ST. PAUL — Customers who renew their 2022 vehicle registration online or by mail will experience a delay in receiving their registration stickers and cab card. The Minnesota Department of Public Safety Driver and Vehicle Services division (DPS-DVS) was informed by 3M that supply chain issues and a plant explosion and fire at a 3M supplier's plant are contributing to a delay in sticker stock being delivered to Minnesota. The delay only affects customers who renew by mail or online. Customers who renew in person will receive their registration stickers during their visit.
Registration stickers and cab card stock for registrations that expire in 2022 are not yet available from the vendor. The vendor, 3M, points to global supply chain disruptions caused by the COVID-19 pandemic and an explosion and fire at one of their supplier’s plants. DPS-DVS continues to work with 3M and the printing vendor, MINNCOR Industries, to plan for printing and distribution once production is restored.
3M reports the first shipment of stock will arrive on Dec. 24, with subsequent deliveries to be made in early and mid-January. MINNCOR intends to operate 24 hours a day to print the stickers and cab cards once the stock in received.
There are approximately 52,000 online and mailed-in registration renewals already submitted for January. DPS-DVS anticipates more than 320,000 more registration renewal applications for registrations expiring by the end of January.
People who renew in person at a deputy registrar office are not affected. Customers who renew their registration in person receive their stickers and cab card immediately.
Next Steps for Minnesotans
A customer’s online record is immediately up-to-date once they complete an online renewal or once their mailed application is processed. DPS-DVS is reaching out to law enforcement ensuring they are aware of the supply chain issues. Law enforcement will see a valid registration in the system when they check someone’s license plate.
Minnesotans who renew online should keep a copy of the receipt they receive when they complete the online transaction. Customers should keep that receipt in their vehicle. If questioned by law enforcement drivers can show their online receipt or let the officer know they renewed online or by mail and have not received their registration stickers. The officer’s computer will show the registration is valid.
Customers can also check the status of their registration at drive.mn.gov
. In the vehicle services section of the website click on “more vehicle services” then “check my plate/sticker order status”.
Customers whose registration expires in January have until Jan. 31 to renew their registration and until Feb. 10 to display the registration. DPS-DVS believes 3M will be able to provide enough stock so this is not an issue for February renewals. If a driver is stopped by police the record will be up-to-date in the law enforcement database. Drivers can inform a law enforcement officer that they renewed their registration online.
Minnesotans who need to renew their vehicle registration have several options.
- Visit a deputy registrar office to renew in person. .For office locations and hours, visit drive.mn.gov or call 651-297-2005.
- Renew your vehicle registration online at drive.mn.gov.
- US Bank charges a separate service fee of 2.49 percent for all credit card transactions. ACH (electronic check) payments have a separate service fee of $1.50. DPS-DVS does not determine or collect these service fees for online registration renewals.
- Mail the vehicle registration by sending the bottom half of the renewal notice with a check or money order for the total amount shown on the renewal notice made payable to DVS Renewal to:
PO Box 64587
St. Paul, MN 55164-0587
About the Minnesota Department Public Safety
The Minnesota Department of Public Safety (DPS) comprises 11 divisions where 2,200 employees operate programs in the areas of law enforcement, crime victim assistance, traffic safety, alcohol and gambling, emergency communications, fire safety, pipeline safety, driver licensing, vehicle registration and emergency management. DPS activity is anchored by three core principles: education, enforcement and prevention.
About Driver and Vehicle Services
The Minnesota Department of Public Safety Driver and Vehicle Services division (DVS) is responsible for driver testing, driver licensing and maintenance of driver records; driver evaluation and compliance; motor vehicle title and registration; commercial vehicle registration; motor vehicle dealer licensing and regulation; and enforcement of no-fault insurance requirements.