

Getting Your Minnesota License

With the exception of commercial drivers, you have 60 days after becoming a Minnesota resident in which to apply for your Minnesota driver's license or permit. Commercial drivers have 30 days.

Testing

- If you are 21 and over and have a valid, unexpired driver's license from another U.S. state, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, American Samoa, Virgin Islands, Guam, Marshall Islands, Micronesia, Northern Mariana or Canada you **do not** need to take a written test about Minnesota driving laws and regulations.
- If you are UNDER 21 you WILL need to take a written test about Minnesota driving laws and regulations.
- If your license has been expired for more than one year, you must pass a road test.
- If you have moved from a country other than the ones listed above, you must pass both the written and road tests.

You will need to:

- Complete a Minnesota driver's license application and provide your social security number (if you are eligible for a SSN).
- Present one primary and one secondary form of identification (*see back*).
- Present your driver's license from your previous state, this will be invalidated and returned to you if the road test is waived.
- Provide proof of passing the appropriate testing requirements (if applicable).
- Pass a vision screening and have a photo taken.
- Pay appropriate fees (visit DVS website for fees).

August 2023

NEW TO MINNESOTA

Title Your Vehicle in Minnesota

New residents have 60 days after becoming a resident in which to register their passenger vehicle, motorcycle, utility trailer or house trailer, provided the registration displayed on the vehicle is current. If the registration is expired or if the vehicle is a commercial trailer or truck, you must obtain registration immediately.

You will need:

- Current vehicle title, or if the title is not available the current registration card.
- The name and address of any current lien holders.
- Odometer reading on your vehicle.
- Driver's license or acceptable form of identification (*see back*).
- If you are leasing the vehicle, a copy of the lease agreement or a power-of-attorney from the leasing company and the company's Minnesota Tax ID number.
- Payment of appropriate <u>fees</u>. *Title fees are typically around \$30.* Registration tax depends on the type and age of the vehicle.

Insurance Requirements

When you are going to register a vehicle or motorcycle in Minnesota you will need to provide insurance information under a law change that takes effect on Jan. 1, 2016. Every owner will need to provide the following information:

- Name of insurance company
- Policy number
- Expiration date of the policy

The Minnesota No-Fault Act requires owners of registered motor vehicles to maintain no-fault insurance. Drivers are also required to carry proof of insurance in the vehicle at all times and to provide it to peace officers upon demand.

Questions? Contact Us!

Email:		Office Locations:	(651) 297-2005
Vehicle Services: motor.vehicles@state.mn.us			
Driver Services: driverslicense@state.mn.us		Customer Assistance for	
Web: drive.mn.gov		deaf or hard of hearing:	(651) 282-6555
Phone:		Watercraft/Snowmobiles:	
Vehicle Registration	(651) 297-2126	Contact the Minnesota Dept. of Natural Resources at: (651) 296-6157 or 1 (888) 646-6367	
Driver's License	(651) 297-3298		
Special Plates	(651) 297-3166		

Minnesota Department of Public Safety Driver and Vehicle Services Division – 445 Minnesota Street – St. Paul, MN 55101

Identification Requirements

As a new resident of Minnesota, you must present one primary and one secondary document at the time you apply for a Minnesota driver's license, identification card or permit.

The primary document must contain your full name and the month, day and year of your birth. Any document not in English must be accompanied by a qualified English translation. The name on the Minnesota driver's license, identification card or permit that is issued to you will be the name on the primary document or legal name change document that you present.

- If the names on your primary and secondary documents do not match, you must present proof of your legal name change(s). Acceptable proof is certified marriage certificates, certified divorce decrees or other certified court orders. Your identity and name change documents need to show a clear link between your primary and secondary documents.
- If you are a temporary United States resident, you may need to show additional proof of your lawful admission period, such as a form I-20, DS-2019, I-797 or other official immigration document or receipt.

-	Documents are subject to verification and may not be accepted if laminated or otherwise altered.

Primary Documents	Secondary Documents
 Certified birth record issued by a government bureau of vital statistics or board of health in the United States, District of Columbia, Guam, Puerto Rico or the United States Virgin Islands Certificate of Birth Abroad (FS-545 or DS-1350) issued by the U.S. Department of State Report of Birth Abroad of a United States Citizen (FS-240) issued by a U.S. embassy Certified adoption certificate from a U.S. court Valid, unexpired U.S. passport book or card Secure unexpired Minnesota tribal identification card. Unexpired active duty, reserve or retired U.S. military identification card (DD-2 or Geneva Conventions Common Access Card) Valid, unexpired passport from a country other than the U.S. with an unexpired I-94 form or with an unexpired I-551 stamp Canadian birth or naturalization certificate with an unexpired I-94 form attached (Must be presented with a photo Secondary Document issued by a Canadian government agency) One of the following valid, unexpired documents issued by the U.S. Department of Justice or U.S. Department of Homeland Security Employment Authorization card with photo (I-688 or I-766 series) Permanent Resident or Resident Alien card (I-551 or I-151) Re-entry Permit/Refuge Travel Document (I-327, I-571) Certificate of Naturalization (N-550, N-570, or N-578) Certificate of Citizenship (N-560, N-561, or N-645) United States Citizen Identification Card (I-179 or I-197) Northern Mariana Card (I-873) American Indian Card (I-872) 	 Another primary document Photo driver's license, state identification card or permit, issued by a U.S. state other than Minnesota, the District of Columbia, Guam, Puerto Rico, the U.S. Virgin Islands or a Canadian province or territory, that is current or expired for five years or less U.S. social security card (nonmetal) or Canadian social insurance card Certified birth certificate from a government jurisdiction other than the U.S., the District of Columbia, Guam, Puerto Rico or the U.S. Virgin Islands Certified government-issued marriage certificate Certified U.S. or Canadian court order with full name and date of birth Certified secondary or post-secondary school transcript containing legal full name and date of birth Current secondary school (grades 7-12) student identification card with student's name, photograph and date of birth or unique identification number <i>(identification card must have the academic/school year or issue date printed on the card)</i> Government employee photo identification card from a jurisdiction in the U.S. or Canada Current identification card (DD-1173 or DD-214) issued by the U.S. Department of Defense Unexpired color-photo permit to carry a firearm or concealed weapon, issued by a U.S. police department or sheriff Current pilot's license issued by the Federal Aviation Administration Valid Minnesota Department of Corrections or Federal Bureau of Prisons ID card