

MINNESOTA DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY DRIVER AND VEHICLE SERVICES Phone: (651) 297-3377 Web: drive.mn.gov

FOR CENTRAL OFFICE USE ONLY

APPLICATION FOR DISABILITY PARKING CERTIFICATE

DISABLED INDIVIDUAL SECTION

To be completed by or for the person with a disability

Full Name (Please Print) Last, Firs	et and Middle		Date of Birth
Street Address			
Circer Address			
City		State	Zip
Is applicant a Minnesota Licensed	driver? ☐ Yes ☐ No Does app	olicant have a Minne	sota Identification Card? ☐Yes☐ No
Minnesota License /ID Number			
If no MN DL or ID please explain:			
Has applicant ever had a Minnesot List certificate and/or plate #:	a Disability Parking Certificate ☐ `	Yes □ No Minn. dis	sability license plates? ☐ Yes ☐ No
Check here if this application is *Two certificates are not an op	for two parking certificates* otion if applicant has disability licen	ise plates	
☐ Check here if this application is Limit 2 per applicant without do	isability license plates.		
If applying for replacement, check	reason: 🗌 Lost 🗎 Stolen 🗎 Dai	maged 🗌 Other; Ple	ease Explain:
Tennessen Notice			
What is the purpose of supplying	g the requested information?		
The Department of Public Safety a	nd Driver Vehicle Services ("DPS-l		formation on this form for identification act, Minnesota Statutes section 13.04
Am I required to provide the requ	uested information?		
You are not legally required to com	plete this form.		
What will happen if I do not prov	ide the requested information?		
You can refuse, however; DPS-DV	S may consider your application in	complete and not iss	sue a disability certificate.
Who will have access to the requ	uested information?		
personal information relates to pub	lic safety if it concerns the physican you provide to apply for a disabilit	I safety or security of ty parking certificate	is classified by 18 U.S.C section 2721
I hereby certify the above informati Health Professional to supply the in		e best of my knowled	ge. I also give permission to the
Date:	Signature:		
*Non-residents may apply for tempresidence.		or use the parking o	ertificate issued in their state of

- over -

PS2005-2 (7/2023) Page 1 of 2

	:ALTH PROFE	SSIONAL MEDIC	AL STATE	MENI SE	CTION			
Certificate Type: Fee: \$5 ea. ☐ Temporary 1 to 6 Fee: \$5 ea. ☐ Short Term 7 to No Fee ☐ Long-Term 13 to	12 Months	Must Specify — Must Specify — Must Specify —		/		IMPORTANT! If no date is indicated the certificate will be issued for the minimum duration of		
No Fee $\ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ $	l disability iss	ued for 6 years	Month	Ye	ar	certificate type.		
The applicant must meet one or r Check which definition(s) Listing "symptoms" such Incomplete/missing info) the applicant r as Back Pain,	neets. Cognitive of Leg Pain, etc. w	disabilities d ill require fu	lo not quali rther expla	ify (see back)			
The Applicant:								
$\ \square$ 1. Has a cardiac condition to Class IV according to the s					classified in	severity as Class III or		
☐ 2. Uses portable oxygen								
☐ 3. Has an arterial oxygen tens	sion (PAO ₂) of	less than 60 mm/	Hg on room	air at rest	:.			
\Box 4. Is restricted by a respirator second, when measured by				nt's forced	(respiratory)	expiratory volume for one		
$_{ m J}$ 5. Has lost an arm or leg and does not have or cannot use an artificial limb.								
\square 6. Is legally blind								
Disability Definitions 7-10 below	w must state t	he <i>specific diagi</i>	nosis of the	e conditio	n causing di	sability.		
☐ 7. Due to disability, uses a wh Another Person; A Walker (Specify Diagnosis of cond	; A Cane; Cru	tches; Braces; A		Device; o	r other Assist	ive Device;		
☐ 8. Has a disability that would would be life-threatening This condition is:	be aggravated	by walking 200 fe	et under no	rmal envir	onmental con	ditions to an extent that		
☐ 9. Due to disability cannot wa This condition is:	lk 200 feet with	out stopping to re	est					
☐ 10. Cannot walk without a sign This condition is:	ificant risk of fa	lling						
Failure to answer this question Is the applicant qualified, in all r ☐ Yes, no adaptive equipment r	nedical respect				control over a	ı motor vehicle?		
☐ Yes, with adaptive equipment								
☐ No, please specify:								
I certify, by my signature as a lice Physical Therapist that in my pro- physically disabled person and is fine of \$500 for fraudulently certif	fessional opinion entitled to a dis	on sability parking ce		(Pa	atient's Name) meets the definition of		
Signature & Title			Date	P	rint Name			
Telephone Number St	reet Address, C	City, State and Zip	Code					

Page 2 of 2

Deputy Stamp

This application may be submitted at any Deputy Registrar motor vehicle office in Minnesota or by mail to:

Minnesota Department of Public Safety Driver and Vehicle Services Division 445 Minnesota Street St. Paul, MN 55101-5164

The information provided by the applicant and health professional are required by state and federal guidelines.

The parking certificate is valid as specified by the Health Professional's statement.

1 to 6 months: **Temporary certificate**, 7 to 12 months: **Short-term certificate**, 13 to 71 months: **Long-term certificate**. The disability must be re-certified before a new or subsequent parking certificate will be issued.

Persons with a permanent disability are issued a **6 Year** Certificate. Renewal does not require a Health Professional's signature, but may be selected randomly to re-certify eligibility.

If a Health Professional extends the length of the disability there is no fee for the subsequent parking certificate, however, along with the Health Professional's signature, the medical statement is required and *must clearly state that it is an extension for a previously certified disability.*

If a certificate is requested due to specific medical condition related to *pregnancy* that could be aggravated by walking to the extent that the life or health of the person or fetus may be endangered a **Temporary certificate** may be issued, not to exceed expected length of pregnancy.

MISUSE OF PARKING PRIVILEGE

Any unauthorized use or reproduction of the Department issued Disability Parking Certificate is subject to the revocation of parking privilege. A person who is convicted of misusing the certificate is guilty of a misdemeanor and **subject to a fine**. Knowingly allowing the misuse of the certificate or disability license plates shall result in the cancelation of disability parking privileges.

Frequently Asked Questions

WHAT PRIVILEGES DOES THE CERTIFICATE PROVIDE? (Reference Minnesota Statute 169.345)

A vehicle that prominently displays the parking certificate may be parked by or *solely for the benefit of a physically disabled person:* in a designated disability parking space; in a non-restricted metered parking space without obligation to pay the meter fee, and without regard to time limitation unless otherwise posted; or in a non-metered time limited passenger vehicle space unless otherwise posted.

M.S. 169.345 does not permit parking: in designated no parking spaces; in parking spaces reserved for specified purpose; where there is a local ordinance which prohibits parking on any street or highway for the purpose of creating a Fire lane; or to provide for the accommodation of heavy traffic during morning or afternoon rush hours. For privileges in other jurisdictions, please contact the appropriate jurisdiction.

WHO IS ELIGIBLE FOR THE DISABILITY PARKING CERTIFICATE?

Any Minnesota resident who meets one or more of the definitions of a "physically disabled person" listed on the front of this application. The parking certificate is provided to assist persons with a physical disability and provide better access to public places and facilities. Only one parking certificate is issued per disabled individual if you also display license plates. You may qualify for two (2) certificates if you do not have disability license plates. Parking certificates are valid until the last day of the month indicated on the certificate.

I'M NOT A MINNESOTA RESIDENT, HOW DO I GET A PARKING CERTIFICATE?

Residents of other states that are visiting or temporarily residing in Minnesota may use the parking certificate provided by their home state or apply for a Temporary Certificate (6 months maximum). Residents of other states must make an application for Permanent Certificates in their home states.

HOW DO I USE THE DISABILITY PARKING CERTIFICATE?

The parking certificate is issued to the disabled person, not the vehicle. Therefore, it may be displayed when parking any vehicle you are driving or the passenger.

The parking certificate is to be displayed on the rear view mirror only when parked. Driving with the parking certificate hanging from the mirror is illegal and very dangerous. If your disability makes it impractical to hang the parking certificate from the rear view mirror, it may be placed on the dashboard when parked.

I HAVE HEARD THAT SOME PEOPLE WHO HAVE APPLIED FOR THE PARKING CERTIFICATE HAVE BEEN REQUIRED TO RETEST FOR THEIR DRIVER LICENSE. IS THAT TRUE?

YES. If a person with a driver's license applies for a disability parking certificate, the Department of Public Safety may check the driver's license record. If the department has no record of the disability, certification must be made that the disability will not interfere with his/her driving ability. The department may ask the applicant for an interview to determine if any retesting is necessary. The Department of Public Safety has an obligation to ensure that licensed drivers are qualified to operate a motor vehicle.

WHAT IF I MISPLACE/LOSE MY CERTIFICATE?

To obtain a replacement certificate you need to only complete Section A of this application (fee may be due). When you report a lost parking certificate, you may be required to identify measures you have taken in order to prevent future losses. When you report a stolen parking certificate, you may be asked to provide a copy of the police report regarding the theft.

If you have further questions regarding this application, contact the Driver and Vehicle Services Division at **(651) 297-3377**. If you have questions regarding other services provided by Driver and Vehicle Services or Deputy Registrar Locations, please call (651) 297-2005, or TTY (651) 282-6555. You may also find DVS information at: **dvs.dps.mn.gov**

NOTICE: All information supplied on this form is collected under the authority of Minnesota Statutes, and will be used only by authorized Driver and Vehicle Services Division personnel to determine eligibility for the issuance of a Disability Parking Certificate and driving privileges. All data collected is private and may not be issued to anyone except law enforcement personnel (name/address information only) or the applicant.



MINNESOTA DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY DRIVER AND VEHICLE SERVICES

445 Minnesota Street - Suite 164 St. Paul, MN 55101-5164 Phone: (651) 297-3377 TDD: (651) 282-6555 Web: dvs.dps.mn.gov

APPLICATION FOR COMMERCIAL DISABILITY PARKING CERTIFICATE

Applications (new and renewal) for commercial disability parking certificates must be made in a written request format explaining the proposed certificate usage in conjunction with the transportation of disabled individuals, as well as internal controls (i.e., ensuring proper accountability) of the certificates.

- 1. To apply for an organization parking certificate, an agency must submit a written statement on letterhead stationary. Typically, these applications are made by public or private social service agencies, care centers and nursing homes that have a frequent business need to transport numerous disabled clients. Certificates cannot be issued to taxi or limousine services, as their disabled patrons should have their own personal parking certificates. **Also, an agency must certify that the commercial certificate will be used solely for the benefit of a physically disabled person so defined in Minnesota Statute 169.345.**
- 2. The statement must explain to the department's satisfaction how the agency meets the following criteria:
- a) Identify vehicles that certificates will be used in when practical
- b) State the organizations internal controls for managing/accounting for the certificates
- c) State that the organization will immediately notify DVS in the case of lost or stolen certificates
- d) State that the organization will contact DVS immediately of any abuse or suspected abuse of certificates issued to the organization;
- e) State that the organization is aware that failure to abide by the above listed requirements may well result in the revocation of all certificates issued
- 3. There is a fee of \$5 per commercial disability parking certificate requested. Organization parking certificates are issued for three-year periods.
- 4. The organization's Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN) must be provided for processing

When renewing a certificate(s), please include the 6-digit number on your current certificate and FEIN

Organization certificates cannot be issued until all information is furnished and all fees have been paid.

Driver and Vehicle Services Division Disability Services Unit 445 Minnesota St, Ste. 164