is enabled and that cookies are turned on.
Each category (like About the DPS), has multiple sub-categories. To browse these
categories, please click on the links in the global navigation bar, and you will
be presented with these links.
If you have any questions, please see the Help Section or contact us.
We apologize for any inconvenience.
Back to Search Steps
Every driver of a motor vehicle involved in a crash that results in injury or death, or total property damage of $1,000 or more, must file a crash report within 10 days of the incident.
Requests may be submitted twenty (20) working days after the date of the crash.
In addition to verifying insurance, traffic crash data helps government agencies analyze traffic crashes. Knowing how, when, where and why crashes occur help to make our roadways safer for everyone.
To request a copy of a report that has been filed:
Complete a Crash Record Request Form (PS2503) and either mail it to the address on the form or visit the DVS Records/Evaluation Counter located at 445 Minnesota Street in St. Paul.
Requests will not be processed without a signature from an Authorized Requestor. An Authorized Requestor is a person involved with the crash (i.e. driver, passenger, owner of damaged property, owner of vehicle or pedestrian) who is recorded on the police report. In the case of a fatality, the next of kin, surviving spouse or legal representative of the estate must provide proof of death such as a death certificate, obituary or memorial card.
Please note: Crash information may only be disclosed to authorized requestors, their legal representatives or insurance representatives. Other disclosure, except by the Highway Traffic Regulation Act (Minnesota Statute. 169.97), is a misdemeanor.
Copy of Citizen Report: $5
Crash information may only be disclosed to authorized requestors, their legal representatives or insurance representatives. Other disclosure, except by the Highway Traffic Regulation Act, Minnesota Statute 169.97, is a misdemeanor
Minnesota Statute 169.09
Crash Record Request Form (PS2503)
Who has access to traffic crash reports?
All reports are confidential. They cannot be used as evidence in trial (civil or criminal) and are available only to the person who submitted it. An authorized agent, such as an insurance company or an attorney, may obtain a copy of a police report with a signed release from a party involved in the crash.
Mail:Reports can be obtained in person or by mail at:Driver and Vehicle Services – Central OfficeTown Square Building445 Minnesota Street, Suite 161Saint Paul, MN 55101-5161Email:Driver Services: DVS.firstname.lastname@example.orgPhone:Records: (651) 215-1335Office Locations: (651) 297-2005 Assistance for Hearing Impaired Callers (TDD/TTY): (651) 282-6555Fax:(651) 282-5512
Report an Accident Page
DVS Office Locations