or while special registration plates are displayed on the vehicle unless;

- The sale is for valid consideration (fair market value).
 "Gifts" will not be approved. A low purchase price must be justified with repair estimates.
- The purchaser is not a household member (Significant Relation).
- The purchaser is not a family member.

"Significant Relation" is defined in Minnesota Statute 169A.60 as "any person with whom the actor (violator or owner) regularly associates and communicates with outside of a workplace setting"