Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

DPS Logo

Alcohol and Gambling Enforcement

Bureau of Criminal Apprehension

Driver and Vehicle Services

Emergency Communication Networks

Homeland Security and Emergency Management

Minnesota State Patrol

Office of Communications

Office of Justice Programs

Office of Pipeline Safety

Office of Traffic Safety

State Fire Marshal


Doug Neville, Director of Communications
Julie Anderson  651-201-7576
July 28, 2011
Fourteen Minnesota Counties Get Disaster Declaration

ST. PAUL — Governor Mark Dayton today secured a major federal disaster declaration for fourteen counties and one tribal nation following severe storms, flooding and tornadoes from July 1-11.

Preliminary damage assessments revealed nearly $19 million in costs and damages to the following counties: Chisago, Isanti, Kandiyohi, Lincoln, Lyon, McLeod, Meeker, Mille Lacs, Pine, Pipestone, Redwood, Renville, Stearns and Yellow Medicine as well as the Mille Lacs Band of Ojibwe.

The declaration includes two categories of aid:

  • Public Assistance: Assistance to state and local government and certain private non-profit organizations for emergency work and the repair or replacement of disaster-damaged facilities. This applies within the counties in the disaster area.
  • Hazard Mitigation Grant Program: Assistance to state and local government and certain private nonprofit organizations for actions taken to prevent or reduce long-term risk to life and property from natural hazards. All counties in the state of Minnesota are eligible to apply for assistance under this program.

FEMA will fund 75 percent of the approved cost. Eligible work includes debris removal, emergency services related to the disaster and repair or replacement of damaged public facilities, such as roads, power poles, buildings, utilities and recreation areas.



445 Minnesota Street, Suite 100 | Saint Paul, Minnesota 55101-5155 |