Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

DPS Logo

Alcohol and Gambling Enforcement

Bureau of Criminal Apprehension

Driver and Vehicle Services

Emergency Communication Networks

Homeland Security and Emergency Management

Minnesota State Patrol

Office of Communications

Office of Justice Programs

Office of Pipeline Safety

Office of Traffic Safety

State Fire Marshal


Bruce Gordon, Director of Communications
Lead PIO   (651) 201-7477
June 19, 2014
Governor Declares State of Emergency: National Guard Activated, EOC Moves to Full Activation

​ST. PAUL —  Gov. Mark Dayton today declared a State of Emergency in 35 Minnesota counties following recent storms and flooding. The Executive Order makes a wide range of state resources available and engages state agencies in response efforts.

The Governor is also directing the Minnesota National Guard to send 100 soldiers to Koochiching County to help in storm affected areas. 
The Minnesota Department of Public Safety Division of Homeland Security and Emergency Management (HSEM) is fully activating the State Emergency Operations Center (SEOC). The SEOC has been partially activated this week in response to flood and storm-related conditions across northern and southern Minnesota. 
“We’re ramping up our efforts to help communities across the state that are dealing with storm damage and high water due to the recent heavy rains,” said Kris Eide, HSEM Director. “The state’s emergency operations center is in contact with emergency managers in the affected areas and we are coordinating the state’s response as directed by the governor’s State of Emergency.”
A full activation of the SEOC occurs when there are significant impacts from an event over several or large areas of the state. Storms that have caused flooding and other damage began on June 11 and are continuing; the National Weather Service is predicting additional rain for regions that are saturated or are experiencing rising river and lake levels. 
State agencies are now in the SEOC to closely monitor conditions around the state and respond to resource requests from local emergency managers.
Counties in the State of Emergency include; Beltrami, Blue Earth, Brown, Dodge, Faribault, Freeborn, Goodhue, Grant, Hubbard, Jackson, Lake of the Woods, Le Sueur, Lyon, Koochiching, McLeod, Morrison, Mower, Murray, Nicollet, Nobles, Olmsted, Otter Tail, Pipestone, Ramsey, Redwood, Renville, Rice, Rock, Roseau, Saint Louis, Scott, Sibley, Steele, Todd and Waseca.
The Joint Information Center is activated to provide regular updates and one point of contact for all state agency activities.  Contact information for members of the media is:
Phone:  (651) 201-7477
On the Web:
On Twitter 
On Facebook
445 Minnesota Street, Suite 100 | Saint Paul, Minnesota 55101-5155 |