As of Oct. 8, Minnesotans have the option to take the class D knowledge test online at home in addition to taking the test at an open DVS exam station.
As a result of legislation signed into law by Gov. Tim Walz, the Minnesota Department of Public Safety Driver and Vehicle Services division (DPS-DVS) began offering the class D knowledge test online and through third-party testing sites on Oct. 8, 2020.
Online knowledge test information
- The online class D knowledge test is available Monday-Saturday, 6 a.m. - 11 p.m.
- Testers have the option of selecting English or Spanish when registering for the online knowledge test.
- Audio of the questions is not available.
- Other languages are not available at this time. DPS plans to add additional languages in the future. Anyone who needs to take the knowledge test in another language, or requires an ASL or other language interpreter should schedule an appointment online at drive.mn.gov to take the class D knowledge test at an open DVS exam station.
- If you need additional special accommodations, please contact DVS at 651-284-1234.
Request to take the online class D knowledge test
Minnesotans can submit their request to take the class D knowledge test online by completing these steps:
- Go to drive.mn.gov and select Take a Class D Knowledge Test.
- Follow the prompts.
- Name, date of birth and social security number are required. If you do not have a social security number, you will need to complete the class D knowledge test at an open DVS exam station.
- Enter this information carefully and double check to make sure everything is correct before completing registration. This ensures your test results will display properly in the DPS-DVS system.
- Proctor information is required. A proctor is a person who monitors students during a test or exam. A proctor must be 21 or older, hold a valid Minnesota driver's license and may only proctor the test for three individuals per year.
- Once registered, DPS-DVS will send an email to the email address provided during registration with the following information:
- A link to the at home knowledge test site.
- Test ticket number.
- Unique security code.
- Testing and proctor instructions.
- You must take the test immediately after registering and receiving the confirmation email. After six minutes, the codes will expire and a person will need to wait 24 hours and register for the test again.
- A proctor is a person who monitors students during a test or exam.
- In order to proctor the online class D knowledge test for another person, you must:
- Be 21 or older and hold a valid Minnesota driver's license.
- Agree to the DPS-DVS guidelines, which include not providing any assistance during the test.
- A proctor may only proctor the test for three individuals per year.
- A parent or guardian can proctor the test if they meet the age and license requirements; however, a proctor does not need to be a parent or guardian.
Taking the Online Knowledge Test
When you are ready to take the online knowledge test, you can log into the site on your tablet, laptop or desktop using any internet browsers, but Google Chrome works best.
You will need to have:
- Your unique test ticket number and security code.
- If you lose your test ticket number or security code, you will need to wait 24 hours and register for the online knowledge test again.
- Enter the test ticket number and security code manually, exactly as they are listed in your registration email, when prompted on the online knowledge site. Do not copy and paste the codes from your email. Copying and pasting may result in an error message when you try to log in.
- Your proctor.
- Testing and proctoring instructions for easy reference.
- You have 30 minutes from the time you sign in to the site to complete the test.
- If you open another internet browser while you are taking the test, your test will end with an automatic fail.
- No study materials or cell phone use is allowed during the test.
Passing the Online Knowledge Test
If you pass the class D online knowledge test, DPS-DVS will update your results in the driver services system. Once you pass:
- Complete the pre-application online at drive.mn.gov.
- Bring the required documents to a regional DVS exam station, deputy registrar or driver's license agent office to complete your permit application.
- If you are younger than 18, you will need to bring your:
- Course enrollment card (blue card).
- If you lost your blue card, contact the driving school where you took the course for a replacement.
- Parent or Guardian to sign the application.
Some offices require an appointment to make an application, before visiting an office, please visit our office locations on the DVS locations page
Failing the Online Knowledge Test
If you do not pass the online knowledge test, follow DPS-DVS guidelines to restart the testing process. DPS-DVS allows two attempts to take the test online, and only one test per day. If you fail the online knowledge test twice, you must take the knowledge test at a DVS exam station or an approved third party tester. There may be a fee if you take the test at a third-party testing site.
If you fail the knowledge test three times, the fourth and any subsequent attempts must be completed at a DVS exam station
, and there is a $10 fee per test attempt.
frequently asked questions about the online knowledge test on the COVID-19 FAQ page