Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

DPS Logo

Alcohol and Gambling Enforcement

Bureau of Criminal Apprehension

Driver and Vehicle Services

Emergency Communication Networks

Homeland Security and Emergency Management

Minnesota State Patrol

Office of Communications

Office of Justice Programs

Office of Pipeline Safety

Office of Traffic Safety

State Fire Marshal


Andy Skoogman, Director of Communications
Doug Neville  651-201-7562
May 04, 2010
Six Counties, One Tribe, Added to Spring Flood Disaster
Areas Now Eligible for Federal Aid

ST. PAUL — The Minnesota Department of Public Safety Division of Homeland Security and Emergency Management (HSEM) today announced six counties and one tribe are added to the major disaster declaration for spring flooding.

In an April 29 letter to FEMA, HSEM requested Cottonwood, McLeod, Pennington, Ramsey, Red Lake and Stevens counties, as well as the Prairie Island Tribal Community, be added to the disaster declaration after an additional $3.1 million in costs and damages were discovered.

Governor Tim Pawlenty secured a major disaster declaration for 18 counties and one tribe affected by spring flooding on April 19. That declaration includes two categories of aid:

  • Public Assistance: Assistance to state and local government and certain private non-profit organizations for emergency work and the repair or replacement of disaster-damaged facilities. This applies within the counties in the disaster area.
  • Hazard Mitigation Grant Program: Assistance to state and local government and certain private non-profit organizations for actions taken to prevent or reduce long-term risk to life and property from natural hazards. All counties in the State of Minnesota are eligible to apply for assistance under this program.

FEMA will fund 75 percent of the approved cost. Eligible work includes debris removal, emergency services related to the disaster and repair or replacement of damaged public facilities such as roads, bridges, buildings, utilities and recreation areas.



445 Minnesota Street, Suite 100 | Saint Paul, Minnesota 55101-5155 |