Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

DPS Logo

Alcohol and Gambling Enforcement

Bureau of Criminal Apprehension

Driver and Vehicle Services

Emergency Communication Networks

Homeland Security and Emergency Management

Minnesota State Patrol

Office of Communications

Office of Justice Programs

Office of Pipeline Safety

Office of Traffic Safety

State Fire Marshal


Bruce Gordon, Director of Communications
Stephanie Kaufenberg  651-201-7566
June 25, 2012
State's "DWI Enforcer All-Stars" Announced: Weekend DWI Enforcement on Deck

​ST. PAUL — The state’s top DWI enforcers will be announced tonight during the Minnesota Twins’ pre-game festivities at Target Field. The squad of 31 law enforcement officers and prosecutors is led by Minnesota State Patrol Trooper Mark Hibbard who made 241 DWI arrests in 2011.

This is the fifth DWI Enforcer All-Star squad, presented by the Minnesota Department of Public Safety (DPS) Office of Traffic Safety. The all-stars are selected for outstanding service in enforcement and in prosecution of impaired driving.

Several of the officers presented on the field Monday will be on the roads this weekend during added DWI enforcement. Increased patrols will roll in the state’s 13 counties that accounted for nearly half of the state’s alcohol-related deaths (202) and half of the state’s serious injuries (462) during 2008–2010. The top-ranked counties for alcohol-related deaths and serious injuries: 1. Hennepin, 2. Ramsey, 3. Anoka, 4. St. Louis, 5. Dakota, 6. Wright, 7. Olmsted, 8. Rice, 9. Washington, 10. Stearns, 11. Sherburne, 12. Scott and 13. Carver.

State trooper Jack Tiegs (Teegs) — who led the state in DWI arrests in 2009 and 2010 — had the second highest DWI arrest total with 206. Greater Minnesota and Twin Cities DWI Enforcer All-Star rosters are below.

These are just a few of the hundreds of law enforcement officers in Minnesota who are committed to arresting drunk drivers to ensure motorists make it home safely,” says Donna Berger, director of the DPS Office of Traffic Safety. 

Last year in Minnesota, alcohol-impaired crashes (crashes involving drivers or pedestrians with an 0.08 alcohol-concentration or higher) accounted for 111 deaths — 30 percent of the state’s total traffic deaths.  In 2011, 29,257 motorists were arrested for DWI.

Consequences of a DWI include thousands in costs, increased insurance rates, loss of license and possible jail time. All repeat DWI offenders, as well as motorists arrested for a first-time DWI with a 0.16 and above alcohol-concentration level, must use ignition interlock for at least a year or face at least one year without driving privileges.

Ignition interlock requires the driver to provide a breath sample below 0.02 alcohol-concentration in order for the vehicle to start. Anti-circumvention features of interlock include rolling re-tests as well as an in-car camera that records who is providing the breath sample. Learn more about ignition interlock at

Greater Minnesota All-Stars
  • Doug Best, Renville Police 
  • Garrett Bondhus, Minnesota State Patrol (Rochester district) 
  • David Doppelhammer, Albert Lea Police 
  • Steve Estey, Virginia Police 
  • John Fritz, Minnesota State Patrol (St. Cloud district) 
  • Mitchell Jensen, Rochester Police 
  • Lyan Karger, Beltrami Sheriff  
  • Chris Lee, Upper Sioux Tribal Police 
  • Daryl Mador [Mae-dor],  Rice County Sheriff 
  • Jeff McCormack, Austin Police 
  • Chad Myers, Winona County Sheriff 
  • Matthew Pribnow [Prib-no], St. Cloud Police 
  • Steven Ring, Duluth Police 
  • Shane Simonds [rhymes with diamonds], Wright County prosecutor
  • Nick Schwable [Sh-wall-bee], Jackson County Sheriff
  • Thomas Taylor, Hawley Police
Twin Cities All-Stars
  • Jeff Beahen, Rogers Police — honored for educating agencies and encouraging use of state’s new DWI e-charging system.
  • Justin Drogseth, Apple Valley Police 
  • Eric Gadbois [Gad-boy], White Bear Lake Police 
  • Todd Groves, Eden Prairie Police 
  • Paul Henstein [Hen-steen], Minnesota State Patrol (West Metro district) 
  • Mark Hibbard, Minnesota State Patrol (West Metro district) 
  • Andrew Martinek [Mart-neck], Minnesota State Patrol (West Metro district) 
  • Eric Micek [Mice-ek], Minnesota State Patrol (East Metro district) 
  • Tiffani Nielsen [Neel-sen], Minnesota State Patrol (West Metro district)
  • Ryan Pankratz [Pan-krats], Robbinsdale 
  • Mark Schneider, Golden Valley City Attorney
  • Duane Siedschlag [Seed-shlog], White Bear Lake Police 
  • Adam Stier [Sty-er], Lakeville Police 
  • Jack Tiegs [Teegs], Minnesota State Patrol (East Metro district) 
  • Brandon Zabel [Zae-bel], Brooklyn Center Police
The Minnesota Department of Public Safety Office of Traffic Safety (OTS) designs, implements, and coordinates federally funded traffic safety enforcement and education programs to improve driver behaviors and reduce the deaths and serious injuries that occur on Minnesota roads.  OTS also administers state funds for the motorcycle safety program and for the child seats for needy families program. OTS is an anchoring partner of the state’s Toward Zero Deaths traffic safety initiative.
Recent OTS Activity
  • A May 21–June 3 statewide, increased seat belt enforcement campaign resulted in 12,639 seat belt citations.
  • OTS released a study conducted by the University of Minnesota that found the primary seat belt law has resulted in 68 fewer deaths since the law was enacted nearly three years ago.
  • OTS is coordinating a pilot program for parent-teen driver awareness courses, to educate parents about their responsibilities to train and monitor their new teen driver.
445 Minnesota Street, Suite 100 | Saint Paul, Minnesota 55101-5155 |