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Minnesota Ignition Interlock  
Device Program Guidelines 

Scope 
 

The purpose of this document is to establish program guidelines pursuant to Minnesota Statute 

section 171.306 subd. 3 for participation in the Minnesota Ignition Interlock Device Program.  

The Minnesota Ignition Interlock Device Program is administered by the Department of Public 

Safety (Department) Driver and Vehicle Services (DVS).  These program guidelines do not 

apply to any probation or court requirements, nor is the State involved in any agreements with 

probation and/or the courts regarding use of the ignition interlock device.  The State reserves the 

right to change these guidelines as necessary.   

What is an Ignition Interlock Device  
 

An ignition interlock is a small device with a camera that is installed in a vehicle to measure an 

individual’s alcohol concentration level. The device is installed near the steering wheel and 

connected to the engine. The camera, which is part of the ignition interlock device, is located on 

the windshield.  When a person blows into the device his/her alcohol concentration level is 

detected and a photo is taken.  If the device detects alcohol, the vehicle will not start. The device 

is also designed to collect random breath samples while the vehicle is being driven. When the 

person is driving, the device signals with a beep for the driver to breathe into it. If any alcohol is 

detected during a breath sample, the device will record the violation and DVS will be notified. 

 

 

The length of time a participant must be on the ignition interlock device 

program depends on the number of prior offenses on the driving record and 

the length of time the participant has lost their driving privilege. This time 

period may be extended for any additional ignition interlock violations. 
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Options for Reinstatement 
 

First Alcohol Offense 

 

Alcohol concentration level under 0.16 or test refusal 

Available options:  

Option 1 An ignition interlock restricted license with full class D driving privileges 

Option 2 After a 15 day waiting period of no driving, a limited license will be issued  

Option 3 No driving for the revocation period 

 

Alcohol concentration level of 0.16 or greater  

Available options:  

Option 1 An ignition interlock restricted license with full class D driving privileges. 

Option 2 No driving for the revocation period 

 

Second Alcohol Offense in 10 Years/Third on Record 

Available options: 

Option 1 An ignition interlock restricted license with full class D driving privileges 

Option 2 No driving for the revocation period 

 

Third Alcohol Offense in 10 Years/Four or More on Record 

Ignition interlock required. 

 

Criminal Vehicular Operation (CVO) Conviction involving alcohol (non-fatal) 

Ignition Interlock required. 

Length of Withdrawal 
See Minnesota Statutes 169A.52 and 169A.54 

 
First Implied Consent/DWI Under 0.16 – 90 days/180 days if under age 21 

0.16 or over – 1 year 

Test refusal – 1 year 

Second Implied Consent/DWI in 10 Years or 

Third on Record 

Under 0.16 – 1 year 

0.16 or over – 2 year 

Test refusal – 2 year 

Third Implied Consent/DWI in 10 Years or 

Fourth on Record 

3 years (first year on a limited license) 

Fourth Implied Consent/DWI in 10 Years 4 years (first year on a limited license) 

Fifth or Subsequent Implied Consent/DWI 6 years (first year on a limited license) 

CVO – Bodily Harm 2 to 6 years depending upon prior offenses 

CVO – Substantial Bodily Harm 2 to 6 years depending upon prior offenses 

CVO – Great Bodily Harm 6 to 10 years depending upon prior offenses 
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Enrollment Procedures 

Eligibility Requirements 
 

To enroll in the ignition interlock device program, the driver must meet the following 

requirements: 

 

 Must be at least 18 years old and eligible for a class D driver’s license. 

o A canceled-IPS driver may enroll with an instruction permit. 

 

 Own/drive a vehicle with valid insurance. The device can be installed on cars, pickup 

trucks and vans that can be operated with a class D license requiring no further 

endorsements.  It cannot be installed on recreational vehicles, motor homes, motorcycles, 

mopeds, scooters or commercial vehicles. 

 

 Have no outstanding withdrawals. 

 

 If driving privilege was revoked prior to age 18, must not be subject to Vanessa’s Law. 

 

 If license plates have been impounded, go to the Deputy Registrar to purchase special 

plates.  For questions regarding special registration plates, contact the plate impound unit 

at (651) 297-5034. 

 

 If applicable, a Waiver of Rights form may be required for offenses under old statutes.  

 

Application Materials 
 

Please submit the following application materials.  Application materials can be found on the 

Department’s website at www.minnesotaignitioninterlock.org or by calling (651) 296-2948.  An 

interview with a driver evaluator is not required.   

 

 Pass the DWI knowledge test (MN residents only) 

 

 Pay the $680 reinstatement fee and submit the receipt 

 

 Apply for a new class D driver’s license or instruction permit, pay the application fee and 

submit the receipt (MN residents only) 

o Commercial Driving License (CDL) privileges are not allowed while participating 

in the ignition interlock device program.  Any CDL class holders must submit a 

signed statement to drop to a class D driver’s license or apply for a class D 

license.  To avoid having to retest, you must reapply for CDL privileges within 

one year of the date of class D application.  For more information, please call 

651-297-5029. 

 

 Special Review Awareness form (if required) 

file://///ts-fp-cluster/JFreuden$/Ignition%20Interlock/Program%20Guidelines/2014%20Program%20Guidelines/www.minnesotaignitioninterlock.org
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 Ignition Interlock Participation Agreement 

 Submit a certificate of insurance for the vehicle(s) to be equipped with the ignition 

interlock device.  

o The submitted documentation must specify the name of the participant, if the 

participant is not the registered owner.  The Department must be able to verify 

that the certificate of insurance is from the insurance company (not the insurance 

agent) by either the display of a company stamp or by a direct fax from the 

company. 

 Canceled-IPS drivers only – Application for Ignition Interlock Limited License (see page 

9 for more details) 

 Canceled-IPS drivers only – Complete a chemical use assessment and comply with the 

recommendations if any.  Proof of the chemical use assessment or proof of enrollment in 

treatment or other programs must be faxed directly to DVS at (651) 797-1738 by the 

assessor or treatment/program counselor.   A Minnesota driver’s license number or full 

name and date of birth must be included for verification purposes.  

 Canceled-IPS drivers only – Last Use Statement 

 If the offense is not yet displayed on the driver’s record, the Department will require a 

copy of the 7-day temporary license (Notice and Order of Revocation) the driver received 

from law enforcement to verify the offense. 

 

Submit application materials to: 

 

Mail:  Minnesota Department of Public Safety  

Driver and Vehicle Services 

Ignition Interlock Unit, Suite 177 

445 Minnesota St. 

St. Paul, MN  55101 

Secure Fax:     (651) 797-1299 

E-mail:  dvs.ii@state.mn.us 

Drop off: Visit http://dvs.dps.mn.gov for a list of exam locations. 

 
  

mailto:dvs.ii@state.mn.us
http://dvs.dps.mn.gov/


 

7 Minnesota Ignition Interlock Program Guidelines  August 2016 

 

Installation of the Ignition Interlock Device 
 

Please Note: While the device may be installed at any time during the process, a participant 

CANNOT legally drive until receiving a limited or restricted driver’s license from DVS.  If 

the application is ineligible or incomplete, there is no credit for installing the device. All 

fees associated with this program are the responsibility of the participant. 

 

After successfully submitting all application materials, DVS will send a letter authorizing the 

installation of the ignition interlock device with camera. Upon receiving this authorization, select 

an ignition interlock provider from the DVS website at www.minnesotaignitioninterlock.org .   

The Department does not regulate cost.  Each manufacturer will be able to answer questions 

regarding cost and location.  

    

 Once a manufacturer has been selected, set up an appointment to have the device 

installed.  

o The participant must have someone drive them to and from the installation 

appointment, since the participant does not have a valid license.   

 

 The manufacturer’s service center will install the ignition interlock device on the 

vehicle(s).   

o The Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) of the vehicle(s) installed with the 

ignition interlock device MUST match the VIN on the certificate of insurance. 

 

 During the installation appointment, the service center will provide training on how to 

use the device.  Other persons who may be driving the vehicle(s) such as a spouse or 

child should attend the training session. Anyone driving the vehicle(s) will be required to 

blow into the ignition interlock device. 
 

 Once the ignition interlock device has been installed and DVS has received notice of the 

installation, DVS will issue the participant’s limited or restricted license and enroll the 

individual in the ignition interlock device program.  

o The manufacturer will send the installation to DVS within 72 hours. 

o A participant can check their driving status by visiting www.dps.mn.gov. 

However, a person on a limited status cannot legally drive until the limited license 

is in their possession.    

http://www.minnesotaignitioninterlock.org/
http://www.dps.mn.gov/
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Participation Requirements 

Scheduled Service and Monitoring Visits 
 

Participants must be scheduled for a service and calibration appointment every 30 days or every 

60 days with a real-time reporting device.  A participant is required to take their vehicle to a 

service center for regularly scheduled service appointments for the entire length of the ignition 

interlock device program.  Skipping a calibration appointment is a program violation (see the 

Violations and Administrative Sanctions section for more details). 

 

The ignition interlock device records data on the breath tests and any violations, as well as 

information about how often the vehicle is used. Information from the device is downloaded by a 

computer program for analysis. A calibration check is also performed to verify the device is 

working as intended.  The manufacturer sends a report to DVS with the data.   

Early Recalls 
 

There may be times when it is required to visit the service center before the 30 or 60 days have 

passed. This is called an early recall. An early recall will happen in the following situations: 

 

 Six (6) initial start lockouts due to alcohol readings above the startup set point during a 

30 day period; 

 Three (3) reportable rolling retest violations of a positive alcohol reading; 

 One (1) illegal start violation; or 

 Any equipment malfunctioning.   

 

When the device goes into an early recall, there is a five (5) day grace period to return to the 

service center. After five (5) days, the device will enter into a permanent lockout condition and 

the participant may be required to pay for towing.  An early recall allows the vendor to reset the 

device. 

Service and Monitoring Fees 
 

The State of Minnesota does not collect any fees from the ignition interlock manufacturer or 

service center.  The participant is responsible for all costs associated with participation in the 

ignition interlock device program. Costs are set by the ignition interlock manufacturer. The 

participant must still pay fees associated with reinstatement of the driver’s license. 

 

Contact each manufacturer for a list of their prices.  Please remember there may be separate fees 

for installation, security deposits, monthly monitoring, lockouts, early recalls and removal.  Also, 

some manufacturers may require a lease.  It may be a yearly lease or a month-to-month lease. 

Reduced Fee 
 

A participant may qualify for reduced fees associated with the service and monitoring of the 

ignition interlock device. To apply for reduced service and monitoring fees, the participant must 

complete the Reduced Fee for Ignition Interlock Service and Monitoring form available on the 
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Department’s website at www.minnesotaignitioninterlock.org .  After DVS reviews the 

application, the participant will be notified if he/she is eligible for the reduced service and 

monitoring fees. A participant is allowed to apply for the reduced service and monitoring fees 

once per tax year and must reapply yearly.  The reduced fee is effective on the date of approval.  

It is not retroactive to the date of installation or any other service and monitoring fees.  The 

reduced fee applies to only one vehicle. 

 

Limited Licenses/Work Permit (Canceled-IPS drivers only) 
 

A limited license is a paper license that is issued to a person while their driving privilege is 

withdrawn. Limited licenses allow driving to work, school and abstinence-based support 

programs. In addition, a program participant may also drive to and from a service center for 

ignition interlock servicing and calibration. 

 

If the participant’s license has been canceled and denied, the participant must be on a limited 

license for a minimum of one year with no program violations (see page 12) before receiving a 

restricted license on ignition interlock.  A limited license can only be used 6 days a week and no 

more than 60 hours.  You must pick a day that you do not drive. 

Rehabilitation Requirements 
 

Treatment or other programs (if applicable) must be completed in order to be eligible for the 

restricted driver’s license with ignition interlock. If the participant has been on a limited license 

for a minimum of one year but is still attending treatment or other programs, the participant must 

remain on the limited license until treatment or other programs are completed. Once complete, 

the treatment center, assessor, or alcohol/drug counselor must fax verification of successful 

completion of treatment or other programs directly to DVS at (651) 797-1738. If no treatment 

was necessary, a chemical use assessment stating that treatment was not required must be on 

record at DVS. After reviewing the verification of successful completion of treatment or other 

programs and the participant’s monitoring reports, a driver’s license with the ignition interlock 

restriction will be issued. 

 

Verification of Abstinence 

Revoked Status 
 

During the last 90 days on the ignition interlock device program, a person whose driver’s license 

is revoked must not have any failed breath tests (see page 10) recorded on the device. A failed 

breath test may extend the end of the program by 90 days from the date of the failed recorded 

breath test.   

  

file://///ts-fp-cluster/JFreuden$/Ignition%20Interlock/Program%20Guidelines/2014%20Program%20Guidelines/www.minnesotaignitioninterlock.org
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Canceled Status 
 

A person whose driving privilege is canceled and denied must not have any failed breath tests 

recorded on the device during the length of the program.  A failed breath test will require the 

participant to reenroll in the program and start their revocation time over. 

 

In addition, a person whose driving privilege is canceled and denied must demonstrate 

abstinence by regular and consistent use of the ignition interlock device. The Department defines 

regular and consistent use as evidenced by 30 successful initial breath tests per month
1
 

(Minnesota Rule 7503.1725, Subp. 5(B)). This does not include rolling retests. If a participant’s 

license is withdrawn for an unrelated offense during the time on the ignition interlock device 

program, the participant can continue to meet this requirement by blowing into the device but not 

driving the car. Failure to provide 30 initial breath tests per month will result in an extension 

of the program. 
 

If the participant is incarcerated, deployed by the military or out of the state for more than 30 

days or if the vehicle becomes inoperable the following options are available: 

1. The participant may voluntarily withdraw from the program (no driving privileges) and 

reenroll after the leave of absence.  This may require signing new enrollment documents.  

The participant will receive credit for the time in the program until the withdrawal. 

2. If the participant’s manufacturer has a service center in another state, the participant may 

calibrate out-of-state.  Monitoring reports must be sent to Minnesota DVS and the device 

must be set to Minnesota device standards.  It is the participant’s responsibility to notify 

the service center to send the reports to Minnesota. 

 

Breath Tests 
 

The ignition interlock device requires the driver to blow into the device.  These breath tests are 

required and cannot be ignored.  The service center will demonstrate how to blow into the device 

at the installation appointment.  Before leaving the service center, make sure all drivers 

understand how to provide a breath test and can use the device.  Please keep these things in 

mind: 

 

 The device will have a specific blow pattern.  The blow pattern may include a hum or it 

may involve an exhale/inhale pattern. 

 

 The device is equipped with a camera.  The camera will take a picture during all breath 

tests and any violations. 

 

 A canceled driver is required to show proof of abstinence by providing 30 initial start 

breath tests during each month. 

 

                                                 
1
 A month is considered a 30-day period. 
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IMPORTANT: The participant is presumed to have provided all breath samples. Any indication 

of use of alcohol detected by the device will be considered use of alcohol by the participant and 

will be taken into consideration by the Department. 

Initial Starts 
 

The vehicle cannot be started legally without a breath test.  The driver must blow into the device 

in order to start the car, and the device must record an alcohol concentration level below the pre-

set level of 0.02 before the vehicle will start.  

 

 If a failed initial breath test is recorded, the device will lock out for 5 minutes.  After 5 

minutes, the device will allow another breath test.  The driver has 10 minutes to supply a 

passing breath test.  Failure to provide a passing breath test is a violation. 

 

 The driver should always rinse out their mouth with water before blowing into the device.  

If the device registers a failed test, it is very important to take a second test once the 

device allows.  Without a confirming blow, the failure will be considered a violation. 

Rolling Retests 
 

A participant is required to submit breath tests while the vehicle is running.  These are called 

rolling retests.  After blowing into the device and passing the initial test to start the vehicle, the 

device will require a second random test within five (5) to seven (7) minutes.  The device will 

continue to require additional rolling retests at random intervals between 15 and 45 minutes for 

the duration of travel. A warning light and/or tone will be activated to alert the driver that a 

rolling retest is required.   

 

 When the device signals for a rolling retest, the driver will have ten (10) minutes to 

provide a passing breath test.  Failure to provide a passing breath test is a violation. 

 

 Use CAUTION when conducting a rolling retest. While it is not difficult to do a rolling 

retest while driving, DVS encourages participants to find a safe and legal area to pull 

over to take the rolling retest. 

 

 Once the vehicle is started, it will signal for rolling retests.  The driver must take these 

rolling retests.  It is not an excuse that the driver was not in the vehicle, had to run into 

the house for something, or was just warming up the vehicle. 

Skipped Rolling Retests 
 

Skipping or ignoring a rolling retest is recorded and will activate an audible signal inside the 

vehicle.  Failure to take three (3) rolling retests within a seven (7) day period will result in an 

extension of the ignition interlock device program.   
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Violations and Administrative Sanctions 
 

Violation Administrative Sanction 

Tampering, circumventing 

or bypassing the device 

(MN Stat. 171.306 Subd. 5) 

1
st
 Offense – 180 days added to length of program 

 

2
nd

 Offense – 1 year added to length of program 

 

3
rd

 and Subsequent Offenses – 545 days added to length of program 

 

Operating a vehicle not 

equipped with a certified 

ignition interlock device  

(MN Stat. 171.306 Subd. 5) 

Violation of the ignition 

interlock limited license 

(MN Stat. 171.306 Subd. 5) 

For canceled drivers, the 

failure to provide no fewer 

than 30 initial breath tests 

each month (verification of 

abstinence) (MN Rule 

7503.1725 Subp. 5(B)) 

Failure to bring the vehicle 

in for a service 

appointment and 

calibration (MN Stat. 

171.306) 

Three (3) failures to take a 

rolling retest within a  

seven (7) day period (MN 

Stat. 171.306 Subd. 5) 

For revoked drivers, an 

alcohol reading at or 

greater than .02   (MN Stat. 

171.306 Subd. 4(e)) 

An additional 90 days from the date of the violation is added to the 

revocation period (only applies to the last 90 days of the program) 

 

For canceled drivers, an 

alcohol reading at or 

greater than .02  (MN Stat. 

171.306 Subd. 4(d)) 

The participant must reenroll in the program and start the revocation 

period over; new enrollment forms must be submitted 
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Tamper/Circumvent/Bypass 
 

The following are examples of tampering, circumventing or bypassing the device: 

 Having anyone other than an authorized service center remove the device 

 After failing a breath test, having another person provide a passing breath test 

 Moving, adjusting or blocking the camera from direct and unobstructed view of the 

driver’s seat so that the face of the person providing the breath test is not visible 

 Standing outside of the vehicle to take the breath test in order to avoid the camera 

 Push starting the vehicle 

 Disconnecting or cutting any wires which would interfere with the normal operation of 

the ignition interlock device 

 Removing tamper-proof seals 

 

These are considered violations and will result in an extension of the program.  Contact your 

service center prior to having work done on your vehicle.  The service center can work with your 

mechanic to avoid any tamper violations. 

 

Administrative Reviews 
 

If a participant disagrees with action taken by DVS on a violation, the participant may request an 

administrative review.  DVS will review the participant’s driving record only upon written 

request. The written request must include the participant’s name, date of birth, driver’s license 

number and signature.  In addition, the request must include a detailed explanation of the 

incident(s) including any additional information that will assist DVS in making a decision.  A 

copy of the withdrawal notice should be included.  All administrative review decisions are final.   

 

Requests for an administrative review can be sent by mail or faxed to 651-282-2463. 

 

Non-Ignition Interlock Related Withdrawals 
 

The participant is still subject to all laws pertaining to maintaining their driving privilege.  

 

If a participant’s driver’s license is withdrawn for an unrelated non-alcohol offense during the 

participant’s time on the ignition interlock device program, the participant can continue to 

receive credit on the program. Although the participant cannot drive, the participant must 

continue to have the ignition interlock device serviced and calibrated to meet program 

requirements. However, because the participant cannot legally drive during withdrawal, a legally 

licensed person must drive the vehicle to and from service and calibration appointments.  If the 

participant does not calibrate, it is a violation.  A participant who does not want to calibrate the 

device may voluntarily withdraw from the program. 

 

A person whose driving privilege has been canceled and denied must continue to demonstrate 

abstinence by regular and consistent use of the ignition interlock device.  The participant can 

continue to meet this requirement by blowing into the device, but not driving the vehicle.  If 
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during the time of withdrawal the vehicle is parked on a public street, please be advised that you 

may be violating your withdrawal notice by operating a vehicle on a public street. 

Vehicles 
 

The ignition interlock device must be installed on any class D vehicle the participant will be 

driving.  The device may be installed on multiple vehicles. 

One Vehicle/Multiple Drivers 
 

Anyone can drive the vehicle equipped with the ignition interlock device; however, anyone who 

drives the vehicle must be able to pass the breath tests.  The participant is responsible for all 

readings registered by the ignition interlock device.  Anyone who will be driving the vehicle with 

the ignition interlock device should attend the training session during the installation 

appointment. 

Multiple Program Participants/One Vehicle 
 

If more than one person driving the vehicle is on the Ignition Interlock Device Program, each 

participant must have their own device.  This will require a vehicle for each participant. 

Switching Vehicles 
 

If the participant switches the device to a different vehicle, DVS may require a new certificate of 

insurance. The VIN of the vehicle and the VIN on the certificate of insurance must match. If the 

participant is not the registered owner of the vehicle, the certificate must reference the program 

participant by name.  The Department must be able to verify that the certificate of insurance is 

from the insurance company (not the insurance agent) by either the display of a company stamp 

or by a direct fax from the company. 

Special Registration Plates 
 

If the participant is subject to license plate impoundment, the participant will be required to 

display special registration plates.  For questions regarding special registration plates, contact the 

plate impound unit at (651) 297-5034 or dvs.motor.vehicle@state.mn.us . 

Insurance 
 

The participant must provide evidence that the vehicle is insured for 12 months; if the policy is a 

six month policy, the certificate must be provided for each six month period.  If the device is 

switched to a different vehicle, a new insurance certificate for that vehicle must be provided.  

Regardless of any ignition interlock requirements, the participant will continue to be subject to 

Minnesota no-fault insurance laws. 

 

 

mailto:dvs.motor.vehicle@state.mn.us
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Please remember: 

 It must be a certificate of insurance submitted by the home office of the insurance 

company.  Proof of insurance is not acceptable. 

 The Department must be able to verify that the certificate of insurance is from the 

insurance company (not the insurance agent) by either the display of a company stamp or 

by a direct fax from the company.   

 The certificate must include a vehicle identification number (VIN). 

 The VIN on the certificate must match the VIN on the installation report from the 

ignition interlock manufacturer. 

 The submission documents must specify the name of the participant, if the participant is 

not the registered owner.  

 

The certificate of insurance must be faxed to 651-797-1299.   

Employment Exemption 
 

A participant may drive an employer-owned vehicle not equipped with an ignition interlock 

device while in the normal course and scope of employment duties (Minnesota Rule 7503.1775). 

The employer must apply for an employment exemption variance with DVS and provide written 

consent. The employment exemption variance will not be granted to: 

 A participant who is self-employed; or  

 A participant who wholly or partially owns an entity that owns an employer owned motor 

vehicle 

 

A participant, who is granted an employment exemption variance, shall not drive, operate or be 

in physical control of any of the following: 

 A Type III vehicle within the meaning of Minnesota Statute 169.011, for transporting 

children under age 18 or vulnerable adults within the meaning of Minnesota Statute 

626.5572, subd. 21; 

 An employer-owned motor vehicle for personal use; or 

 A rental car in the normal course and scope of employment duties 

 

The participant must notify DVS within 15 days of changing or terminating employment. 

 

If the employment exemption is granted, the participant must still install a device on their 

personal vehicle.  Driving a vehicle equipped with the ignition interlock device is a 

requirement of the program.  If applicable to your program, you must continue to supply 30 

breath tests each month to verify abstinence. 
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Low Lung Capacity Issues 
 

Upon written direction from the Department, manufacturers may adjust the ignition interlock 

device to accommodate participants with diminished lung capacity.  The Department grants 

permission on a case-by-case basis.  To be considered, the participant must submit a written 

request to the Department which includes the following: 

1. Participant's name 

2. Participant's address 

3. Participant's driver's license number 

4. Name of device manufacturer 

5. Documentation from a licensed physician verifying and explaining the extent of the 

participant's diminished lung capacity.  The letter must include the participant’s lung 

capacity and Forced Vital Capacity. 

 

The Department will contact the vendor directly to authorize an adjustment to the device. 

Removing the Device 
 

DVS will send a letter prior to the end date of the program to remind the participant to set up an 

appointment for a final calibration; however, the device should not be removed.  You may 

schedule your final calibration on or after your program end date.  Upon successful completion 

of the program, a full reinstatement letter will be issued to the participant authorizing the 

removal of the device.   

 

Once the participant receives a full reinstatement letter, the participant must: 

 

 Apply for a new or duplicate driver’s license without the ignition interlock restriction 

o Note: The ignition interlock restriction will not be removed from the driving 

record until a new or duplicate license is applied for. 

 Schedule an appointment to remove the device 

Voluntary Withdrawal 
 

If the participant wishes to voluntarily withdraw from the ignition interlock device program, the 

person must sign the Voluntary Withdrawal form which can be found on the Department’s 

website. Credit will be given for time spent on the program.  Voluntarily withdrawing from the 

ignition interlock program does not stop violations from incurring.  Until the driver’s license has 

been re-revoked or re-canceled, the driver is responsible for all program violations and may be 

subject to program extensions or cancellation. 

 

A revoked driver may sit out the remainder of the revocation with no driving privileges. 

A canceled driver must complete the ignition interlock program and will have to reenroll in order 

to become a valid driver.  



 

17 Minnesota Ignition Interlock Program Guidelines  August 2016 

 

Frequently Asked Questions 
 

Why does the device have a camera? 

The camera will take a picture (or a series of pictures) during the initial breath test to start the 

car, during any rolling retests, and during any violations.  This allows DVS to verify who is 

using the device and prevent the participant from using someone else to provide the breath tests.  

Although the participant is responsible for all breath samples provided, the photos will allow 

DVS to review photos if necessary. 

 

In extreme weather, can I start my car and let it run until the car warms up or cools down? 

No.  The device will ask for random rolling retests while the vehicle is running.  Failure to 

provide a breath sample will be considered a skipped rolling retest. 

 

Who should I contact if I am having problems with my ignition interlock device? 

If you have a complaint or concern regarding the service you are receiving from a certified 

ignition interlock manufacturer or service center, please contact that provider directly and 

request to speak to a manager or supervisor in their central office. If, after contacting the 

provider, you are still not satisfied with their response, please email your concerns to DVS at 

dvs.ii@state.mn.us. Please make sure to include your contact information including your name, 

driver’s license number, date of birth, current interlock manufacturer, and a brief description of 

the issue. 

 

Can the passenger blow into the device for the driver? 

The driver of the vehicle should be the one providing all the breath tests. 

 

Can I apply for an identification card? 

You may apply for an identification card while on a limited license.  However, the identification 

card must be invalidated before your plastic driver’s license can be issued. 

 

Who do I contact regarding special registration plates? 

Contact the plate impound unit at (651) 297-5034 or dvs.motor.vehicles@state.mn.us . 

 

Am I eligible to get off the program early for good behavior? 

No. There is no reduction in the length of your enrollment. 

 

What if I am enrolled in the partial pay program? 

You will be allowed to participate in the ignition interlock device program after you have 

complied with the requirements of the partial pay program and have paid your first installment.  

If you fail to make the second payment, you are no longer eligible to participate in the program. 

 

What if I am on the Minnesota ignition interlock device program and I move to another 

state?  You can continue to have the ignition interlock device calibrated by an ignition interlock 

manufacturer in another state. The ignition interlock manufacturer must be certified by the State 

of Minnesota and set to Minnesota device standards.  Monitoring reports should be sent to 

Minnesota in order to continue receiving credit in the program. 

 

mailto:dvs.ii@state.mn.us
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Will the interlock shut off my engine or stop my vehicle? 

No. The ignition interlock device will not shut off your engine if you fail a breath test.  It is 

designed to prevent the car from starting without a passing breath test. If you fail a test while 

driving, the device records a violation but will not stop your car. 

 

What if I need more training on how to use and blow into the device? 

Contact your service center for additional training. 

 

Can I switch vendors?   

Yes.  DVS allows participants to change manufacturers at any time.  Check your service contract 

to determine if there are any early termination fees. 

 

What if the ignition interlock device is destroyed or stolen? 

In the event the device is either destroyed in a car accident or stolen, DVS will allow the 

participant 7 days to reinstall the device. The participant should notify DVS of the situation as 

soon as possible. 

 

What if I remove my device before the end of my program? 

Removing the device before completing the program will result in revocation of your driver’s 

license.  If you decide to reenroll in the program, you will get credit for the time you were 

previously on the program. 

 

How can I become an installer of the ignition interlock device? 

Please contact one of the certified manufacturers on the DVS website for more information. 

 

How can I become a certified manufacturer in Minnesota? 

Please send an email to dvs.ii@state.mn.us with your inquiry. 
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Contacts 
 

 

 

 

Minnesota Department of Public Safety  

Driver and Vehicle Services 

Ignition Interlock Unit 

445 Minnesota St., Suite 177 

St. Paul, MN  55101 

 

 

Phone: (651) 296-2948 

 

Secured Fax: (651) 797-1299 

 

E-mail:  dvs.ii@state.mn.us 

 

Website:  www.minnesotaignitioninterlock.org 
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