
Minnesota Tax Manual 

Miscellaneous Taxes and Fees 
The registration taxes below do not include license plate or filing fees (see Fee Chart on page 8). 

Type Amount Statute Reference 

Bus, Second Class City (2C) $2 per year M.S. 168.013, Subd. 1f(c) 

Bus, Private School (SB) $25 per year M.S. 168.013, Subd. 1f(d) 

Moped $6 per year M.S. 168.013, Subd. 1h 

Motorcycles $10 per year M.S. 168.013, Subd. 1b 

Semi-Trailer No Annual Registration Tax M.S. 168.012, Subd. 11 
 
Under Minnesota Statutes 168.013, subdivision 2, the tax for any vehicle whose annual tax is $10 or less 
is half the annual tax if the initial application for registration is made after September 1. 

State Government Owned Vehicles - Tax Exempt Registration 
New to Fleet or First Tax Exempt Registration 

Type Amount Statute Reference 

Administrative Fee $20 M.S. 16B.581 

Plate Fee (for two plates) $10 M.S. 16B.581 

Plate Fee (for one plate) $5 M.S. 16B.581 

Other Tax Exempt Agency to State Agency (for example: county to state) 

Type Amount Statute Reference 
Administrative Fee $10 M.S. 16B.581 

Plate Fee (for two plates) $6 M.S. 168.12, Subd. 1c 

Plate Fee (for one plate) $4.50 M.S. 168.12, Subd. 5(b) 

Non-state Agency Tax Exempt Registration (for example: county, city, township) 
Type Amount Statute Reference 
Administrative Fee $10 - due March 1 biennially M.S. 168.012, Subd. 1c 

Plate Fee (for two plates) $10 - first registration only M.S. 168.012, Subd. 1c 

Plate Fee (for one plate) $4.50 - first registration only M.S. 168.12, Subd. 5(b) 

Dealer Licenses and Plates - Per Year 
Type Amount Statute Reference 
Boat and Snowmobile Trailer Dealer License $10 M.S.168.27, Subd. 22 

Demonstration Plates and/or Stickers $5 M.S.168.27, Subd. 22 
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Other Dealer Licenses: 

Type Amount Statute Reference 

Annual Fee $150 M.S. 168.27, Subd. 11(g) 

Application Fee (new license & expired license) $100 M.S. 168.27, Subd. 11(g) 

Cost per Plate and/or Sticker for Each of the First Four 
Demonstration Plates $75 M.S. 168.27, Subd. 16 

Cost per Plate and/or Sticker for Fifth and Each 
Subsequent Demonstration Plate $40 M.S. 168.27, Subd. 16 

Dealer In Transit Plates $5 M.S. 168.27, Subd. 17 

Drive Away In Transit (includes one set of registration 
plates and/or stickers) $250 M.S. 168.053, Subd. 1 

Additional Registration Plates and/or Stickers $5 M.S. 168.053, Subd. 1 

Duplicate Dealer Plates (all classes) $4.50 M.S. 168.12, Subd. 2f(b) 

Duplicate Stickers $1 M.S. 168.12, Subd. 2f(b) 

Filing Fee for Licenses $10 M.S. 168.12, Subd. 5(b) 

Filing Fee for New Plates and Stickers $10 M.S. 168.12, Subd. 5(b) 

Filing Fee for Plate Renewal $6 M.S. 168.12, Subd. 5(b) 

The e-Licensing surcharge is required on all renewals $15 M.S. 16E.22, Subd. 3 

The e-Licensing surcharge is required on all initial 
applications $25 M.S. 16E.22, Subd. 3 

The e-licensing surcharge is required on all DSB 
applications and renewals $5 M.S. 16E.22, Subd. 3 

  

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=168.27
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=168.27
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=168.27
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=168.27
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=168.27
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=168.053
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=168.053
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=168.12
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=168.12
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=168.12
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=168.12
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=168.12
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=16E.22
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=16E.22
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=16E.22


Instructions for Determining the Annual Tax Due on a Passenger Class Vehicle 
1. Establish the base value of the vehicle, using the provided base value guide. 
2. Determine the beginning month of taxation, based on the date of first registration. 
3. Locate the proper month/year tax table. The header at the top of the page will tell you in what month 

the registration expires.  
4. Find the correct base value bracket and move right to the proper model year column.  
5. Example: On April 28, 2015, a Minnesota resident purchased and received a 2015 automobile which 

has a base value of $10,569. 
• Locate the tax table that begins April 1, 2015. The expiration date will be March 31, 2016. 
• Issue March 2016 registration stickers. 
• Locate the base value bracket 10,400-10,599.99 
• Move right to the model year 15 column. 
• Registration tax due is $138.00 

April 1, 2015 through March 31, 2016 
M o d e l  Y e a r  o f  V e h i c l e  

Instructions for Determining the Annual Tax Due for a Truck, Trailer, or Bus 
1. Determine the correct class of registration. Using this information, select the proper tax table.  
2. Determine the weight at which the vehicle is to be registered. 
3. Locate the appropriate registered weight bracket and move right to the correct model year column. 
4. Example below 

Y CLASS ANNUAL TAX TABLE 
(12 Month Registration 3-1-15 through 2-28-16) 

Valid for tax amounts due for the year 2013 ONLY as prescribed by Minnesota Statute 168.13. 
Includes 5 percent surtax as prescribed by Minnesota Statutes 168.013 subd 14. 

Code Total Gross Weight  
in Pounds 2015-2009 2008 2007 and 

Older 
E 0 - 10,000 120 115 90 
F 10,001 - 12,000 120 115 90 

 
  

Base Value 
Brackets 16 15 14 13 12 11 10 09 08 07 06 

05 & 
Older 

10,200-10,399.99 139 136 123 110 97 84 71 58 45 35 35 35 

10,400-10,599.99 141 138 125 112 99 85 72 59 46 35 35 35 

10,600-10,799.99 144 140 127 114 100 87 74 60 47 35 35 35 



To Prorate the Annual Registration of a Passenger Vehicle, Truck, Trailer, or Bus 
1. Use the increment section of the tax manual. 
2. From the total annual tax column, move right across the table to the month of registration column. 
3. Example below 

Annual Fee in Monthly Increments 
N u m b e r  o f  M o n t h s  o f  R e g i s t r a t i o n  

Annual 
Tax 12 11 10 9 8 7 6 5 4 3 2 1 

119 119 109 99 89 79 69 60 50 40 30 20 10 

120 120 110 100 90 80 70 60 50 40 30 20 10 
 
  



Application Fees 

Type Additional Information 
Conversion ....................... $3 Due with all conversions to a different registration class 

Duplicate Title Fee ........... $8.25 
Duplicate Cab Card .......... $1 

 

Expedited Title Fee .......... $20 This service is not available at all offices. 
Filing Fee 
• Renewals Only ....... $6 
• All Other .................. $10 

 

Late Transfer Penalty ....... $2 Due when a transfer is not submitted within 10 business days of 
the date-of-sale. 

Lien Fee (Grant) ............... $2 
Assignment of Lien ........... $1 

There is no fee for a duplicate lien card. However, a deputy 
registrar may charge the $10 filing fee. 

Non-Title Transfer ............ $3  

PSV Fee ........................... $3.50 Public Safety Vehicle Fee 
Due on initial applications for title and title transfers. Do not 
charge this fee on non-titled trailer transactions.  

Partial Year Registration .. $5 Due on quarterly registrations in the Farm or Y Truck class. 
RGW ................................. $3 Due with each application to reduce the gross vehicle weight of 

a vehicle registered in one of the miscellaneous classes.  
Sales Tax ......................... 6.5% Due on the net purchase price of the vehicle unless the 

purchase is exempt from sales tax or qualifies for one of the 
following in-lieu taxes: 
• $10-In-lieu Tax – charge on passenger vehicles, ten model 

years or older, when the purchase price and fair market 
value is under $3,000. If the fair market value or purchase 
price is $3,000 or more, the vehicle does not qualify for the 
in-lieu tax.  

• $90 In Lieu Tax – Charge on passenger class vehicles and 
fire trucks registered in a collector class. 

Salvage Inspection  .......... $35 Due for inspections of salvage vehicles only. 

Special Plate Transfer ...... $5  

Technology Surcharge ..... $1 Effective July 1, 2012 through June 30, 2016 (M.S. 168.13, 
168A.29, 171.06, 299A.705) 

A $1.00 technology surcharge is due with every vehicle 
registration renewal, title transfer, and most driver’s license 
transactions. 

• Partial Pay Vehicles: Due with initial payment 
• Farm Quarterly Registration: Due once per registration year 

Daily Rental Vehicles: Due with each renewal, regardless of 
number of months of registration. 
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Type Additional Information 
Title Fee ........................... $7.25 
 

Due on initial applications for title and title transfers. 
This includes: 
• Each issuance of a title 
• Repossessions 
• Corrected titles  

Title Transfer Fee ............. $6.50 Due on each additional dealer reassignment on a Minnesota 
title.  

Transfer Tax ..................... $10 Due on initial applications for title and title transfers. 
Do not charge on: 
• Transfers from joint to single ownership 

(The fee is due on transfers from single to joint ownership.) 
• Applications in the name of a licensed dealer, when the 

dealer is holding the vehicle for resale 
• Applications in the name of a leasing company 
• Applications in the name of a government entity 
• Applications in the name of the owner listed on the foreign 

state title or registration card being surrendered. 
• Applications for vehicles weighing less than 1,000 pounds 

Wheelage Tax .................. $10 Collected at time of registration for vehicles kept in participating 
counties. A full list can be found at: 
https://dps.mn.gov/divisions/dvs/Pages/Wheelage-Tax.aspx 
Motorcycles, two-wheeled motorized vehicles (motorized 
bicycles and electric-assisted bicycles), trailers and vehicles for 
which the law does not require annual registration are exempt 

Duplicate Registration Stickers – $1.00 per issuance. Only $1 is due, even if two sets of stickers are 
replaced, for example both the month and validation stickers. The sticker fee is NOT charged when 
issuing duplicate plates. 

License Plate Fees 

License Plate Type Initial Duplicate 7-Year 
Replacement Additional Information 

Passenger 
M.S. 168.12, Subds 1(2), 5(b) 

$6 Double 
$4.50 Single 

$6 Double 
$4.50 Single 

$6 Double 
$4.50 Single 

 

Truck $6 Double 
$4.50 Single 

$6 Double 
$4.50 Single 

NA  

Motorcycle/Moped $4.50 $4.50 NA  
Trailer $4.50 $4.50 NA  
Utility Trailer $2.50 $2.50 NA Self-Adhesive Plate 
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Special Plate Type Initial Duplicate 7-Year 
Replacement 

Additional 
Information 

Amateur Radio Operator 
M.S. 168.12, Subd. 2(5) 

$10.00 $14.00 $14.00  

Citizen Band Radio 
M.S. 168.12, Subd. 2(5) 

$10.00 $14.00 $14.00  

Classic 
M.S. 168.10, Subd. 1b  

M.S. 168.12, Subd. 2a, 5(b) 

$15 Double 
$13.50 Single 

$15 Double 
$13.50 Single 

NA $25 one time 
registration due with 
initial application 

Classic Motorcycle 
M.S. 168.12, Subd. 5(b) 

M.S. 168.105 

$13.50 $13.50 NA $10 one-time 
registration due with 
initial application 

Collector 
M.S. 168.10, Subd. 1c 

M.S. 168.12, Subd. 2f, 5(b) 

$15 Double 
$13.50 Single 

$15 Double 
$13.50 Single 

NA $25 one time 
registration due with 
initial application 

Collegiate 
M.S. 168.129 Subd. 1(5) 

M.S. 168.12, Subd. 5 

$10 Double 
$8.50 Single 

$10 Double 
$8.50 Single 

$10 Double 
$8.50 Single 

Minimum Contribution 
$25 

Congressional 
Medal of Honor 
M.S. 168.124 

No Fee No Fee No Fee  

Combat Wounded 
Veteran Motorcycle 
M.S. 168.123 

$10.00 $10.00 NR Requires DD214 or 
equivalent 

Critical Habitat 

M.S. 168.1296 Subd. 1(2) 

$10.00 $10.00 $10.00 Minimum Contribution 
$30 

Disability 

M.S. 168.021 Subd. 1 

$6 Double 

$4.50 Single 

$6 Double 

$4.50 Single 

$6 Double 

$4.50 Single 

 

Disability Motorcycle 

M.S. 168.021 Subd. 1 

$4.50 Single $4.50 Single N/A  

Ex-POW 

M.S. 168.125 

No Fee No Fee No Fee  

Gold Star License Plate 

M.S. 168.1253 

No Fee No Fee No Fee Applicant provides 
proof of relation to 
deceased. Annual 
registration and filing 
fees are required. 

Limousine 

M.S. 168.128 Subd. 2(2) 

$10.00 $10.00 $10.00  

National Guard 

M.S. 168.12, Subd. 2c(2) 

$10.00 $10.00 $10.00  
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Special Plate Type Initial Duplicate 7-Year 
Replacement 

Additional 
Information 

Original 

M.S. 168.12, Subd. 2f 

NA NA NA $10 Fee 

     

Pioneer 
M.S. 168.10, Subd. 1a 
M.S. 168.12, Subd. 2f 

$15.00 Double 
$13.50 Single 

$15.00 Double 
$13.50 Single 

NA $25 one time 
registration due with 
initial application 

Personalized 
M.S. 168.12, Subd. 2a(1),(2) 

$100.00 $14.00 Double 

$10.00 Single 

$14.00 Double 

$10.00 Single 

The initial application 
for personalized 
collector class plates 
requires a one-time 
registration fee of $25. 

Ready Reserve 

M.S. 168.12, Subd. 2d(2) 

$10.00 $10.00 $10.00  
 

Remembering Victims of 
Impaired Drivers 

M.S. 168.121 

 

$10.00 $10.00 $10.00  

Retired Firefighter 

M.S. 168.12, Subd. 2b Sec 1 

$10.00 $10.00 $10.00 Requires letter from the 
fire chief. 

Special Registration 
M.S. 169A.60, Subd. 13 

M.S. 168.041, Subd. 6 

$50.00 $6.00 Double 

$4.50 Single 

$6.00 Double 

$4.50 Single 

 

Street Rod 
M.S. 168.10, Subd. 1(d) 

$15.00 Double 

$13.50 Single 

$15.00 Double 

$13.50 Single 

NA $25 one time 
registration due with 
initial application 

Support Our Troops 

M.S. 168.1298, Subd. 1(a)(2) 

$10.00 $10.00 $10.00 Minimum Contribution 
$30 

Support Our Troops 
Motorcycle 

M.S. 168.1298, Subd. 1(a)(2) 

$10.00 $10.00 NR Minimum Contribution 
$30 

Veteran - Passenger 

M.S. 168.123, Subd. 1(b) 

$10.00  $10.00  NR  

Veteran – 1 Ton Truck 

M.S. 168.123, Subd. 1(d) 

$10.00 $10.00 NR  

Volunteer Ambulance 

M.S. 168.12 Subd. 2e(3) 

$10.00 $10.00 $10  
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Firefighter 

M.S. 168.12 Subd. 2B(2) 

$10.00 $10.00 $10 Requires fire chief’s 
signature 

Van Pool 

M.S. 168.12, Subd. 5(b) 

$10 Double 

$8.50 Single 

$10 Double 

$8.50 Single 

$10 Double 

$8.50 Single 

 

Woman Veteran 

M.S. 168.123, Subd. 1, Sec. 1 

$10.00 $10.00 NR Requires DD214 or 
equivalent 
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