is enabled and that cookies are turned on.
Each category (like About the DPS), has multiple sub-categories. To browse these
categories, please click on the links in the global navigation bar, and you will
be presented with these links.
If you have any questions, please see the Help Section or contact us.
We apologize for any inconvenience.
Back to Search Steps
Welcome to Minnesota! As a new resident to Minnesota, you must apply for Minnesota vehicle registration in person at any motor vehicle Deputy Registrar Office statewide, or you can mail your Application to Title and Register a Motor Vehicle (PS2000) to DVS. You will need to provide proof of ownership for the vehicle, such as the vehicle's current certificate of title or registration card.
How soon do I need to obtain Minnesota registration for my vehicle?
New residents have a 60-day grace period in which to register their cars, passenger vans, 3/4 ton or less pickups, motorcycles, utility trailers or house trailers as long as the displayed license plates are current.
If your registration expires before the 60-day grace period is up, you must obtain Minnesota registration at the time of expiration. If the registration currently displayed on the vehicle is expired, or if you had to surrender your license plates in your previous state of residency, you must apply for Minnesota registration immediately.
Reference: Minnesota Statutes 168.012
Where do I apply for Minnesota license plates and title?
We recommend that you visit one of the 174 Deputy Registrar Offices located throughout the state. They will assist you with your application for Minnesota registration and title. Many offices can also accept your application for a Minnesota driver's license.
If you are unable to apply in person, apply by mail. You may complete an Application to Title and Register a Motor Vehicle (PS2000) and submit it with proof of vehicle ownership and appropriate fees to DVS, 445 Minnesota Street, St. Paul, MN 55101-5160.
What do I need to apply for registration?
You will need the following:
Are you leasing your vehicle? If so, provide a copy of your leasing agreement or a power of attorney agreement between the leasing company and you. Also furnish the leasing company's Minnesota Tax ID number.Insurance RequirementsThe Minnesota No-Fault Act (Minnesota Statutes 65B.48) requires motor vehicle owners to maintain "no fault insurance." The law means that it's a crime for an owner to operate (or permit operation) of uninsured motorcycles or motor vehicles on public roads and highways. Violations may result in fines, imprisonment and/or revocation of driving privileges and license plates. Minnesota Statutes 169.791 requires that proof of insurance be in the vehicle at all times and shown to a peace officer upon demand.
Registration Exemption for Active Duty Military Personnel
Minnesota has an "ad valorem" registration tax system for passenger class vehicles (see Standard License Plates Page for more information).
The age of the vehicle is also a factor in determining passenger registration tax:
To determine your registration tax, you may wish to contact (651) 297-2126 or a Motor Vehicle Deputy Registrar Office.Vehicle Registration fees vary by vehicle, refer to the Registration Tax Page for more information.
Minnesota Statute 168.013
Minnesota Statutes 169.791
The Minnesota No-Fault Act (Minnesota Statutes 65B.48)
Minnesota Motor Vehicle Tax Manual
Application to Title and Register a Motor Vehicle (PS2000)
I just moved to Minnesota, can I register my vehicle online?
Welcome to Minnesota! You will need to go to a Deputy Registrar Office to register your vehicle for the first time in Minnesota. Please bring your vehicle title, or if that is not available, the vehicle's current registration card. You will also need to present identification, such as your current driver's license.
The deputy registrar will issue you Minnesota license plates and registration stickers. Next year you will be able to renew the registration online.
Beginning on January 1, 2012, owners of off-highway motorcycles (OHM) can convert them for on-highway use and self-certify that the conversion meets all the requirements for use on public roads and highways. In the past this conversion could only be done with a given kit and certified by the manufacturer that built the motorcycle. Now the owner can make this certification themselves. However, the owner needs to be aware that many requirements must be met.
Driver and Vehicle Services – Central OfficeTown Square Building445 Minnesota Street, Suite 168Saint Paul, MN 55101-5168
Driver and Vehicle Services RenewalP.O. Box 64587 St. Paul, MN 55164-0587
DVS Office Locations
Register your watercraft: visit the Department of Natural Resources Website or a DVS Deputy Registrar Location.
Status of Tabs