Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Become a Trooper

Want an Office with a View?
Become a Trooper!

The Minnesota State Patrol is looking for new Troopers, and the hiring process for applicants with 2- or 4-year degrees in law enforcement begins June 29.
 

The traditional hiring program is for those with 2- or 4-year degrees in law enforcement who will be POST-license eligible by Jan. 22, 2016. Traditional applicants can apply online June 29–July 10. If hired, the traditional candidate will enter the Minnesota State Patrol Training Academy on Jan. 24, 2016. Upon successful completion of the 16-week State Patrol Training Academy, all candidates will graduate May 17, 2016.

 


 

Buckle Up for an Exciting Career

Email patrol.recruiter@state.mn.us with questions. 
 

Pathways to Becoming a State Trooper

Candidates with law enforcement experience, and those without any law enforcement experience can apply to become a State Trooper.
 
Law Enforcement Training Opportunty (LETO) Program Information — Applicants with No Previous Law Enforcement Experience
 

Recruitment Publications 

 
Make Your Office the Highway
 
 

Frequently Asked Questions

Learn about the selection process for the Minnesota State Patrol.
 
 
 

About the State Patrol

 

Life as a Trooper

Since 1929 the State Patrol has protected Minnesota roads and motorists. Today, nearly 600 State Troopers provide assistance, education and enforcement to state citizens and provide for safe, efficient movement of traffic on Minnesota’s roadways. Troopers also investigate and reconstruct serious crashes, conduct flight patrols and search and rescue missions, assist other law enforcement agencies and serve as a vital component of the state’s homeland security efforts.

 

Benefits

As a full-time, permanent employee, you are eligible to participate in the state’s group insurance program and choose either single or family coverage.

There are a variety of health and dental plans that provide comprehensive coverage for most illnesses and injuries.

The state offers both basic and optional life insurance coverage for you, your spouse, and children.

Troopers start at accruing four hours of vacation per pay period.