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Contact Us

What are the eligibility 
requirements?

▪ Crime must have occurred in 
Minnesota, or in a foreign country 
without a compensation program

▪ Crime must have been reported to 
police within 30 days (no time limit 
for sexual assault and child abuse 
victims, but crime must be reported)

▪ Victim must cooperate FULLY with 
police in their investigation and with 
the city or county attorney in the 
prosecution of the offender

▪ Application form must be submitted 
within 3 years of the crime (child 
abuse claims must be filed within 
3 years of the date the crime was 
reported to police)

▪ Victim must not have committed a 
crime or contributed to the incident 
through their own misconduct 

▪ All available collateral sources 
must be used first, including health 
insurance, Medical Assistance, 
auto insurance, short and long term 
disability, social security benefits, 
etc.

NOTICE:  THIS BROCHURE IS INTENDED TO 
GIVE YOU GENERAL INFORMATION ABOUT 
THE REPARATIONS PROGRAM.  IT DOES 
NOT INCLUDE ALL OF THE REQUIREMENTS 
OF THE MINNESOTA CRIME VICTIMS 
REPARATIONS ACT. 



Crime victims have a place to 
turn for help 

The Minnesota Crime Victims 
Reparations Board helps victims and their 
families ease the financial burden they 
face as a result of a violent crime.  

The Board provides financial assistance 
to reimburse victims for their out-of-
pocket losses suffered as a direct result 
of the crime.  

How does a victim apply  
for reparations?

Victims can request an application 
form by calling the Reparations 
office. Application forms can also be 
downloaded from our website.  For 
assistance with completing an application 
form, victims should contact their local 
victim assistance program.

Completed application forms should 
be mailed, emailed or faxed to the 
Reparations office.  Victims should apply 
as soon as possible.  Medical treatment 
or court proceedings do not need to be 
completed prior to filing a reparations 
claim.   

Who is eligible to apply?

▪▪ Person who suffers a physical or 
emotional injury or death as a result of 
a crime

▪▪ Person injured or killed trying to 
prevent a crime, apprehend a 
suspect, or help a police officer

▪▪ Person who paid for services for the 
victim

▪▪ Family member, dependent, or estate 
of the victim

▪▪ Guardian, guardian ad litem, 
conservator or authorized agent of 
any of these persons

Types of crimes covered

▪ Homicide
▪ Assault
▪ Domestic Abuse
▪ Sexual Assault
▪ Child Abuse (Physical and Sexual)
▪ Human Trafficking
▪ Kidnapping
▪ Arson
▪ Robbery
▪ Harassment/Stalking
▪ Felony Hit and Run
▪ Driving under the Influence
▪ Criminal Vehicular Operation

Property crimes are not covered. 

What benefits are available?

There are limits on most of the following 
benefits, and total benefits may not 
exceed $50,000 per victim.

▪▪ Medical expenses – hospital, doctor, 
ambulance, medication management, 
prescriptions, chiropractic care, 
acupuncture, chemical dependency 
treatment, prosthetic devices

▪▪ Counseling expenses for victims and 
their family members

▪▪ Cultural healing services
▪▪ Mileage to and from medical, mental 

health and dental appointments
▪▪ Funeral expenses – funeral services, 

cremation, burial, headstone, flowers, 
obituary, lodging and travel for family 
members to attend funeral

▪▪ Lost wages due to a disabling 
physical or psychological injury 

▪▪ Loss of support to dependents 
(spouse/domestic partner and minor 
children) of a homicide victim

▪▪ Child care if victim unable to provide 
the care due to injury or death

▪▪ Home health care provided by 
licensed professional

▪▪ Transportation costs, meals and 
lodging to return an abducted child

▪▪ Crime scene clean-up

Pain and suffering, stolen money and 
property loss are not covered.




