Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

DPS Logo

Alcohol and Gambling Enforcement

Bureau of Criminal Apprehension

Driver and Vehicle Services

Emergency Communication Networks

Homeland Security and Emergency Management

Minnesota State Patrol

Office of Communications

Office of Justice Programs

Office of Pipeline Safety

Office of Traffic Safety

State Fire Marshal


Bruce Gordon, Director of Communications
Dawn Duffy  651-201-7571
June 10, 2014
Click It or Ticket Nearly 11000 Unbelted Motorists Ticketed During Two Week Enhanced Enforcement Campaign
​ST. PAUL – A statewide Click It or Ticket seat belt and car seat enforcement campaign May 19-June 1 resulted in 10,874 seat belt citations, according to the Minnesota Department of Public Safety Office of Traffic Safety (DPS/OTS).
Campaign results were reported by 329 agencies and included 279 child seat citations.
“These numbers indicate far too many people are risking their lives and the lives of the people riding with them,” said Donna Berger, OTS director. “The Click It or Ticket enforcement and education campaign reminds motorists that buckling up not only is the law, it’s your best defense in case of a crash.”
A similar campaign in May 2013 cited 10,342 motorists.
Minnesota Seat Belt Use
Based upon observational studies, daytime seat belt use in Minnesota was only 20 percent in 1986. Buckling up has steadily climbed since, due to enforcement, education and the strengthening of seat belt laws. Minnesota hit a record-high seat belt use rate of 94.8 percent in 2013.
Minnesota Seat Belt Law
Drivers and passengers in all seating positions must be buckled up or in the correct child restraint. Law enforcement will stop and ticket unbelted drivers or passengers — including those in the back.
Minnesota Child Passenger Safety and Booster Seat Law
A child who is both under age 8 and shorter than 4 feet 9 inches is required to be fastened in a child safety seat or booster seat that meets federal safety standards. Under this law, a child cannot use a seat belt alone until they are age 8 or 4 feet 9 inches tall – whichever comes first. It is recommended to keep a child in a booster based on their height, rather than their age. Learn more about child passenger safety and the booster seat law. Children under age 13 should always ride in the back seat.
About the Minnesota Department Public Safety
DPS comprises 11 divisions where 2,100 employees operate programs in the areas of law enforcement, crime victim assistance, traffic safety, alcohol and gambling, emergency communications, fire safety, pipeline safety, driver licensing, vehicle registration and emergency management. DPS activity is anchored by three core principles: education, enforcement and prevention.
About the Office of Traffic Safety
OTS designs, implements and coordinates federally funded traffic safety enforcement and education programs to improve driver behaviors and reduce the deaths and serious injuries that occur on Minnesota roads. OTS also administers state funds for the motorcycle safety program and for the child seats for needy families program.
OTS is an anchoring partner of the state’s Toward Zero Deaths (TZD) traffic safety initiative.
Recent OTS Activity and Statistics
  • To-date, there have been 121 traffic deaths, five less than this time last year.
  • Final reports on enhanced enforcement for distracted driving during April 11-20 reported 827 texting citations from 308 law enforcement agencies
  • In a continuing effort to advance traffic safety in Minnesota, DPS awarded new federal grants totaling more than $8.5 million for regional partners to support overtime traffic safety enforcement and educational efforts through September 2014.
# # #
445 Minnesota Street, Suite 100 | Saint Paul, Minnesota 55101-5155 |