MINNESOTA DEALER PLATE USAGE

Driver and Vehicle Services MAY 2015

Just the Facts

The plate must be firmly affixed to the rear of the vehicle. It cannot be displayed in the window. Only one plate is
displayed on a vehicle. Minnesota Statute 168.27, Subd. 16 and Minnesota Rules 7400.6000.

Demonstration plates may be used by: Allowable Usage:

Dealer (owner/office/board member) Business/personal*

Dealer’s spouse Business/personal*

Full-time employee of the dealership Business/personal*

Part-time employee of the dealership Only while conducting business for the dealership*
Prospective buyers of cars and pick-up trucks Demonstration purposes only — maximum 48 hrs.

Business/personal*

Prospective buyers of trucks, truck-tractor, truck- | Demonstration purposes only — maximum 7 days

trailer or semi-trailers Business (they may haul a load)/personal*

Retail purchaser Maximum of 72 hours*
To remove from the state or until Minn. plates arrive

Promotional event — Three (3) or more vehicles Maximum of four (4) days*
involved

*Usage includes pulling a loaded or unloaded trailer.

Improper Use
prop Questions?

Demonstration plates displayed on: Dealer Unit: (651) 201-7800

e Consignment vehicles

Courtesy cars or loaners

Lease cars

Tow trucks, service trucks or parts trucks

Vehicle sold to an employee on contract

e Vehicle used by the wife of a dealership employee

Email: dvs.dealerquestion@state.mn.us

Intransit Plates
Minnesota Statute 168.27, Subd. 17

Limited use: e Vehicle being returned to a consignor (owner)
e  From source of supply or storage to dealer’s if consignor is not a dealer
place of business or another place of storage
e  From one dealer to another

Improper use
Intransit plates displayed on:
e Vehicle being delivered to a retail buyer
e Vehicle being demonstrated
e Vehicle driven to repair or inspection site
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