Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

DPS Logo

Alcohol and Gambling Enforcement

Bureau of Criminal Apprehension

Driver and Vehicle Services

Emergency Communication Networks

Homeland Security and Emergency Management

Minnesota State Patrol

Office of Communications

Office of Justice Programs

Office of Pipeline Safety

Office of Traffic Safety

State Fire Marshal


Bruce Gordon, Director of Communications
Douglas Neville  651-201-7562
July 06, 2012
Major Disaster Declared For Thirteen Minnesota Counties, Three Tribal Nations Following Severe Storms and Flooding
Areas Now Eligible for Federal Public Assistance
ST. PAUL — Governor Mark Dayton today secured a major federal disaster declaration for thirteen Minnesota counties and three tribal nations following severe storms and flooding that struck areas of the state in June.

Preliminary damage assessments revealed more than $108 million in costs and damages. Aitkin, Carlton, Cook, Crow Wing, Dakota, Goodhue, Kandiyohi, Lake, Meeker, Pine, Rice, Sibley and St. Louis counties as well as the Fond du Lac Tribal Nation, the Mille Lacs Band of Ojibwe and the Grand Portage Tribal Nation are included in the disaster declaration.

The declaration includes two categories of aid:
• Public Assistance: Assistance to state and local government and certain private non-profit organizations for emergency work and the repair or replacement of disaster-damaged facilities. This applies within the counties in the disaster area.
• Hazard Mitigation Grant Program: Assistance to state and local government and certain private nonprofit organizations for actions taken to prevent or reduce long-term risk to life and property from natural hazards. All counties in the state of Minnesota are eligible to apply for assistance under this program.

FEMA will fund 75 percent of the approved cost; the remaining 25 percent is a state/local match. Eligible work includes debris removal, emergency services related to the disaster and repair or replacement of damaged public facilities, such as roads, bridges, buildings, utilities and recreation areas.

The state also requested individual assistance damage assessments for five counties and one tribe. Those assessments begin Wednesday, July 11 in Aitkin, Carlton, Lake, Pine and St. Louis counties as well as the Fond du Lac Tribal Nation. Individual assistance provides federal grants to individual citizens and private businesses who have suffered damages or losses not covered by insurance.


Information on public and individual assistance and the disaster recovery process can be found at the link below
445 Minnesota Street, Suite 100 | Saint Paul, Minnesota 55101-5155 |