Chilld Safety Seat
Guidelines

Rear-Facing Seat
* Infants under 20 pounds and under 1 year
of age must be in a rear-facing infant seat.

A rear-facing seat must never be placed in
front of an active air bag.

Forward-Facing Seat Belt-Positioning Booster Seat

* Over 1 year of age and .
over 20 pounds.

Children under age 8 and shorter
than 4 feet 9 inches are required to
be in a child safety seat or booster.

Boosters are for children up to
4 feet, 9 inches, typically ages 4-8.




Child Passenger Restraint Law
Minnesota Statute 169.685, subd. 5

« Children under age 8 and shorter than 4 feet 9 inches
tall are required to be fastened in a child safety seat or
booster seat that meets federal safety standards.

Safety seats must be installed and used according to the
manufacturer’s instructions:

- Child must be secured in the safety seat.

- Seat must be secured to the vehicle with a seat belt or

LATCH.

- Infants (under 20 pounds and under 1 year) must be in

a rear-facing safety seat.

Law applies to all motor vehicles originally equipped with
factory-installed seat belts.

Law applies to all seating positions.
Driver is responsible.

Petty misdemeanor fine for violation is $50 (may be waived
if violator shows proof of obtaining a safety seat within 14
days).

* Applies to both residents and non-residents of Minnesota.

» Suspected non-use is a valid basis to stop a motor vehicle.

Exemptions
» Children riding in emergency medical vehicles, when
medical needs make use of a restraint unreasonable.

Children riding in a motor vehicle for hire, including a
taxi, airport limousine or bus, but excluding a rented,
leased or borrowed motor vehicle.

Children riding with a peace officer on official duty,
when a restraint is not available (a seat belt must be
substituted).

Children certified by a licensed physician as having a
medical, physical or mental disability that makes
restraint use inadvisable.

School buses that meet FMVSS 222 for
compartmentalization.
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