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Driver Services Class D Instruction Permit FAQs 

At what age can a person obtain a Class D Instruction Permit to practice driving? 
• Must be at least 15 years of age 
• If between ages 15-18, must have completed the appropriate amount of classroom instruction and be 

enrolled in behind-the-wheel instruction 

What testing is required? 
• Must pass Class D knowledge test 
• Must pass vision screening 

Where can I take the Class D knowledge test? 
• There are 95 driver exam stations located across the state. Refer to dvs.dps.mn.gov 

What do I need to bring for the knowledge test? 
• Identification documents (refer to dvs.dps.mn.gov or the driver’s manual for a list of acceptable 

documents) 
• Proof of completing driver education if under age 18 
• If you fail two consecutive tests, a $10 fee will be charged for each subsequent knowledge test 

Where do I make application for the Instruction Permit? 
• There are 14 exam stations that accept applications and 127 Driver’s License Agent offices. Refer to 

dvs.dps.mn.gov 

What do I need to bring when making application for the Instruction Permit? 
• Proof of passing the Class D knowledge test 
• Identification documents (refer to dvs.dps.mn.gov or the driver’s manual for a list of acceptable 

documents) 
• Corrective lenses (if needed) 
• Parent or legal guardian, if under the age of 18. If they are not available at time of application, need 

their notarized signature on the application. 
• Appropriate fee 

How long do I need to have an Instruction Permit? 
• If you are 18 and under, you must practice driving with a licensed adult driver for at least six months 

before a driving test can be taken 
o You must complete behind the wheel instruction and be age 16 to take the road test. Exceptions 

are for farm work and medical licenses 
• If you are 19 or older, you must practice driving with an adult licensed driver for at least three months 

before taking a driving test 
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Driver Services Class D Instruction Permit FAQs 

What if I am under age 18 and have an Instruction Permit from another state? 

If applying for a Minnesota Instruction Permit: 

• Must meet ID requirements 
• Present out of state Instruction Permit 
• Pass Class D knowledge test 
• Fill out application 
• Parent/legal guardian signature 
• Pay Instruction Permit fee 

If applying for a Minnesota Driver’s License and using Instruction Permit time from another state: 

• At the time of the road test, you must present a certified copy of your driving record from your previous 
state showing you had valid driving privileges the last six months 

• Present proof of having driver’s training equivalent to Minnesota’s requirements of 30 hours classroom 
and 6 hours of behind-the-wheel 

• Documentation of passing the road test 
• Fill out application 
• Parent/legal guardian signature 
• Pay Driver’s License fee 

What if I am under age 15 and I have an Instruction Permit from another state? 
• Minnesota law does not allow a person under the age of 15 to drive 
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