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MINNESOTA STATE PATROL TROOPER 
Trooper Trainee 1 

 Law Enforcement Training Opportunity (LETO) Program 
 

Salary Range 
$31.49-$42.27/hour 

$65,499-$87,922/year 
 
 

Applications will be accepted August 23, 2021 until 
11:59 p.m. on September 19, 2021 

 
An Equal Opportunity Employer 

 
 

Trooper Application Process 2021 
 

Applications for the Minnesota State Patrol LETO Program will be accepted from August 23, 2021 until 
11:59 p.m. on September 19, 2021 at www.mntrooper.com. This position leads to appointment as a State 
Patrol Trooper. The LETO Program is designed for candidates with no previous law enforcement 
experience, who have a 2 or 4 year degree in any discipline and want to become State Troopers.  To 
qualify, the applicant must have an associate’s or bachelor’s degree in any discipline from a regionally 
accredited institution by November 30, 2021. Verify your school’s accreditation by visiting U.S. 
Department of Education or with the registrar's office at your school.   
 
Your School must be accredited by at least one of the following organizations:  

 MSCHE – Middle States Commission on Higher Education  

 NEASC – New England Association of Schools and Colleges  
o (NEASC-CIHE) Commission on Institutions of higher Education  
o (NEASC-CTCI) Commission on Technical and Career Institutions  

 NWCCU – Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities  

 HLC – Higher Learning Commission (Formerly NCA-North Central Association of Colleges and 
Schools)  

 SACS – Southern Association of Colleges and Schools, Commission on Colleges  

 WASC-ACCJC – Western Association of Schools and Colleges, Accrediting Commission for 
Community and Junior Colleges  

o (WASC-ACSCU) – Western Association of Schools and Colleges, Accrediting Commission 
for Senior colleges and Universities  
 

The Minnesota State Patrol will provide LETO candidates with the educational requirements necessary 
to take the Minnesota Peace Officer Standards and Training (POST) exam, which is required to become 
a licensed peace officer. The POST certification training will begin the week of February 14, 2022, which 
consists of 23 weeks of classroom and practical training at Hennepin Technical College. Applicants must 
pass the POST exam to be eligible for employment. Upon completion of the LETO program, trooper 
trainees will attend the 15 week Minnesota State Patrol Trooper Training Academy at Camp Ripley 
along with all traditional applicant trooper trainees. The number of positions available is dependent 
upon funding.   

 

http://www.mntrooper.com/
https://ope.ed.gov/accreditation/Search.aspx
https://ope.ed.gov/accreditation/Search.aspx
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The MSP is An Equal Opportunity Employer.  In the selection process, preference will be given to 
protected group applicants, veterans, individuals who are fluent in Chinese, Mandarin, Spanish, Hmong, 
Russian, Vietnamese, Somali, or American Sign Language (ASL) and/or those who possess a Bachelor’s 
Degree or higher. Current and former Minnesota State Patrol employees as well as those who have 
successfully completed the Minnesota State Patrol Internship Program, Minnesota State Patrol Summer 
Academy, or Minnesota State Patrol Explorer Post (at least one full explorer season) AND are in good 
standing will also receive preference in the hiring process. 
 
The ideal candidate's character will align with the State Patrol's core values of respect, integrity, 
courage, honor, and excellence. It is an important goal of the Minnesota State Patrol's to recruit 
and hire a diverse group of candidates to serve the citizens of the state of Minnesota through 
assistance, education, and enforcement.  
 

Duties of a State Patrol Trooper 
 

 Patrol state highways, promote safety, direct traffic, and investigate crashes. 

 Enforce traffic laws, arrest offenders, and appear as a court witness. 

 Provide routine and emergency assistance to the motoring public, including administering first aid to 
the injured. 

 Cooperate with other law enforcement agencies in the pursuit and apprehension of violators of 
criminal laws. 

 Uphold the MSP core values of Respect, Integrity, Courage, Honor and Excellence. 

 Uphold the Mission Statement of the State Patrol to protect and serve, provide support, and provide 
for the state. 

 Uphold the MSP Vision – The MSP is a progressive law enforcement agency providing superior service 
to Minnesota’s residents, visitors, and allied agency.  The MSP strives for excellence in all that they do 
through the development of forward thinking leadership, technology, innovation and a quality 
workforce. 

 
State Patrol Troopers generally work either an eight or ten hour day, 40 hours per week, including 
Saturdays, Sundays, nights, and holidays as required.   
 

Minimum Qualifications for Application 
 

As required by POST and the MSP, the applicant must meet the minimum selection standards for hiring 
as set forth in Minnesota Rules 6700.0700 to be eligible for the position of State Patrol Trooper.  For 
information about Minnesota peace officer licensing, contact the POST Board at 651-643-3060 or 
www.dps.mn.gov. 
 
The applicant must: 

1. Not have been convicted of a felony in Minnesota or in any other state or federal jurisdiction 
which would have been a felony if committed in Minnesota. 

2. Not have been convicted of theft or any other crime listed in Minnesota Rule 6700.0700. 
3. Be 21 years of age by November 4, 2022.  
4. Be a citizen of the United States by November 30, 2021. 
5. Possess a valid Minnesota driver’s license or be eligible to obtain one by October 5, 6 or 7, 2021 

(PT test date). 

http://www.dps.mn.gov/
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6. Possess an associate’s or bachelor’s degree in any discipline from a regionally accredited 
institution by November 30, 2021. Verify accreditation at U.S Department of Education or with 
your registrar's office at your school. 

7. Sign a written agreement with the Minnesota State Patrol when a final offer of employment is 
accepted committing to work for a minimum of two years. 

 
 
Disqualification Criteria 
 

Please review the following information carefully.  You must meet the minimum selection standards 
before being appointed to a peace officer position under 6700.0700.  

Conviction under the following Minnesota Statutes (including juvenile convictions tried as an adult) will 
make you ineligible for licensing by the Minnesota P.O.S.T Board or ineligible under the MSP selection 
standards.  License eligibility is mandatory for this position.  

No applicant may be appointed to the position of State Trooper who has been convicted of: 

 
1. A felony in Minnesota or any other state or federal jurisdiction.  
 

2. Assault in the Fifth Degree under Minnesota Statute §609.224 or relevant statute in any other 
state or federal jurisdiction. 

 
3. Domestic Assault in the Fifth Degree under Minnesota Statute §609.2242 
 
4. Crimes listed under Minnesota Statutes §609.23, 609.231, 609.2325, 609.233, 609.2335, 

609.234, (Mistreatment, Crimes Against Vulnerable Adults and Related Statutes). 
 
5. Prostitution related acts under Minnesota Statutes §609.322, 609.324. 
 
6. Presenting False Claims to a Public Officer or Body under Minnesota Statute §609.465. 
 
7. Medical Assistance Fraud under Minnesota Statute §609.466. 
 
8. Theft under Minnesota Statute §609.52 (any dollar amount). 
 
9. Disorderly Conduct as a caregiver under Minnesota Statute §609.72, Subd 3. 
 
10. The applicant must not be required to register as a predatory offender under Minnesota 

Statutes §243.166 or §243.167. 
 
11. Under any state or federal narcotics or controlled substance law irrespective of any proceeding 

under Minnesota Statute §152.18 (discharge or dismissal hearing) or other similar law of 
another state or federal law; or of any crimes listed in this item in another state or federal 
jurisdiction, or under a local ordinance that would be a conviction if committed in Minnesota. 

 
12. Possession of burglary or theft tools under Minnesota Statute §609.59.  

 

https://ope.ed.gov/accreditation/Search.aspx
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/rules/?id=6700.0700
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=609.224
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=609.2242
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=609.23
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=609.231
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=609.2325
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=609.233
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=609.2335
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=609.234
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=609.322
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=609.324.
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=609.465
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=609.466
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=609.52
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=609.72
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=243.166
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=243.167
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes?id=152.18
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?year=2008&id=609.59
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13. A crime for which the penalty was enhanced under Minnesota Statute §626.5531 (Bias 
Motivated). 

 
14. Any Obstruction of the Legal Process, Arrest, or Firefighting under Minnesota Statute §609.50 

within the previous 60 months. 
 
15. Leaving the Scene of an Accident within the previous 60 months.* 
 
16. Any No-Insurance conviction under Minnesota Statutes §169.792 or §65B.48 within the 

previous 12 months or two convictions within 60 months; or having a driver's license 
suspended twice for No Insurance within the previous 60 months.* 
 

17. A Driver’s License Suspension, Revocation, Cancellation or Withdrawal for No-Proof of 
Insurance twice within the previous 60 months.* 

 
18. Driver’s License Revocation under implied consent laws within the last 60 months.* 

 
19. Misdemeanor or Gross Misdemeanor Driving Under the Influence, Careless or Reckless Driving 

within the last 60 months.* 
 

20. Two traffic violations within the previous 12 months, three within the previous 36 months or 
four or more within the previous 60 months.* This includes: continued for dismissal and Dimler 
violations. 

 
21. Driving after Suspension, Revocation, Cancellation or Withdrawal in the previous 60 months.* 

 
22. Evidence that the applicant has failed to disclose, misinterpreted or falsified any information 

to the department. 
 

*The date used to determine the time period for disqualification for previous offenses is August 
23, 2021. 

 
Selection Process 
 

The selection process consists of an online personality assessment, physical readiness test (2000 meter 
row), oral board interview, background investigation, medical examination, and psychological evaluation. 

 
Online Personality Assessment 
 

After you complete the online application, you will be provided with directions on how to complete 
the online personality assessment. The online personality assessment is completed on your own via 
your own computer. You will be provided instructions and a timeframe you must complete the 
online assessment by. If you do not complete the online assessment by the assigned date, you will 
be disqualified from the hiring process. You will complete two assessments. These assessments are 
not timed but please allow for approximately 20-25 minutes of un-interrupted time to complete. You 
will not be allowed to close the unfinished test and come back to it later.  

 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=626.5531
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=609.50
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=169.792
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=65B.48
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You will be notified of your results within 7 business days. If you successfully complete the written exam 
and are recommended to continue in the process, you will be provided with instructions on how to sign 
up for the physical fitness test. 

 
Physical Readiness Test 
 

The purpose of the physical readiness test is to determine if the applicant is physically able to safely 
participate in the training conducted at the Training Academy and perform the duties of a Minnesota 
State Patrol Trooper.    

Only applicants that have successfully passed the online personality assessment will be allowed to 
continue on and participate in the physical readiness test. After successful completion of the online 
personal assessment, applicants will be given instructions on how to select the physical readiness 
testing dates and locations.  

Applicants must bring a current state-issued driver’s license to the physical fitness testing. We will accept 
an expired driver’s license as long as it has been renewed and you provide your renewal paperwork 
(yellow papers). Photocopies will not be accepted. 
 
The application process is very competitive. Testing is conducted on the Concept 2 Rower at the 60 
percentile according to a person’s age, gender and weight. Applicants must row 2000 meters, scoring at 
or above the minimum 60 percentile on their test in order to continue in the application process. The 
2000 meter test takes place at the level 5 or damper setting 5 on the flywheel. Those that do not pass the 
entrance physical readiness test on the Concept 2 Rower at the minimum requirement will not continue 
with the hiring process for the Minnesota State Patrol.  
 
Click here for the Concept2 Rower Demo.  
 
Click here to determine the maximum amount of time you will have to successfully pass the physical 
readiness test. 

 
Interview Board  
 

Applicants who successfully complete the physical readiness test will select a time slot in which they 
will return for an oral board interview that same day. Applicants will have access to shower facilities 
prior to going into their interview if needed. Applicants must change into business professional for the 
interview portion. 

 
Background Investigation 
 

An extensive background investigation will be conducted on selected applicants who pass the interview 
board. The background investigation information will be provided to applicants after they have 
successfully completed the online personality assessment. 
 

Medical Examination and Psychological Evaluation 
 

Applicants who receive a conditional offer of employment or are listed as an alternate will be required to 
pass a psychological evaluation and medical examination before receiving a final offer of employment.  

http://www.concept2.com/indoor-rowers/training/technique-videos
https://app.dps.mn.gov/msptroopercandidate/home/fitnessrequirements
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The purpose of the medical examination is to detect any physical condition that might adversely affect 
the applicant's ability to perform the duties of a State Patrol Trooper.  Applicants with questions regarding 
possible disqualifying physical conditions should contact the Application Coordinator at 
patrol.applicant@state.mn.us or by telephone at 651-757-1902 or 651-757-1900. 
 
As part of the medical evaluation, vision will be tested.  The State Patrol visual acuity requirements are 
20-100 uncorrected, correctable to 20-20 with glasses, hard contacts or soft contacts.  If an applicant tests 
with uncorrected vision in excess of 20-100 they then must use soft contacts with vision correctable to 
20-20.  Individuals must have worn soft contacts a minimum of six months.  Written verification from the 
applicant’s optometrist must be provided at the time of the medical examination.  Color blindness and 
peripheral vision will also be evaluated; applicants must pass these evaluations.  Any applicant having 
vision correction surgery must have had surgery a minimum of six months prior to the medical 
examination, and must provide written medical verification and documentation at the time of the 
examination that no complications exist. 
 
Hearing assessment by an Audiogram is required as part of the medical evaluation. Any applicants 
requiring or using hearing aids will need to bring in documentation from a licensed audiologist showing 
corrected hearing meets requirements of:   not have more than a 35db loss in either ear when 
averaging the loss at 500, 1000, 2000 and 3000hz. 
 
A licensed psychologist will conduct the psychological evaluation.  The purpose of this evaluation is to 
determine whether any condition exists that might adversely affect the applicant’s ability to perform the 
duties of a Minnesota State Patrol Trooper.  
 

Placement 
 

When you apply, you will list the district that you would like to work in. In most cases, when you receive 
your official offer of employment, you will choose from the available district and station assignments. The 
Minnesota State Patrol will consider an applicant's preference along with agency needs.   
 

LETO Program 
 

LETO Program consists of an academic learning environment combined with a physical skills training 
program.  Candidates will be required to pass all these areas prior to the completion of the school.  LETO 
training will take place at Hennepin Technical College.   
 
An applicant who accepts a final offer of employment with the MSP and participate in the LETO 
program shall be required to sign a two year written agreement.  This agreement requires a two year 
work commitment with the MSP.  While participating in the LETO portion of the program, candidates are 
not compensated for meals and lodging, but are paid an hourly wage. 

 
Training Academy 
 

The State Patrol Training Academy will take place at Camp Ripley military base located at 15000 State 
Highway 115, Little Falls, Minnesota 56345 from Sunday night through Friday evening, during the 
residential portion of their training.  Candidates will be furnished meals and lodging while attending 
training at Camp Ripley.  Candidates are required to pass all areas of training.   

mailto:patrol.applicant@state.mn.us
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Compensation 
 

Tuition for successful candidate’s attendance at the Law Enforcement and Criminal Justice Education 
Center where LETO is held will be paid for by the Minnesota State Patrol.  Trooper Trainees will be paid 
80% of the base salary of a State Trooper (based on step 1 of the Trooper salary range).  Tuition for 
successful candidate’s attendance at the subsequent Training Academy will be paid for by the Minnesota 
State Patrol. Trooper Trainees will be paid 100% of the base salary of a State Trooper (based on step 1 of 
the Trooper salary range) during the Trooper Training Academy. Upon completion of training and 
appointment as State Patrol Trooper, Probationary Troopers will receive Trooper base pay of 
$65,499/year or $31.49/hour. (plus any applicable contract adjustments). Employees hired into the 
Trooper classification shall serve a minimum of 12 weeks field training and a probationary period of 12 
months.  

 
Proposed Timetable for the Minnesota State Patrol Trooper Selection Process 

Applications Open August 23 – September 19, 2021 

Online Personal Assessment                                                             August 23 – September 20, 2021 

Physical Fitness Testing/Interview Boards October 5, 6 or 7, 2021 

Background Investigations October 13 – December 7, 2021 

Conditional Offers December 23, 2021 

Medical Exams and Psychological Evaluations December 30 – January 21, 2022 

Final Offers January 24, 2022  

Fingerprinting and Orientation February 2, 2022 

LETO Starts February 14, 2022 

LETO Trooper Training Academy August 1, 2022 

  
If you experience problems submitting your online application or have questions, please contact the 
Application Coordinator at the Minnesota State Patrol Training & Development Section: 
Patrol.Applicant@state.mn.us, (651) 757-1902 or (651) 757-1900.  
 

mailto:Patrol.Applicant@state.mn.us

