Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

DPS Logo

Alcohol and Gambling Enforcement

Bureau of Criminal Apprehension

Driver and Vehicle Services

Emergency Communication Networks

Homeland Security and Emergency Management

Minnesota State Patrol

Office of Communications

Office of Justice Programs

Office of Pipeline Safety

Office of Traffic Safety

State Fire Marshal


Bruce Gordon, Director of Communications
Julie Anderson  651-201-7576
July 29, 2014
Request Made to Add Counties to Disaster Declaration
Additional Counties Would Receive Funding to Repair Public Infrastructure

ST. PAUL — As much of Minnesota continues to recover from severe storms in June and July,  the Minnesota Department of Public Safety Division of Homeland Security and Emergency Management (HSEM) is requesting 30 counties and two tribal governments be added to the federal disaster declaration received July 21. That declaration named eight counties that sustained damage following severe storms beginning June 11. 

HSEM Director Kris Eide requested FEMA add the following counties to the disaster declaration:

Beltrami, Blue Earth, Brown, Carver, Dakota, Dodge, Faribault, Hennepin, Koochiching, Lac Qui Parle, Lake of the Woods, Le Sueur, Lyon, Marshall, Martin, McLeod, Nicollet, Ramsey, Redwood, Rice, Roseau, Scott, Sibley, Steele, Todd, Wadena, Waseca, Watonwan, Wright and Yellow Medicine counties and the tribal governments of the Red Lake Band of Chippewa and Prairie Island Indian Community.

Governor Mark Dayton secured a major disaster declaration for eight counties:

Chippewa, Freeborn, Jackson, Murray, Nobles, Pipestone, Renville and Rock Counties.

They are currently eligible for two categories of federal and state aid:

  • Public Assistance: Assistance to state and local government and certain private not for profit organizations for emergency work and the repair or replacement of disaster-damaged facilities. This applies within the counties in the disaster area.
  • Hazard Mitigation Grant Program: Assistance to state and local government and certain private not for profit organizations for actions taken to prevent or reduce long-term risk to life and property from natural hazards. All counties in the state of Minnesota are eligible to apply for assistance under this program.

Under a presidential disaster declaration, FEMA will fund 75 percent of approved costs. The state of Minnesota will fund the non-federal share. Eligible work can include debris removal, emergency services related to the disaster and repair or replacement of damaged public facilities such as roads, bridges, buildings, utilities and recreation areas.

Next Steps for Flood-Damaged Communities

Counties included in the federal disaster declaration will engage in the following process with state and federal emergency management officials.

  • Applicant Briefing – The Department of Public Safety will hold informational meetings for local officials in affected communities. These meetings will explain the process of receiving federal aid and provide preliminary paperwork for applicants to complete. All requests for public assistance must be filed with the state within 30 days after the area is designated eligible for assistance.
  • Kickoff Meeting – FEMA will return to the affected communities to meet with each aid applicant to develop an action plan for disaster recovery.
  • Recovery Project Planning – FEMA and the Minnesota Department of Public Safety will develop a project worksheet for each project that clearly defines the work to be done and the projected costs.


445 Minnesota Street, Suite 100 | Saint Paul, Minnesota 55101-5155 |