Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

DPS Logo

Alcohol and Gambling Enforcement

Bureau of Criminal Apprehension

Driver and Vehicle Services

Emergency Communication Networks

Homeland Security and Emergency Management

Minnesota State Patrol

Office of Communications

Office of Justice Programs

Office of Pipeline Safety

Office of Traffic Safety

State Fire Marshal


Doug Neville, Director of Communications
Katharine Tinucci  651-201-3441
Doug Neville  651-201-7562
April 20, 2011
Governor Mark Dayton Requests Disaster Declaration
Twenty Counties Included in Initial Request for Federal Aid

ST. PAUL — Governor Mark Dayton today sent a letter to President Barack Obama requesting a major federal disaster declaration for 20 Minnesota Counties affected by spring flooding.

In an April 20 letter to President Obama, Governor Dayton requested Big Stone, Blue Earth, Brown, Carver, Chippewa, Clay, Grant, Lac qui Parle, Le Sueur, Lyon, McLeod, Nicollet, Redwood, Renville, Scott, Sibley, Stevens, Traverse, Wilkin and Yellow Medicine counties be included in the disaster declaration after preliminary damage assessments revealed $10.864 million in costs and damages. Damage assessments continue in 15 additional Minnesota counties. If eligible, those counties can be added to the declaration request at a later date.

Governor Dayton requested a major disaster declaration including two categories of aid:

  • Public Assistance: Assistance to state and local government and certain private non-profit organizations for emergency work and the repair or replacement of disaster-damaged facilities. This applies within the counties in the disaster area.
  • Hazard Mitigation Grant Program: Assistance to state and local government and certain private non-profit organizations for actions taken to prevent or reduce long-term risk to life and property from natural hazards. All counties in the State of Minnesota are eligible to apply for assistance under this program.

If the President declares a major disaster, FEMA will fund 75 percent of approved costs. Eligible work might include debris removal, emergency services related to the disaster and repair or replacement of damaged public facilities such as roads, bridges, buildings, utilities and recreation areas.

Governor Dayton will recommend to the legislature that the state fully fund the remaining 25 percent share. This request is designed to relieve the burden to communities like Moorhead, Granite Falls and many others who have had as many as four disasters in the past year.




A copy of Governor Dayton’s letter to President Obama is attached. The letter outlines impacts to communities and the state.

445 Minnesota Street, Suite 100 | Saint Paul, Minnesota 55101-5155 |