
Minnesota State Patrol Summer Academy  

Experience the Minnesota State Patrol 
 
PURPOSE OF THE ACADEMY:  
The Minnesota State Patrol (MSP) is now accepting applications for the 2016 Summer Academy. This 
program has been designed to recruit interested and eligible candidates for a career in law enforcement 
with MSP. The Academy and affiliated activities consists of 120 hours of experience with MSP. 
Participants will receive classroom and practical training on a variety of subjects and gain valuable insight 
into the daily activities of an MSP Trooper.  
 
MISSION STATEMENT:  
The Mission of the Minnesota State Patrol (MSP) is to protect and serve all people in the state through 
assistance, education and enforcement; provide support to allied agencies and provide for the safe, 
efficient movement of traffic on Minnesota's roadways.  
 
CORE VALUES:      Respect     ◊     Integrity     ◊     Courage     ◊     Honor     ◊     Excellence 
 
APPLICATION DEADLINE: February 1, 2016                  ACCEPTANCE NOTIFICATION: March 1, 2016 
 
DATE: Sunday August 7th, 2016 thru Saturday August 13th, 2016  
 
LOCATION:  Camp Ripley 
                         15000 MN Highway 115 
                         Little Falls, MN 56345 
 
ACADEMY EXPERIENCE:  
Qualified participants will reside at Camp Ripley during the course of the Academy and develop close 
relationships with MSP Troopers. They will have the opportunity to gain knowledge and to experience all 
aspects of a career with MSP. Participants will be exposed to the day-to-day activities of an MSP Trooper 
and many of the different areas and divisions of the organization to include 120 hours of:  
 

• DWI Enforcement 
• Cultural Competency in Policing 
• Leadership Training 
• MSP History and Core Values 
• Arresting Communications 
• Executive Protection and Capitol Security 
• Drill and Ceremony 
• Mobile Field Force Training 

• Training and Development Section 
• Traffic Safety 
• Commercial Vehicle Inspections 
• Special Response Team 
• Crash Reconstruction Unit 
• Drug Interdiction and K-9 Program 
• Vehicle Crimes Investigations 
• Investigative Services 

 
 
 



ELIGIBILITY:  
To be considered for the MSP Summer Academy, participants must meet the following criteria:  
 

• Must be 18-23 years of age 
• Must be currently attending or a recent graduate of a regionally accredited college or university 
• Must possess a valid driver’s license 
• Must submit to a driver’s license and criminal history check 
• Must be willing and medically able to participate in moderately strenuous physical exercise 
• Must be a U.S. citizen 
 

COST:  
The MSP Summer Academy has no fee for attendance. Lodging and meal accommodations are provided. 
You must provide your own transportation to and from Camp Ripley. Assistance may be available for 
those experiencing transportation difficulties. 
 
EXPERIENTIAL HOURS:  
The MSP Summer Academy consists of up to 120 hours of experience, to include 96 academy hours and up 
to 24 additional hours of experience that are assigned by MSP and mutually agreed upon by the 
participant. Additional experiential hours may include ride alongs, administrative duties, training and 
development, etc.  
 
APPLICATION REQUIREMENTS:  
To apply for the MSP Summer Academy, all students must submit the following:  
 

• MSP Summer Academy Application 
• Current Resume and cover letter outlining your career goals 
• Driver’s License/Criminal History Release Form 
• Waiver of Claims and Ride Along Participant Agreement 
• A copy of your most recent college transcript 
• Two letters of recommendation (one personal and one professional) 
• A two page essay on the following:  

 Why you are interested in MSP and the MSP Summer Academy 
 Your career motivations and goals 
 The source of inspiration for your career motivation and goals 

 
DISQUALIFIERS: 
The MSP Summer Academy is considered a recruitment tool. Applicants must meet all required 
qualifications to be considered. See the attached Applicant Disqualification Criteria.  
 
Please contact Sgt. Azzahya Williams with questions regarding the MSP Summer Academy at 651.757.1921 
or Azzahya.williams@state.mn.us 
 
SEND COMPLETED APPLICATIONS TO: 

 
Minnesota State Patrol 
Training and Development Section Attn: Sgt. Azzahya Williams  
1900 West County Road I 
Shoreview, MN 55126 
Office: 651-757-1921 FAX: 651-628-6791  
Email: Azzahya.williams@state.mn.us 
 

The Minnesota State Patrol is an Equal Opportunity Employer 



DISQUALIFIERS 
  
The following is a list of disqualifiers used for our MSP trooper hiring process. The MSP Summer 
Academy is used for recruitment purposes, therefore we use the same list of disqualifiers. If any of these 
apply to you, you will NOT be considered for the Minnesota State Patrol Summer Academy. 
 
 

• A felony in Minnesota or any other state or federal jurisdiction.  
• Assault in the Fifth Degree under Minnesota Statute §609.224 or relevant statute in any other 

state or federal jurisdiction.  
• Domestic Assault in the Fifth Degree under Minnesota Statute §609.2242  
• Crimes listed under Minnesota Statutes §609.23, 609.231, 609.2325, 609.233, 609.2335, 

609.234, (Mistreatment, Crimes Against Vulnerable Adults and Related Statutes).  
• Prostitution related acts under Minnesota Statutes §609.322, 609.324.  
• Presenting False Claims to a Public Officer or Body under Minnesota Statute §609.465.  
• Medical Assistance Fraud under Minnesota Statute §609.466.  
• Theft under Minnesota Statute §609.52 (any dollar amount).  
• Disorderly Conduct as a caregiver under Minnesota Statute §609.72, Subd 3.  
• The applicant must not be required to register as a predatory offender under Minnesota 

Statutes §243.166 or §243.167.  
• Under any state or federal narcotics or controlled substance law irrespective of any proceeding 

under Minnesota Statute §152.18 (discharge or dismissal hearing) or other similar law of 
another state or federal law; or of any crimes listed in this item in another state or federal 
jurisdiction, or under a local ordinance that would be a conviction if committed in Minnesota. 

• Possession of burglary or theft tools under Minnesota Statute §609.59.  
• A crime for which the penalty was enhanced under Minnesota Statute §626.5531 (Bias 

Motivated).  
• Any Obstruction of the Legal Process, Arrest, or Firefighting under Minnesota Statute §609.50 

within the previous 60 months.  
• Leaving the Scene of an Accident within the previous 60 months.*  
• Any No-Insurance conviction under Minnesota Statutes §169.792 or §65B.48 within the 

previous 12 months or two convictions within 60 months; or having a driver's license 
suspended twice for No Insurance within the previous 60 months.*  

• A Driver’s License Suspension, Revocation, Cancellation or Withdrawal for No-Proof of 
Insurance twice within the previous 60 months. *  

• Driver’s License Revocation under implied consent laws within the last 60 months.*  
• Misdemeanor or Gross Misdemeanor Driving Under the Influence, Careless or Reckless 

Driving within the last 60 months*.  
• Two traffic violations within the previous 12 months, three within the previous 36 months or 

four or more within the previous 60 months.* This includes: continued for dismissal and Dimler 
violations.  

• Driving after Suspension, Revocation, Cancellation or Withdrawal in the previous 60 months*.  
• Evidence that the applicant has failed to disclose, misinterpreted or falsified any information to 

the department.  
 

 
 

*The date used to determine the time period for disqualification for 
previous offenses is the date your application is received. 


