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Phone: (651) 296-2025 TTY: (651) 282-6555
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Vanessa’s Law Sample Letter

[Date]

[Name]
[Address]
[City, State Zip Code]

Dear Mr. /Ms. [Name]:

This letter is in regards to your driving privileges and the fact that you received an alcohol offense under the age
of 18. Due to the nature of your offense, Vanessa’s Law (Minnesota Statute 169A.55, Subd. 3), which went into
effect May 5, 2004, requires you to meet additional requirements.

To regain your driving privileges back you will need to:

e Complete another 30 hours of classroom driver’s education.

e Complete all requirements of the revocation as noted on your revocation notice.

e Bring proof of classroom training to an exam station and apply for an instruction permit and a driver’s
license, in addition to paying the appropriate fees for each application. You should then fax the completed
revocation requirements, the instruction permit, driver’s license application, and proof of classroom
completion to (651) 797-1298, Attention: Driver Evaluation regarding Vanessa’s Law. An instruction permit
will then be issued once you turn 18 or if you already are 18; providing your revocation time is over and you
have met the revocation requirements.

e Itissuggested that you first check your Minnesota driving status to see if you show valid for driving on the
Minnesota Instruction Permit receipt before practice driving or starting your six hours of behind-the-wheel
driving lessons. You may check your Minnesota driving status at www.mndriveinfo.org or you may call (651)

284-2000. You will also be mailed a letter of reinstatement of driving privilege.

e During the time of possessing a valid instruction permit, you must complete six hours of behind-the-wheel
training and hold a valid instruction permit for at least 90 days.

e Once the 90 days is over and you have completed the behind-the-wheel training, please fax proof of
completion to (651) 215-6385, Attention: Driver Evaluation regarding Vanessa’s Law. Your driver’s license
will then be processed for issuing if otherwise eligible.

While this may seem overwhelming, please know that lawmakers felt the sanctions in Vanessa’s Law were
needed to prevent future tragedies involving young drivers and alcohol. If you have additional questions, please
call Driver Evaluation at (651) 296-2025.
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