
MEDICAL CONDITIONS & YOUR 
DRIVER’S LICENSE 

APRIL 2013

An application for a Minnesota instruction permit or driver’s license includes questions about medical conditions.  

If you have a medical condition, you may be asked to provide a statement from a physician that indicates whether or 
not the condition interferes with your ability to drive safely. Providing false information on your application could 
result in the loss of driving privileges. 

The medical information supplied by you or your doctor is used only by authorized personnel to determine driving 
privileges.  

If you receive a request for a medical statement, you should mail the completed form to Driver and Vehicle Services, 
Driver Evaluation Unit, Suite 170, 445 Minnesota Street, St. Paul, Minnesota 55101-5170.

Diabetes 
A driver who is insulin dependent is required to 
submit a doctor’s statement regarding his or her 
ability to drive safely. If your diabetes is controlled by 
oral medication this is not required. 

Report the condition: 

• Within 30 days after diagnosis

• Within 30 days of a driving-related episode where
you experienced loss of consciousness or
voluntary control while operating a motor vehicle.

Loss of Consciousness or 
Voluntary Control 
This is the loss of the ability to assume and retain an 
upright posture without support or the inability to 
respond rationally to external stimuli. 

• You must report an episode in writing within 30
days of experiencing loss of consciousness or
voluntary control.

Vision 
A vision screening is required at the time you apply for 
or renew an instruction permit or driver’s license. Your 
normal or corrected vision must be at least 20/40, and 
your peripheral vision must be at least 105 degrees. 

If you do not meet the minimum standards, you will 
be asked to see an eye doctor and return a vision 
report. 

Other Factors 
Other health problems that would affect driving ability 
are: 

• Inability to tightly grip a steering wheel, reduced
physical strength, inability to easily move foot
from gas to brake pedal, inability to look over
shoulder

• Loss of limb

• Reduced ability to react quickly and decisively to
traffic conditions and confusion

• Lessened ability to focus on object and shift focus
quickly, lessened ability to focus on fine details,
reduced peripheral vision, poor night vision,
sensitivity to glare, weakened depth perception

• Medication side effects/drug interaction
(including over the counter) that cause
drowsiness, blurred vision, dizziness, muscle
relaxation

QUESTIONS?  CONTACT DVS! 

Email: dvs.driverslicense@state.mn.us 

Driver Evaluation: (651) 296-2025 
Driver’s License Info: (651) 297-3298 

Office Locations: (651) 297-2005 
TTY/TDD: (651) 282-6555 

Minnesota Department of Public Safety Driver and Vehicle Services Division – 445 Minnesota Street – St. Paul, MN 55101 

mailto:dvs.driverslicense@state.mn.us


At-Risk Drivers 
An at-risk driver is one who no longer has the ability to safely operate a motor vehicle. Age alone does not make an 
individual an at-risk driver. Some health problems that may affect driving ability include: 

• Seizure or loss of consciousness 

• Stroke/arthritis – inability to tightly grip a steering wheel, reduced physical strength, inability to easily move 
foot from gas to brake pedal, inability to look over shoulder 

• Various forms of dementia – reduced ability to react quickly and decisively to traffic conditions and confusion  

• Severe eye ailments – lessened ability to focus on object and shift focus quickly, lessened ability to focus on 
fine details, reduced peripheral vision, poor night vision, sensitivity to glare, weakened depth perception. 

• Medication side effects/drug interaction (including over the counter) – drowsiness, blurred vision, dizziness, 
muscle relaxation. 

• Hearing loss – inability to hear high-pitched sounds, hearing loss that leads to inattentive driving, poorly 
maintained or incorrectly worn hearing aids.  

• Catastrophic or chronic disease, such as Parkinson’s 

Reporting At-Risk Drivers  
If you are concerned that a family member, friend, or acquaintance can no longer safely operate a motor vehicle you 
may request that Driver and Vehicle Services evaluate the at-risk driver. If you are related to the driver, your 
statement is confidential and the evaluator will not reveal your identity, unless ordered to do so by a court of law. 

Your request must be in writing and include the following information: 
• Full name and date of birth of the at-risk driver; include the individual’s driver's license number if it is 

available. 

• Description of the condition and explain why you believe the person to be an at-risk driver.  

• Your name, address and phone number. 

Send your request to:  
Driver and Vehicle Services 
Attn: Medical Unit 
445 Minnesota Street Suite 170 
St. Paul, MN 55101-5170 

What Happens Next 
• Driver and Vehicles Services will schedule an appointment for the at-risk driver with a driver evaluator. The 

at-risk driver will receive a letter with the date and time of the appointment.  

• If the at-risk driver fails to respond to the letter or keep the appointment, his or her driving privileges may be 
canceled.  

Driver Evaluation 
• After the interview is concluded the evaluator may require the at-risk driver to submit a written physician’s 

or vision statement and pass a driver's license test (knowledge and skills). 

• If it is determined that the at-risk driver must surrender his or her driver's license, the at-risk driver is still 
eligible for a Minnesota photo identification card. 

Minnesota statutes and rules related to testing and assessing at-risk drivers: 

Minnesota Statutes, sections 171.04; 171.13; 171.14  
Minnesota Rules, chapters 7409.2800; 7410.2100; 7410.2700; 7410.2800; 7410.3000; 7410.4200; 7410.4400 
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https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=171.04
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=171.13
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=171.14
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/rules/?id=7409.2800
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/rules/?id=7410.2100
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/rules/?id=7410.2700
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/rules/?id=7410.2800
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/rules/?id=7410.3000
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/rules/?id=7410.4200
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/rules/?id=7410.4400
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