Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

DPS Logo

Alcohol and Gambling Enforcement

Bureau of Criminal Apprehension

Driver and Vehicle Services

Emergency Communication Networks

Homeland Security and Emergency Management

Minnesota State Patrol

Office of Communications

Office of Justice Programs

Office of Pipeline Safety

Office of Traffic Safety

State Fire Marshal


Bruce Gordon, Director of Communications
Julie Anderson  651-201-7576
May 28, 2013
Governor Dayton Signs Mutual Aid Compact With Canada
Agreement Will Allow for Disaster and Emergency Assistance between State, Province



May 28, 2013 Julie Anderson 651-201-7576   
Agreement Will Allow for Disaster and Emergency Assistance between State Province 
ST. PAUL — Governor Mark Dayton has signed a mutual aid compact that will allow Minnesota to request and provide mutual assistance to certain Canadian provinces. The State and Province Emergency Management Assistance Memorandum of Understanding makes mutual aid more readily available and, in some cases, less expensive.

Although states and provinces are capable of managing most emergencies, there are times when disasters exceed the state or provincial resources and therefore require outside assistance. The Agreement can be used for resources that one member state or province has that can be shared with another. This spans natural disasters from floods and tornados to human-induced emergencies such as chemical spills and terrorist events.

The mutual aid agreement includes but is not limited to personnel, equipment, supplies, fire services, emergency medical, search and rescue and mass care.
“Few, if any, individual communities have all the resources needed in a major disaster,” said Kris Eide, director of the Minnesota Department of Public Safety Division of Homeland Security and Emergency Management (HSEM). “This compact provides Minnesota an additional ability to quickly deliver and receive resources where needed.” 

Eligible participants are the states of Illinois, Indiana, Ohio, Michigan, Minnesota, Montana, New York, North Dakota, Pennsylvania and Wisconsin and the Canadian provinces of Alberta, Manitoba, Ontario and Saskatchewan.

The jurisdiction requesting the assistance is responsible for reimbursing the jurisdiction providing the aid. Professional licenses and other credentials will be deemed valid across the border under the agreement.

There are similar cross border agreements on the east and west coasts.

About the Minnesota Department Public Safety
The Minnesota Department of Public Safety (DPS) comprises 11 divisions where 2,100 employees operate programs in the areas of law enforcement, crime victim assistance, traffic safety, alcohol and gambling, emergency communications, fire safety, pipeline safety, driver licensing, vehicle registration and emergency management. DPS activity is anchored by three core principles: education, enforcement and prevention

About HSEM
Homeland Security and Emergency Management helps Minnesotans prevent, prepare for, respond to and recover from emergencies and disasters. 

• HSEM staff members are helping Minnesota communities recover from seven federally declared disasters from 2010 through 2012.

• In FY2012, HSEM awarded 402 Homeland Security grants totaling $80 million to 300 local governments and other entities to prepare them for all hazards including terrorism.

• HSEM oversees:
11 Chemical Assessment Teams
1 Emergency Response Team (hazardous materials)
5 Structural Collapse Teams making up MN Task Force 1
4 Bomb Squads
Statewide Decontamination Program

445 Minnesota Street, Suite 100 | Saint Paul, Minnesota 55101-5155 |