

MINNESOTA DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY DRIVER AND VEHICLE SERVICES 445 Minnesota St., Saint Paul, MN 55101 Phone: (651) 297-3298 TTY: (651) 282-6555 Fax: (651) 797-1120 dvs.dps.mn.gov

### New Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) Law

The 2014 Minnesota Legislature passed a new graduated driver licensing law. The new law requires:

- Students under the age of 18 to submit a supervised driving log to the driver exam staff, at the time of the road test for the provisional driver's license.
- All driver education programs to offer a 90 minute class for parents of teens obtaining their instruction permits and provisional driver's licenses.

Here are Frequently Asked Questions regarding the new law:

#### Q: When does this law take effect?

A: January 1, 2015.

## Q: Will students who are completing their behind the wheel instruction in 2014 be required to submit the supervised driving log?

A: No. Students who complete all of their behind the wheel instruction in 2014 will not be required to submit the supervised driving log. Students who complete their final hour of behind the wheel instruction on or after January 1, 2015, will be required to submit the supervised driving log. The driver exam staff will look at the date of behind the wheel completion on the certificate of completion to determine if a supervised driving log is required.

#### Q: How many driving hours are students required to verify on the supervised driving log?

A: 50 hours of supervised driving time are required, 15 of which must be nighttime hours. Or if a parent/guardian completes the parent class, and submits a certificate of completion to the driver exam staff at the time of the road test, or if it was submitted when applying for an instruction permit, 40 hours of supervised driving time are required, 15 of which must be nighttime hours.

# Q: Will students who are applying for a farm work license be required to submit the driving log showing 50 or 40 hours of driving time?

A: Yes. There were no provisions in the new law that excluded students applying for farm work licenses.

#### Q: Where may I find a supervised driving log to complete for my student?

A: The supervised driving log has been sent to all driver education programs, and the programs are encouraged to provide all of their students with the log. The supervised driving log is also available on the Driver and Vehicle Services website at: <u>https://dps.mn.gov/divisions/dvs/forms-documents/Documents/SupervisedDrivingLog.pdf</u>

### Q: Are all parents/guardians required to complete the parent class?

A: No. Completion of the parent class is optional. DVS recommends that all parents/guardians complete the class to help educate them on the provisions of the GDL Law, and to assist their teens in becoming safe drivers.

### Q: May someone other than a student's parent or guardian complete the parent class?

A: Yes. A grandparent, sibling, or any other licensed driver who is 21 or older may complete the parent class. This person should then be considered the Primary Driving Supervisor and spend the majority of the time in the vehicle when the student is driving with their instruction permit.

### Q: Will the 90 minute parent class count toward the 30 hour classroom course for the students?

A: No. The parent class is designed only for the parents/guardians of the students.

### Q: What are the curriculum topics that parents/guardians can expect to be included in the parent class?

A: All programs must provide information on the following topics. They may add any additional information they feel will be beneficial to parents/guardians:

- Graduated driver licensing.
- Safety risks associated with novice drivers.
- Potential influence of adults on driving behavior of novice drivers.
- Additional resources.

# Q: If parents/guardians complete a 90 minute parent class prior to January 1, 2015, will it be acceptable for students to document only 40 hours of supervised driving time after January 1?

A: Yes. Driver education programs should keep attendance records of parents/guardians who attend the class in 2014 and issue them a certificate of completion when they complete the class.

# Q: If parents/guardians complete the parent class and receive a certificate of completion, is this valid for any other child who completes a driver education program?

A: No. The certificate of completion is valid only for one teen, unless there is more than one teen in the same class. Parents/guardians will be required to complete another parent class for subsequent teens who complete a driver education program.