The Dangers of Illegal and Unsafe Speeding
Each year, illegal or unsafe speed is a leading contributing factor in Minnesota fatal crashes.
- Preliminary reports show 120 motorists died in speed-related crashes in 2020, the most since 2008 (125).
- In the last five years (2016-2020), 485 people died in speed-related traffic fatalities.
- Speed contributed to 30 percent of all traffic fatalities in 2020.
- The Minnesota State Patrol issued more than 1,068 speeding tickets for speeds of 100 mph or more in 2020, compared with 533 tickets for those excessive speeds in 2019.
- Speed was a primary contributor in the jump from 364 traffic deaths on Minnesota roads in 2019 to the preliminary figure of 395 in 2020.
Higher Speeds, Bigger Problems
- Greater potential for loss of vehicle control.
- Increased stopping distance.
- Less time for driver response for crash avoidance.
- Increased crash severity leading to more severe injuries and death.
If Confronted with an Aggressive Driver:
- Get out of their way; disengage.
- Stay calm — reaching your destination safely is your goal.
- Do not challenge them.
- Avoid eye contact.
- Ignore gestures and don’t return them.
- Report aggressive driving (vehicle description, license number, location).
Increased stopping distance:
- At 40 mph, braking distance is 79 feet, with total stopping distance with reaction time 118 feet
- At 60 mph, braking distance is 180 feet, with total stopping distance with reaction time 240 feet
- At 80 mph, braking distance is 315 feet, with total stopping distance with reaction time 394 feet
- At 100 mph, braking distance is 499 feet, with total stopping distance with reaction time 597 feet.
If you Speed, Expect to be Stopped
A citation may affect a person's bank account, driving record or insurance rates, but the resulting change in behavior can be a lifesaver. A speed-related crash can lead to far worse consequences.
- The cost of a speeding violation will vary by county, but it will typically cost a driver more than $110 with court fees for traveling 10 mph over the limit. Fines double for those speeding 20 mph over the limit and drivers can lose their license for six months for going 100 mph or more.
• DPS Speed Commercial
• DPS Speed PSA
Speed played a role in each of these crashes
Speak Up: Tell the driver to slow down
- Tell the driver to obey the speed limit to protect their life and yours.
- Most speeders think they’re above-average drivers but they’re 60 percent more likely to be in a crash than the average driver (OTS High Risk Driver Study 2014).
- Tell the driver to obey the speed limit to save money.
- For every 5 mph over 50 mph, it’s like paying an additional 19-cents per gallon.
- Traveling at 55 mph versus 45 mph for a 10-mile trip will only save a driver a little more than two minutes travel time.
You are an aggressive driver if you:
Ignore traffic signals
Speed and tailgate
Weave in and out of traffic
Make improper lane changes frequently and abruptly
Pass on the shoulder
Make hand and facial gestures
Scream, honk and flash lights.
If confronted by an aggressive driver, you should:
Stay calm — reaching your destination safely is your goal.
Do not challenge them.
Avoid eye contact.
Ignore gestures and don’t return them.
Report aggressive driving (vehicle description, license number, location).
Always buckle up to maintain proper seating position in case of abrupt driving maneuvers.
Report Aggressive Drivers:
Find a safe place to call 911
Be prepared to provide location, vehicle description and license plate.
Motorists should keep at least a three-second following distance, as it takes more than the length of a football field to stop when traveling at 60 miles per hour.