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What is a Salvage Vehicle? 

Driver and Vehicle Services (DVS) issues Minnesota 
salvage titles to late-model vehicles (six model years 
old and newer) and high-value vehicles ($9,000 value 
prior to damage or a vehicle with a manufacturer’s 
gross weight rating over 26,000 pounds, and not late-
models) when: 

• An insurance company has acquired vehicle
ownership through payment of a total loss claim

• A vehicle owned by a self-insured owner sustains
damage in excess of 80 percent of the vehicle’s
value

• A title from another state for a late-model or high-
value vehicle that was transferred through an
insurance company, was issued a salvage title by
that state, or was damaged in excess of its value

The front of a Minnesota Salvage title is clearly 
stamped in red: SALVAGE-MUST BE INSPECTED. 

How to clear the salvage status of a 
vehicle: 

• Submit the following items to your local Deputy
Registrar’s office: Surrendered title, completed
Declaration of Reconstruction (PS2015) form, and
original receipts

• Surrender a passed vehicle inspection report (see
column to the right)

• Pay the $35 salvage inspection and $10 filing fee

Vehicle Registration 

Registration may be renewed only once on a salvage 
vehicle. It is to your advantage to clear the salvage 
status of the vehicle in a timely manner. 

QUESTIONS?  CONTACT DVS! 

Email: dvs.motor.vehicles@state.mn.us 

Motor Vehicle Questions: (651) 297-2126 

Office Locations: (651) 297-2005 
dvs.dps.mn.gov 

TTY/TDD: (651) 282-6555 

Salvage Inspections 
A salvage vehicle inspection is required to clear the 
salvage status of a vehicle. A DVS Inspection Specialist 
conducts the inspection.  

Appointments are encouraged; office location and 
contact information is available at dvs.dps.mn.gov or 
by calling (651) 284-1234.  

This is not a safety inspection. It is conducted to deter 
fraud and theft.   

At the time of inspection, you must provide: 

• The salvage title; if you applied for title before the
inspection, you will receive a photocopy of the
title and documents you surrendered with
instructions on how to arrange the inspection.

• Declaration of Reconstruction (PS2015) completed
by the owner at the time of repair.

• Original letterhead receipts for any major parts
replaced.

After successfully completing the inspection, you must 
submit the inspection report at a Deputy Registrar 
office along with the other items listed to the left 
under, “How to clear the salvage status of a vehicle.”
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Permanent Brands on Titles 
If a vehicle is subject to branding, the Minnesota title brand is permanent and will appear on all subsequent titles 
issued. A vehicle not subject to branding is issued a clear title.  

Reference: Minnesota Statutes, sections 168A. 01, subd. 6a; 325F.6641; 325F.6642; 325F.6644 

Motorcycles 

• A motorcycle that has been altered from its original construction is subject to the “RECONST” brand (see
below)

• Motorcycles are exempt from prior salvage branding

• The title of a motorcycle that has been constructed of new aftermarket parts will have on it the permanent
notation “Assembled”

Gross Weight Vehicles 

• A commercial vehicle with a vehicle gross weight rating of 16,000 pounds or more is exempt from branding
unless it has been reconstructed, in which case the title will be stamped “RECONST”

Brands on Minnesota Titles 

Prior Salvage 
The brand is stamped on a Minnesota title when: 
 The salvage status of a vehicle is cleared.
 The foreign state title contains a brand such as “prior salvage,” “damaged,” “rebuilt,”

“reconditioned,” etc. The vehicle must have been repaired prior to entering Minnesota.

Flood 
The brand FLOOD DAMAGED appears on a Minnesota title when: 
 The application for title indicates that the vehicle has been classified as a loss by flood or water

damage.
 A foreign state title is surrendered that has the notation “FLOOD” or “WATER DAMAGE.”

Reconstructed 
The brand “RECONST” appears on a Minnesota title when: a vehicle has been altered from its original 
construction by the removal, addition, or substitution of essential parts. 

Rebuilt 
The brand appears on the title when the vehicle has sustained damage in excess of 80 percent and the 
“PRIOR SALVAGE” brand does not apply. 

Assembled 
This is not a brand but a permanent legend that appears on a Minnesota title when a motorcycle has 
been assembled from new aftermarket parts. 

Lemon Law Vehicle 
Effective August 1, 2008, the title for any vehicle subject to Minnesota’s lemon law (325F.665) and all 
vehicles with out-of-state titles that bear the term “Lemon Law Vehicle” or any similar term will be issued 
a Minnesota title stamped with “Lemon Law Vehicle.” 
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