Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

DPS Logo

Alcohol and Gambling Enforcement

Bureau of Criminal Apprehension

Driver and Vehicle Services

Emergency Communication Networks

Homeland Security and Emergency Management

Minnesota State Patrol

Office of Communications

Office of Justice Programs

Office of Pipeline Safety

Office of Traffic Safety

State Fire Marshal

NEWS RELEASE

Bruce Gordon, Director of Communications
CONTACT:
Nathan Bowie  (651) 201-7571
nathan.bowie@state.mn.us
 
 
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
May 30, 2013
Ejected: Half of Unbelted Traffic Deaths Thrown from Vehicle
Click It or Ticket Seat Belt Enforcement on the Roads through June 2

​ST. PAUL — More than half of the state’s unbelted traffic deaths are ejected from the vehicle, according to the Minnesota Department of Public Safety (DPS) Office of Traffic Safety. Officials say the high ejection rate is another reason to belt up as motorists drive into the final weekend of statewide Click It Or Ticket enforcement. Since the start of the campaign May 20, more than 4,000 motorists have been cited for seat belt non-use. (preliminary).

In Minnesota during 2010-2012, 189 of the 361 unbelted crash victims (52 percent) killed in crashes were ejected. The statistic highlights the force and violence of crashes, and the importance of seat belts, officials say.

“The role of a seat belt is to keep you safely inside the vehicle compartment and prevent you from getting thrown around the vehicle and slammed into other passengers,” says Donna Berger DPS Office of Traffic Safety director. “In rollover crashes, a vehicle will often roll over an ejected motorist.”

On May 25, an unbelted 19-year-old was involved in a crash on I-94 in Douglas County and was ejected and killed. Another vehicle occupant in the same vehicle was belted and had injuries that were not life threatening.

Age Groups with Most Unbelted and Ejected Deaths, 2010–2012

There were 361 unbelted deaths during this period and 189 were ejected.

  • 15-24 year olds — 61 unbelted and ejected deaths, representing nearly one-third of all unbelted, ejected deaths.
  • 25-34 year olds — 48 unbelted and ejected deaths (25 percent of unbelted, ejected deaths).
  • 40-49 year olds — 33 unbelted and ejected deaths (17 percent of the unbelted, ejected deaths).

Underscoring the importance of child car seats and booster seats, of the 15 children ages 0-8 killed during 2010-2012, at least five were not restrained properly and two were ejected. Children under age 8 must ride in a federally approved car seat or booster, unless the child is 4 feet 9 inches or taller.

Drivers, Passengers — Including in the Back Seat — Must Be Belted

In Minnesota, drivers and passengers in all seating positions, including in the back seat, are required to be buckled up or seated in the correct child restraint. Officers will stop and ticket unbelted drivers or passengers. Seat belts must be worn correctly — low and snug across the hips; shoulder straps should never be tucked under an arm or behind the back.

Minnesota Child Car Seat Law and Steps

Minnesota statute requires children under age 8 to ride in a federally approved car seat or booster, unless the child is 4 feet 9 inches or taller. Here are the restraint steps a child should progress through as they age and grow:
  • Rear-facing infant seats — Newborns to at least 1 year and 20 pounds; recommended up to age 2. It is safest to keep a child rear-facing as long as possible.
  • Forward-facing toddler seats — Age 2 until around age 4. It’s preferable to keep children in a harnessed restraint as long as possible.
  • Booster seats — Use once outgrown a forward-facing harnessed restraint; safest to remain in a booster until 4 feet 9 inches tall, or at least age 8.
  • Seat belts — A child is ready for an adult seat belt when they can sit with their back against the vehicle seat, knees bent comfortably and completely over the vehicle seat edge without slouching, and feet touching the floor. Children 4 feet 9 inches tall or taller can correctly fit in a lap/shoulder belt.
About the Minnesota Department Public Safety
The Minnesota Department of Public Safety (DPS) comprises 11 divisions where 2,100 employees operate programs in the areas of law enforcement, crime victim assistance, traffic safety, alcohol and gambling, emergency communications, fire safety, pipeline safety, driver licensing, vehicle registration and emergency management. DPS activity is anchored by three core principles: education, enforcement and prevention.
 
About the Office of Traffic Safety
The Minnesota Department of Public Safety Office of Traffic Safety (OTS) designs, implements and coordinates federally funded traffic safety enforcement and education programs to improve driver behaviors and reduce the deaths and serious injuries that occur on Minnesota roads. OTS also administers state funds for the motorcycle safety program and for the child seats for needy families program.
 
OTS is an anchoring partner of the state’s Toward Zero Deaths (TZD) traffic safety initiative. A primary vision of the TZD program is to create a safe driving culture in Minnesota in which motorists support a goal of zero road fatalities by practicing and promoting safe and smart driving behavior. TZD focuses on the application of four strategic areas to reduce crashes — education, enforcement, engineering and emergency trauma response.
 
Office of Traffic Safety Highlights
 
#ClickItOrTicket
 
445 Minnesota Street, Suite 100 | Saint Paul, Minnesota 55101-5155 | dps.mn.gov