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Minnesota is continuing to make progress in the ongoing fight against impaired driving. 

In 2010, there were 131 alcohol-related deaths, the fewest impaired-driving fatalities on record — and 

representing a 21 percent drop in deaths from five years ago.  

Much of this credit belongs to Minnesota motorists making safer decisions — planning for a sober ride to 

avoid getting behind the wheel impaired. Enforcement and education efforts have also factored in the reduction 

in deaths. 

Supporting this positive news is Minnesota has new, stronger DWI sanctions for all repeat DWI offenders, as well 

as motorists arrested for a first-time DWI with a 0.16 and above alcohol-concentration level. Under the new 

sanctions, these DWI offenders must use ignition interlock for at least a year or face at least one year without 

driving privileges. Interlock requires drivers to provide a breath sample with an alcohol-concentration of less than 

0.02 in order to start a vehicle.  

Interlock enhances public safety by providing safe and legal driving option for offenders, 

while also serving as another DWI consequence to the general public.  

But, for all the progress we have made, alcohol-related crashes without question remain a threat — accounting 

for one-third of the state‘s traffic fatalities annually. This report, Minnesota Impaired Driving Facts 2010, 

presents the discouraging facts that quantify the problem and explain Minnesota‘s impaired driving laws. 

Following are key facts from 2010: 

 411 people died in traffic crashes in Minnesota and 131 (32 percent) were alcohol-related.   

 2,485 people suffered injuries in alcohol-related crashes. 

 29,918 DWIs were issued to drivers on Minnesota roads (82 per day on average).  

 12,436 (42 percent) of these violators had at least one prior DWI.  

 2,102 (7 percent) of DWIs were issued to drivers less than 21 years of age. 

 One of every seven current Minnesota drivers has at least one DWI. 

The Office of Traffic Safety and our law enforcement partners are committed to stopping impaired driving. We 

ask every driver to join us by making safe, smart decisions.  

Sincerely,  

 
Donna Berger 

Acting Director, Office of Traffic 
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I.  IMPAIRED DRIVING INCIDENTS ON RECORD 
 

Summary 
There were 29,918 impaired driving incidents that 

occurred in Minnesota in 2010 and then entered onto 

people‘s driving records.  That‘s a 9% decrease from the 

previous year.  Eighty-eight percent of the incidents 

involved taking a test for alcohol or drugs;
*
 12% 

involved a test refusal.
†
  A few incidents (7--less than 

1%) involved both a test failure and a test refusal (for 

example, an alcohol test refusal and a drug test failure).  

A small number of the total incidents included a 

conviction for ―criminal vehicular operation‖ resulting 

in a fatality (21 such incidents) or injury (146 such 

incidents). 

“Not-a-Drop” and “Disqual” violations 
Two types of incidents are reported in Table 1.01 but 

not otherwise considered as ―impaired driving 

incidents‖ in this report.  First, there are ―not-a-drop‖ 

violations.  (The Not-A-Drop law was passed in 1993 

and applies to persons under age 21, making it illegal 

for them to drive while having any amount of alcohol in 

their blood.)  The number of such violations rose 

steadily from 1,386, in 1994, to close to 3,700 in 1999, 

but then dropped rather sharply in the past decade to 

1,177 in 2010. 

The second violation type has the jargon-like name 

―disqual.‖  This refers to an incident where a 

commercial vehicle driver is tested and found to have an 

alcohol concentration of .04% or higher.  Such a driver 

will then be disqualified from operating a commercial 

vehicle.  These incidents are somewhat rare.  There 

were only 15 in 2010.  (Note that if the commercial 

driver has an AC over the per se illegal level, then the 

incident will be counted as a conviction or an implied 

consent violation; it will still trigger the disqualification, 

but it will not be counted here as a ―disqual.‖) 

When do incidents occur? 
There is high consistency year after year with respect to 

when drinking and driving occurs in terms of days of 

the week.  Year 2010 was similar to past years: 

Mondays through Thursdays had comparatively few 

incidents.  Then Fridays accounted for 17%, Sundays 

for 23%, and Saturdays for 26% of all incidents. 

                                                           

Alcohol concentration levels remain steady 
In 1997 the Legislature adopted special sanction 

provisions effective in January 1998 for high-AC  

offenders (0.20% or higher), and alcohol test results  

began to be available starting in 1998.  There may be 

some decline among high-scoring violators; there were 

5,518 in the over 0.20% category in 2001, then 4,989 in 

2009.  This represents a 10% decline. 

Average alcohol level among first-time violators 

was 0.155% in 2001 and 0.148% in 2010.  Second-or-

subsequent violators averaged 0.170% in 2001 and 

0.165% in 2010.  These lower alcohol concentration 

levels are to be expected in some degree due to the 

lower .08 per se level that went into effect 08/01/2005. 

Who are the violators? 
Driver license files provide only limited data on who the 

drinking drivers are.  However, there is a strong 

relationship between age and impaired driving.  

Twenty-to-thirty-four year-olds accounted for 55% of 

the impaired driving incidents in 2010.  In addition, 

there were 2,102 impaired driving incidents among 

underage drivers.  This is especially disturbing since it 

is illegal to drink in Minnesota if you are less than 21 

years of age. 

In addition, there is an exceedingly strong 

relationship between gender and impaired driving.  

Most succinctly put, the problem is concentrated in the 

young adult male population.  In 2010, males committed 

73% of the impaired incidents (for which gender of the 

violator was reported).  

 Surprisingly, even though the seven-county 

twin-cities metro area is growing in population relative 

to the non-metro area, a decreasing proportion of DWI 

incidents are occurring there:  In 1991, 54% of all 

incidents occurred in the 7 county metro area, but in 

2010, just 51% of all incidents occurred there. 

Recidivism:  40% of violators were recidivists  
Section IV will look at recidivism more closely.  In 

general, though, in recent years, about 60 percent of all 

violators had no prior alcohol incidents on record, and 

40 percent did. There is an interesting violation pattern 

among the recidivists:  About half of those who incur a 

second incident go on to incur a third.  About half those 

who incur a third go on to incur a fourth, and so on.   

* The tests are usually for alcohol, but they might be for 

controlled substances.  In 2010, there were 860 incidents 

(involving either an implied consent violation or a criminal 

conviction, or both) for driving while impaired by controlled 

substances. 
† Test refusals used to be higher.  For example in 1991, 22% 

of all incidents involved a test refusal. 
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TABLE 1.01 

OVERVIEW OF IMPAIRED DRIVING INCIDENTS ON RECORD, 1991 - 2010 

 Impaired Driving Incidents (“DWIs”) Related 
Incidents 

       Criminal 
Vehicular 
Operation 

   

Year Total 

(1) 

Implied 
Consent 

(2) 

Criminal 
Conviction 

(3) 

Tests 
Taken 

(4) 

Tests 
Refused 

(5) 

Both 
Taken 
+ Ref. 

(6) 

Fa- 
tality 

(7) 

In- 
jury 

(8) 

Drugs 

(9) 

Not-A- 
Drop 

(10) 

Com- 
mercial 
Vehicle 

(11) 

1991 32,430 31,673 25,860 25,251 7,174 5 24 53 6  9 

1992 30,841 30,101 25,338 24,407 6,423 11 34 79 10  20 

1993 30,088 29,334 25,107 24,586 5,489 13 42 101 10 587 15 

1994 29,748 28,855 24,834 24,524 5,208 16 44 92 14 1,386 20 

1995 30,402 29,249 25,139 24,869 5,507 26 41 41 25 1,611 17 

1996 30,923 29,687 25,718 25,512 5,405 6 43 43 50 2,181 18 

1997 31,380 29,940 26,269 26,330 5,024 26 22 209 128 2,865 15 

1998 32,422 30,888 27,136 27,483 4,774 165 40 209 218 3,245 21 

1999 34,575 32,800 29,314 29,581 4,875 119 27 250 207 3,691 12 

2000 35,034 33,329 29,292 30,007 4,886 141 38 250 334 3,607 15 

2001 33,532 32,074 27,981 28,611 4,839 82 15 146 397 3,287 14 

2002 33,163 31,911 27,447 28,308 4,767 88 29 182 404 3,163 14 

2003 32,266 30,991 26,210 27,591 4,489 186 20 262 528 2,737 9 

2004 34,202 32,811 27,907 29,501 4,478 223 13 207 681 2,679 7 

2005 37,002 35,215 30,534 32,224 4,633 145 25 248 832 2,424 16 

2006 41,951 40,425 34,528 36,893 4,942 116 20 240 706 2,406 13 

2007 38,669 37,278 31,876 33,947 4,664 58 45 203 637 2,052 31 

2008 35,794 34,497 29,509 31,492 4,292 10 26 189 625 1,679 10 

2009 32,756 31,662 24,198 28,831 3,915 10 27 155 758 1,356 23 

2010 29,918 28,838 22,153 26,366 3,545 7 21 146 860 1,177 15 

Column Notes: 

(1) Column 1 counts the total number of impaired driving 

incidents in Minnesota.  Columns 2 through 9 are 

subsets of column 1. 

(2) Almost all incidents include the civil-law ―implied 

consent‖ violation either of (i) taking and ―failing‖ the 

test for alcohol or controlled substances (―drugs‖), or 

(ii) refusing to take the test. 

(3) In 2010, 74% of all incidents were known to involve a 

criminal conviction for driving while impaired by 

alcohol or drugs (as of June 01, 2011—the date on 

which statistics for this report were compiled).  This 

percentage is understated.  As judicial outcomes are 

decided well into the future, the criminal conviction 

percentage will increase to approximately 85%. 

(4-6) An incident may involve taking of a test, and a test 

refusal.  For example, a person may take a test for 

alcohol, and refuse a test for drugs.   

(7-8) Criminal vehicular operation (CVO) offenses are 

divided into CVO resulting in a fatality (column 7) or 

CVO resulting in any type of bodily injury, all 

collapsed into (column 8). 

(9) Incidents counted in (9) involved an implied consent 

violation or a criminal conviction, or both, for 

driving while impaired by a controlled substance 

(―drugs‖).  See additional detail in Table 1.02. 

(10) The ―not-a-drop‖ law, making it illegal for person 

under age 21 to drive while having any amount of 

alcohol whatsoever (as opposed to being over the 

per-se illegal level) took effect June 1, 1993. 

(11) Commercial vehicle drivers found to have an alcohol 

concentration of .04% or higher, but less than the per 

se illegal level, are disqualified from operating a 

commercial vehicle.  
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TABLE 1.02 

“IMPLIED CONSENTS”  VERSUS  CRIMINAL CONVICTIONS, 
VERSUS BOTH,  UNDER THREE ARREST SCENARIOS, 1991 - 2010 

 Incidents Involving a 
Test for Alcohol 

Incidents Involving a 
Test for Drugs 

Incidents Involving 
Refusal of Test for 
Alcohol or Drugs 

All Episodes 

Year IC 
only 
% 

CC 
only 
% 

IC + 
CC 
% 

Total 

N 

IC 
only 
% 

CC 
only 
% 

IC + 
CC 
% 

Total 

N 

IC 
only 
% 

CC 
only 
% 

IC + 
CC 
% 

Total 

N 

IC 
only 
% 

CC 
only 
% 

IC + 
CC 
% 

Total 

N 

1991 19 3 78 25,234 0 75 25 4 25 0 75 7,174 20 2 78 32,430 

1992 16 3 81 24,386 0 86 14 7 23 0 77 6,433 18 2 80 30,841 

1993 17 3 80 24,566 0 78 22 9 16 0 84 5,499 16 3 81 30,088 

1994 17 3 80 24,497 0 92 8 12 16 1 83 5,221 16 3 81 29,748 

1995 18 4 78 24,837 0 100 0 25 16 1 83 5,527 17 4 79 30,402 

1996 17 5 78 25,457 0 100 0 44 14 1 85 5,410 17 4 79 30,923 

1997 17 5 78 26,190 18 64 18 123 14 1 85 5,048 16 5 79 31,380 

1998 16 5 79 27,261 30 39 31 210 15 1 84 4,937 16 5 79 32,422 

1999 15 6 79 29,363 34 38 28 200 14 1 85 4,990 15 5 80 34,575 

2000 16 5 79 29,676 32 44 24 325 14 1 84 5,024 16 5 79 35,034 

2001 16 5 79 28,222 37 21 42 389 14 1 85 4,919 16 5 79 33,532 

2002 17 4 79 27,917 34 21 45 404 14 1 85 4,854 17 4 79 33,163 

2003 17 5 78 27,152 37 19 44 528 15 1 84 4,673 17 4 79 32,266 

2004 16 5 79 28,953 39 17 44 674 14 1 85 4,702 17 4 79 34,202 

2005 17 5 78 31,409 36 15 49 815 17 2 81 4,778 17 5 78 37,002 

2006 17 4 79 36,203 39 14 47 690 17 1 83 5,058 18 4 79 41,951 

2007 18 4 79 33,327 35 21 45 620 15 1 84 4,722 18 4 79 38,669 

2008 18 4 79 30,890 38 20 42 602 15 1 84 4,302 18 4 79 35,794 

2009 26 3 71 28,105 52 14 34 726 21 2 78 3,925 26 3 71 32,756 

2010 26 3 70 25,528 47 16 37 838 20 1 79 3,552 26 4 70 29,918 

Note: 

A given incident, at the point of arrest, could involve only a 

test for alcohol, or only a test for drugs, or tests for both, or a 

refusal of both, or a test for one and a refusal of a test for the 

other.  Incidents were classified into the first arrest scenario 

(involving test for alcohol) only if (1) there was no test for 

drugs, and (2) there was no refusal.  An incident was 

classified into the second arrest scenario (involving a test for 

drugs) if there was any test for drugs, even if there may also 

have been a test for alcohol.  No incident that involved any 

refusal was classified into the first or second groups.  All 

incidents where the arrest involved any refusal were 

classified into the third scenario (involving a test refusal) 

above. 

In United States law, the term ―conviction‖ refers to a 

finding of guilt—either because a person pled guilty or was 

found guilty—for an offense under criminal law.  Minnesota 

first defined driving while intoxicated to be a crime in 1911.  

Minnesota first passed the civil Implied Consent law in 1961:  

By driving, a person implies consent to a test for alcohol, if 

required to take a test by an officer who has probable cause to 

suspect impairment.  As amended over the years, the Implied 

Consent law now instructs the Commissioner of Public 

Safety to withdraw a person‘s driver license if the person 

refuses to take a test for alcohol, or for controlled substances 

(―drugs‖), or if the person takes the test and ‗fails‘ it by 

testing over a defined per-se illegal level (in the case of 

alcohol, set, since August 1, 2005, at .08%).  Additionally, in 

1992, Minnesota defined test refusal to be a crime, effective 

January 1, 1993. 

 The license withdrawal under the civil law occurs 

independently of the outcome of proceedings under the 

criminal law.  Thus, an impaired driving incident for which 

there is an arrest may then lead to a revocation under the civil 

law (an ―implied consent‖—―IC‖ in the table above), or a 

criminal conviction (―CC‖ in the above table), or, most 

commonly, both (―IC+CC‖). 
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TABLE 1.03 

IMPAIRED DRIVING INCIDENTS BY MONTH, 1991 – 2010 

Year Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec Total 

1991 2,371 2,506 2,999 2,835 2,927 2,959 2,850 3,157 2,813 2,581 2,049 2,383 32,430 

1992 2,460 2,454 2,722 2,515 2,881 2,623 2,748 2,885 2,558 2,608 2,283 2,104 30,841 

1993 2,194 2,156 2,460 2,505 2,959 2,436 2,735 2,785 2,581 2,689 2,246 2,342 30,088 

1994 2,101 2,047 2,548 2,599 2,714 2,434 2,800 2,471 2,499 2,618 2,239 2,678 29,748 

1995 2,176 2,190 2,441 2,744 2,582 2,393 2,732 2,647 2,815 2,579 2,213 2,890 30,402 

1996 2,120 2,207 2,625 2,448 2,875 2,772 2,753 2,909 2,632 2,581 2,420 2,581 30,923 

1997 2,289 2,437 2,654 2,586 2,948 2,610 2,735 3,033 2,353 2,454 2,608 2,673 31,380 

1998 2,434 2,391 2,448 2,500 2,993 2,658 2,937 2,951 2,782 2,857 2,663 2,808 32,422 

1999 2,617 2,497 2,780 2,746 3,194 2,765 3,029 2,936 2,974 3,131 2,798 3,108 34,575 

2000 2,883 2,724 3,015 2,918 2,960 2,904 3,184 2,838 2,995 2,997 2,559 3,057 35,034 

2001 2,822 2,426 2,989 2,600 2,869 2,795 2,892 2,798 2,806 2,793 2,616 3,126 33,532 

2002 2,722 2,460 2,796 2,582 2,812 2,806 2,910 3,045 2,741 2,648 2,693 2,948 33,163 

2003 2,464 2,321 2,747 2,469 2,645 2,714 3,104 2,933 2,635 2,863 2,738 2,633 32,266 

2004 2,796 2,706 2,909 2,706 2,970 2,769 3,123 3,168 2,814 2,918 2,583 2,740 34,202 

2005 2,587 2,857 2,843 3,058 3,026 2,827 3,379 3,496 3,215 3,328 2,968 3,418 37,002 

2006 3,479 3,184 3,604 3,473 3,493 3,568 3,722 3,750 3,657 3,141 3,231 3,649 41,951 

2007 3,019 2,726 3,408 3,083 3,326 3,363 3,404 3,435 3,388 2,971 3,079 3,467 38,669 

2008 3,065 2,916 3,168 2,711 3,180 2,958 3,436 3,020 2,641 2,902 3,042 2,755 35,794 

2009 2,889 2,550 2,881 2,703 2,966 2,561 2,816 3,003 2,685 2,511 2,628 2,563 32,756 

2010 2,541 2,507 2,689 2,463 2,655 2,356 2,623 2,651 2,394 2,566 2,106 2,367 29,918 

TABLE 1.04 

IMPAIRED DRIVING INCIDENTS BY DAY OF WEEK, 1991 – 2010 

Year Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday Total 

1991 6,667 2,487 2,804 3,066 3,789 5,327 8,290 32,430 

1992 6,489 2,146 2,463 3,049 3,713 4,963 8,018 30,841 

1993 6,202 2,264 2,465 2,905 3,511 5,083 7,658 30,088 

1994 6,048 2,302 2,328 2,661 3,535 5,089 7,785 29,748 

1995 6,600 2,274 2,476 2,717 3,436 4,977 7,922 30,402 

1996 6,413 2,490 2,505 2,799 3,571 5,131 8,014 30,923 

1997 6,488 2,331 2,436 3,111 3,426 5,339 8,249 31,380 

1998 6,909 2,384 2,490 2,942 3,961 5,398 8,338 32,422 

1999 7,470 2,446 2,540 3,116 3,992 6,017 8,994 34,575 

2000 7,640 2,375 2,623 3,138 3,872 5,774 9,612 35,034 

2001 7,316 2,566 2,564 3,002 3,893 5,558 8,633 33,532 

2002 7,098 2,451 2,736 3,116 3,912 5,492 8,358 33,163 

2003 6,803 2,391 2,564 3,311 3,607 5,319 8,271 32,266 

2004 7,570 2,389 2,593 3,204 4,085 5,468 8,893 34,202 

2005 8,105 2,698 2,838 3,252 4,161 6,113 9,835 37,002 

2006 9,563 2,854 3,236 3,730 4,684 6,766 11,118 41,951 

2007 8,682 2,934 2,853 3,617 4,341 6,147 10,095 38,669 

2008 7,991 2,481 2,912 3,115 3,910 5,826 9,559 35,794 

2009 7,511 2,275 2,513 2,977 3,864 5,028 8,588 32,756 

2010 6,866 2,120 2,227 2,616 3,368 5,069 7,652 29,918 
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TABLE 1.05 

ALCOHOL CONCENTRATION TEST RESULTS ON DRIVERS 
WHO INCURRED IMPAIRED DRIVING INCIDENTS, 2001 - 2010 

Year .01 - 
-.04 

.05- 
-.07 

.08- 
-.09 

.10- 
-.14 

.15- 
-.19 

.20- 
-.24 

.25- 
-.29 

.30- 
-.34 

.35 + Average 
A.C. 

Total 
Tests 

Not 
Tested 

Total 
Inci- 
dents 

2001              

 First 1 14 48 8,070 6,377 2,068 464 93 16 .155 17,151 2,315 19,466 

 Repeat 0 4 37 3,747 4,162 2,043 646 152 36 .170 10,827 3,239 14,066 

All 1 18 85 11,817 10,539 4,111 1,110 245 52 .161 27,978 5,554 33,532 

2002              

 First 1 6 46 8,083 6,373 2,166 459 100 19 .155 17,253 2,321 19,574 

 Repeat 0 5 49 3,563 3,979 1,981 626 156 44 .170 10,403 3,186 13,589 

All 1 11 95 11,646 10,352 4,147 1,085 256 63 .161 27,656 5,507 33,163 

2003              

 First 6 3 35 7,830 6,317 2,165 438 83 29 .155 16,906 2,272 19,178 

 Repeat 3 5 30 3,366 3,948 1,968 552 144 38 .170 10,054 3,034 13,088 

All 9 8 65 11,196 10,265 4,133 990 227 67 .161 26,960 5,306 32,266 

2004              

 First 2 6 41 8,462 6,639 2,275 489 76 14 .155 18,004 2,395 20,399 

 Repeat 2 2 23 3,659 4,256 2,003 571 150 43 .169 10,709 3,094 13,803 

All 4 8 64 12,121 10,895 4,278 1,060 226 57 .160 28,713 5,489 34,202 

2005              

 First 0 13 1,080 9,118 6,857 2,219 457 82 21 .150 19,847 2,667 22,514 

 Repeat 1 5 429 3,839 4,066 2,061 632 155 35 .166 11,223 3,265 14,488 

All 1 18 1,509 12,957 10,923 4,280 1,089 237 56 .155 31,070 5,932 37,002 

2006              

 First 2 16 3,055 9,977 7,062 2,403 472 99 27 .144 23,113 2,877 25,990 

 Repeat 0 9 1,095 4,324 4,163 2,097 633 149 27 .160 12,497 3,464 15,961 

All 2 25 4,150 14,301 11,225 4,500 1,105 248 54 .149 35,610 6,341 41,951 

2007              

 First 2 8 2,525 9,008 6,455 2,215 433 82 8 .145 20,736 2,917 23,653 

 Repeat 0 4 978 4,006 3,924 2,060 601 160 28 .161 11,761 3,255 15,016 

All 2 12 3,503 13,014 10,379 4,275 1,034 242 36 .151 32,497 6,172 38,669 

2008              

 First 0 6 2,168 8,048 5,993 2,085 475 85 21 .146 18,881 2,508 21,389 

 Repeat 0 2 880 3,775 3,776 1,975 616 137 35 .162 11,196 3,209 14,405 

All 0 8 3,048 11,823 9,769 4,060 1,091 222 56 .152 30,007 5,717 35,794 

2009              

 First 1 4 2,045 7,130 5,310 1,920 425 95 18 .147 16,948 2,346 19,294 

 Repeat 0 1 825 3,458 3,488 1,889 591 157 41 .163 10,450 3,012 13,462 

All 1 5 2,870 10,588 8,798 3,809 1,016 252 59 .153 27,398 5,358 32,756 

2010              

 First 1 4 1,738 6,317 4,687 1,838 446 111 21 .148 15,163 2,319 17,482 

 Repeat 1 0 710 3,128 3,264 1,807 597 126 43 .165 9,676 2,760 12,436 

All 2 4 2,448 9,445 7,951 3,645 1,043 237 64 .155 24,839 5,079 29,918 

Notes: 

(1) The row heading ―First‖ designates alcohol test results on 

first-time violators; the heading ―Repeat‖ designates results on 

persons with one or more prior incidents on their record.  The 

column ―Not Tested‖ means no alcohol test result was 

reported; tests for specific controlled substances may have been 

reported but are not identified on computerized driver records. 

(2) The per se illegal AC was 0.10% (one-tenth of one percent, 

or one part per thousand, of a person‘s blood, when expressed 

as a BAC) from 1971 to July 31, 2005,and is 0.08% since 

August 1, 2005.  Among those arrested, concentrations below 

the per se level are rare, even though, due to human variation, a 

person may be quite impaired at lower levels.  An unintended 

consequence of adopting the per se law in 1971 was that the 

alcohol concentration, rather than actual impairment, became 

the standard for making an impaired driving arrest.  However, 

drivers may still be arrested and may still incur impaired 

driving violations while having lower alcohol concentrations.  

Also, drug-impaired driving often occurs together with alcohol- 

impaired driving.
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TABLE 1.06 

IMPAIRED DRIVING INCIDENTS BY 
GENDER OF VIOLATOR, 1991 – 2010 

Year Male Female Not Stated Total 

1991 25,837 5,429 1,164 32,430 

1992 24,787 5,580 474 30,841 

1993 24,166 5,465 457 30,088 

1994 23,221 5,303 1,224 29,748 

1995 23,373 5,451 1,578 30,402 

1996 23,933 5,451 1,539 30,923 

1997 24,068 5,814 1,498 31,380 

1998 24,588 6,130 1,704 32,422 

1999 26,065 6,518 1,992 34,575 

2000 26,017 6,822 2,196 35,034 

2001 24,757 6,560 2,214 33,532 

2002 24,186 6,623 2,354 33,163 

2003 23,313 6,585 2,367 32,266 

2004 24,431 7,236 2,535 34,202 

2005 26,153 8,096 2,752 37,002 

2006 29,121 9,402 3,429 41,951 

2007 26,643 8,896 3,129 38,669 

2008 24,383 8,511 2,900 35,794 

2009 22,181 7,943 2,632 32,756 

2010 19,982 7,410 2,526 29,918 

Note:  The table at left makes it appear that 

the number of violators for whom gender is 

not stated is increasing over time.  This is not 

so.  If a person arrested for DWI does not 

have a Minnesota driving record, one is 

created showing name and date of birth, but 

not gender.  As years pass, many of these 

persons subsequently obtain a Minnesota 

driver license, causing gender to be entered 

on record.  The table at left merely takes 

advantage of current information to 

categorize the gender of persons arrested in 

prior years. 
 

 TABLE 1.07 

IMPAIRED DRIVING INCIDENTS AMONG UNDER-21 DRIVERS, 
BY AGE, 1991 – 2010 

Year 0-14 15 16 17 18 19 20 Total Under 21 

1991 9 13 141 324 750 1,028 1,256 3,521 

1992 3 13 112 290 595 824 1,036 2,873 

1993 5 6 88 254 500 743 840 2,436 

1994 4 7 107 237 545 643 766 2,309 

1995 1 20 115 241 518 724 813 2,432 

1996 3 11 138 304 617 800 833 2,706 

1997 4 18 106 279 639 768 894 2,708 

1998 2 17 105 301 679 890 929 2,923 

1999 4 18 116 290 744 1,002 1,046 3,220 

2000 4 10 127 330 710 991 1,116 3,288 

2001 1 15 121 276 643 924 1,042 3,022 

2002 7 12 123 306 659 862 1,100 3,069 

2003 3 21 117 280 692 914 1,069 3,096 

2004 3 13 106 301 679 891 1,014 3,007 

2005 5 16 118 345 708 1,032 1,238 3,462 

2006 6 24 138 394 859 1,280 1,354 4,055 

2007 4 11 126 324 714 1,065 1,210 3,454 

2008 6 14 104 269 634 888 1,047 2,962 

2009 6 6 75 197 524 801 896 2,505 

2010 4 9 54 139 425 667 804 2,102 
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TABLE 1.08 

IMPAIRED DRIVING INCIDENTS BY AGE GROUP OF VIOLATOR, 1991 - 2010 

Year 0-14 15-19 20-24 25-29 30-34 35-39 40-44 45-49 50-54 55-59 60-64 65-69 70-74 75+ Unk Total 

1991 9 2,256 7,163 7,043 6,085 3,977 2,575 1,292 815 484 359 215 92 65 0 32,430 

1992 3 1,834 6,933 6,288 5,869 3,915 2,499 1,479 830 511 360 172 100 48 0 30,841 

1993 5 1,591 6,366 5,933 5,822 4,292 2,574 1,506 871 511 296 184 94 43 0 30,088 

1994 4 1,539 5,821 5,604 5,816 4,221 2,894 1,756 852 568 342 188 82 60 1 29,748 

1995 1 1,618 5,877 5,549 5,844 4,554 3,046 1,742 956 553 324 185 92 60 1 30,402 

1996 3 1,870 5,806 5,593 5,459 4,791 3,180 1,927 1,010 595 318 214 97 60 0 30,923 

1997 4 1,810 5,816 5,727 5,082 4,974 3,355 2,112 1,169 621 341 206 97 65 1 31,380 

1998 2 1,992 6,256 5,600 4,905 5,224 3,637 2,258 1,155 676 339 195 103 75 5 32,422 

1999 4 2,170 7,403 5,853 4,915 5,254 3,853 2,370 1,330 671 404 192 96 60 0 34,575 

2000 4 2,168 7,776 5,859 4,831 5,116 3,944 2,485 1,399 694 372 194 119 72 1 35,034 

2001 1 1,979 7,912 5,457 4,573 4,438 3,910 2,462 1,457 651 338 192 100 61 1 33,532 

2002 7 1,962 8,148 5,287 4,374 4,054 3,880 2,502 1,454 752 358 197 105 83 0 33,163 

2003 3 2,024 8,209 5,411 4,004 3,632 3,650 2,465 1,378 754 381 188 97 67 3 32,266 

2004 3 1,990 8,699 5,892 4,253 3,654 3,825 2,709 1,637 789 425 166 93 67 0 34,202 

2005 5 2,219 9,615 6,829 4,386 3,790 3,855 2,934 1,669 922 409 213 92 62 2 37,002 

2006 6 2,695 11,056 8,067 4,767 4,138 4,026 3,338 1,986 1,029 448 225 108 61 1 41,951 

2007 4 2,240 9,874 7,398 4,482 3,946 3,627 3,171 1,912 1,101 492 262 93 66 1 38,669 

2008 6 1,909 8,623 6,880 4,508 3,587 3,280 2,998 1,945 1,110 553 229 101 65 0 35,794 

2009 6 1,603 7,570 6,394 4,097 3,386 2,937 2,873 1,893 1,055 541 225 119 56 1 32,756 

2010 4 1,294 6,821 5,776 3,934 2,918 2,671 2,565 1,914 1,086 543 234 98 60 0 29,918 

TABLE 1.09 

IMPAIRED DRIVNG INCIDENTS IN TWIN CITIES METRO AND NON-METRO 
AREAS, 1991 - 2010 

 
 

Twin Cities 
Metro Area 

Non-Metro Area Total 

Year number percent number percent number percent 

1991 17,570 54.2 14,860 45.8 32,430 100.0 

1992 16,311 52.9 14,530 47.1 30,841 100.0 

1993 15,587 51.8 14,501 48.2 30,088 100.0 

1994 15,471 52.0 14,277 48.0 29,748 100.0 

1995 15,716 51.7 14,686 48.3 30,402 100.0 

1996 15,952 51.6 14,971 48.4 30,923 100.0 

1997 16,153 51.5 15,227 48.5 31,380 100.0 

1998 16,722 51.6 15,700 48.4 32,422 100.0 

1999 17,144 49.5 17,431 50.4 34,575 100.0 

2000 16,821 48.0 18,213 52.0 35,034 100.0 

2001 16,347 48.8 17,185 51.2 33,532 100.0 

2002 16,208 48.9 16,955 51.1 33,163 100.0 

2003 16,000 49.6 16,266 50.4 32,266 100.0 

2004 16,734 48.9 17,468 51.1 34,202 100.0 

2005 17,867 48.3 19,135 51.7 37,002 100.0 

2006 20,532 48.9 21,419 51.1 41,951 100.0 

2007 18,764 48.5 19,905 51.5 38,669 100.0 

2008 17,787 49.7 18,007 50.3 35,794 100.0 

2009 16,253 49.6 16,503 50.4 32,756 100.0 

2010 15,146 50.6 14,772 49.4 29,918 100.0 
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TABLE 1.10 

IMPAIRED DRIVING INCIDENTS BY COUNTY OF ARREST, 1999 - 2010 

County 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 

Aitkin 205 222 233 245 199 159 215 208 248 159 134 104 

Anoka 2,080 2,172 1,867 1,711 1,708 1,942 2,055 2,159 2,338 2,132 1,912 1,678 

Becker 412 541 418 465 334 342 438 521 383 325 271 275 

Beltrami 337 383 403 447 432 434 354 446 509 536 419 375 

Benton 249 259 242 266 273 255 265 344 359 293 246 196 

Big Stone 19 15 31 40 40 33 24 47 35 27 20 24 

Blue Earth 464 552 592 596 595 544 644 679 614 598 643 468 

Brown 151 168 139 151 192 219 149 176 162 149 141 126 

Carlton 237 271 301 307 312 344 401 411 252 230 241 258 

Carver 289 255 308 337 341 409 415 432 395 375 283 284 

Cass 266 250 235 245 193 256 289 398 367 271 245 228 

Chippewa 70 68 80 97 107 102 114 145 97 97 49 76 

Chisago 353 312 367 301 321 391 374 374 370 317 310 236 

Clay 528 608 534 564 615 785 803 743 682 545 576 567 

Clearwater 145 101 85 72 66 67 68 57 57 75 81 91 

Cook 72 74 72 64 62 44 75 101 61 42 47 38 

Cottonwood 56 53 41 61 57 74 55 55 72 75 55 57 

Crow Wing 466 519 468 414 431 529 659 716 648 586 509 421 

Dakota 2,543 2,635 2,756 2,775 2,522 2,415 2,652 3,007 2,906 2,520 2,337 2,057 

Dodge 88 120 168 149 98 103 148 153 163 127 100 83 

Douglas 219 254 254 231 213 222 245 258 265 300 266 227 

Faribault 107 109 100 106 67 59 69 91 101 79 57 59 

Fillmore 127 141 142 145 103 121 111 142 116 102 90 92 

Freeborn 300 285 303 279 224 223 243 203 184 168 190 204 

Goodhue 314 350 344 298 298 285 387 528 402 444 384 335 

Grant 28 27 22 32 46 27 42 53 37 40 40 28 

Hennepin 7,332 6,857 6,439 6,669 7,086 7,355 7,541 8,602 7,790 7,498 6,783 6,307 

Houston 174 181 208 162 136 134 143 154 170 155 121 108 

Hubbard 158 154 121 142 139 108 154 183 165 117 137 111 

Isanti 276 194 172 162 158 237 250 363 256 187 161 138 

Itasca 359 366 293 272 236 314 497 585 459 342 386 280 

Jackson 64 69 63 47 43 46 51 82 97 68 59 65 

Kanabec 108 170 112 103 101 103 96 104 150 124 81 104 

Kandiyohi 264 274 275 286 245 290 288 321 269 296 279 215 

Kittson 34 21 11 11 21 23 24 23 20 24 18 15 

Koochiching 127 106 87 124 96 81 64 97 109 97 89 92 

Lac Qui Parle 25 33 18 32 27 18 36 45 47 35 38 39 

Lake 55 66 40 49 43 63 59 66 71 53 62 72 

Lake of the Woods 52 30 32 26 75 64 78 66 39 47 50 38 

Le Sueur 141 176 141 156 133 168 151 181 181 151 155 107 

Lincoln 23 11 10 13 8 15 29 31 38 25 23 26 

Lyon  217 186 233 174 182 159 215 201 166 193 177 173 

McLeod 286 265 276 256 268 233 266 366 290 281 222 173 

Mahnomen 150 122 121 129 108 118 130 98 113 114 104 96 

Marshall 29 33 34 36 38 41 57 50 58 61 35 37 

Martin 130 150 135 150 142 135 134 120 181 152 118 126 

Meeker 172 131 91 115 86 110 118 147 145 123 95 94 

Mille Lacs 320 411 354 302 251 285 301 348 288 236 233 221 

Morrison 204 249 219 195 182 165 195 207 211 199 171 186 
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TABLE 1.10 (Continued) 

IMPAIRED DRIVING INCIDENTS BY COUNTY OF ARREST, 1999 - 2010 

County 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 
Mower 384 376 352 344 345 294 321 306 343 414 303 262 

Murray 43 29 35 41 39 25 31 35 37 37 25 19 

Nicollet 206 263 307 351 287 281 320 362 255 239 188 176 

Nobles 153 186 150 182 183 162 190 185 186 175 166 149 

Norman 47 26 27 49 23 20 55 55 43 28 37 22 

Olmsted 831 855 828 802 695 772 878 832 1,015 998 973 865 

Otter Tail 349 321 343 322 342 404 414 428 435 346 299 335 

Pennington 103 118 116 117 89 120 125 119 107 96 63 74 

Pine 207 253 283 234 250 324 335 349 275 261 200 198 

Pipestone 59 74 71 46 42 50 69 60 74 61 45 45 

Polk 330 316 310 298 309 324 272 302 282 265 271 254 

Pope 83 79 95 79 67 65 84 73 62 56 49 50 

Ramsey 2,656 2,867 2,856 2,659 2,330 2,394 2,634 3,234 2,912 2,995 2,862 2,946 

Red Lake 34 36 46 43 41 34 47 79 71 53 43 36 

Redwood 85 79 72 83 79 110 127 148 152 117 139 95 

Renville 114 87 83 101 108 127 133 159 111 101 103 136 

Rice 460 532 451 415 418 405 338 348 433 408 363 327 

Rock 39 45 27 42 59 46 53 63 54 38 29 36 

Roseau 88 129 111 128 115 158 159 141 127 145 147 91 

St. Louis 1,659 1,661 1,465 1,447 1,330 1,488 1,601 1,724 1,561 1,590 1,657 1,313 

Scott 776 698 745 664 683 903 1,119 1,253 1,068 955 816 760 

Sherburne 448 471 372 396 386 466 577 801 689 584 534 469 

Sibley 123 107 136 121 100 133 112 123 129 84 65 53 

Stearns 802 1,033 893 773 937 986 1,145 1,335 1,300 1,067 1,021 968 

Steele 282 251 220 175 191 224 254 290 244 210 227 217 

Stevens 30 40 31 37 52 50 46 40 44 43 42 27 

Swift 61 48 53 44 59 42 42 64 51 57 41 37 

Todd 149 158 144 153 112 134 165 241 206 141 147 107 

Traverse 20 24 35 33 19 24 21 22 16 15 6 15 

Wabasha 207 216 151 163 186 137 152 199 172 178 184 132 

Wadena 88 81 90 71 105 81 92 127 112 99 89 70 

Waseca 148 116 129 123 143 110 117 151 149 124 88 77 

Washington 1,468 1,337 1,376 1,393 1,330 1,316 1,451 1,845 1,355 1,312 1,260 1,114 

Watonwan 70 52 98 87 76 75 97 103 84 63 60 36 

Wilkin 68 66 80 71 71 61 50 72 78 58 42 52 

Winona 409 385 329 406 360 492 420 380 359 396 339 350 

Wright 563 525 545 580 570 643 695 881 839 675 512 476 

Totals: 34,575 35,034 33,532 33,163 32,266 34,202 37,002 41,951 38,669 35,794 32,756 29,918 
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TABLE 1.11 

IMPAIRED DRIVING INCIDENTS, BY TOTAL NUMBER ON VIOLATOR‟S RECORD 
Part I:  1995 – 2002 

Total 
Number 

1995 
Num-

ber 

1995 
Per-
cent 

1996 
Num-

ber 

1996 
Per-
cent 

1997 
Num-
ber 

1997 
Per-
cent 

1998 
Num-

ber 

1998 
Per-
cent 

1999 
Num-
ber 

1999 
Per-
cent 

2000 
Num-
ber 

2000 
Per-
cent 

2001 
Num-
ber 

2001 
Per-
cent 

2002 
Num-
ber 

2002 
Per-
cent 

1 16,512 54.3 16,858 54.5 17,258 55.0 18,232 56.2 19,684 56.9 20,304 58.0 19,473 58.1 19,580 59.0 

2 6,598 21.7 6,550 21.8 6,713 21.4 6,764 20.9 7,455 21.6 7,445 21.3 7,117 21.2 7,035 21.2 

3 3,529 11.6 3,657 11.8 3,554 11.3 3,505 10.8 3,668 10.6 3,566 10.2 3,438 10.3 3,249 9.8 

4 1,763 5.8 1,750 5.7 1,799 5.7 1,861 5.7 1,782 5.2 1,727 4.9 1,670 5.0 1,574 4.7 

5 867 2.9 916 3.0 885 2.8 891 2.7 848 2.5 870 2.5 789 2.4 733 2.2 

6 474 1.6 498 0.8 470 1.5 474 1.5 444 1.3 449 1.3 422 1.3 393 1.2 

7 257 0.8 259 0.6 267 0.9 274 0.8 252 0.7 241 0.7 246 0.7 235 0.7 

8 162 0.5 176 0.3 153 0.5 177 0.5 171 0.5 158 0.5 119 0.4 111 0.3 

9 85 0.3 93 0.2 108 0.3 89 0.3 101 0.3 95 0.3 81 0.2 89 0.3 

10 58 0.2 51 0.1 63 0.2 57 0.2 57 0.2 60 0.2 70 0.2 46 0.1 

11 31 0.1 47 * 43 0.1 31 0.1 42 0.1 39 0.1 38 0.1 34 0.1 

12 17 0.1 29 * 18 0.1 22 0.1 27 0.1 31 0.1 18 0.1 25 0.1 

13 12 * 14 * 22 0.1 5 * 13 * 15 * 19 0.1 23 0.1 

14 10 * 7 * 8 * 19 0.1 10 * 6 * 12 * 12 * 

15 6 * 5 * 6 * 6 * 11 * 7 * 6 * 11 * 

16 11 * 2 * 4 * 6 * 4 * 8 * 5 * 3 * 

17 5 * 5 * 2 * 3 * 4 * 3 * 3 * 6 * 

18 2 * 4 * 3 * 2 * 1 * 3 * 2 * 1 * 

19 1 * 2 * 1 * 1 * 1 * 4 * 0 0 0 0 

20 1 * 0 0 2 * 1 * 0 0 1 * 3 * 0 0 

21 1 * 0 0 1 * 1 * 0 0 2 * 0 0 1 * 

22 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 * 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 * 

23 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 * 0 0 

24 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 * 0 0 

25 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 

Totals: 30,402 100 30,923 100 31,380 100 32,422 100 34,575 100 35,034 100 33,532 100 33,163 100 

Continued on next page 
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TABLE 1.11 

IMPAIRED DRIVING INCIDENTS, BY TOTAL NUMBER ON VIOLATOR‟S RECORD 
Part II:  2003 – 2010 

Total 
Number 

2003 
Num-

ber 

2003 
Per-
cent 

2004 
Num-

ber 

2004 
Per-
cent 

2005 
Num-

ber 

2005 
Per-
cent 

2006 
Num-

ber 

2006 
Per-
cent 

2007 
Num-

ber 

2007 
Per-
cent 

2008 
Num-

ber 

2008
Per-
cent 

2009 
Num-

ber 

2009 
Per-
cent 

2010 
Num-

ber 

2010 
Per-
cent 

1 19,189 59.5 20,399 59.6 22,514 60.9 25,990 62.0 23,653 61.2 21,389 59.8 19,294 58.9 17,482 58.4 

2 6,886 21.3 7,430 21.7 7,965 21.5 8,974 21.4 8,489 22.0 8,066 22.5 7,462 22.8 6,818 22.8 

3 3,134 9.7 3,313 9.7 3,462 9.4 3,865 9.2 3,570 9.2 3,503 9.8 3,373 10.3 3,155 10.6 

4 1,494 4.6 1,495 4.4 1,526 4.1 1,620 3.9 1,558 4.0 1,510 4.2 1,420 4.3 1,366 4.6 

5 630 2.0 673 2.0 690 1.9 711 1.7 651 1.7 625 1.8 557 1.7 549 1.8 

6 395 1.2 353 1.0 353 1.0 344 0.8 329 0.8 293 0.8 264 0.8 224 0.8 

7 218 0.7 213 0.6 201 0.5 185 0.4 159 0.4 146 0.4 146 0.4 131 0.4 

8 127 0.4 123 0.4 117 0.3 98 0.2 113 0.3 93 0.3 97 0.3 71 0.2 

9 68 0.2 77 0.2 72 0.2 65 0.2 58 0.2 66 0.2 47 0.1 46 0.2 

10 33 0.1 54 0.2 37 0.1 38 0.1 34 0.1 41 0.1 35 0.1 28 0.1 

11 30 0.1 20 0.1 22 0.6 22 * 18 * 25 0.1 24 0.1 16 0.1 

12 26 0.1 19 0.1 11 * 12 * 14 * 11 * 18 0.1 16 0.1 

13 9 * 10 * 15 * 9 * 7 * 12 * 4 * 7 * 

14 9 * 7 * 6 * 8 * 6 * 5 * 5 * 3 * 

15 8 * 2 * 5 * 1 * 1 * 3 * 3 * 3 * 

16 3 * 4 * 2 * 2 * 3 * 2 * 2 * 1 * 

17 3 * 3 * 0 0 4 * 2 * 1 * 1 * 0 0 

18 1 * 1 * 1 * 2 * 1 * 1 * 2 * 1 * 

19 0 0 2 * 1 * 1 * 1 * 2 * 0 0 0 0 

20 1 * 1 * 1 * 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 * 1 * 

21 1 * 2 * 0 0 0 0 1 * 0 0 0 0 0 0 

22 0 0 0 0 1 * 0 0 1 * 0 0 0 0 0 0 

23 0 * 1 * 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 

24 1 * 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 

25 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 * 0 0 

Totals: 32,266 100 34,202 100 37,002 100 41,951 100 38,669 100 35,794 100 32,756 100 29,918 100 

 

Table 1.11 counts incidents that occurred in Minnesota, 

based on the total number of incidents the person has on 

his or her driving record.  That is, incidents counted in 

row 1 were incurred by first-time violators who had zero 

prior impaired driving incidents on their driving record.  

For example, Mr. Smith incurs his first-ever incident 

anywhere, and that incident occurs in Minneapolis in 

January, 2001.  Mr. Smith incurs a second incident in 

Iowa in July, 2002, and a  

third incident, again in Minneapolis, in August, 2004.  

In this case, Mr. Smith‘s first incident contributes a 

count of one to row 1 of the 2001 column.  The second 

incident is not counted in the above table because it did 

not occur in Minnesota.  The third incident contributes 

a count of one to the third row of the 2004 column 

because it did occur in Minnesota and because it is the 

third on Mr. Smith‘s driving record. 
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II. IMPAIRED DRIVING CRIMINAL CONVICTION RATES 
 
This section provides statistics on the number of 

impaired driving incidents by county and judicial 

district, and the number and percentage of that total 

for which there is a criminal conviction on some type 

of impaired driving charge.  On an infrequent basis, 

however, an offense will lead to an impaired driving 

conviction, but not be counted as such.  This could be 

due either: 

 (1) To the circumstance that the conviction 

occurred after the date on which the data used to 

compile these statistics were extracted from the state 

driver license files, or  

 (2) To reporting errors. 

Timing of conviction 
Conviction rates for 2010 were calculated using data 

available on June 01, 2011 – five full months after 

the end of the 2010 calendar year.  However, the 

criminal charge sometimes takes longer than that to 

resolve.  This is especially true for more serious 

charges, such as the higher-level impaired driving 

offenses.  A driver is more likely to challenge such 

charges in the courts. 

Reporting errors 
The second reason a conviction might not be counted 

is that errors occur.  A court clerk may fail to 

accurately record a plea, or a verdict, or a judge‘s 

sentence.  The Court Administrator‘s office may not 

accurately transmit notice of the conviction to the 

Department of Public Safety.  The Department of 

Public Safety may not accurately record the 

conviction on the person‘s driving record.  The 

procedures that underlie the charging, prosecuting, 

adjudicating, and recording of impaired driving 

offenses are complex enough that there are 

opportunities for mistakes.  The objective in 

reporting the statistics here is to assist in identifying 

possible failures so they can be corrected.   

Examples of why a conviction may not be counted  
Hypothetically, if a county had 100 impaired driving 

incidents committed by first-time violators in 2010 

and driver license records show that only 85 resulted 

in an impaired driving conviction, then the conviction 

rate is 85 out of 100, or 85.0%.  There was no 

impaired driving conviction posted on the driver‘s 

record for 15 of the incidents.  Suppose that John 

Smith committed one of those 15 incidents.  This 

means that Smith was stopped; he took and failed, or 

refused to take, tests for alcohol or controlled 

substances, thus incurring an implied consent 

violation and triggering the impaired driving incident 

to be posted on his record.  Here are some reasons 

why a criminal conviction might not be reported for 

Mr. Smith: 

 (1) There was a plea bargain:  The prosecutor 

agreed to allow Smith to plead guilty to careless 

driving. 

 (2) Smith was convicted on some type of impaired 

driving charge, but not until after the June 01, 2011 

date on which the statistics compiled here are based. 

 (3) Smith was convicted, but the judge stayed 

adjudication of the conviction on condition that 

Smith conforms to various requirements.  Since 

adjudication was stayed, the conviction is held in 

abeyance and not transmitted to the Department of 

Public Safety. 

 (4) In addition to impaired driving, Smith had a 

felony charge for transporting methamphetamines.  

He pled guilty to the felony offense and was 

sentenced to five years in prison and a fine of $5,000.  

The county attorney waived the charge on the 

impaired driving offense. 

 (5)  The judge stayed imposition of the sentence 

on condition that Smith conforms to various 

requirements.  The court clerk accidentally recorded 

the stay of imposition as a stay of adjudication, 

causing the Court Administrator‘s office to not 

forward the conviction notice to the Department of 

Public Safety. 

 (6)  Smith was convicted of some impaired 

driving offense, but the Court Administrator‘s office 

did not report the conviction to the Department of 

Public Safety, or reported it in an incorrect manner 

that caused the report to be rejected.
‡
 

 (7) Smith was convicted and the Department of 

Public Safety was properly notified of the conviction 

but mistakenly entered the impaired driving 

conviction as a conviction for some other type of 

violation (e.g., speeding). 

                                                           
‡
 The Department of Public Safety returns incomplete 

reports to the Court Administrator‘s Office with a 

request for a corrected report. 
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How the Conviction Rate is Calculated 
The conviction rate is expressed merely as a percent:  

out of 100 incidents, what number resulted in a 

conviction for some type of impaired driving offense.  

Two issues require comment:  (1) how prior 

violations are counted, and (2) the circumstance that 

the conviction rate is not a measure of how much 

plea-bargaining or sentence bargaining may be 

occurring. 

1.  Counting prior violations 
Table 2.01 has separate columns for first- through 

fourth-or-subsequent-time violators.  The violators 

who committed the incidents were put into these 

categories based on a lifetime look back period,
§
 not a 

ten-year look back period.  The current statute MS 

169A defines impaired driving offense levels in terms 

of certain aggravating factors.  Prior incidents in the 

last ten years are one type of aggravating factor.
**

  

(Each prior incident augments the count of 

aggravating factors by one.)  If a ten-year look back 

period had been used, there would have been slightly 

more incidents counted into the ―first-time violators‖ 

column and slightly fewer counted into the second- 

through fourth-or-subsequent-time columns. 

                                                           

2.  Not measuring plea bargaining 
People are concerned with how much plea-bargaining 

takes place in impaired driving cases.  The conviction 

rates are not good measures of plea-bargaining, 

however.  Bargaining take two forms.  Plea 

bargaining occurs when a prosecutor initially charges  

for one offense (e.g., first-degree impaired driving) 

and then accepts a plea of guilty to a lesser offense 

(e.g., second-, third-, or fourth-degree impaired 

driving, or reckless driving, or speeding, etc.).  

Second, there is sentence bargaining:  The prosecutor 

agrees to accept a sentence less than the maximum 

for the offense on which the violator is convicted.  

For example, Smith pleads guilty to gross 

misdemeanor impaired driving but gets a 

misdemeanor impaired driving sentence. 

Judicial Districts in Minnesota 

§
 The term ―lifetime‖ look back period may be 

misleading.  Currently, an impaired driving incident 

remains on the driver license forever, and there has 

always been a rule (for several decades, at any rate) 

that a second impaired driving incident causes all 

incidents to be kept on record forever.  However, at 

different points in the past, there were different rules 

followed—that a single incident not followed by a 

second was eligible to be purged from the driver 

record after seven, or ten, or fifteen, years had 

passed.  However, purging of incidents from records 

was not performed systematically; so even when 

those rules were in effect, eligibility to be purged did 

not mean that an incident was purged.  For practical 

purposes, as an example, if a person is now in their 

forties and had a single impaired driving incident 

when they were in their teens or twenties, then that 

incident may or may not have been purged from their 

driving record. 
**

 The other two aggravating factors are (1) presence 

of children in the vehicle, and (2) having an alcohol 

concentration of .20 or higher. 
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The conviction rates reported here do not measure the 

extent of plea-bargaining or sentence bargaining.  

They only quantify, for all the incidents that 

occurred, the percentage that resulted in some kind of 

impaired driving conviction.  It cannot be known, 

from the driver license data, (1) if the conviction was 

for a lesser offense than the one initially charged, or 

(2) what the sentence was. 

Conviction rates vary by County and District 
The state is divided into ten judicial districts.  

Ramsey County is District 2, and Hennepin County is 

District 4.  The other eight districts encompass from 

four to 17 counties that are geographically close 

together.  Conviction rates usually vary less by 

district than by county.  Across districts in 2010, the 

range of conviction rates was from 63.8% (District 2: 

Ramsey County) to 83.8% (for District 8, comprised 

of 13 counties in West Central Minnesota).  

Big Stone County in West Central Minnesota got 

convictions on all 24 of their DWI incidents.  Some 

counties had conviction rates at 90% or higher: Lac 

Qui Parle, Swift, Sibley, Pope, and Hubbard. 

 Several counties had conviction rates that 

were lower than 70%: Murray, Ramsey, Dakota, 

Pine, Washington, Hennepin, Grant, Lake of the 

Woods, Nicollet, Waseca, Mille Lacs, and Anoka.  

Isanti County had the lowest conviction rate: 61.6%. 

 Out of 29,918 impaired driving incidents in 

2010, the overall conviction rate for Minnesota was 

74.0%.  As mentioned previously, the conviction rate 

for each year will increase to approximately 85%.  

Another reason for the delay in judicial outcomes is 

likely because of current litigation.  Defendants 

arrested for impaired driving have brought suit 

regarding the computer source code which measures 

alcohol content via breath tests.  As many as 4,000 

outcomes from 2009 and onward may be pending. 
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TABLE 2.01 

CRIMINAL CONVICTION RATE FOR INCIDENTS THAT OCCURRED IN YEAR 
2010 BY JUDICIAL DISTRICT, COUNTY, AND OFFENSE LEVEL 

 ALL 
VIOLATORS 

1ST-TIME 
VIOLATORS 

2ND-TIME 
VIOLATORS 

3RD-TIME 
VIOLATORS 

4TH+ TIME 
VIOLATORS 

District 
and County 

All 
Inci- 
Dents 

N 

Con- 
vic- 

tions 
N 

Con- 
vict. 
Rate 

% 

All 
Inci- 
Dents 

N 

Con- 
vic- 

tions 
N 

Con- 
vict. 
Rate 

% 

All 
Inci- 
Dents 

N 

Con- 
vic- 
tions 

N 

Con- 
vict. 
Rate 

% 

All 
Inci- 
dents 

N 

Con
- 

vic- 
tions 

N 

Con- 
vict. 
Rate 

% 

All 
Inci- 
dents 

N 

Con- 
vic- 
tions 

N 

Con- 
vict. 
Rate 

% 

Judicial Dist 1 
CARVER 284 248 87.3 163 140 85.9 62 57 91.9 28 27 96.4 31 24 77.4 

DAKOTA 2,057 1,335 64.9 1,212 757 62.5 499 335 67.1 218 153 70.2 128 90 70.3 

GOODHUE 335 268 80.0 188 148 78.7 73 57 78.1 41 35 85.4 33 28 84.8 

LE SUEUR 107 87 81.3 57 46 80.7 25 23 92.0 13 9 69.2 12 9 75.0 

MCLEOD 173 139 80.3 98 80 81.6 31 24 77.4 24 19 79.2 20 16 80.0 

SCOTT 760 634 83.4 439 350 79.7 174 154 88.5 87 78 89.7 60 52 86.7 

SIBLEY 53 49 92.5 25 22 88.0 18 17 94.4 7 7 100.0 3 3 100.0 

 SUBTOTAL: 3,769 2,760 73.2 2,182 1,543 70.7 882 667 75.6 418 328 78.5 287 222 77.4 

Judicial Dist 2 
RAMSEY 2,946 1,881 63.8 1,827 1,108 60.6 651 430 66.1 266 195 73.3 202 148 73.3 

Judicial Dist 3 
DODGE 83 70 84.3 43 35 81.4 18 16 88.9 6 5 83.3 16 14 87.5 

FILLMORE 92 80 87.0 59 50 84.7 16 15 93.8 7 5 71.4 10 10 100.0 

FREEBORN 204 172 84.3 130 112 86.2 36 29 80.6 16 13 81.3 22 18 81.8 

HOUSTON 108 91 84.3 76 63 82.9 15 13 86.7 8 7 87.5  9  8 88.9 

MOWER 262 206 78.6 166 124 74.7 52 44 84.6 26 22 84.6 18 16 88.9 

OLMSTED 865 729 84.3 501 443 88.4 217 176 81.1 92 71 77.2 55 39 70.9 

RICE 327 247 75.5 189 144 76.2 77 58 75.3 33 24 72.7 28 21 75.0 

STEELE 217 154 71.0 116 83 71.6 50 34 68.0 23 16 69.6 28 21 75.0 

WABASHA 132 113 85.6 75 64 85.3 29 25 86.2 15 13 86.7 13 11 84.6 

WASECA 77 53 68.8 36 28 77.8 16 12 75.0 20 11 55.0 5 2 40.0 

WINONA 350 272 77.7 219 173 79.0 73 52 71.2 37 31 83.8 21 16 76.2 

 SUBTOTAL: 2,717 2,187 80.5 1,610 1,319 81.9 599 474 79.1 283 218 77.0 225 176 78.2 

Judicial Dist 4 
HENNEPIN 6,307 4,279 67.8 3,862 2,490 64.5 1,427 1,057 74.1 640 458 71.6 378 274 72.5 

Judicial Dist 5 
BLUE EARTH 468 392 83.8 286 241 84.3 113 97 85.8 47 35 74.5 22 19 86.4 

BROWN 126 103 81.7 75 62 82.7 30 25 83.3 14 11 78.6 7 5 71.4 

COTTONWOOD 57 43 75.4 31 25 80.6 15 10 66.7 6 4 66.7 5 4 80.0 

FARIBAULT 59 45 76.3 31 23 74.2 11 8 72.7 9 7 77.8 8 7 87.5 

JACKSON 65 47 72.3 44 29 65.9 11 9 81.8 5 5 100.0 5 4 80.0 

LINCOLN 26 21 80.8 12 9 75.0 8 8 100.0 2 1 50.0 4 3 75.0 

LYON 173 151 87.3 93 84 90.3 46 39 84.8 19 18 94.7 15 10 66.7 

MARTIN 126 113 89.7 75 67 89.3 27 24 88.9 16 14 87.5 8 8 100.0 

MURRAY 19 12 63.2 9 4 44.4 2 1 50.0 5 4 80.0 3 3 100.0 

NICOLLET 176 121 68.8 102 67 65.7 46 33 71.7 14 10 71.4 14 11 78.6 

NOBLES 149 107 71.8 104 72 69.2 25 19 76.0 8 4 50.0 12 12 100.0 

PIPESTONE 45 37 82.2 28 24 85.7 14 10 71.4 0 0   3 3 100.0 

REDWOOD 95 82 86.3 45 38 84.4 23 20 87.0 11 10 90.9 16 14 87.5 

ROCK 36 27 75.0 19 14 73.7 10 7 70.0 3 3 100.0 4 3 75.0 

WATONWAN 36 31 86.1 20 17 85.0 9 8 88.9 4 3 75.0 3 3 100.0 

 SUBTOTAL: 1,656 1,332 80.4 974 776 79.7 390 318  81.5 163 129 79.1 129 109  84.5 
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TABLE 2.01 (Continued) 

CRIMINAL CONVICTION RATE FOR INCIDENTS THAT OCCURRED IN YEAR 
2010 BY JUDICIAL DISTRICT, COUNTY, AND OFFENSE LEVEL 

 ALL 
VIOLATORS 

1ST-TIME 
VIOLATORS 

2ND-TIME 
VIOLATORS 

3RD-TIME 
VIOLATORS 

4TH+ TIME 
VIOLATORS 

District 
and County 

All 
Inci- 
dents 

N 

Con- 
vic- 

tions 
N 

Con- 
vict. 
Rate 

% 

All 
Inci- 
dents 

N 

Con- 
vic- 

tions 
N 

Con- 
vict. 
Rate 

% 

All 
Inci- 
dents 

N 

Con- 
vic- 

tions 
N 

Con- 
vict. 
Rate 

% 

All 
Inci- 
dents 

N 

Con- 
vic- 

tions 
N 

Con- 
vict. 
Rate 

% 

All 
Inci- 
dents 

N 

Con- 
vic- 

tions 
N 

Con- 
vict. 
Rate 

% 

Judicial Dist 6 
CARLTON 258 222 86.0 138 122 88.4 50 44 88.0 37 29 78.4 33 27 81.8 

COOK 38 29 76.3 24 16 66.7 8 7 87.5 3 3 100.0 3 3 100.0 

LAKE 72 56 77.8 46 37 80.4 12 7 58.3 7 6 85.7 7 6 85.7 

ST. LOUIS 1,313 1,037 79.0 751 582 77.5 310 253 81.6 131 111 84.7 121 91 75.2 

 SUBTOTAL: 1,681 1,344 80.0 959 757 78.9 380 311 81.8 178 149 83.7 164 127 77.4 

Judicial Dist 7 
BECKER 275 234 85.1 143 127 88.8 58  46 79.3 31 28 90.3 43 33 76.7 

BENTON 196 163 83.2 104  85 81.7 42  33 78.6 27 24 88.9 23 21 91.3 

CLAY 567 500 88.2 381 339 89.0  106  90 84.9 45 38 84.4 35 33 94.3 

DOUGLAS 227 172 75.8 124 102 82.3 56  43 76.8 21 12 57.1 26 15 57.7 

MILLE LACS 221 154 69.7 102  82 80.4 53  37 69.8 30 18 60.0 36 17 47.2 

MORRISON 186 144 77.4  84  69 82.1 54  42 77.8 27 19 70.4 21 14 66.7 

OTTER TAIL 335 299 89.3 192 171 89.1 76  68 89.5 38 32 84.2 29 28 96.6 

STEARNS 968 749 77.4 575 459 79.8  222 170 76.6 96 72 75.0 75 48 64.0 

TODD 107  89 83.2  63  57 90.5 24  18 75.0  9  7 77.8 11  7 63.6 

WADENA  70  60 85.7  40  37 92.5 12 8 66.7  8  7 87.5 10  8 80.0 

 SUBTOTAL: 3,152 2,564 81.3 1,808 1,528 84.5 703 555 78.9 332 257 77.4 309 224 72.5 

Judicial Dist 8 
BIG STONE  24  24 100.0 15  15 100.0 6  6 100.0 2  2 100.0  1 1 100.0 

CHIPPEWA  76  63 82.9 38  32  84.2  22 19  86.4  10  8  80.0  6 4  66.7 

GRANT  28  19 67.9 8   6  75.0  10  5  50.0 6  4  66.7  4 4 100.0 

KANDIYOHI 215 181 84.2  133 115  86.5  45 37  82.2  24 19  79.2 13  10  76.9 

LAC QUI  

PARLE 

 39  38 97.4 19  18  94.7  10 10 100.0 3  3 100.0  7 7 100.0 

MEEKER  94  80 85.1 57  47  82.5  19 16  84.2 6  6 100.0 12  11  91.7 

POPE  50  46 92.0 28  24  85.7  13 13 100.0 5  5 100.0  4 4 100.0 

RENVILLE 136  98 72.1 81  57  70.4  30 22  73.3  18 13  72.2  7 6  85.7 

STEVENS  27  23 85.2 18  16  88.9 5  5 100.0 1  1 100.0  3 1  33.3 

SWIFT  37  35 94.6 20  18  90.0 8  8 100.0 4  4 100.0  5 5 100.0 

TRAVERSE  15  11 73.3 11 8  72.7 2  1  50.0 2  2 100.0  0 0 * 

WILKIN  52  44 84.6 36  32  88.9 9  6  66.7 4  3  75.0  3 3 100.0 

YELLOW MED 119 102 85.7 65  56  86.2  20 16  80.0  22 21  95.5 12 9  75.0 

 SUBTOTAL: 912 764 83.8 529 444 83.9 199 164  82.4 107 91 85.0 77 65 84.4 
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TABLE 2.01 (Continued) 

CRIMINAL CONVICTION RATE FOR INCIDENTS THAT OCCURRED IN YEAR 
2010 BY JUDICIAL DISTRICT, COUNTY, AND OFFENSE LEVEL 

 ALL 
VIOLATORS 

1ST-TIME 
VIOLATORS 

2ND-TIME 
VIOLATORS 

3RD-TIME 
VIOLATORS 

4TH+ TIME 
VIOLATORS 

District 
and County 

All 
Inci- 
dents 

N 

Con- 
vic- 
tions 

N 

Con- 
vict. 
Rate 

% 

All 
Inci- 
dents 

N 

Con- 
vic- 
tions 

N 

Con- 
vict. 
Rate 

% 

All 
Inci- 
dents 

N 

Con- 
vic- 
tions 

N 

Con- 
vict. 
Rate 

% 

All 
Inci- 
dents 

N 

Con- 
vic- 
tions 

N 

Con- 
vict. 
Rate 

% 

All 
Inci- 
dents 

N 

Con- 
vic- 
tions 

N 

Con- 
vict. 
Rate 

% 

Judicial Dist 9 
AITKIN 104  88 84.6  50  43 86.0 27 23  85.2 12 10  83.3 15 12  80.0 

BELTRAMI 375 316 84.3 210 184 87.6 70 53  75.7 48 41  85.4 47 38  80.9 

CASS 228 193 84.6 103  81 78.6 47 44  93.6 30 27  90.0 48 41  85.4 

CLEARWATER  91  78 85.7  43  35 81.4 21 19  90.5 16 14  87.5 11 10  90.9 

CROW WING 421 327 77.7 224 169 75.4  104 82  78.8 45 39  86.7 48 37  77.1 

HUBBARD 111 102 91.9  55  52 94.5 22 19  86.4 18 17  94.4 16 14  87.5 

ITASCA 280 238 85.0 158 131 82.9 61 52  85.2 34 30  88.2 27 25  92.6 

KITTSON  15  12 80.0   6   5 83.3 3  3 100.0  2  2 100.0  4  2  50.0 

KOOCHICHING  92  71 77.2  52  39 75.0 20 16  80.0 15 12  80.0  5  4  80.0 

LAKE  OF WDS  38  26 68.4  23  14 60.9 9  7  77.8  2  1  50.0  4  4 100.0 

MAHNOMEN  96  72 75.0  46  31 67.4 20 18  90.0 13  9  69.2 17 14  82.4 

MARSHALL  37  33 89.2  18  16 88.9 10  9  90.0  3  2  66.7  6  6 100.0 

NORMAN  22  17 77.3 8   6 75.0 7  5  71.4  3  3 100.0  4  3  75.0 

PENNINGTON  74  59 79.7  42  30 71.4 16 15  93.8  6  6 100.0 10  8  80.0 

POLK 254 219 86.2 152 130 85.5 59 49  83.1 21 21 100.0 22 19  86.4 

RED LAKE  36  31 86.1  24  19 79.2 3  3 100.0  6  6 100.0  3  3 100.0 

ROSEAU  91  70 76.9  57  45 78.9 19 14  73.7  5  3  60.0 10  8  80.0 

 SUBTOTAL: 2,365 1,952  82.5 1,271 1,030  81.0 518 431  83.2 279 243 87.1 297 248  83.5 

Judicial Dist 10 
ANOKA 1,678 1,170 69.7 917 615 67.1 442 338 76.5 191 127 66.5 128 90 70.3 

CHISAGO 236 185 78.4 137 109 79.6  50  35 70.0  24  22 91.7  25 19 76.0 

ISANTI 138 85 61.6  78  51 65.4  22  13 59.1  21  12 57.1  17  9 52.9 

KANABEC 104 83 79.8  65  53 81.5  17  13 76.5 7 5 71.4  15 12 80.0 

PINE 198 129 65.2 103  74 71.8  46  28 60.9  22 9 40.9  27 18 66.7 

SHERBURNE 469 360 76.8 262 203 77.5 110  88 80.0  51  36 70.6  46 33 71.7 

WASHINGTON 1,114 732 65.7 642 392 61.1 265 182 68.7 112  88 78.6  95 70 73.7 

WRIGHT 476 346 72.7 256 188 73.4 117  77 65.8  61  49 80.3  42 32 76.2 

 SUBTOTAL: 4,413 3,090 70.0 2,460 1,685 68.5 1,069 774 72.4 489 348 71.2 395 283 71.6 

Totals for 
Minnesota: 29,918 22,153 74.0 17,482 12,680 72.5 6,818 5,181 76.0 3,155 2,416 76.6 2,463 1,876 76.2 

NOTE: 
(1)  There is no restriction on the ―look back‖ period in 

counting prior violations.  For example, a second-time 

violator could have incurred his or her first violation 12 

years, or 1 week, prior to the second violation.  

(2)  Caution regarding interpreting table:  The data 

compiled here reflect convictions received as of June 01, 

2011. 

However, new information is constantly being added to 

driver license records.  In addition, as offense level 

increases, violators face stiffer penalties and have more 

incentive to fight conviction through legal proceedings.  

The conviction rates will therefore increase as time 

passes; each year the overall conviction rate for all 

offenses will rise to approximately 85%. 
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III.  PERSONS WITH IMPAIRED DRIVING INCIDENTS ON RECORD 

 
This section reports statistics on Minnesota‘s total 

population, the population of licensed drivers, and the 

population of persons who have impaired driving 

incidents on their driving record. 

Currently, an impaired driving incident is kept on 
record permanently 
Current practice is that an impaired driving incident 

stays on a person‘s driver license record permanently.  

However, there were different rules in the past.  At 

points over the last 25 years, a single incident might 

have been eligible to be purged from a driving record 

after seven, ten, or fifteen years.  However, purging 

of incidents from records was not performed 

systematically; so, even when the different rules were 

in effect, eligibility to be purged did not mean that an 

incident was purged.  Apart from rules for a single 

incident, there has long been (for several decades) in 

effect a rule that if a person incurred a second 

impaired driving incident, then all impaired driving 

incidents were kept on record permanently.  The 

practical effect of having the different rules over time 

is that the number of persons currently shown to have 

two or more incidents on record will be close to the 

true number of people who ever accumulated two or 

more incidents, while the number shown to have only 

one incident will understate the true number of 

people who ever incurred a single incident.  For 

example, there are probably many middle-aged or 

older persons who incurred a single incident when 

they were young, but never incurred a second one, 

and, at some point (probably in the early 1990s, or 

before), the single incident was purged from their 

driving record. 

Baby boom and baby-boom echo effects 
Persons in their twenties are the most likely to drink 

and drive.  The large baby boom generation is now 

well beyond this high-offender age group:  In 2000, 

Minnesota had 14% fewer 20-to-34 year-olds, but 

43% more 40-to-54 year-olds, than it had in 1990.  

However, the children of the baby boom generation 

(the baby-boom echo) are entering the high-risk age 

group.  There were almost 84,000 (28%) more 15-to-

19 year-olds in 2000 than in 1990.  Thus, the age 

structure of the population makes predictable an 

increase in the number of young, first-time impaired-

driving offenders. 

1 in 7 licensed drivers have an incident on record 
In all, 556,162 Minnesota residents have one or more 

impaired driving incidents on their driving record.  

On average, that‘s 1 out of every 10 people (10.5%) 

in the state‘s population (using the U.S. Census 

Bureau‘s 2010 population for Minnesota).   

Now consider that many residents in Minnesota 

are too young to drive.  Out of the 2010 total of 

licensed drivers in Minnesota, 1 in 7 (13.9%) have 

one or more incidents on record; 1 in 17 (5.9%) have 

two or more, and 1 in 37 (2.7%) have three or more. 

 In addition to Minnesota residents, there are 

98,795 non-residents who have incurred one or more 

incidents in Minnesota. 

Counties vary 
As noted, 10.5% of the state‘s population has an 

incident on their driving record.  There is variation by 

county.  The five counties with the highest 

percentages are:  Mahnomen, Mille Lacs, Clearwater, 

Cass, and Becker -- north and west of the Twin 

Cities.  The five counties with the lowest percentages 

are Rock, Stevens, Lincoln, Carver, and Washington 

-- mostly south of the Twin Cities.  Reasons for the 

variation might include: prevalence of chemical 

dependency problems in the population, strictness of 

enforcement of DWI laws, whether the county is in a 

vacation, or recreational, area of the state. 

Most offenders have one incident 
There is a perception that so much of the drinking 

and driving problem is concentrated in a fairly small 

subset of the population whose members are 

chemically dependent and who drink and drive over 

and over again.  There is evidence to support such a 

perception.  Forty-two percent of the 556,162 persons 

in the state with incidents on record have two or more 

incidents.  Some have an amazing number of 

incidents:  1,240 have ten or more.  The record is 

now 25 incidents.  Still, it is possible the perception 

distracts attention from the reality that most violators 

do not have prior incidents on record.  Fifty-eight 

percent have only one incident.  (As noted earlier, 

this understates the true number since a single 

incident may have been purged from a person‘s 

driving record). 
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TABLE 3.01 

POPULATION OF MINNESOTA BY AGE-GROUP AND GENDER 

Age 1990 
Census 
Male 

1990 
Census 
Female 

1990 
Census 
Total 

2000 
Census 
Male 

2000 
Census 
Female 

2000 
Census 
Total 

2010 
Census 
Male 

2010 
Census 
Female 

2010 
Census 
Total 

00-04 172,055 164,745 336,800 168,829 160,765 329,594 181,342 174,162 355,504 

05-09 177,049 168,791 345,840 182,912 172,982 355,894 181,614 173,922 355,536 

10-14 160,702 152,595 313,297 192,118 182,877 374,995 180,356 171,986 352,342 

15-19 151,359 146,250 297,609 191,534 182,828 374,362 188,594 179,235 367,829 

20-24 157,244 158,802 316,046 164,038 158,445 322,483 180,725 174,926 355,651 

25-29 190,480 191,279 381,759 162,132 157,694 319,826 187,562 185,124 372,686 

30-34 199,447 198,537 397,984 178,502 174,810 353,312 174,549 168,351 342,900 

35-39 182,163 179,111 361,274 207,962 204,528 412,490 165,815 162,375 328,190 

40-44 152,870 151,940 304,810 207,355 204,337 411,692 177,234 175,670 352,904 

45-49 118,342 118,708 237,050 183,801 180,446 364,247 203,588 202,615 406,203 

50-54 94,635 96,775 191,410 150,750 150,699 301,449 200,663 201,032 401,695 

55-59 85,014 88,052 173,066 112,203 114,654 226,857 174,321 175,268 349,589 

60-64 82,224 88,996 171,220 86,648 91,364 178,012 137,760 142,015 279,775 

65-69 74,123 85,913 160,036 72,707 80,462 153,169 97,533 105,037 202,570 

70-74 58,161 76,325 134,486 64,646 78,010 142,656 70,840 81,017 151,857 

75-79 43,312 65,121 108,433 51,709 70,968 122,677 54,464 67,650 122,114 

80-84 26,525 48,619 75,144 33,477 56,686 90,163 40,865 59,051 99,916 

85+ 19,478 49,357 68,835 24,308 61,293 85,601 34,307 72,357 106,664 

Totals: 2,145,183 2,229,916 4,375,099 2,435,631 2,483,848 4,919,479 2,632,132 2,671,793 5,303,925 

Source:  United States Census Bureau. 
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TABLE 3.02 

MINNESOTA LICENSED DRIVERS* UNDER 21, BY AGE,  
1991 – 2010 

Year 15 16 17 18 19 20 Total Under 21 

1991 16,626 45,744 50,796 54,442 53,307 54,591 275,506 

1992 18,047 47,600 51,688 53,894 55,417 53,645 280,291 

1993 16,031 48,754 54,960 55,472 55,793 56,765 287,775 

1994 16,031 48,754 54,960 55,472 55,793 56,765 287,775 

1995 20,660 52,205 57,426 58,307 57,139 56,902 302,639 

1996 24,783 54,657 60,864 61,788 61,058 58,964 322,114 

1997 27,514 55,564 61,052 63,711 63,460 61,875 333,176 

1998 24,610 50,028 60,389 64,337 66,023 64,484 329,871 

1999 24,944 52,576 59,337 60,177 67,779 67,816 332,629 

2000 28,479 55,792 60,724 65,830 68,697 69,306 348,828 

2001 27,878 56,361 62,068 64,963 69,232 70,351 350,853 

2002 28,880 55,286 63,011 66,876 68,609 70,985 353,647 

2003 29,800 55,614 61,329 67,491 69,792 69,385 353,411 

2004 31,638 55,812 61,286 66,397 71,026 71,513 357,672 

2005 31,161 55,398 61,431 65,440 68,842 71,780 354,052 

2006 26,360 53,520 60,695 64,617 67,917 68,826 341,935 

2007 26,029 51,499 59,766 64,910 67,664 69,091 338,959 

2008 26,141 49,801 57,875 64,337 68,050 68,920 335,124 

2009 28,126 49,884 56,554 62,707 67,701 69,074 334,046 

2010 28,020 49,634 55,885 61,526 66,272 69,495 330,832 

TABLE 3.03 

MINNESOTA LICENSED DRIVERS,* BY AGE-GROUP, 1991 – 2010 

Year 15-19 20-24 25-29 30-34 35-39 40-44 45-49 50-54 55-59 60-64 65-69 70-74 75 + Total 

1991 215,113 312,463 357,464 402,273 371,856 324,986 252,944 197,122 165,779 158,552 148,934 126,115 189,553 3,223,154 

1992 220,915 307,139 345,255 404,717 383,109 335,328 266,872 210,453 169,769 157,248 149,867 128,653 194,632 3,273,957 

1993 226,646 297,918 336,007 401,155 386,805 342,988 276,715 216,632 173,423 156,044 149,118 128,828 191,874 3,284,153 

1994 231,010 290,752 330,676 393,253 396,206 355,845 296,176 225,468 178,920 156,192 148,961 132,442 204,674 3,340,575 

1995 245,737 283,027 331,259 381,403 402,366 364,629 313,384 230,114 183,763 156,652 149,004 132,842 214,171 3,388,351 

1996 263,150 284,532 330,844 368,340 407,794 373,405 323,114 248,979 191,853 158,537 148,228 134,127 223,602 3,456,505 

1997 271,301 291,004 325,020 356,278 407,334 381,214 330,259 260,406 201,963 160,789 146,590 133,750 221,862 3,487,770 

1998 265,387 302,019 318,360 347,382 405,914 389,126 340,673 273,059 210,483 165,519 144,903 134,081 229,135 3,526,041 

1999 264,812 316,452 316,642 346,159 401,755 398,519 352,585 290,428 218,555 170,263 145,284 134,225 239,938 3,595,617 

2000 279,522 327,545 310,399 347,932 391,515 405,043 362,105 306,566 222,828 174,735 145,334 133,774 242,146 3,647,444 

2001 280,502 339,486 309,079 344,952 377,905 408,621 368,930 316,321 238,022 180,723 146,107 133,205 241,646 3,685,499 

2002 282,662 352,022 320,420 343,933 366,661 411,413 379,702 325,664 252,631 192,074 149,272 132,368 248,671 3,757,493 

2003 284,026 352,818 326,355 333,363 354,509 408,428 386,086 335,331 264,204 200,322 154,103 131,255 257,379 3,788,179 

2004 286,159 361,589 339,712 330,480 350,988 403,774 395,178 345,855 280,193 208,133 158,035 131,277 260,483 3,851,856 

2005 282,272 361,839 348,538 319,537 349,515 390,439 400,876 355,524 296,390 212,324 163,125 131,383 260,331 3,872,093 

2006 273,109 353,949 353,241 311,685 342,520 372,638 401,715 361,197 306,185 226,262 168,693 132,725 267,241 3,871,160 

2007 269,868 351,877 360,944 316,410 336,604 358,091 401,496 369,195 314,238 239,650 178,918 136,026 274,657 3,907,974 

2008 266,204 350,535 365,501 324,694 327,911 347,387 399,215 376,096 324,589 251,756 187,347 140,879 276,287 3,938,401 

2009 264,972 347,193 364,228 330,073 319,456 339,999 391,392 382,435 332,705 265,450 193,513 143,738 273,186 3,948,340 

2010 261,337 348,937 366,813 342,756 311,858 340,906 380,685 389,685 343,840 282,820 198,777 149,002 277,819 3,995,235 

                                                           
6
 Source:  Department of Public Safety, Driver and Vehicle Service Division.  Counts include learner's permits. 
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TABLE 3.04 

MINNESOTA RESIDENTS WITH IMPAIRED DRIVING INCIDENTS ON RECORD, 
BY AGE AT DATE OF LAST INCIDENT AND BY AGE AT END OF 2010 

 Age at Date of Last Incident Age at End of Year 2010 
Age 

Group Female Male 
Not 

Stated Total Female Male 
Not 

Stated Total 

00-14 16 28 19 63 1 1 6 8 

15-19 7,471 21,714 1,031 30,216 451 1,027 133 1,611 

20-24 27,209 90,795 4,298 122,302 6,058 15,822 1,246 23,126 

25-29 21,360 78,852 3,584 103,796 12,854 36,410 3,000 52,264 

30-34 17,054 59,308 2,336 78,698 13,009 42,717 3,075 58,801 

35-39 15,434 48,867 1,658 65,959 12,144 41,636 2,284 56,064 

40-44 13,118 40,242 1,119 54,479 16,320 50,460 1,781 68,561 

45-49 9,202 30,897 644 40,743 20,455 61,964 1,446 83,865 

50-54 4,901 20,700 337 25,938 16,455 55,790 1,040 73,285 

55-59 2,461 13,139 165 15,765 9,491 39,813 620 49,924 

60-64 1,328 7,801 98 9,227 5,636 26,659 346 32,641 

65-69 633 4,362 46 5,041 3,192 15,858 172 19,222 

70-74 285 2,186 19 2,490 1,917 10,405 87 12,409 

75-79 111 919 6 1,036 1,100 7,479 61 8,640 

80-84 36 302 4 342 745 5,799 32 6,576 

85 +  7 54 4 65 798 8,327 40 9,165 

Unknown 0 1 1 2     

Totals: 120,626 420,167 15,369 556,162 120,626 420,167 15,369 556,162 

 

Note: 

Gender is not stated for many persons.  When a person 

applies for a driver license, gender is entered on the 

record.  If a person is arrested for impaired driving and 

does not have a driver license, then a record is created 

but gender is not entered on that record. 
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TABLE 3.05 

POPULATION OF MINNESOTA AND NUMBER OF RESIDENTS WITH IMPAIRED 
DRIVING INCIDENTS ON RECORD AT END OF 2010, BY COUNTY 

  Residents with Impaired Driving Incidents on Record 
County 2000 

Population 
Census 

2010 
Population 

Census 

1 or More 
Incident 
Number 

1 or 
More 

Incident 
as % of 
„10 Pop 

1 Incident 
Number 

1 Incident 
as % of „10 

Pop 

2 Incidents 
Number 

2 Incidents 
as % of „10 

Pop 

3 or 
More 
Incid-
ents 

Number 

3 or More 
Incidents 
as % of 
„10 Pop 

Aitkin 15,301 16,202 2,158 13.3 1,135 7.0 507 3.1 516 3.2 

Anoka 298,084 330,844 35,540 10.7 19,782 6.0 8,228 2.5 7,530 2.3 

Becker 30,000 32,504 4,548 14.0 2,354 7.2 980 3.0 1,214 3.7 

Beltrami 39,650 44,442 6,041 13.6 3,281 7.4 1,397 3.1 1,363 3.1 

Benton 34,226 38,451 4,084 10.6 2,292 6.0 952 2.5 840 2.2 

Big Stone 5,820 5,269 510 9.7 292 5.5 128 2.4 90 1.7 

Blue Earth 55,941 64,013 6,603 10.3 3,794 5.9 1,518 2.4 1,291 2.0 

Brown 26,911 25,893 2,752 10.6 1,589 6.1 631 2.4 532 2.1 

Carlton 31,671 35,386 4,297 12.1 2,307 6.5 1,021 2.9 969 2.7 

Carver 70,205 91,042 7,536 8.3 4,598 5.1 1,699 1.9 1,239 1.4 

Cass 27,150 28,567 4,064 14.2 2,099 7.3 935 3.3 1,030 3.6 

Chippewa 13,088 12,441 1,365 11.0 819 6.6 290 2.3 256 2.1 

Chisago 41,101 53,887 6,376 11.8 3,531 6.6 1,528 2.8 1,317 2.4 

Clay 51,229 58,999 6,395 10.8 3,827 6.5 1,408 2.4 1,160 2.0 

Clearwater 8,423 8,695 1,287 14.8 618 7.1 299 3.4 370 4.3 

Cook 5,168 5,176 646 12.5 357 6.9 140 2.7 149 2.9 

Cottonwood 12,167 11,687 1,107 9.5 664 5.7 249 2.1 194 1.7 

Crow Wing 55,099 62,500 7,538 12.1 4,148 6.6 1,775 2.8 1,615 2.6 

Dakota 355,904 398,552 38,533 9.7 23,201 5.8 8,522 2.1 6,810 1.7 

Dodge 17,731 20,087 2,136 10.6 1,196 6.0 491 2.4 449 2.2 

Douglas 32,821 36,009 3,843 10.7 2,158 6.0 861 2.4 824 2.3 

Faribault 16,181 14,553 1,674 11.5 972 6.7 368 2.5 334 2.3 

Fillmore 21,122 20,866 2,300 11.0 1,299 6.2 550 2.6 451 2.2 

Freeborn 32,584 31,255 3,801 12.2 2,124 6.8 894 2.9 783 2.5 

Goodhue 44,127 46,183 5,391 11.7 3,077 6.7 1,272 2.8 1,042 2.3 

Grant 6,289 6,018 725 12.0 399 6.6 185 3.1 141 2.3 

Hennepin 1,116,200 1,152,425 118,812 10.3 71,134 6.2 25,715 2.2 21,963 1.9 

Houston 19,718 19,027 2,192 11.5 1,315 6.9 474 2.5 403 2.1 

Hubbard 18,376 20,428 2,135 10.5 1,139 5.6 488 2.4 508 2.5 

Isanti 31,287 37,816 4,351 11.5 2,309 6.1 1,061 2.8 981 2.6 

Itasca 43,992 45,058 5,803 12.9 3,008 6.7 1,417 3.1 1,378 3.1 

Jackson 11,268 10,266 1,021 9.9 618 6.0 237 2.3 166 1.6 

Kanabec 14,996 16,239 2,087 12.9 1,041 6.4 507 3.1 539 3.3 

Kandiyohi 41,203 42,239 4,559 10.8 2,621 6.2 1,054 2.5 884 2.1 

Kittson 5,285 4,552 455 10.0 244 5.4 103 2.3 108 2.4 

Koochiching 14,355 13,311 1,727 13.0 965 7.2 397 3.0 365 2.7 

Lac Qui Parle 8,067 7,259 702 9.7 387 5.3 181 2.5 134 1.8 

Lake 11,058 10,866 1,133 10.4 658 6.1 281 2.6 194 1.8 

Lake of  Woods 4,522 4,045 543 13.4 273 6.7 138 3.4 132 3.3 

Le Sueur 25,426 27,703 3,694 13.3 2,097 7.6 860 3.1 737 2.7 

Lincoln 6,429 5,896 466 7.9 266 4.5 122 2.1 78 1.3 

Lyon 25,425 25,857 2,611 10.1 1,578 6.1 569 2.2 464 1.8 

McLeod 34,898 36,651 4,227 11.5 2,451 6.7 933 2.5 843 2.3 

Mahnomen 5,190 5,413 1,124 20.8 505 9.3 263 4.9 356 6.6 

Marshall 10,155 9,439 1,032 10.9 561 5.9 251 2.7 220 2.3 

Martin 21,802 20,840 2,286 11.0 1,306 6.3 544 2.6 436 2.1 

Meeker 22,644 23,300 2,526 10.8 1,336 5.7 618 2.7 572 2.5 
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TABLE 3.05 (Continued) 

POPULATION OF MINNESOTA AND NUMBER OF RESIDENTS WITH IMPAIRED 
DRIVING INCIDENTS ON RECORD AT END OF 2010, BY COUNTY 

   Residents with Impaired Driving Incidents on Record 
County 2000 

Population 
Census 

2010 
Population 

Census 

1 or More 
Incident 
Number 

1 or More 
Incident as 

% of „10 
Pop 

1 Incident 
Number 

1 Incident 
as % of „10 

Pop 

2 
Incidents 
Number 

2 Incidents 
as % of „10 

Pop 

3 or More 
Incid-ents 
Number 

3 or More 
Incidents 
as % of 
„10 Pop 

Mille Lacs 22,330 26,097 4,190 16.1 2,105 8.1 995 3.8 1,090 4.2 

Morrison 31,712 33,198 3,923 11.8 2,122 6.4 929 2.8 872 2.6 

Mower 38,603 39,163 4,713 12.0 2,662 6.8 1,108 2.8 943 2.4 

Murray 9,165 8,725 767 8.8 463 5.3 157 1.8 147 1.7 

Nicollet 29,771 32,727 3,187 9.7 1,868 5.7 739 2.3 580 1.8 

Nobles 20,832 21,378 2,433 11.4 1,685 7.9 446 2.1 302 1.4 

Norman 7,442 6,852 781 11.4 435 6.3 182 2.7 164 2.4 

Olmsted 124,277 144,248 12,697 8.8 7,447 5.2 2,830 2.0 2,420 1.7 

Otter Tail 57,159 57,303 6,048 10.6 3,287 5.7 1,430 2.5 1,331 2.3 

Pennington 13,584 13,930 1,894 13.6 986 7.1 450 3.2 458 3.3 

Pine 26,530 29,750 3,856 13.0 2,016 6.8 888 3.0 952 3.2 

Pipestone 9,895 9,596 993 10.3 563 5.9 244 2.5 186 1.9 

Polk 31,369 31,600 4,191 13.3 2,255 7.1 969 3.1 967 3.1 

Pope 11,236 10,995 1,149 10.5 608 5.5 282 2.6 259 2.4 

Ramsey 511,035 508,640 49,286 9.7 29,441 5.8 10,613 2.1 9,232 1.8 

Red Lake 4,299 4,089 514 12.6 291 7.1 120 2.9 103 2.5 

Redwood 16,815 16,059 1,696 10.6 987 6.1 357 2.2 352 2.2 

Renville 17,154 15,730 2,006 12.8 1,140 7.2 477 3.0 389 2.5 

Rice 56,665 64,142 6,534 10.2 3,732 5.8 1,473 2.3 1,329 2.1 

Rock 9,721 9,687 686 7.1 435 4.5 145 1.5 106 1.1 

Roseau 16,338 15,629 1,872 12.0 1,030 6.6 437 2.8 405 2.6 

St. Louis 200,528 200,226 23,509 11.7 13,127 6.6 5,475 2.7 4,907 2.5 

Scott 89,498 129,928 12,062 9.3 7,228 5.6 2,723 2.1 2,111 1.6 

Sherburne 64,417 88,499 9,079 10.3 5,225 5.9 2,188 2.5 1,666 1.9 

Sibley 15,356 15,226 1,729 11.4 962 6.3 401 2.6 366 2.4 

Stearns 133,166 150,642 15,070 10.0 8,956 5.9 3,259 2.2 2,855 1.9 

Steele 33,680 36,576 3,826 10.5 2,133 5.8 895 2.4 798 2.2 

Stevens 10,053 9,726 699 7.2 416 4.3 150 1.5 133 1.4 

Swift 11,956 9,783 1,158 11.8 640 6.5 268 2.7 250 2.6 

Todd 24,426 24,895 2,567 10.3 1,426 5.7 615 2.5 526 2.1 

Traverse 4,134 3,558 374 10.5 220 6.2 91 2.6 63 1.8 

Wabasha 21,610 21,676 2,554 11.8 1,469 6.8 600 2.8 485 2.2 

Wadena 13,713 13,843 1,643 11.9 884 6.4 372 2.7 387 2.8 

Waseca 19,526 19,136 2,132 11.1 1,193 6.2 512 2.7 427 2.2 

Washington 201,130 238,136 20,613 8.7 12,542 5.3 4,605 1.9 3,466 1.5 

Watonwan 11,876 11,211 1,372 12.2 796 7.1 334 3.0 242 2.2 

Wilkin 7,138 6,576 756 11.5 431 6.6 194 3.0 131 2.0 

Winona 49,985 51,461 4,752 9.2 2,883 5.6 1,087 2.1 782 1.5 

Wright 89,986 124,700 12,859 10.3 7,237 5.8 3,015 2.4 2,607 2.1 

Yellow Med 11,080 10,438 1,256 12.0 698 6.7 288 2.8 270 2.6 

Minnesota 4,919,479 5,303,925 556,162 10.5 321,749 6.1 125,384 2.4 109,029 2.1 
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TABLE 3.06 

PERSONS WITH IMPAIRED DRIVING INCIDENTS ON RECORD, BY AREA OF 
RESIDENCE, GENDER, AND NUMBER OF INCIDENTS ON RECORD AT END OF 2010 

 Minnesota Residents  
Twin City Metro Area 

Minnesota Residents  
Non- Metro Area 

 Non-Minnesota Residents  

No. of 
Inc. on 
Record 

Fe-
male Male 

Not 
Stated 

Sub 
total 

Fe-
male Male 

Not 
Stated 

Sub 
total 

Total MN 
Residents 

Fe-
male Male 

Not 
Stated Total 

Total MN 
and Non 

MN 
Residents 

1 47,144 113,811 6,971 167,926 37,909 109,813 6,101 153,823 321,749 11,410 35,702 25,157 72,269 394,018 

2 12,366 48,862 877 62,105 10,628 51,824 827 63,279 125,384 2,243 11,820 2,150 16,213 141,597 

3 4,391 24,383 180 28,954 3,819 26,691 214 30,724 59,678 621 5,074 419 6,114 65,792 

4 1,518 11,189 48 12,755 1,387 12,643 70 14,100 26,855 187 2,096 120 2,403 29,258 

5 467 4,802 18 5,287 452 5,376 23 5,851 11,138 60 865 27 952 12,090 

6 175 2,259 3 2,437 142 2,569 13 2,724 5,161 19 370 21 410 5,571 

7 77 1,161 2 1,240 62 1,349 6 1,417 2,657 2 176 7 185 2,842 

8 22 654 3 679 29 742 4 775 1,454 4 99 3 106 1,560 

9 10 384 1 395 13 435 3 451 846 1 58 1 60 906 

10 5 231 1 237 4 245 1 250 487 1 24 2 27 514 

11 1 135 1 137 0 135 0 135 272 0 16 2 18 290 

12 2 81 0 83 2 83 0 85 168 0 19 0 19 187 

13 0 54 0 54 1 49 0 50 104 1 6 1 8 112 

14 0 33 0 33 0 40 1 41 74 0 3 0 3 77 

15 0 17 0 17 0 27 0 27 44 0 6 0 6 50 

16 0 13 1 14 0 14 0 14 28 0 1 1 2 30 

17 0 13 0 13 0 13 0 13 26 0 0 0 0 26 

18 0 7 0 7 0 9 0 9 16 0 0 0 0 16 

19 0 3 0 3 0 4 0 4 7 0 0 0 0 7 

20 0 2 0 2 0 2 0 2 4 0 0 0 0 4 

21 0 2 0 2 0 3 0 3 5 0 0 0 0 5 

22 0 1 0 1 0 1 0 1 2 0 0 0 0 2 

23 0 1 0 1 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 0 0 1 

24 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 1 1 0 0 0 0 1 

25 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 1 1 0 0 0 0 1 

Totals: 66,178 208,098 8,106 282,382 54,448 212,069 7,263 273,780 556,162 14,549 56,335 27,911 98,795 654,957 

 

Note: 

(1) The above table classifies violators based on 

current residence, as known at the time data are 

compiled from the drivers‘ license files.  Residence 

may be inaccurate since persons with impaired 

driving incidents may avoid notifying the Department 

of Public Safety of address changes.  

(2) Incidents counted may have occurred in 

Minnesota or elsewhere.  If a person moves to 

Minnesota from another state and applies for a driver 

license here, he or she will be included, and incidents 

incurred in Minnesota or elsewhere will be included.   

(3) Gender is not stated for many persons.  When a 

person applies for a driver license, gender is entered 

on the record.  If a person is arrested for impaired 

driving and does not have a driver license, then a 

record is created but gender is not entered on that 

record. 
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IV.  IMPAIRED DRIVING RECIDIVISM IN MINNESOTA 
 

Is it the case that a fairly small number of chronic, 

chemically-dependent persons account for almost all 

the impaired driving violations that occur in a year?  

Or, are most of the offenders ―first-timers?‖  How 

many first-time violators are there?  How many 

repeat violators (recidivists) are there?  Among the 

repeat offenders, how many have one, two, three, and 

so on, prior violations? 

 It is possible to look at all the incidents, and 

at all persons who incurred incidents, in a year, based 

on the number of incidents prior to the one being 

counted in the year.  This will produce measures of 

recidivism based on violators‘ past histories.  (Tables 

4.02 and 4.03 do this.) 

Age and recidivism 
Recidivism measures based on past history could be 

misleading, though.  Older violators have had much 

more time and opportunity to recidivate than young 

violators:  24% of violators in their twenties have 

prior incidents, compared to 35% of those in their 

thirties, 45% of those in their forties, 51% of those in 

their fifties, and 52% of those 60 and older. 

In the recent past, there has been a mini-

population explosion among persons in their twenties 

-- the ―echo‖ of the baby-boom generation.  This 

dramatic increase in the young-violator population 

might make it appear that first-time violators are 

increasing, and that recidivism is decreasing, when in 

fact those young first-time violators might, as the 

years go by, recidivate just as much as older violators 

have.  It is possible to select cohorts of violators from 

past years and follow them forward in time, thus 

providing prospective measures of recidivism.  

(Tables 4.04 through 4.07 do this.) 

RECIDIVISM BASED ON PAST HISTORY 

To measure recidivism in terms of prior incidents, 

three issues require definition:  (1) what is the 

definition of ―impaired driving incident‖?  (2)  what 

is the ―look-back period‖ over which prior incidents 

are counted?  And (3), what is being counted 

--incidents, or the persons who commit them? 

 (1) Defining an incident:  An incident may 

be defined more broadly as either an implied consent 

violation or an impaired driving criminal conviction, 

or, more narrowly, requiring that the incident include 

the impaired driving criminal conviction.  The ratios 

of first-time to repeat violations are similar, but there 

were 7,765 fewer incidents in 2010 when the 

narrower definition is used. 

 (2) Length of look-back period:  Minnesota 

Statute defines impaired driving offenses as 

misdemeanors, gross misdemeanors, or felonies 

based in part on how many prior incidents the person 

had over specified lengths of time.  But a person may 

have had incidents before the specified time periods.  

 Table 4.02 tabulates incidents, and Table 

4.03 tabulates persons, based on prior incidents under 

both a lifetime look-back period and a nine-to-ten-

year look-back period.
‡‡

  The total numbers (of 

incidents or of persons) are the same, but there are 

higher numbers and percentages of first-time 

incidents (in Table 4.02) and of first-time violators 

(in Table 4.03) when only a nine-to-ten-year look-

back period is used, compared to when a lifetime 

look-back period is used. 

 (3) Counting incidents versus counting 

persons:  A person may incur multiple incidents in a 

year.  Table 4.02 counts incidents based on the total 

number on the person‘s record.  Thus, if John Smith 

incurred a third incident on January 1, and a fourth on 

February 1, the third is counted in row 3 and the 

fourth is counted in row 4 of Table 4.02.  Table 4.03 

counts persons who incurred incidents.  In this table, 

Smith is counted once, based on his last incident, in 

row 4.  

Recidivists commit less than half of the violations 
If a person arrested for a second or subsequent 

offense is defined as a recidivist, then, depending on 

other definitions, recidivists committed somewhere 

between 32 and 42 percent of the 2010 incidents.  

Under the broader definition and using a lifetime 

look-back period, recidivists committed 42% of the 

incidents (and first-time violators 58%).  Under the 

narrower definition, and using the nine-to-ten-year 

look-back period, recidivists committed 32% of the 

incidents (and first-time violators 68%). 

Taking a step back, one could say that first-time 

violators accounted for well over half the impaired 

driving violations in 2010.  Since repeat DWI 

offenders get so much attention, due to sometimes 

accumulating so many arrests and convictions, it is 

worthwhile to remember that, currently, the novice is 

the more typical offender. 

                                                           
‡‡

As an example of using a ―nine-to-ten-year look-

back period,‖ the records of all violators who 

incurred incidents in 2010 were examined for the 

period from 1-1-2001 through 12-31-2010.  Thus, the 

look-back period could be as short as 9 years and 1 

day for a violator who incurred an incident on 12-31-

2001, or as long as 10 years for a violator who 

incurred an incident on 1-1-2001.  
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RECIDIVISM MEASURED PROSPECTIVELY 
AMONG VIOLATOR COHORTS 

Among 13,655 first-time violators from 1995, 41% 

incurred a second violation within 180 months (15 

years) of their first.  The recidivism rate is greatest in 

the first months after the first incident, and then 

gradually trails off as years go by:  7% incurred a 

second incident within the first 12 months of their 

first, another 6% recidivated in the second 12 

months, another 5% in the third 12 months, and 

another 4% in the fourth 12 months.  Cumulatively, 

23% recidivated by four years out, 33% by eight 

years out, 39% by 12 years out, and 41% by 15 years 

out.
§§

 

 Among the cohort of 5,820 violators who 

incurred a second incident in 1995, a higher 

percentage recidivate, but the pattern of higher 

recidivism in the early months, then declining 

recidivism, is similar to that of the first-timer cohort: 

9% incurred a third incident within the first 12 

months of their second, another 8% recidivated in the 

second 12 months, another 7% in the third 12 

months, and another 5% in the fourth 12 months.  

Cumulatively, 29% recidivated by four years out, 

41% by eight years out, 48% by 12 years out, and 

51% by 15 years out. 

Recidivism since 1995 
First-, second-, and third-time violators from each 

year 1995-2006 (making up 36 violator cohorts, three 

for each of twelve years) were followed forward in 

time for up to 48 months.  For first-time violators 

recidivism decreased slightly.  For 1995 first-time 

violators 22.5% recidivated within 48 months, 

compared to 19.7% of year 2006 first-time violators.  

However, there is evidence that recidivism is 

declining at a higher rate when considering multiple 

offenders.  Twenty-nine percent of 1995 second-time 

violators recidivated within 48 months, compared to 

22% of year-2006 second-time violators - a seven 

percentage-point drop.  Finally, 28% of 1995 third-

time violators recidivated within 48 months, 

compared to just 18% of year-2006 third-time 

violators – a significant ten  percentage-point drop. 

Another perspective:  violators are just older now 
Work done separately and not reported here suggests 

that the decline in recidivism does not show itself 

when violators are examined within age groups.  

                                                           
§§

 DWI violators may change residences frequently.  

To increase validity of the prospective measures of 

recidivism, violators were only accepted into cohorts 

if they were shown to currently reside in Minnesota. 

Specifically, for example, 35-year-old violators in 

recent years are just as likely to get a first, second, 

third, or fourth impaired driving incident as were 35 

year-old violators in the early 1990s.  The same 

observation was found to be true for almost all age-

years examined—specifically, for persons at each 

year of age from 21 through 49.  

 There were two exceptions to that rule.  One 

exception was that, for each year over the last decade, 

22, 23, and 24 year-old violators were somewhat 

more likely to incur first-time violations.  The other 

exception was that, over the last decade, violators in 

their later twenties appeared slightly less likely to 

incur third- and fourth-time incidents than was true of 

violators in their late twenties during the early 1990s. 

 In general however, the decline in 

recidivism appears to disappear when age of violators 

is controlled for. 

 This other perspective may suggest that 

efforts to change drinking and driving behavior have 

been unsuccessful.  Two considerations weigh 

against this conclusion.  First, the work that looked at 

first-, second-, third-, and fourth-time incidents 

within same-age cohorts focused on violators as 

proportions of the total population of violators.  It is 

possible that the total number of episodes of drinking 

and driving in the state of Minnesota (not just those 

that end in arrest) have gone down significantly, but 

have decreased almost perfectly equally across all 

ages and offense levels, causing the appearance of no 

change in recidivism.  Second, it is very difficult to 

believe that, if no efforts to control drinking and 

driving were made, incidence would not greatly 

increase.  Reducing drinking and driving is a 

tremendous challenge, calling for as much energy 

and creativity as can be brought to the problem. 
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TABLE 4.01 

MINNESOTA RESIDENTS WITH IMPAIRED DRIVING INCIDENTS ON RECORD,  
BY TOTAL NUMBER ON RECORD, AND BY AGE AT END OF 2010 

Total 
Incidents 

on 
Record 

Age 0-
19 

Age 
20-24 

Age 
25-29 

Age 
30-34 

Age 
35-39 

Age 
40-44 

Age 
45-49 

Age 50-
54 

Age 
55-59 

Age 
60-69 

Age  
70 + 

Total 

1 1,523 19,199 38,112 39,760 35,490 40,300 44,192 35,784 24,504 25,515 17,370 321,749 

2 89 3,318 10,653 12,698 12,308 15,163 19,220 17,464 11,821 12,481 10,169 125,384 

3 6 523 2,856 4,725 5,337 7,485 10,604 9,968 6,617 6,766 4,791 59,678 

4 1 75 536 1,236 1,927 3,321 5,191 5,099 3,616 3,562 2,291 26,855 

5 0 11 90 287 628 1,258 2,263 2,336 1,579 1,638 1,048 11,138 

6 0 0 13 66 224 518 1,118 1,162 775 811 474 5,161 

7 0 0 3 19 94 247 541 615 426 434 278 2,657 

8 0 0 0 7 34 126 308 347 222 261 149 1,454 

9 0 0 1 2 11 58 175 208 147 156 88 846 

10 0 0 0 1 4 38 98 134 75 93 44 487 

11 0 0 0 0 2 21 66 57 51 41 34 272 

12 0 0 0 0 3 10 39 41 34 27 14 168 

13 0 0 0 0 1 10 19 18 17 26 13 104 

14 0 0 0 0 1 2 11 19 16 18 7 74 

15 0 0 0 0 0 2 7 13 8 10 4 44 

16 0 0 0 0 0 0 3 9 4 8 4 28 

17 0 0 0 0 0 0 3 5 6 2 10 26 

18 0 0 0 0 0 0 3 3 3 6 1 16 

19 0 0 0 0 0 1 1 2 1 2 0 7 

20 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 2 0 4 

21 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 3 0 5 

22 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0  0 1 0 2 

23 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 0 0 1 

24 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 0 1 

25 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 1 

Total 
Persons 1,619 23,126 52,264 58,801 56,064 68,561 83,865 73,285 49,924 51,863 36,790 556,162 
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TABLE 4.02 

INCIDENTS THAT OCCURRED IN MINNESOTA IN 2010 
BASED ON NUMBER OF INCIDENTS ON VIOLATOR‟S RECORD 

 Defining an Incident 
as a DWI Conviction 

Defining an Incident as a DWI Con- 
viction or Implied Consent Violation  

 No Limit on 
Look-Back Period 

Nine-to-Ten-Year  
Look-Back Period 

(Defined as  
1/1/01--12/31/2010) 

No Limit on 
Look-Back Period 

Nine-to-Ten-Year 
Look-Back Period 

(Defined as 
1/1/01--12/31/2010) 

Number 
of Inci- 

dents on 
Record 

Number 
of Inci- 
dents in 

2010 

Per- 
cent 

Number 
of Inci- 
dents in 

2010 

Per 
cent 

Number 
of Inci- 
dents in 

2010 

Per- 
cent 

Number 
of Inci- 
dents in 

2010 

Per- 
cent 

1 13,567 61.24 15,713 70.93 17,482 58.43 20,479 68.45 

2 4,938 22.29 4,835 21.83 6,818 22.79 6,839 22.86 

3 2,154 9.72 1,318 5.95 3,155 10.55 2,092 6.99 

4 852 3.85 242 1.09 1,366 4.57 424 1.42 

5 333 1.50 41 0.19 549 1.84 74 0.25 

6 133 0.60 4 0.02 224 0.75 9 0.03 

7 78 0.35   131 0.44 1 * 

8 44 0.20   71 0.24   

9 24 0.11   46 0.15   

10 13 0.06   28 0.09   

11 5 0.02   16 0.05   

12 9 0.04   16 0.05   

13 1 *   7 0.02   

14     3 0.01   

15 1 *   3 0.01   

16     1 *   

17         

18 1 *   1 *   

19         

20     1 *   

21         

22         

23         

24         

25         

Total 
Incidents 

22,153 100.0 22,153 100.0 29,918 100.0 29,918 100.0 

* An asterisk is used for a percentage that is greater than zero but that, if shown, would round to 0.0%.  
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TABLE 4.03 

 
PERSONS WHO INCURRED INCIDENTS IN MINNESOTA IN 2010 
BASED ON NUMBER OF INCIDENTS ON VIOLATOR‟S RECORD 

 

 Defining an Incident 
as a DWI Conviction 

Defining an Incident as a DWI Con- 
viction or Implied Consent Violation  

 No Limit on 
Look-Back Period 

Nine-to-Ten-Year 
Look-Back Period 

(Defined as 
1/1/01-12/31/2010) 

No Limit on 
Look-Back Period 

Nine-to-Ten-Year 
Look-Back Period 

(Defined as 
1/1/01-12/31/2010) 

Number 
of Inci- 

dents on 
Record 

Persons who 
Incurred 
Incidents 
in 2010 

Per- 
cent 

Persons who 
Incurred 
Incidents 
in 2010 

Per 
cent 

Persons who 
Incurred 
Incidents 
in 2010 

Per- 
cent 

Persons who 
Incurred 
Incidents 
in 2010 

Per- 
cent 

1 13,267 61.30 15,359 70.97 16,996 58.57 19,887 68.53 

2 4,816 22.25 4,713 21.78 6,586 22.70 6,607 22.77 

3 2,101 9.71 1,288 5.95 3,055 10.53 2,029 6.99 

4 831 3.84 236 1.09 1,317 4.54 414 1.43 

5 328 1.52 41 0.19 536 1.85 72 0.25 

6 129 0.60 4 0.02 219 0.75 9 0.03 

7 77 0.36   127 0.44 1 * 

8 42 0.19   67 0.23   

9 22 0.10   44 0.15   

10 13 0.06   28 0.10   

11 3 0.01   15 0.05   

12 9 0.04   14 0.05   

13 1 *   6 0.02   

14     3 0.01   

15 1 *   3 0.01   

16     1 *   

17         

18 1 *   1 *   

19         

20     1 *   

21         

22         

23         

24         

25         

Total 
Persons 21,641 100.0 21,641 100.0 29,019 100.0 29,019 100.0 

* An asterisk is used for a percentage that is greater than zero but that, if shown, would round to 0.0%.  
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TABLE 4.04 

RECIDIVISM OVER 15 YEARS AMONG COHORTS OF FIRST- AND SECOND-TIME 
VIOLATORS FROM 1995:  CUMULATIVE PERCENT OF VIOLATORS WHO 

INCURRED A SUBSEQUENT (SECOND OR THIRD) VIOLATION. 

Months 
Elapsed 

First 
Timers 

Second 
Timers 

Months 
Elapsed 

First 
Timers 

Second 
Timers 

Months 
Elapsed 

First 
Timers 

Second 
Timers 

Months 
Elapsed 

First 
Timers 

Second 
Timers 

1 0.67 1.01 49 22.89 29.45 97 33.21 41.36 145 38.82 47.77 

2 1.33 1.75 50 23.19 30.07 98 33.35 41.58 146 38.93 47.87 

3 2.00 2.61 51 23.49 30.45 99 33.45 41.70 147 39.04 47.92 

4 2.65 3.57 52 23.82 30.77 100 33.56 41.80 148 39.10 48.01 

5 3.19 4.33 53 24.17 31.01 101 33.72 41.98 149 39.18 48.09 

6 3.83 5.07 54 24.56 31.36 102 33.90 42.03 150 39.27 48.18 

7 4.44 5.81 55 24.84 31.67 103 34.04 42.23 151 39.39 48.23 

8 5.01 6.34 56 25.13 32.15 104 34.19 42.42 152 39.48 48.33 

9 5.54 7.04 57 25.43 32.39 105 34.32 42.54 153 39.58 48.40 

10 6.11 7.87 58 25.72 32.77 106 34.43 42.66 154 39.64 48.54 

11 6.67 8.47 59 25.98 32.97 107 34.56 42.90 155 39.73 48.64 

12 7.22 9.14 60 26.25 33.30 108 34.76 43.02 156 39.83 48.75 
13 7.72 9.93 61 26.46 33.59 109 34.90 43.13 157 39.91 48.78 

14 8.32  10.57 62 26.69 33.81 110 35.10 43.33 158 40.04 48.85 

15 8.80  11.15 63 26.93 34.09 111 35.20 43.45 159 40.15 48.93 

16 9.30  11.68 64 27.14 34.23 112 35.31 43.54 160 40.23 49.00 

17 9.86  12.29 65 27.39 34.60 113 35.42 43.75 161 40.27 49.16 

18  10.35  12.97 66 27.62 34.76 114 35.52 43.92 162 40.33 49.33 

19  10.85  13.47 67 27.95 35.03 115 35.65 44.07 163 40.38 49.38 

20  11.34  14.28 68 28.11 35.55 116 35.73 44.19 164 40.41 49.45 

21  11.84  14.95 69 28.39 35.81 117 35.85 44.40 165 40.49 49.48 

22  12.24  15.77 70 28.58 36.01 118 35.96 44.45 166 40.53 49.54 

23  12.69  16.36 71 28.81 36.29 119 36.10 44.57 167 40.64 49.67 

24  13.12  16.96 72 29.00 36.44 120 36.21 44.81 168 40.70 49.73 
25  13.59  17.68 73 29.21 36.62 121 36.35 44.95 169 40.75 49.81 

26  14.01  18.14 74 29.41 36.89 122 36.44 45.10 170 40.80 49.85 

27  14.52  18.75 75 29.62 37.04 123 36.57 45.22 171 40.81 49.93 

28  15.00  19.38 76 29.76 37.35 124 36.65 45.45 172 40.88 50.02 

29  15.45  19.93 77 29.97 37.54 125 36.75 45.58 173 40.93 50.09 

30  15.92  20.64 78 30.16 37.66 126 36.88 45.65 174 40.99 50.17 

31  16.24  21.00 79 30.34 37.89 127 36.89 45.81 175 41.03 50.24 

32  16.68  21.44 80 30.49 38.01 128 37.06 45.93 176 41.09 50.38 

33  17.15  21.89 81 30.63 38.25 129 37.20 46.01 177 41.14 50.45 

34  17.50  22.68 82 30.77 38.49 130 37.26 46.20 178 41.19 50.53 

35  17.94  23.21 83 30.90 38.69 131 37.40 46.39 179 41.24 50.58 

36  18.32  23.63 84 31.07 38.90 132 37.55 46.51 180 41.31 50.60 
37  18.75  24.18 85 31.26 39.14 133 37.65 46.70    

38  19.16  24.55 86 31.45 39.35 134 37.77 46.82 Percentage not recidi- 
vating within 15 years: 39  19.48  25.07 87 31.66 39.59 135 37.90 46.98 

40  19.77  25.53 88 31.86 39.78 136 37.94 47.04 First 
Timers 

Second 
Timers 41  20.14  25.95 89 32.00 39.95 137 38.02 47.15 

42  20.51  26.37 90 32.18 40.09 138 38.13 47.29 58.69 49.40 

43  20.91  26.91 91 32.35 40.24 139 38.26 47.35   

44  21.27  27.35 92 32.50 40.38 140 38.40 47.49 Number persons on which 
percentages are based: 45  21.60  27.97 93 32.63 40.62 141 38.46 47.54 

46  21.90  28.32 94 32.72 40.86 142 38.57 47.61 First Second 
47  22.25  28.71 95 32.87 41.05 143 38.62 47.71 Timers Timers 
48  22.55  29.09 96 33.05 41.17 144 38.76 47.75 13,655 5,820 
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TABLE 4.05 

RECIDIVISM AMONG 15 COHORTS OF FIRST-TIME VIOLATORS, 1995 - 2009:  
CUMULATIVE PERCENT OF COHORT THAT INCURRED A SECOND VIOLATION 

Months Elapsed 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 
1  0.7  0.6 0.7  0.7  0.7  0.6  0.6  0.6  0.6  0.6  0.7  0.7  0.6  0.6 0.6 

2  1.3  1.3 1.3  1.4  1.3  1.1  1.2  1.1  1.1  1.2  1.3  1.2  1.2  1.2 1.2 

3  2.0  1.9 2.1  2.0  2.0  1.7  1.8  1.6  1.8  1.6  1.9  1.9  1.7  1.7 1.8 

4  2.7  2.5 2.5  2.4  2.5  2.3  2.3  2.1  2.3  2.1  2.5  2.4  2.1  2.1 2.3 

5  3.2  3.1 3.0  3.1  3.2  2.8  2.9  2.6  2.7  2.6  3.0  2.9  2.6  2.7 2.8 

6  3.8  3.6 3.7  3.7  3.8  3.3  3.5  3.2  3.3  3.2  3.5  3.4  3.1  3.3 3.2 

7  4.4  4.2 4.3  4.2  4.4  4.0  4.0  3.8  3.9  3.7  4.1  4.0  3.6  3.7 3.7 

8  5.0  4.8 4.8  4.7  4.9  4.5  4.5  4.3  4.4  4.3  4.7  4.5  4.1  4.2 4.0 

9  5.5  5.4 5.4  5.3  5.5  5.0  5.1  4.9  4.9  4.9  5.4  5.0  4.6  4.7 4.5 

10  6.1  5.9 5.9  5.9  6.2  5.7  5.6  5.3  5.4  5.4  6.0  5.4  5.2  5.0 4.9 

11  6.7  6.4 6.5  6.5  6.8  6.2  6.1  5.9  5.9  5.9  6.5  6.0  5.7  5.4 5.2 

12  7.2  7.0 7.1  7.1  7.4  6.9  6.5  6.4  6.4  6.4  7.2  6.6  6.3  5.8 5.7 
13  7.7  7.5 7.5  7.6  7.9  7.3  7.0  6.9  6.8  6.9  7.7  7.0  6.7  6.3  

14  8.3  8.1 8.1  8.1  8.5  7.8  7.6  7.4  7.3  7.5  8.3  7.6  7.2  6.8  

15  8.8  8.6 8.8  8.7  9.0  8.4  8.0  7.8  7.9  8.1  8.8  8.1  7.7  7.1  

16  9.3  9.2 9.3  9.2  9.5  8.8  8.5  8.3  8.3  8.7  9.3  8.6  8.0  7.5  

17  9.9  9.6 9.9  9.8 10.1  9.4  9.1  8.8  8.8  9.2  9.8  9.1  8.4  7.9  

18 10.3 10.2  10.5 10.3 10.6  9.8  9.5  9.3  9.3  9.7 10.2  9.5  8.8  8.3  

19 10.8 10.8  10.9 10.8 11.0 10.3 10.0  9.8  9.7 10.2 10.7 10.0  9.2  8.6  

20 11.3 11.3  11.3 11.3 11.5 10.7 10.5 10.1 10.2 10.8 11.1 10.4  9.6  8.9  

21 11.8 11.7  11.9 11.8 11.9 11.2 10.9 10.6 10.7 11.2 11.6 10.8 10.1  9.3  

22 12.2 12.2  12.4 12.3 12.5 11.7 11.2 11.2 11.2 11.7 12.0 11.3 10.4  9.7  

23 12.7 12.6  12.8 12.9 13.1 12.3 11.7 11.6 11.7 12.2 12.5 11.8 10.8 10.1  

24 13.1 13.1  13.2 13.3 13.5 12.7 12.2 12.1 12.2 12.7 12.9 12.3 11.2 10.5  
25 13.6 13.5  13.6 13.7 14.0 13.0 12.6 12.5 12.6 13.1 13.4 12.7 11.6   

26 14.0 13.9  14.2 14.2 14.4 13.5 13.0 13.0 13.1 13.5 13.9 13.0 11.9   

27 14.5 14.4  14.6 14.6 14.9 13.9 13.4 13.4 13.5 14.0 14.4 13.4 12.2   

28 15.0 14.8  15.0 15.0 15.2 14.2 13.8 13.8 14.0 14.4 14.9 13.7 12.6   

29 15.5 15.2  15.4 15.4 15.7 14.6 14.2 14.1 14.4 14.9 15.3 14.1 12.9   

30 15.9 15.7  15.9 15.9 16.1 15.0 14.6 14.5 14.8 15.3 15.6 14.4 13.2   

31 16.2 16.0  16.3 16.2 16.4 15.4 14.9 15.0 15.2 15.8 16.0 14.8 13.5   

32 16.7 16.5  16.7 16.6 16.8 15.7 15.4 15.4 15.7 16.2 16.4 15.2 13.9   

33 17.2 16.8  17.1 16.9 17.1 16.0 15.7 15.7 16.2 16.6 16.8 15.6 14.2   

34 17.5 17.2  17.5 17.2 17.5 16.3 16.2 16.1 16.6 17.0 17.1 15.9 14.5   

35 17.9 17.6  17.8 17.6 17.8 16.7 16.6 16.4 16.9 17.4 17.5 16.3 14.9   

36 18.3 18.2  18.1 18.0 18.2 17.0 16.9 16.8 17.4 17.8 17.9 16.5 15.1   
37 18.7 18.6  18.6 18.4 18.5 17.4 17.2 17.2 17.7 18.3 18.2 16.8    

38 19.2 18.9  18.9 18.7 18.9 17.6 17.7 17.5 18.0 18.7 18.5 17.1    

39 19.5 19.3  19.3 19.1 19.3 18.0 18.1 17.9 18.4 19.0 18.9 17.4    

40 19.8 19.7  19.6 19.5 19.7 18.3 18.3 18.3 18.8 19.3 19.2 17.7    

41 20.1 20.0  20.0 19.8 20.0 18.7 18.6 18.7 19.1 19.7 19.5 17.9    

42 20.5 20.5  20.4 20.1 20.3 19.1 18.9 19.2 19.6 20.0 19.8 18.2    

43 20.9 20.9  20.7 20.4 20.6 19.4 19.2 19.5 19.9 20.4 20.2 18.5    

44 21.3 21.2  21.0 20.6 20.9 19.6 19.5 19.8 20.3 20.8 20.5 18.7    

45 21.6 21.6  21.4 20.9 21.2 19.9 19.8 20.2 20.6 21.0 20.7 19.0    

46 21.9 21.9  21.7 21.3 21.6 20.2 20.2 20.6 20.9 21.3 21.1 19.3    

47 22.2 22.2  22.0 21.5 21.9 20.5 20.5 20.9 21.2 21.6 21.4 19.4    

48 22.5 22.5  22.4 21.8 22.2 20.8 20.8 21.3 21.5 21.9 21.6 19.7    
Percentage not recidivating within 48 months 

 77.5 77.5 77.6 78.2 77.8 79.2 79.2 78.7 78.5 78.1 78.4 80.3    

Persons in cohort (number on which percent‟s are based) 
 13,655 14,057 14,494 15,342 16,562 17,411 16,699 16,877 16,749 17,962 19,770 22,966 21,181 19,372 17,688 

Average age of persons in cohort 
 32.1 31.9 32.1 31.9 31.4 31.5 31.5 31.3 30.9 31.1 30.8 30.4 30.7 31.1 31.3 
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TABLE 4.06 

RECIDIVISM AMONG 15 COHORTS OF SECOND-TIME VIOLATORS, 1995 - 2009:  
CUMULATIVE PERCENT OF COHORT THAT INCURRED A THIRD VIOLATION 

Months Elapsed 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 

1  1.0  1.1  1.1  0.7  0.7  0.7  0.5  0.7  0.8  0.6  0.7 0.7   0.6  0.6  0.7 

2  1.8  2.1  2.2  1.3  1.4  1.4  1.1  1.2  1.3  1.1  1.2 1.3 1.1  1.1  1.3 

3  2.6  3.1  3.3  1.9  2.0  1.8  1.5  1.7  1.7  1.7  1.7 1.8 1.5  1.6  1.8 

4  3.6  3.9  3.9  2.5  2.6  2.4  1.9  2.0  2.2  2.1  2.2 2.4 2.1  1.9  2.3 

5  4.3  4.7  4.6  3.1  3.3  3.0  2.3  2.4  2.6  2.6  2.7 3.0 2.5  2.3  2.7 

6  5.1  5.5  5.4  3.6  3.9  3.5  2.7  2.8  3.1  3.1  3.1 3.3 3.0  2.7  3.0 

7  5.8  6.0  6.1  4.2  4.6  4.0  3.2  3.4  3.4  3.6  3.6 3.8 3.4  3.0  3.3 

8  6.3  6.4  6.8  4.8  5.3  4.4  3.7  3.7  3.8  4.2  4.1 4.2 3.9  3.4  3.8 

9  7.0  6.9  7.4  5.4  5.9  4.8  4.3  4.2  4.4  4.6  4.8 4.7 4.4  3.7  4.3 

10  7.9  7.6  8.1  6.1  6.4  5.6  4.7  4.8  4.9  5.1  5.3 5.3 5.0  4.2  4.7 

11  8.5  8.1  8.6  6.7  6.9  6.2  5.2  5.3  5.5  5.6  5.9 5.8 5.3  4.7  5.1 

12  9.1  8.8  9.2  7.2  7.7  6.9  5.8  5.8  6.1  6.2  6.4 6.4 5.9  5.3  5.5 
13  9.9  9.6 10.0  7.9  8.1  7.8  6.3  6.3  6.6  6.7  7.0 6.9 6.5  5.8  

14 10.6 10.2 10.7  8.4  8.6  8.5  6.7  6.9  7.1  7.4  7.7 7.3 7.0  6.2  

15 11.2 10.7 11.4  9.2  9.3  9.1  7.2  7.4  7.7  8.0  8.3 7.9 7.5  6.7  

16 11.7 11.3 11.8  9.9 10.1  9.6  7.8  7.9  8.2  8.4  8.9 8.4 8.0  7.1  

17 12.3 12.0 12.5 10.4 10.8 10.2  8.4  8.4  8.8  9.0  9.4 9.0 8.5  7.6  

18 13.0 12.7 13.0 11.1 11.5 10.8  9.0  9.0  9.3  9.7 10.0 9.5 9.0  8.1  

19 13.5 13.3 13.6 11.9 12.0 11.5  9.6  9.7 10.0 10.2 10.4 9.9 9.6  8.4  

20 14.3 14.0 14.3 12.5 12.9 12.1 10.2 10.3 10.6 10.8 10.9  10.5  10.0  9.0  

21 14.9 14.5 14.8 13.1 13.4 12.8 10.6 10.8 11.1 11.3 11.4  10.9  10.6  9.4  

22 15.8 15.2 15.5 13.7 13.9 13.4 11.1 11.1 11.6 11.8 12.0  11.3  11.0  9.8  

23 16.4 15.8 16.3 14.4 14.3 14.0 11.7 11.7 12.3 12.5 12.4  11.7  11.6 10.3  

24 17.0 16.4 17.1 15.2 14.7 14.6 12.5 12.4 12.7 13.1 12.9  12.3  12.0 10.7  
25 17.7 16.9 17.5 15.8 15.3 14.9 12.9 12.8 13.3 13.8 13.5  12.7  12.3   

26 18.1 17.4 18.2 16.5 15.9 15.4 13.5 13.3 13.9 14.2 14.0  13.4  12.8   

27 18.7 18.0 18.7 17.2 16.6 15.9 13.9 13.7 14.5 14.8 14.5  13.9  13.3   

28 19.4 18.8 19.2 17.7 17.1 16.3 14.4 14.2 15.1 15.3 14.9  14.4  13.6   

29 19.9 19.5 19.6 18.2 17.7 16.9 14.9 14.7 15.6 15.9 15.5  14.8  13.9   

30 20.6 20.2 20.1 18.7 18.0 17.4 15.5 15.3 16.2 16.4 16.0  15.2  14.3   

31 21.0 20.8 20.6 19.2 18.4 17.8 16.0 15.7 16.8 16.8 16.4  15.5  14.6   

32 21.4 21.1 21.0 19.6 18.9 18.3 16.4 16.2 17.3 17.4 17.0  15.8  15.0   

33 21.9 21.4 21.6 20.2 19.5 18.6 17.0 16.7 17.8 17.8 17.4  16.2  15.5   

34 22.7 22.0 22.1 20.7 19.9 19.0 17.4 17.3 18.2 18.4 17.8  16.7  15.9   

35 23.2 22.4 22.7 21.2 20.4 19.3 17.8 17.7 18.8 18.8 18.2  17.1  16.2   

36 23.6 22.9 23.3 21.7 20.9 19.7 18.4 18.0 19.3 19.0 18.6  17.5  16.5   
37 24.2 23.3 23.8 22.2 21.2 20.3 18.9 18.4 19.6 19.5 19.1  17.9    

38 24.6 24.1 24.3 22.6 21.6 20.8 19.3 18.8 20.0 19.9 19.4  18.3    

39 25.1 24.5 24.7 23.0 22.1 21.2 19.7 19.4 20.6 20.3 19.8  18.6    

40 25.5 24.9 25.0 23.4 22.5 21.6 20.1 20.0 21.1 20.6 20.2  18.9    

41 25.9 25.4 25.4 24.0 23.0 22.1 20.5 20.5 21.4 21.0 20.6  19.3    

42 26.4 26.0 25.9 24.3 23.4 22.4 21.0 21.1 21.8 21.4 21.0  19.7    

43 26.9 26.4 26.2 24.7 23.8 22.8 21.4 21.6 22.2 21.7 21.5  20.1    

44 27.4 26.8 26.5 25.1 24.2 23.3 21.8 21.9 22.6 22.1 21.8  20.4    

45 28.0 27.3 26.8 25.3 24.5 23.6 22.1 22.2 22.9 22.4 22.0  20.7    

46 28.3 27.8 27.2 25.5 24.9 24.0 22.5 22.6 23.4 22.9 22.4  21.1    

47 28.7 28.2 27.5 26.0 25.3 24.3 22.9 23.1 23.7 23.1 22.7  21.3    

48 29.1 28.6 28.0 26.3 25.5 24.7 23.3 23.4 24.2 23.5 22.9  21.6    
Percentage not recidivating within 48 months 

 70.9 71.4 72.0 73.7 74.5 75.3 76.7 76.6 75.8 76.5 77.1 78.4    

Persons in cohort (number on which percent‟s are based) 
 5,820 5,792 5,942 6,099 6,741 6,709 6,528 6,409 6,393 6,941 7,445 8,450 8,098 7,756 7,198 

Average age of persons in cohort 
 33.7 34.0 34.5 34.3 34.1 34.1 34.1 34.4 34.2 34.4 34.3 33.7 34.0 33.8 34.3 
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TABLE 4.07 

RECIDIVISM AMONG 15 COHORTS OF THIRD-TIME VIOLATORS, 1995 - 2009:  
CUMULATIVE PERCENT OF COHORT THAT INCURRED A FOURTH VIOLATION 

Months Elapsed 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 
1 1.3 1.2  1.4  1.2  0.6  0.8  0.6  0.5  0.6  0.4  0.9  0.5  0.8 0.7 0.9 
2 2.3 1.9  2.3  1.7  1.3  1.4  1.3  1.1  1.2  0.9  1.3  1.4  1.6 1.1 1.4 
3 3.6 2.8  3.4  2.6  2.1  2.0  2.0  1.7  1.8  1.4  1.7  1.9  2.0 1.9 2.1 
4 4.4 3.5  4.1  3.2  2.3  2.6  2.3  2.0  2.2  1.8  2.3  2.5  2.5 2.2 2.9 
5 4.9 4.2  4.6  3.7  2.8  3.2  2.6  2.5  2.6  2.4  2.8  3.0  2.8 2.6 3.2 
6 5.5 4.7  5.0  4.3  3.2  3.7  2.9  3.1  3.0  2.7  3.1  3.3  3.5 3.1 3.8 
7 6.2 5.5  5.5  4.9  3.5  4.3  3.3  3.4  3.3  3.0  3.5  4.0  4.1 3.3 4.2 
8 6.7 6.1  6.2  5.3  4.1  4.7  3.9  3.8  3.7  3.4  3.7  4.2  4.6 3.6 4.6 
9 7.2 6.8  6.8  5.8  4.5  5.3  4.4  4.2  4.2  3.7  4.1  4.8  4.9 3.9 4.9 

10 7.8 7.3  7.7  6.3  5.0  5.8  4.8  4.5  4.6  4.2  4.8  5.3  5.5 4.5 5.3 
11 8.4 8.0  8.1  6.8  5.6  6.3  5.2  4.8  4.9  4.6  5.2  5.8  5.8 4.9 5.6 
12 9.0 8.7  8.8  7.3  6.2  6.8  5.9  5.0  5.2  5.2  5.7  6.1  6.2 5.2 5.9 
13 9.5 9.2  9.4  7.7  6.6  7.4  6.2  5.4  5.7  5.5  6.3  6.3  6.5 5.5  
14  10.2 9.9  9.9  8.4  7.0  7.9  6.6  5.8  6.1  5.8  6.7  6.7  6.9 5.9  
15  10.6  10.4 10.6  8.8  7.6  8.4  7.3  6.5  6.4  6.2  7.0  7.1  7.3 6.1  
16  11.3  11.1 11.1  9.3  8.0  8.8  8.0  6.8  7.0  6.7  7.5  7.4  7.7 6.5  
17  11.8  11.8 11.7  9.8  8.5  9.4  8.2  7.5  7.4  7.1  7.8  7.9  8.0 6.9  
18  12.5  12.2 12.1 10.4  9.1  9.9  8.6  8.0  7.7  7.5  8.1  8.5  8.3 7.2  
19  13.3  12.9 12.7 10.9  9.6 10.5  9.0  8.5  8.2  8.2  8.4  8.9  8.8 7.5  
20  14.0  13.4 13.4 11.4 10.2 11.0  9.7  9.2  8.8  8.6  8.8  9.4  9.5 8.1  
21  14.5  14.0 14.0 11.9 10.8 11.6 10.0  9.6  9.4  9.2  9.4  9.7  9.9 8.5  
22  14.8  14.9 14.6 12.6 11.5 12.2 10.2 10.1  9.7  9.5  9.7 10.0 10.2 8.8  
23  15.5  15.4 15.1 12.9 12.0 12.9 10.6 10.7 10.2 10.1 10.1 10.4 10.7 9.1  
24  15.9  15.8 15.7 13.4 12.6 13.3 10.9 11.1 10.7 10.6 10.5 10.7 11.1 9.5  
25  16.5  16.3 16.3 13.9 13.2 13.7 11.4 11.4 11.3 11.0 11.0 11.1 11.4   
26  17.3  16.8 16.8 14.4 13.6 14.1 11.7 12.1 11.9 11.3 11.4 11.5 11.8   
27  17.8  17.3 17.4 14.8 14.1 14.4 12.3 12.7 12.3 11.9 12.0 11.9 12.2   
28  18.2  17.6 18.1 15.2 14.5 14.9 12.9 13.1 12.8 12.4 12.3 12.1 12.7   
29  18.5  18.1 18.6 16.0 15.1 15.3 13.3 13.6 13.3 12.8 12.8 12.3 13.1   
30  19.2  18.7 19.0 16.4 15.6 15.6 13.7 14.1 13.7 13.1 13.2 12.5 13.5   
31  19.8  19.5 19.5 16.8 16.1 16.1 14.2 14.4 14.1 13.6 13.7 12.9 13.9   
32  20.4  19.8 20.2 17.4 16.6 16.3 14.6 14.8 14.4 14.0 14.1 13.3 14.3   
33  20.8  20.4 20.5 17.8 17.0 16.9 14.9 15.3 14.9 14.6 14.3 13.9 14.7   
34  21.3  20.8 20.9 18.2 17.5 17.3 15.4 15.6 15.3 14.9 14.5 14.1 15.0   
35  21.8  21.4 21.4 18.8 18.0 17.9 15.8 16.0 15.6 15.1 14.8 14.4 15.2   
36  22.2  21.7 22.0 19.1 18.2 18.2 16.1 16.2 15.8 15.4 15.0 14.8 15.5   
37  22.6  22.2 22.5 19.5 18.7 18.6 16.4 16.6 16.2 15.7 15.3 15.1    
38  23.1  22.6 22.9 19.8 19.4 18.9 16.6 16.9 16.6 16.4 15.6 15.4    
39  23.5  22.9 23.4 20.2 20.0 19.3 17.0 17.4 17.1 16.7 16.1 15.8    
40  24.2  23.4 23.7 20.7 20.4 19.8 17.3 17.5 17.4 17.0 16.6 16.2    
41  24.7  23.9 24.2 21.3 20.7 20.2 17.7 17.9 17.8 17.3 16.8 16.5    
42  25.2  24.3 24.5 21.8 21.2 20.6 18.0 18.4 18.3 17.5 17.2 16.9    
43  25.5  24.8 25.0 22.2 21.6 20.9 18.2 18.7 18.7 17.9 17.6 17.2    
44  25.8  25.2 25.7 22.5 21.9 21.1 18.6 19.0 19.1 18.2 18.0 17.4    
45  26.4  25.5 26.0 22.7 22.4 21.5 18.9 19.3 19.5 18.7 18.4 17.5    
46  27.0  26.0 26.7 23.1 22.6 21.9 19.2 19.7 19.9 18.9 18.8 17.9    
47  27.5  26.3 26.9 23.4 22.8 22.3 19.6 20.2 20.2 19.3 19.1 18.1    
48  27.9  26.5 27.3 23.8 23.2 22.6 19.9 20.5 20.6 19.4 19.2 18.4    

Percentage not recidivating within 48 months 
 72.1 73.5 72.7 76.2 76.8 77.4 80.1 79.5 79.4 80.6 80.8 81.6    

Persons in cohort (number on which percent‟s are based) 
 3,139 3,343 3,233 3,189 3,346 3,304 3,173 3,000 2,948 3,137 3,308 3,706 3,460 3,381 3,288 

Average age of persons in cohort 
 35.6 35.7 36.3 36.7 37.0 36.9 37.0 37.4 37.6 37.8 37.4 37.6 37.4 37.4 37.8 
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V.  ALCOHOL-RELATED CRASH STATISTICS BY COUNTY 

 

A century of impaired driving and traffic deaths 
The automobile was invented around 1900, and the 

dangers of drinking and driving were recognized 

immediately.  The earliest available statistics report 23 

traffic deaths in Minnesota in 1910.  The state enacted 

its first DWI law in 1911.  As the baby-boom 

generation entered driving age in the 1960‘s, more 

than half (60%) of all traffic deaths were due to 

drinking and driving.   It began decreasing around 

1980, in response to increased societal consciousness 

and to legislation and programs modeled in some part 

on the Scandinavian countries‘ tough approach to 

drinking and driving. 

Defining a traffic crash 
Minnesota started systematic record-keeping on traffic 

crashes in the 1930s.  A 1939 law defined the 

reporting threshold:  Any crash involving a fatality, an 

injury, or property damage of $50 or more, had to be 

reported.  The dollar minimum threshold was raised to 

$100 in 1965, then to $300 on August 1, 1977, $500 

on August 1, 1981, and $1,000 on August 1, 1994. 

 Though it is not the normal case, the property 

damage involved doesn‘t have to be to vehicles.  It 

might be to a road sign, or shrubbery, for example.  It 

is unknown how many crashes occur that should be 

reported, but are not.  Less severe crashes are easier to 

conceal and it is not difficult to speculate that there 

may be as many crashes that should be, but are not, 

reported, as there are that do get reported. 

Defining “alcohol-related” 
This section uses a broader definition of ―alcohol-

related‖ than might at first be assumed.  In particular, 

an ―alcohol-related‖ crash might not have involved a 

drunk driver.  The definition used here is that if a 

pedestrian, bicyclist, or motor vehicle driver had any 

alcohol,
***

 then the crash is classified as ―alcohol- 

                                                           

related,‖ and anyone who died or got injured in the 

crash is counted as an alcohol-related death or injury.   

So, if a pedestrian with only a .01% alcohol 

concentration (AC) stumbles in front of a sober driver 

and is struck and killed, the crash is defined to be 

alcohol-related, and the death is an alcohol-related 

traffic fatality.  Such cases are not the rule, however.  

Most crashes classified as alcohol-related do involve 

motor vehicles drivers who consumed a considerable 

amount of alcohol. 

„Known‟ versus „estimated‟ alcohol-related deaths 
State law requires a medical examiner to measure the 

AC of any driver or pedestrian aged 16 or older who 

dies within four hours of a crash.  Among the states, 

Minnesota has one of the highest (sometimes the 

highest) percentage of killed drivers tested.  We make 

great effort to obtain these test results, as well as the 

results on all surviving drivers, bicyclists and 

pedestrians in fatal crashes that may have been tested.   

 Clearly, if a state tests a smaller percentage 

of drivers, then fewer crashes will be classified as 

alcohol-related.  Thus, states that have good impaired-

driving programs, and good testing programs, may 

appear to have higher alcohol-related death rates than 

states with lesser programs. 

 To compensate for this, the National 

Highway Traffic Safety Administration developed a 

sophisticated technique for imputing likely AC test 

values to a driver when the actual AC is unknown.  

Though such a procedure might at first seem 

questionable, tests show that it is accurate to within 

about plus or minus one percentage point.
†††

  Thus, 

Table 5.02 has a column (11) showing ―Known 

Number‖ of alcohol-related deaths, using actual test 

results and officers‘ reported perceptions, and a 

column (12) citing the ―NHTSA Estimate‖ for 

Minnesota.  

***
 To be precise, the following procedure is used:  If 

an alcohol test result is positive for any driver, 

bicyclist, or pedestrian, the crash is classified as 

alcohol-related.  If a test was not performed, but the 

reporting officer perceived the ―apparent physical 

condition‖ of the driver, pedestrian, or bicyclist to be 

―had been drinking‖ or ―under the influence,‖ then the 

crash is classified as alcohol-related.  In the (rare) 

event that there is a conflict between the officer‘s 

reported perception and the chemical test result; the 

test result is used in place of the officer‘s perception. 

Non-fatal crashes likely understated for alcohol 

                                                           
†††

 One method of testing the procedure was to apply 

it against datasets from which AC test results had been 

removed, and then compare results against actual 

statistics based on the removed data.  The total 

number of deaths classified as alcohol-related, based 

on the imputation procedure, was within a percentage 

point or two of the number based on actual AC test 

results. 
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The numbers cited in this section for alcohol-related 

non-fatal crashes are known to understate the true 

parameters for such crashes.  For non-fatal crashes, 

the officer‘s judgment, noted on the crash report, is 

the only basis available to classify the crash as 

alcohol-related or not. 

 To test the effect of using only officer 

perception compared to also having test result data 

available, fatal crashes in 2010 were classified as 

alcohol-related or not using both techniques.  Using 

officer perception alone, 82 (20%) of the 411 fatalities 

were classified as alcohol-related.  Using officer 

perception and test results together, 131 (32%) of the 

421 fatalities were classified as alcohol-related.
‡‡‡

 

Crash numbers generally 
The number of crashes that get reported has been 

declining in recent years, from over 100,000 in year 

2000, to about 74,000 in 2010.  About one-half of one 

percent (about 370) of all reported crashes are fatal, 

causing death to one or more persons and perhaps 

injury to other persons as well.  Then about a third of 

all crashes involve injuries to people, but no deaths.  

Then the great majority of crashes -- about two-thirds 

-- only involve property damage; no one is killed or 

injured. 

Impairment likely as crash severity increases 
Even allowing that alcohol involvement is 

underestimated in the less severe crashes, there is still 

a strong relationship between crash severity and 

impairment.  In 2010, 4% of property damage crashes, 

8% of injury crashes, and 31% of fatal crashes were 

classified as alcohol-related. 

Cost of alcohol-related traffic crashes 
Cost figures reported are based on the estimated costs 

of traffic crashes, deaths, and injuries, as provided 

annually by the National Safety Council.   

 There are two approaches to estimating 

traffic crash costs.  The one used here attempts to 

quantify the direct economic costs.  As explained by 

the National Safety Council, it has five components:  

―(1) wage and productivity losses, including wages, 

fringe benefits, household production, (2) medical 

expenses, (3) administrative expenses, including 

insurance, police, and legal costs, (4) motor vehicle 

                                                           

damage, and (5) employer costs for crashes involving 

workers.‖
§§§

 

 Using this approach, for example, the 

National Safety Council estimates costs for the 2010 

calendar year as follows: 

Death ......................................................  $1,290,000 

Incapacitating (A) Injury .............................. $67,800 

Non-incapacitating (B) Injury ...................... $21,900 

Possible (C) Injury ........................................ $12,400 

Property Damage Crash .................................. $8,200 

 The other approach estimates the 

―comprehensive costs‖ and attempts to include ―a 

measure of the value of lost quality of life associated 

with the deaths and injuries, that is, what society is 

willing to pay to prevent them.‖
****

  Using that 

approach yields the following cost estimates for the 

2010 year: 

Death ....................................................... $4,300,000 

Incapacitating (A) Injury ............................ $216,800 

Non-incapacitating (B) Injury ...................... $55,300 

Possible (C) Injury ........................................ $26,300 

No Injury ........................................................ $2,400 

 As noted, Table 5.04 uses the more narrowly 

defined estimates based just on economic costs.  The 

cost estimates are quite conservative in other respects 

as well:  First, they make no effort to include the costs 

of crashes that were reported, but not classified as 

alcohol-related, even though they were.  As noted, the 

number of crashes classified as alcohol-related is 

certain to understate the true number.  Second, the 

cost estimates make no attempt to include costs from 

alcohol-related crashes that were never reported at all.  

 For the 2010 calendar year, the total 

estimated cost of the crashes classified as alcohol-

related was $238,914,400. 

‡‡‡
 It would not necessarily be correct, however, to 

conclude that if alcohol test data were also available 

for non-fatal crashes, then there would be a 

comparable increase in the proportion of those crashes 

that are classified as alcohol-related.  That could be 

so; however, reporting and record-keeping are handled 

differently for fatal and non-fatal crashes.  Thus, the 

statistical patterns may not be similar for fatal and 

non-fatal crashes. 

                                                           
§§§

 National Safety Council: Injury Facts, 2005-2006  

Edition:  page 91. 
****

 Ibid 
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TABLE 5.01 

MINNESOTA TRAFFIC FATALITIES, 1910 - 2010 

Year Number Year Number Year Number Year Number Year Number 

1910 23 1931 622 1952 534 1973 1,024 1994 644 

1911 26 1932 486 1953 637 1974 852 1995 597 

1912 39 1933 525 1954 639 1975 777 1996 576 

1913 46 1934 641 1955 577 1976 809 1997 600 

1914 88 1935 596 1956 637 1977 856 1998 650 

1915 85 1936 649 1957 684 1978 980 1999 626 

1916 143 1937 630 1958 708 1979 881 2000 625 

1917 161 1938 609 1959 662 1980 863 2001 568 

1918 183 1939 576 1960 724 1981 763 2002 657 

1919 171 1940 577 1961 724 1982 581 2003 655 

1920 178 1941 626 1962 692 1983 558 2004 567 

1921 216 1942 439 1963 798 1984 584 2005 559 

1922 260 1943 274 1964 841 1985 610 2006 494 

1923 328 1944 356 1965 875 1986 572 2007 510 

1924 366 1945 449 1966 977 1987 530 2008 455 

1925 361 1946 536 1967 965 1988 615 2009 421 

1926 326 1947 572 1968 1,060 1989 605 2010 411 

1927 369 1948 552 1969 988 1990 568   

1928 435 1949 540 1970 987 1991 531   

1929 505 1950 532 1971 1,024 1992 581   

1930 561 1951 610 1972 1,031 1993 538   

FIGURE 5.01 

MINNESOTA TRAFFIC FATALITIES, 1910-2010, AND 
FATALITY RATE PER 100 MILLION VEHCILE MILES TRAVELED, 1961-2010 
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TABLE 5.02 

OVERVIEW OF TRAFFIC SAFETY AND ALCOHOL STATISTICS, 1965 - 2010 

Year 
(1) 

Total 
Crashes 

(2) 

Total 
Deaths 

(3) 

Drivers 
(million) 

(4) 

Vehicles 
(million) 

(5) 

State 
Popu-
lation 

(6) 

Miles 
Traveld 
(billion) 

(7) 

Fatality 
Rate 
(8) 

DWI 
Arrests 

(9) 

Impaired 
Driving 

Incidents 
(10) 

Alcohol-Related Deaths 
Known 
Number 

(11) 

As % 
of Total 

(12) 

NHTSA-
Estimate 

(13) 

1965 83,329 875 1.85 1.86 3,565,000 16.8 5.21      

1966 84,754 977 1.90 1.94 3,585,000 17.7 5.52      

1967 93,819 965 1.95 2.01 3,625,000 18.7 5.17      

1968 92,910 1,060 2.00 2.09 3,647,000 19.9 5.33      

1969 105,235 988 2.03 2.15 3,743,291 20.8 4.75      

1970 99,404 987 2.05 2.24 3,804,971 22.4 4.41      

1971 104,030 1,024 2.33 2.36 3,860,000 23.4 4.38      

1972 111,180 1,031 2.50 2.41 3,877,000 24.9 4.14      

1973 107,956 1,024 2.38 2.51 3,890,000 25.2 4.07      

1974 102,964 852 2.44 2.67 3,904,100 24.6 3.47      

1975 123,206 777 2.51 2.69 3,921,000 25.6 3.03      

1976 116,390 809 2.57 2.92 3,954,000 27.0 3.00 19,419     

1977 119,754 856 2.63 2.77 3,980,000 28.1 3.05 16,976     

1978 118,833 980 2.70 2.90 4,024,000 28.8 3.40 18,078     

1979 120,633 881 2.73 3.00 4,060,000 29.0 3.04 18,092     

1980 103,612 863 2.77 3.01 4,075,970 28.5 3.03 22,788     

1981 97,879 763 2.83 3.09 4,099,048 28.6 2.67 27,034     

1982 89,443 581 2.87 3.01 4,133,334 29.2 1.98 28,048    322 

1983 97,371 558 2.90 3.03 4,145,667 30.5 1.83 32,155    314 

1984 93,741 584 2.91 3.13 4,161,464 32.2 1.81 36,638  305 52 332 

1985 99,168 610 3.04 3.22 4,192,973 33.1 1.84 35,383  261 43 287 

1986 95,460 572 3.07 3.25 4,214,013 34.2 1.67 36,390  264 46 284 

1987 94,095 530 3.10 3.31 4,245,870 35.1 1.51 34,664  224 42 248 

1988 102,094 615 3.13 3.39 4,306,550 36.4 1.69 32,827  277 45 294 

1989 105,996 605 3.16 3.46 4,353,000 37.6 1.61 34,562  275 45 289 

1990 99,236 568 3.18 3.52 4,375,099 38.8 1.47  36,847 235 41 258 

1991 101,419 531 3.22 3.51 4,432,000 39.3 1.35  32,430 212 40 233 

1992 96,808 581 3.27 3.55 4,480,034 41.3 1.41  30,841 229 39 240 

1993 100,907 538 3.28 3.48 4,517,416 42.3 1.27  30,088 196 36 216 

1994 99,701 644 3.34 3.67 4,567,267 43.4 1.48  29,748 226 35 250 

1995 96,022 597 3.39 3.68 4,609,548 44.1 1.35  30,402 246 41 269 

1996 105,332 576 3.46 3.70 4,657,800 45.9 1.27  30,923 205 36 222 

1997 98,626 600 3.49 3.77 4,685,549 46.9 1.28  31,380 178 30 197 

1998 92,926 650 3.53 3.90 4,735,830 48.5 1.34  32,422 273 42 285 

1999 96,813 626 3.54 3.92 4,775,508 50.7 1.24  34,575 195 31 206 

2000 103,591 625 3.65 4.20 4,919,479 52.4 1.19  35,034 245 39 258 

2001 98,984 568 3.69 4.38 4,977,976 53.2 1.07  33,532 211 37 226 

2002 94,969 657 3.76 4.49 5,033,661 54.4 1.21  33,163 239 36 255 

2003 NA 655 3.79 4.56 5,088,006 55.4 1.18  32,266 255 39 267 

2004 91,274 567 3.85 4.63 5,145,106 56.5 1.00  34,202 177 31 184 

2005 87,813 559 3.87 4.69 5,205,091 56.5 0.99  37,002 197 35 201 

2006 78,745 494 3.87 4.76 5,231,106 56.6 0.87  41,951 166 34 183 

2007 81,505 510 3.91 4.82 5,263,493 57.4 0.89  38,669 190 37 198 

2008 79,095 455 3.94 4.86 5,287,976 57.3 0.79  35,794 163 36 168 

2009 73,498 421 3.95 4.87 5,300,942 56.9 0.74  32,756 141 34 150 

2010 74,073 411 4.00 4.92 5,315,231 56.7 0.72  29,918 131 32 N/A 
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TABLE 5.03 

TRAFFIC CRASHES, FATALITIES, AND INJURIES -- TOTAL AND ALCOHOL-
RELATED BY COUNTY IN MINNESOTA, 2010 

 TRAFFIC CRASHES PERSONS KILLED OR INJURED 
 

FATAL 
CRASHES 

INJURY 
CRASHES 

PROPERTY 
DAMAGE ONLY 

CRASHES 
TOTAL 

CRASHES KILLED INJURED 

COUNTY 
(1) 

 
All 
(2) 

Alco
-hol 

(3) 

 %  
Alc 
(4) 

 
All 
(5) 

Alco
-hol 

(6) 

 %  
Alc 
(7) 

 
All 
(8) 

Alc
-hol 

(9) 

 %  
Alc 
(10) 

 
All 

(11) 

Alco
-hol 
(12) 

 % 
Alc 
(13) 

 
All 

(14) 

Alco
-hol 
(15) 

 %  
Alc 
(16) 

 
All 

(17) 

Alco
-hol 
(18) 

 %  
Alc 
(19) 

Anoka  13 5 38.5 1,122 75 6.7  2,137 91 4.3  3,272  171  5.2 14 6  42.9 1,628  110  6.8 

Becker 1 1  100 97 13  13.4 173 9 5.2 271 23  8.5 1 1 100 140 18 12.9 

Beltrami 7 1 14.3 137 21  15.3 311 18 5.8 455 40  8.8 7 1  14.3 185 29 15.7 

Benton 3 0  0.0 180 24  13.3 358 12 3.4 541 36  6.7 3 0 0.0 250 30 12.0 

Big Stone 0 0  0.0 17 2  11.8 36 0 0.0 53 2  3.8 0 0 0.0 23 2  8.7 

Blue Earth 8 2 25.0 347 26 7.5 867 23 2.7  1,222 51  4.2 9 2  22.2 496 35  7.1 

Brown 2 1 50.0 98 10  10.2 225 3 1.3 325 14  4.3 2 1  50.0 149 15 10.1 

Carlton 3 3  100 90 3 3.3 187 8 4.3 280 14  5.0 3 3 100 137 5  3.6 

Carver 3 1 33.3 288 24 8.3 685 26 3.8 976 51  5.2 3 1  33.3 411 37  9.0 

Cass 6 1 16.7 113 16  14.2 164 11 6.7 283 28  9.9 6 1  16.7 191 23 12.0 

Chippewa 2 1 50.0 49 5  10.2 66 3 4.5 117 9  7.7 2 1  50.0 78 8 10.3 

Chisago 4 1 25.0 235 20 8.5 339 19 5.6 578 40  6.9 4 1  25.0 342 27  7.9 

Clay 5 2 40.0 222 20 9.0 617 28 4.5 844 50  5.9 8 2  25.0 280 26  9.3 

Clearwater 0 0  0.0 21 3  14.3 45 1 2.2 66 4  6.1 0 0 0.0 23 4 17.4 

Cook 0 0  0.0 22 2 9.1 47 5  10.6 69 7 10.1 0 0 0.0 31 3  9.7 

Cottonwood 0 0  0.0 52 2 3.8 85 3 3.5 137 5  3.6 0 0 0.0 73 2  2.7 

Crow Wing 7 2 28.6 256 24 9.4 381 14 3.7 644 40  6.2 8 3  37.5 371 35  9.4 

Dakota  18 3 16.7 1,405 89 6.3  3,148 128 4.1  4,571  220  4.8 21 3  14.3 2,003  141  7.0 

Dodge 2 1 50.0 73 8  11.0 141 0 0.0 216 9  4.2 2 1  50.0 102 10  9.8 

Douglas 4 1 25.0 176 13 7.4 445 13 2.9 625 27  4.3 4 1  25.0 239 16  6.7 

Faribault 1 0  0.0 57 7  12.3 152 4 2.6 210 11  5.2 1 0 0.0 77 9 11.7 

Fillmore 1 1  100 59 7  11.9 103 0 0.0 163 8  4.9 1 1 100 76 9 11.8 

Freeborn 6 2 33.3 154 10 6.5 447 19 4.3 607 31  5.1 6 2 33.3 207 15  7.2 

Goodhue 4 1 25.0 209 17 8.1 557 18 3.2 770 36  4.7 5 1  20.0 298 20  6.7 

Grant 0 0  0.0 25 3  12.0 49 1 2.0 74 4  5.4 0 0 0.0 38 3  7.9 

Hennepin  33 9 27.3 6,132  397 6.5 14,142 529 3.7 20,307  935  4.6 38  10  26.3 8,476  521  6.1 

Houston 1 0  0.0 57 7  12.3 175 9 5.1 233 16  6.9 2 0 0.0 67 8 11.9 

Hubbard 2 2  100 67 9  13.4 90 8 8.9 159 19 11.9 2 2 100 92 19 20.7 

Isanti 7 1 14.3 124 7 5.6 210 11 5.2 341 19  5.6 13 6  46.2 190 14  7.4 

Itasca 5 1 20.0 160 23  14.4 346 13 3.8 511 37  7.2 5 1  20.0 248 38 15.3 

Jackson 4 0  0.0 64 3   4.7 117 4 3.4 185 7  3.8 4 0 0.0 92 3  3.3 

Kanabec 2 0  0.0 60 8  13.3 97 3 3.1 159 11  6.9 2 0 0.0 81 11 13.6 

Kandiyohi 1 0  0.0 219 8 3.7 428 15 3.5 648 23  3.5 2 0 0.0 347 18  5.2 

Kittson 1 1  100 8 0 0.0 11 0 0.0 20 1  5.0 1 1 100 11 0  0.0 

Koochiching 1 1  100 34 5  14.7 68 2 2.9 103 8  7.8 1 1 100 56 14 25.0 

Lac Qui Parle 1 1  100 30 3  10.0 21 1 4.8 52 5  9.6 2 2 100 41 3  7.3 

Lake 2 0  0.0 33 8  24.2 52 3 5.8 87 11 12.6 2 0  0.0 46 12 26.1 

Lake Woods 1 0  0.0 7 1  14.3 11 1 9.1 19 2 10.5 1 0 0.0 8 1 12.5 

Le Sueur 2 2  100 89 11  12.4 229 7 3.1 320 20  6.3 2 2 100 117 16 13.7 

Lincoln 0 0  0.0 25 1 4.0 72 3 4.2 97 4  4.1 0 0 0.0  36 2  5.6 

Lyon  0 0  0.0 98 8 8.2 255 7 2.7 353 15  4.2 0 0 0.0 145 10  6.9 

McLeod 6 1 16.7 124 11 8.9 342 5 1.5 472 17  3.6 7 1  14.3 183 15  8.2 

Mahnomen 3 3  100 9 2  22.2 28 3  10.7 40 8 20.0 3 3 100 17 6 35.3 

Marshall 2 1 50.0 15 2  13.3 21 3  14.3 38 6 15.8 2 1  50.0 26 2  7.7 

Martin 5 2 40.0 98 9   9.2 204 6 2.9 307 17  5.5 10 6  60.0 150 13  8.7 

Meeker 4 2 50.0 72 9  12.5 135 5 3.7 211 16  7.6 7 4  57.1 113 12 10.6 

Mille Lacs 5 3 60.0 103 13  12.6 127 3 2.4 235 19  8.1 5 3  60.0 191 7 15.2 

Morrison 1 0  0.0 130  16  12.3 201 9 4.5 332 25  7.5 1 0  0.0 171 20 11.7 

Mower 3 0  0.0 131  10 7.6 364 10 2.7 498 20  4.0 3 0  0.0 194 17  8.8 

Murray 1 0  0.0 37 2 5.4 52 2 3.8 90 4  4.4 1 0  0.0 55 3  5.5 

Nicollet 3 1 33.3 115 5 4.3 408 19 4.7 526 25  4.8 3 1 33.3 148 7  4.7 

Nobles 5 1 20.0 129 7 5.4 317 9 2.8 451 17  3.8 5 1 20.0 205 15  7.3 

Norman 0 0  0.0 18 4  22.2 42 0 0.0 60 4  6.7 0 0  0.0 30 5 16.7 

Olmsted 2 1 50.0 596  34   5.7  1,476 45 3.0  2,074 80  3.9 2 1 50.0 836 45  5.4 
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TABLE 5.03 (Continued) 

TRAFFIC CRASHES, FATALITIES, AND INJURIES -- TOTAL AND ALCOHOL-
RELATED BY COUNTY IN MINNESOTA, 2010 

 TRAFFIC CRASHES PERSONS KILLED OR INJURED 
 

FATAL 
CRASHES 

INJURY 
CRASHES 

PROPERTY 
DAMAGE ONLY 

CRASHES 
TOTAL 

CRASHES KILLED INJURED 

COUNTY 
(1) 

 
All 
(2) 

Alco
-hol 

(3) 

 %  
Alc 
(4) 

 
All 
(5) 

Alco
-hol 

(6) 

 %  
Alc 
(7) 

 
All 
(8) 

Alc
-hol 

(9) 

 %  
Alc 
(10) 

 
All 

(11) 

Alco
-hol 
(12) 

 % 
Alc 
(13) 

 
All 

(14) 

Alco
-hol 
(15) 

 %  
Alc 
(16) 

 
All 

(17) 

Alco
-hol 
(18) 

 %  
Alc 
(19) 

Otter Tail  12 4 33.3 209  17 8.1 425 14 3.3 646 35  5.4 14 5 35.7 290 27  9.3 

Pennington 3 2 66.7 53 5 9.4 62 4 6.5 118 11  9.3 3 2 66.7 78 10 12.8 

Pine 7 4 57.1 105  13  12.4 150 8 5.3 262 25  9.5 8 4 50.0 170 23 13.5 

Pipestone 3 2 66.7 36 8  22.2 53 2 3.8 92 12 13.0 3 2 66.7 50 11 22.0 

Polk 6 1 16.7 111  15  13.5 211 13 6.2 328 29  8.8 7 1 14.3 153 18 11.8 

Pope 0 0  0.0 37   4  10.8 54 4 7.4 91 8  8.8 0 0  0.0 45 4  8.9 

Ramsey  10 6 60.0 2,467 175 7.1  8,243  291 3.5 10,720  472  4.4 11 6 54.5 3,366  256  7.6 

Red Lake 2 1 50.0 5 3  60.0 6 0 0.0 13 4 30.8 2 1 50.0 6 4 66.7 

Redwood 1 1  100 65 5 7.7 96 1 1.0 162 7  4.3 1 1  100 111 5  4.5 

Renville 3 0  0.0 63 6 9.5 86 2 2.3 152 8  5.3 3 0  0.0 99 8  8.1 

Rice 4 1 25.0 243  22 9.1 484 19 3.9 731 42  5.7 4 1 25.0 334 39 11.7 

Rock 3 0  0.0 47 2 4.3 124 2 1.6 174 4  2.3 4 0  0.0 69 2  2.9 

Roseau 1 0  0.0 35 4  11.4 50 2 4.0 86 6  7.0 1 0  0.0 55 4  7.3 

St. Louis  14 3 21.4 794  74 9.3  2,371  107 4.5  3,179  184  5.8 16 5 31.3 1,097  105  9.6 

Scott 8 1 12.5 371  35 9.4 749 25 3.3  1,128 61  5.4 8 1 12.5 582 66 11.3 

Sherburne  15 7 46.7 336  26 7.7 729  23 3.2  1,080 56  5.2 15 7 46.7 491 38  7.7 

Sibley 4 0  0.0 47 6  12.8 91 1 1.1 142 7  4.9 5 0  0.0 73 7  9.6 

Stearns  14 3 21.4 690  42 6.1  1,688 53 3.1  2,392 98  4.1 15 3 20.0 957 64  6.7 

Steele 7 1 14.3 157 8 5.1 286 7 2.4 450 16  3.6 7 1 14.3 220 10  4.5 

Stevens 1 1  100 31 5  16.1 83 0 0.0 115 6  5.2 1 1  100 48 5 10.4 

Swift 3 0  0.0 21 3  14.3 58 3 5.2 82 6  7.3 4 0  0.0 35 7 20.0 

Todd 2 0  0.0 99  17  17.2 131 5 3.8 232 22  9.5 3 0  0.0 158 29 18.4 

Traverse 0 0  0.0 10 3  30.0 19 0 0.0 29 3 10.3 0 0  0.0 13 3 23.1 

Wabasha 2 1 50.0 66 5 7.6 152 9 5.9 220 15  6.8 2 1 50.0 111 5  4.5 

Wadena 1 0  0.0 43 7  16.3 81 3 3.7 125 10  8.0  1 0  0.0 76 7  9.2 

Waseca 3 1 33.3 62  13  21.0 139 4 2.9 204 18  8.8 3 1 33.3 88 17 19.3 

Washington  11 3 27.3 806  69 8.6  1,714 59 3.4  2,531  131  5.2 11 3 27.3 1,150  109  9.5 

Watonwan 1 1  100 43 0 0.0 107 0 0.0 151 1  0.7 1 1  100 63 0  0.0 

Wilkin 4 0  0.0 42   4   9.5 82 2 2.4 128 6  4.7 4 0  0.0 57 5  8.8 

Winona 7 1 14.3 218  26  11.9 444 12 2.7 669 39  5.8 9 1 11.1 299 31 10.4 

Wright 6 2 33.3 337  26 7.7 749 25 3.3  1,092 53  4.9 6 2 33.3 503 42  8.3 

Yellow Med 0 0  0.0 34 4  11.8 63 7  11.1 97 11 11.3 0 0  0.0 48 6 12.5 

Unknown 0 0  0.0 0 0 0.0 1 0 0.0 1 0  0.0 0 0  0.0 0 0  0.0 

Minnesota 364 113 31.0 22,013 1,723 7.8 51,696 1,907 3.7 74,073 3,743 5.1 411 131 31.9 31,176 2,485 8.0 
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TABLE 5.04 

COST OF ALCOHOL-RELATED TRAFFIC CRASHES, 
FATALITIES, AND INJURIES, BY COUNTY, 2010 

City Cost City Cost City Cost 

Aitkin $4,096,800 Itasca 2,323,700 Pope 91,900 

Anoka  11,265,400 Jackson 134,900 Ramsey 15,692,600 

Becker 1,940,000 Kanabec 244,900 Red Lake  1,404,500 

Beltrami 2,270,500 Kandiyohi 355,700 Redwood  1,415,600 

Benton 703,100 Kittson 1,290,000 Renville 199,500 

Big Stone 34,300 Koochiching 1,575,000 Rice  2,754,100 

Blue Earth 3,444,800 Lac Qui Parle 2,680,800 Rock 50,700 

Brown 1,696,900 Lake 312,700 Roseau 75,500 

Carlton 4,007,100 Lake of the Woods 30,100 St. Louis  9,735,900 

Carver 2,574,600 Le Sueur 2,948,200 Scott  2,671,200 

Cass 2,194,100 Lincoln 68,400 Sherburne 10,147,300 

Chippewa 1,618,000 Lyon  303,300 Sibley 178,900 

Chisago 2,217,500 McLeod 1,583,500 Stearns  5,433,800 

Clay 3,429,600 Mahnomen 4,052,900 Steele  1,490,400 

Clearwater 132,200 Marshall 1,358,400 Stevens  1,426,400 

Cook 87,700 Martin 8,007,400 Swift 130,400 

Cottonwood 58,900 Meeker 5,609,400 Todd 503,500 

Crow Wing 4,626,200 Mille Lacs 4,524,900 Traverse 46,700 

Dakota 8,149,700 Morrison 480,100 Wabasha  1,519,200 

Dodge 1,497,900 Mower 330,800 Wadena 185,800 

Douglas 1,661,500 Murray 63,100 Waseca  1,821,700 

Faribault 310,600 Nicollet 1,662,400 Washington  6,683,700 

Fillmore 1,495,000 Nobles 1,893,300 Watonwan  1,290,000 

Freeborn 3,043,700 Norman 81,000 Wilkin 87,900 

Goodhue 1,881,900 Olmsted 2,644,400 Winona  1,981,800 

Grant 156,200 Otter Tail 7,031,000 Wright  3,855,100 

Hennepin  26,764,600 Pennington 2,793,800 Yellow Med 298,000 

Houston 201,500 Pine 5,946,100   

Hubbard 3,215,200 Pipestone 2,826,200   

Isanti 8,143,100 Polk 1,667,300 Minnesota $ 238,914,400 

Note:  Costs are calculated using estimates, provided 

annually by the National Safety Council, that do not 

attempt to include ―comprehensive costs‖ of traffic 

crashes, deaths and injuries, but just direct costs due to 

medical expense, property damage, and lost produc- 

tivity.  Other procedures (e.g.; those used by the US 

Department of Transportation) that do attempt to 

include comprehensive costs result in total cost 

estimates about three times as great as those calculated 

here. 
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APPENDIX A 

Terms Describing Impaired Driving Incident in Minnesota 

 
This report is produced by the Office of Traffic Safety 

in the Minnesota Department of Public Safety and 

provides information about impaired driving in the 

state.  The report is meant to aid in describing the 

parameters of a significant public health threat, but 

there are problems in reporting the statistics in a clear 

way.  The problems are mainly due to (1) the lack of a 

clear terminology and (2) the complexity of 

Minnesota‘s impaired driving laws. 

There is no clearly defined set of terms to describe 

impaired driving situations.  For traffic crashes, 

Minnesota follows the American National Standards 

Institute‘s ―Manual on Classification of Motor Vehicle 

Traffic Accidents,‖  which has been in use (with new 

editions periodically) nationwide since the 1940s.  

There is no similar manual for describing impaired 

driving incidents.   

In this report, the term ―impaired driving‖ is used, but 

even it has problems.  For example, if an officer 

arrests a person for DWI, and the person refuses to 

take the alcohol test and then plea-bargains the DWI 

charge to speeding, the incident is still classified as an 

impaired driving incident since the test refusal violates 

the Implied Consent Law which is part of the 

Impaired Driving Code.  But the fact of impairment 

was not actually established.  Definitions of terms are 

shown below, but these definitions are subject to 

change in the future.  

The second obstacle to clear statistical reporting is the 

complexity of the law.  Minnesota enacted its first 

DWI law in 1911.  There are now more than 35,000 

DWI arrests annually -- more than for any other 

criminal offense in the state.  For nearly a century, 

defense attorneys have found loopholes in the law, 

while the state has sought to tighten the law. 

Apart from the DWI laws themselves, there is an 

important distinction between criminal offenses and 

civil law violations.  Minnesota Statute (MS) 609.02 

defines ―crime‖ as ―conduct ... for which the actor 

may be sentenced to imprisonment...‖  Therefore, a 

crime is committed if a person performs a behavior 

the law defines as criminal, regardless of whether the 

person is detected, arrested, prosecuted, found guilty, 

and sentenced to jail or prison. 

In contrast, a civil law violation cannot lead to 

incarceration.
††††

   In impaired driving cases under 

civil law, when a person refuses or fails an alcohol or 

drug test, the police officer acts as agent of the 

Commissioner of Public Safety and issues the driver 

license revocation form.  In some cases the 

Commissioner may impose additional requirements 

(e.g. treatment), but the Commissioner cannot impose 

a jail sentence. 

This report uses the following conventions:  The terms 

―crime,‖ ―offense,‖ and ―criminal offense‖ are used to 

describe violations of the criminal impaired driving 

law.  The term ―violation‖ is used to describe a 

breaking of the civil Implied Consent law.  

―Violation‖ and ―violator‖  are general terms though.  

Thus, a crime is a type of violation, and ―violator‖ 

refers to a person who breaks a criminal law, a civil 

law, or both. 

Minnesota‘s first DWI law consisted of a single 

sentence:  ―Whoever operates a motor vehicle while in 

an intoxicated condition shall be guilty of a 

misdemeanor.‖  The current law takes an entire 

chapter (MS 169A)  and defines it to be a crime for a 

person to ―drive, operate, or be in physical control of 

any motor vehicle within this state...‖ when the person 

is under the influence of alcohol, or under the 

influence of any of a large number of impairing 

                                                           
††††

 Also, a person is not considered to have violated a 

civil law unless it is so determined through a legal 

process.  Thus, a person can sue another for breach of 

contract, but the other person‘s behavior is not a 

violation unless a court determines that it is.  The 

defendant might then be ordered to make restitution, 

or pay a fine, but cannot be incarcerated. 
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substances, or when the person has an alcohol 

concentration of 0.08 or more, or when a person 

refuses to take a test under the Implied Consent Law, 

and so on. 

In 1961, Minnesota passed the civil ―Implied 

Consent‖ law, defining the principle that by driving on 

a public roadway, a person by implication gives 

consent to a test for alcohol upon being stopped by an 

officer having probable cause to suspect impairment.  

If the driver refused the test, the State would revoke 

the person‘s driving license for six months.   

In 1971, the criminal law was amended to stipulate 

that having an alcohol concentration of 0.10 or higher 

was no longer just prima facie evidence of 

intoxication, but was in itself (―per se”) a crime.
‡‡‡‡

  

Thus, Minnesota‘s ―criminal per se‖ law dates from 

1971.  

In 1976, Minnesota became the first state to pass an 

―administrative per se‖ law, authorizing the 

Commissioner of Public Safety to revoke a person‘s 

driver‘s license upon refusal to take the alcohol test or 

upon taking and ―failing‖ the test.
§§§§

  The 

Commissioner imposes this revocation independently 

of whatever happens in the criminal DWI case, and 

without the need to prove guilt to the higher level 

required in the criminal case.  Almost all states now 

have an ―administrative per se‖ law.
*****

 

Thus Minnesota pioneered the ―two-track system.‖  

The Commissioner of Public Safety revokes the 

driver‘s license if a person fails or refuses the test, 

even if the person is found not guilty of the criminal 

DWI charge.  Likewise a court can find a person 

guilty of impaired driving even in the absence of a test 

failure or refusal. 

The complexity of the law often causes more than one 

violation to be recorded on a person‘s driving record 

for a single incident.  To make up an extreme 

example:  Suppose a 20-year-old commercial vehicle 

driver is driving while impaired by a combination of 

alcohol and marijuana and has a crash killing another 

                                                           
‡‡‡‡

 In 2004 the Legislature reduced the per se level to 

0.08%, effective August 1, 2005. 
§§§§

 The District of Columbia had a similar ordinance, 

but Minnesota was the first state to pass ―administra-

tive per se.‖ 
*****

 Though Minnesota was the first state to have such 

a law, the District of Columbia had a similar 

ordinance prior to the passing of the Minnesota law. 

driver and injuring two passengers.  Upon arrest, the 

driver refuses a urine test for drugs, but takes and fails 

the breath test, with an alcohol concentration of 

0.15%.   

The driver potentially could incur the following 

violations.  The alcohol test failure is a criminal 

offense under MS 169A.20(1).  It is also a civil law 

violation under MS 169A.52(4).  The drug test refusal 

is a criminal offense under MS 169A.20(2) and is also 

a civil law violation under MS 169A.52(3).  Since the 

driver was under age 21, he violated MS 169A.33(2).  

As a commercial vehicle driver with an AC over .04, 

he violated MS 169A.20(6) and also MS 169A.52(2).  

Since the incident caused a death and two injuries, a 

felony conviction for criminal vehicular operation 

resulting in a fatality is possible under MS 609.21(1), 

and two separate felony convictions for criminal 

vehicular operation resulting in an injury are possible 

under MS 609.21(2).  Each of the above violations 

could cause an entry to the person‘s driver record 

(although there can be only one offense under 

MS169A.20).  

Since a single incident may lead to multiple 

violations, a circumstance such as the following could 

occur:  In a year, there are 35,000 impaired driving 

arrests.  Five-hundred of those never get recorded as 

an impaired driving incident.  Among the remaining 

34,500 arrests that do lead to an impaired driving 

incident on record, there are 34,000 civil Implied 

Consent law violations, and 27,000 impaired-driving 

criminal convictions, for a total of 61,000 violations.  

In addition, Minnesotans may incur violations in other 

states and those will be placed on their Minnesota 

driving record.  Also, non-Minnesotans incur 

violations in Minnesota, and the Department of Public 

Safety creates a record in the state‘s driver license file 

to keep track of those violations.   

For all these reasons, it is useful to distinguish 

between incidents, violations, and violators.  The 

number of incidents on record in a year should show a 

close correspondence to the number of arrests in a 

year.  Violations will be more numerous, and the types 

of violations incurred will help to characterize an 

incident.  For example, did the incident involve test 

failure or test refusal?  Was an injury or fatality 

involved?  It is also useful to think about incidents 

separately from the persons who committed them.  A 

person may go through an irresponsible phase in his or 

her life and incur several incidents in a year or two, 

and then reform.  Thus, in a year, there may be 34,500 

incidents on record, but if 1,500 persons were arrested 

twice, and 500 were arrested three times in the year, 
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then 32,000 persons accounted for the 34,500 

incidents. 

In this report, Section I deals with impaired driving 

incidents -- when and where they occurred, what types 

of violations were involved, and so on.  Section II 

shows the criminal conviction rates for the incidents.  

Section III deals with persons -- How many have DWI 

incidents on record?  How many prior incidents do 

they have? and so on.  Section IV focuses more 

specifically on recidivism.  Section V reports statistics 

on crashes and their costs.  For each county, it shows 

total crashes, fatalities, and injuries, and the number 

and percentage of them of them that were classified as 

alcohol-related. 

APPENDIX B 

DEFINITIONS 

 
Disqualification  

A ―disqualification‖ is the action taken by the 

Commissioner of Public Safety on a person‘s 

commercial vehicle driver‘s license upon being 

notified that the person was operating a commercial 

vehicle while having an alcohol concentration of 

.04% or higher.  The Commissioner ―disqualifies‖ the 

driver from operating commercial vehicles.  This 

action is mandated under the Implied Consent Law, 

MS 169A.52.  (MS 169A.20 makes it a crime for a 

person to operate a commercial vehicle while having 

an alcohol concentration over 0.04% and provides for 

separate actions upon conviction.) 

A disqualification is not counted as an impaired 

driving incident unless the driver also had a regular 

implied consent law violation or impaired driving 

conviction. 

DWI 
 ―DWI‖ appears to be the historic and classic 

term to designate impaired driving.  It may not have a 

precise definition.  It could stand for driving while 

intoxicated, driving while under the influence, 

driving while impaired. 

 In Minnesota, a usage evolved to some extent 

that the term ―DWI‖ refers to an actual conviction 

under the criminal statute while the term ―implied 

consent‖ or ―administrative license revocation‖ refers 

to the revocation by the Commissioner of Public 

Safety under the Implied Consent law. 

 Thus, if John Doe got convicted in court under 

MS169A.20, it would be said that he ―got a DWI.‖  If 

he did not get convicted but did get revoked under 

the Implied Consent law (169A.50 to 169A.53), then 

it would not be said that he got a DWI, but that he 

―got an implied consent.‖ 

 Throughout this report, the term ―impaired 

driving incident [on record]‖ (or merely ―incident‖) is 

used as a collective term to designate a ―DWI,‖ or an 

implied consent revocation, or a single incident that 

resulted in both an administrative license revocation 

and a criminal conviction for an offense specified in 

the impaired driving code. 

DWI Law 
 In 2000, the Legislature completely recodified 

Minnesota‘s DWI law.  The changes mostly took 

effect January 1, 2001.  The law up through year 

2000 had become gradually more complex.  The 

main criminal law was contained in MS 169.121.  

Other DWI criminal laws were 169.1211 and 

169.129.  These laws contained many references to 

other laws which had to be consulted to fully 

understand the main law.  The Implied Consent law 

was MS 169.123, and there were many references 

between it and the criminal DWI laws. 

 The 2000 recodification combined all of these 

into a new chapter MS 169A, and specified that ―this 

chapter may be cited as the Minnesota Impaired 

Driving Code.‖ 

 Thus, the term ―DWI law‖ increasingly appears 

obsolete and the preferred term increasingly appears 

to be ―impaired driving law." 
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Implied Consent Law 
Minnesota Statutes, sections 169A.50 to 

169A.53, make up the ―Implied Consent‖ law -- the 

civil law stating that by implication a person who 

drives in Minnesota gives his or her consent to a 

chemical test for purposes of gathering evidence as to 

whether or not an offense under Minnesota‘s 

impaired driving law has occurred.  The chemical test 

can be of a person‘s blood, breath, or urine, and the 

test can be for alcohol or for any other substance 

specified in MS 169A.20.  Under the Implied 

Consent Law, the Commissioner of Public Safety 

imposes a one-year license revocation for test refusal, 

or a ninety-day to one-year revocation (depending on 

the prior record) for a test failure.  

Incident  
An episode of impaired driving, regardless of 

whether it is detected and prosecuted. 

Incident on Record 
An incident on record is an episode of impaired 

driving or an episode in which the Implied Consent 

law was violated and the following also occurred:  

The incident was detected and a stop was made and 

the driver was found in court to have violated the 

criminal impaired driving law 169A.20, or it was 

established that the driver violated the Implied 

Consent law either (1) by taking a chemical test and 

―failing‖ it, or (2) by refusing to take the required 

test.  Furthermore, the fact of this criminal offense 

and/or civil law violation has been recorded on the 

person‘s Minnesota driving record. 

Minnesota Resident   
As used in this report, a person for whom records 

maintained by the Department of Public Safety show 

to be a current resident of Minnesota.  Note that the 

Department of Public Safety may not be promptly 

notified that a person died, or (as may especially be 

true of multiple DWI offenders) that a person moved 

from the state. 

Non-Minnesota Resident 
As used in this report, a person for whom records 

maintained by the Department of Public Safety show 

as not being a current resident of Minnesota.  The 

person may have been a resident and moved away, or 

may never have been a resident. 

Not-a-drop   
Minnesota Statute 169A.33 is sometimes 

referred to as the ―not a drop‖ law.  It provides that a 

person under the age of 21 who drives with any 

amount of alcohol shall have his or her license 

revoked by the Commissioner of Public Safety.  In 

this report, a not-a-drop violation is not counted as an 

impaired driving incident unless the driver also had a 

regular implied consent law violation or impaired 

driving conviction. 

Offender  
A person who has committed a petty 

misdemeanor, misdemeanor, gross misdemeanor, or 

felony, regardless of whether it is detected and 

prosecuted. 

Offense 
A petty misdemeanor, misdemeanor, gross 

misdemeanor, or felony.  (All DWI offenses are 

misdemeanor or higher.)  An offense may or may not 

be detected and prosecuted. 

Violation  
A breaking of one of Minnesota‘s criminal or 

civil laws. 

Violator  
A person who breaks a criminal or civil law in 

Minnesota. 
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APPENDIX C 

CHRONOLOGY OF MINNESOTA IMPAIRED DRIVING LEGISLATION SINCE 1911 

Laws that appear especially significant--to be ―landmarks‖--are highlighted in bold font.  Starting in 1987, 

the date on which a law went into effect is shown in parentheses after the description of the law. 

Appendix C:  Minnesota Impaired Driving Legislation Chronology 

Year 
passed 

Reference 
number 

Description of Amendment 

1911 1 Driving while in an intoxicated condition is defined to be a misdemeanor. 
1917 1 Three-month forfeiture of driver‘s license upon conviction for DWI. 

 2 Violation of license forfeiture is defined to be a misdemeanor. 

1925 1 A second or subsequent DWI is raised to gross misdemeanor status. 
 2 Criminal penalty for repeat offenders shall include license revocation for three months to one 

year. 

1927 1 First DWI offense raised to gross misdemeanor status. 
 2 Prison for all offenders. 

Penalty for all offenders:  prison 10 days to 1 year, plus fine of not more than $1,000, plus 

license revocation for not longer than two years. 

1937 1 All DWI offenses reduced to misdemeanor status. 
 2 Criminal penalties reduced. 

 Penalty for first offense: Prison 10 to 90 days or fine of $10 to $100, or both. 

  License revocation. 

 Penalty for repeat offenders: Prison 30 to 90 days or fine of $25 to $100, or both. 

 License revocation. 

1939 1 Commissioner shall revoke offenders‘ driver‘s licenses in accordance with recommendation of 

the court. 

1941 1 90 day license revocation. 
All offenders shall have driver‘s license revoked for not less than 90 days. 

1955 1 Blood alcohol concentration (“BAC”) levels defined for use as evidence. 
Results of chemical test for level of alcohol in the blood as measured from blood, breath, urine, 

or saliva specimen taken from defendant within two hours of arrest, is admissible as evidence. 

 BAC of .000 to .049 is prima facie evidence of innocence. 

 BAC of .050 to .149 is relevant, but not prima facie, evidence of intoxication. 

 BAC of .150 or greater is  prima facie evidence of intoxication. 

1957 1 Two-hour time limit (see 1955:1) changed from two hours from time of arrest to two hours 

from time of offense. 

 2 License revocation reduced. 
License revocation for first offenders reduced from 90 days to not less than 30 days.   

Penalty for a repeat offense within three years increased to prison for 10 to 90 days, plus license 

revocation for not less than 90 days. 
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Appendix C:  Minnesota Impaired Driving Legislation Chronology 

Year passed Reference 
number 

Description of Amendment 

1957 
(Continued) 

3 Offense causing injury or death. 

Penalty for offenders causing grievous injury or death:  prison 60 to 90 days, plus license 

revocation for not less than 90 days. 

1959 1 Open Bottle Law. 
It is a misdemeanor to have an open container of alcohol in the passenger compartment of a 

vehicle. 

1961 1 Implied Consent Law. 
Under civil law, a person who drives a motor vehicle on a public roadway is deemed to have 

given consent to a test for blood alcohol concentration by means of testing a blood, breath, 

urine, or saliva specimen. 

 2 Commissioner to revoke driver‟s license for 6 months for test refusal. 
Under the rationale provided by the new civil Implied Consent law, Commissioner shall impose 

a 6-month license revocation on persons who refuse to submit to evidentiary BAC test. 

 The Commissioner shall issue a twenty-day temporary license to give the person time 

to appeal, and the license revocation shall take effect at the end of twenty days, barring appeal. 

 3 Refusal to submit to evidentiary test shall not be admissible as evidence in criminal court. 

 4 When BAC is measured by test of breath, urine, or saliva, the BAC levels defined as ―relevant‖ 

and ―prima facie” evidence of intoxication (see 1955:1) shall be increased by 20%. 

1967 1 Elimination of use of saliva test to determine BAC. 

 2 Two-hour time limit on collection of evidence removed. 

 3 BAC level of 0.10% is prima facie evidence of intoxication. 
 A BAC of 0.000--0.049 shall be considered prima facie evidence of innocence. 

 A BAC of 0.055--0.099 shall be considered as relevant, but not prima facie, evidence 

of intoxication. 

 A BAC of 0.100 or greater shall be considered prima facie evidence of intoxication. 

 4 When BAC is measured by test of breath or urine, the BAC levels defined as ―relevant‖ and 

―prima facie” evidence of intoxication (see 1967:3) shall be increased by 10%. 

Late 1960s 1 The “B-Card” restriction 
Commissioner initiates administrative policy (under authority of MS 171.04, in effect since 

1957, or before) that the driver‘s license of a person convicted of DWI a third time within 5 

years, or a fourth or subsequent time within ten years, shall be ―cancelled and denied‖ on the 

grounds that the Commissioner has determined that it would be ―inimical to public safety‖ for 

the person to hold a driver‘s license. 

 The driver‘s license may be reinstated if the person complies with rehabilitation 

requirements established by Commissioner. 

 Included in the administrative procedures is the important restriction now referred to as 

the ―B-Card restriction.‖   The person‘s driver‘s license shows the ―B-Card‖ restriction, which, 

specifically, is that the person may not consume any alcohol anywhere under any 

circumstances.   If the commissioner learns that the person has failed to comply with this 

restriction, then the Commissioner re-imposes the ―cancel[ed] and deny‖ action on the person‘s 

driver‘s license. 

1969 1 Upon medical recommendation, court may stay imposition of criminal penalties on condition 

that offender submit to medical treatment. 
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Appendix C:  Minnesota Impaired Driving Legislation Chronology 

Year 
passed 

Reference 
number 

Description of Amendment 

1971 1 Criminal per se law enacted.   
A BAC of .10% is defined to be illegal per se (in itself):  If an evidentiary chemical test to 

determine BAC shows that one-tenth of one percent (1 part per thousand) of the driver‘s blood 

is alcohol, then the driver has committed a misdemeanor.  It is not necessary to prove that the 

driver was ―intoxicated‖ or impaired.  The BAC of 0.10% or greater is itself a misdemeanor.  

 This landmark law facilitated prosecution; however, it had the unintended effect of 

causing the BAC level, instead of actual impairment, to become the standard for proving guilt.  

Drivers might be very impaired at lower BAC levels, but a BAC below 0.10% would make 

prosecution difficult. 

 2 Preliminary breath test.  
Officer may utilize preliminary breath test to help determine if there are probable grounds for 

arrest and for request for the evidentiary test. 

 3 Test at scene of accident, upon probable cause. 

When a person is involved in a traffic crash causing property damage, injury, or death, officer 

may, upon probable cause to suspect a violation, request preliminary and evidentiary BAC 

tests of person (under penalty of license revocation for refusal). 

 4 The per se illegal BAC level of 0.10% no longer has to be increased by 10% (see 1967:4) 

when BAC is measured through test of breath or urine specimen. 

1973 1 Maximum fine for a first offense increased to $300.00. 

 2 Penalty for offenders causing grievous injury or death reduced to prison for 60 to 90 days, or 

fine of not more than $300, or both, plus license revocation for not less than 90 days.  (Prison 

is no longer mandated; see 1957:3.) 

1976 1 “Administrative per se” law enacted. 
Important landmark:  Though the District of Columbia had a similar ordinance, Minnesota is 

the first state to enact the now almost universal ―administrative per se‖ law. 

 The Commissioner of Public Safety automatically imposes a 90-day license 

revocation on drivers found to have a BAC of 0.10% or higher.  The Commissioner first issues 

a 20-day temporary license, during which time the driver may request a judicial hearing on the 

administrative revocation.  (Test refusal continues to trigger a six-month license revocation; 

see 1961:1.) 

 A request for a hearing stays imposition of the revocation. 

 2 Commissioner may issue limited licenses to persons whose licenses were revoked under the 

―administrative per se” law. 

 3 Alcohol safety programs in counties 
Counties of more than 10,000 population shall establish ―Alcohol Safety Programs‖ to conduct 

alcohol problem assessments on DWI (and other) offenders.  Results of assessments to be 

reported to the court. 

 The court may stay criminal penalties and require the offender to get treatment.  The 

court may do this on the basis of the ―alcohol problem assessment‖ report; a medical 

examination of the offender is no longer required. 

 4 If a first-time offender complies with treatment program, the commissioner may terminate the 

administrative per se revocation after 60 days. 

1978 1 Administrative revocation expedited. 
Arresting officer shall serve as ―agent of the commissioner‖ and shall confiscate the person‘s 

driver‘s license, forward it to the Commissioner, and shall a issue temporary license, valid for 

30 days, to the person. 
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Appendix C:  Minnesota Impaired Driving Legislation Chronology 

Year  passed Reference 
number 

Description of Amendment 

1978 
(Continued) 

2 Person has 30 days to request a judicial hearing on the administrative revocation for test 

failure or test refusal.  A request for a hearing stays imposition of the revocation. 

 3 Concept of BAC changed to AC (alcohol concentration). 
Per se illegal levels are separately defined for alcohol concentrations in blood, breath, and 

urine. 

 4 Criminal penalties explicitly defined. 

 For first offense:  prison for not more than 90 days, or fine of not more than $500, or 

both, plus license revocation for not less than 30 days. 

 Offense within 3 years of a prior offense:  prison for not more than 90 days, or fine of 

not more than $500 (raised from $300), or both, plus revocation of not less than 90 

days.  

 For offenders causing bodily harm or death:  prison for not more than 90 days, or fine 

of not more than $500, or both, plus license revocation for not less than 90 days. 

 5 “Aggravated violations” raised to gross misdemeanor status.  
(An aggravated violation is the act of driving while under the influence while already under 

revocation for driving while under the influence.) 

 6 Jurisdiction for prosecuting aggravated violations transferred from county court to district 

court. 

 7 Upon conviction, court shall act for commissioner by taking person‘s driver‘s license and 

sending it to the commissioner, if the license has not already been taken by officer at time of 

arrest 

 8 Court shall give due consideration to alcohol problem assessment report. 

 9 “B-Card restriction” upon implied consent violation. 
Commissioner shall ―cancel and deny‖ driver‘s license of persons who incur a third incident 

in five years, or a fourth or subsequent incident in 10 years, where incident is defined as 

either an implied consent violation or an impaired driving conviction.  The cancellation shall 

remain in effect until rehabilitation requirements imposed by the commissioner are proven to 

have been met.  Licenses reinstated will include the ―B-card restriction‖ (requiring total 

abstinence, 24 hour a day).  Formerly, license cancellation and denial, and the B-card 

restriction if reinstated, was only applied upon a third criminal conviction.  (See entry under 

―late 1960s.‖) 

1980 1 A request for testimony of person who performed laboratory analysis must be received at 

least ten days in advance of judicial hearing on administrative revocation, and, also, at least 

ten days in advance of trial. 

1981 1 Court may not stay imposition of the license revocation under criminal law (but may still 

order a limited license to be issued). 

1982 1 At a crash scene, upon probable cause, officer may arrest a person for driving while under the 

influence, without warrant, regardless of whether officer witnessed violation. 

 2 Officer no longer required to offer blood test. 

 3 Temporary license issued by officer at time of arrest is valid for 7 days (reduced from 30). 

 4 Request for judicial hearing no longer stays revocation from taking effect. 
Defense attorneys had used the mechanism of requesting a judicial hearing on the 

administrative revocation as a tactic to delay and weaken the state‘s case. 

 This landmark change, whereby the hearing request no longer stays imposition of 

the revocation, caused hearing requests filed with Attorney General‘s Office to decrease from 

about 1,000 per month to about 100 per month. 
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Appendix C:  Minnesota Impaired Driving Legislation Chronology 

Year passed Reference 
number 

Description of Amendment 

1982 
(Continued) 

5 Judicial hearing procedure expedited. 

 ―The hearing shall be held at the earliest practicable data, and in any event no later than 60 

days following the filing of the petition for review.‖ 

 6 Administrative review of the Implied Consent revocation. 

Establishes procedure, independent of judicial hearing, for administrative review (by commissioner) of 

administrative revocation.  A request for administrative review shall not stay imposition of revocation. 

 7 A request for testimony of person who drew blood must be received at least ten days in advance of 

judicial hearing on administrative revocation, and, also, at least ten days in advance of trial. 

 8 Alcohol concentration test result on specimen taken within two hours of offense is deemed to be 

alcohol concentration at time of offense.  (Ruled unconstitutional; see 1984:4) 

 9 Absence of alcohol concentration test shall be admissible as evidence.  (Compare with 1961:3 and 

1983:2.) 

 10 Repeat offender definition expanded. 

Definition of second offender expanded to include those who had a prior conviction within 5 

(increased from 3) years of current incident. 

 11 Repeat offenses raised to gross misdemeanor status. 
Second offense within 5 years, and third-or-subsequent offense within ten years, raised to gross 

misdemeanor status. 

 12 Longer revocation lengths, under criminal law, upon conviction for third and subsequent offenders. 

 13 Courts may no longer require commissioner to issue limited license. 

 14 License revocation imposed on second-time offenders to remain in effect until completion of court-

ordered treatment program, if any. 

 15 0.07--0.09 AC provision. 

Upon a report to the Commissioner that a driver had an AC of 0.070 to 0.099, and if this report is the 

second such report within two years, the Commissioner shall order the person to submit to an alcohol 

problem assessment, and to treatment, if indicated by the assessment.  The Commissioner shall impose 

a 90-day license revocation if the driver fails to comply. 

1983 1 Officer in fresh pursuit may cross geographic limit of his or her jurisdiction to stop and arrest suspect. 

 2 Refusal to take evidentiary test is admissible as evidence in trial.  (See 1961:3 and 1982:9.) 

 3 Offenders from other states. 

Repeat offenses and aggravated offenses by drivers from other states shall be subject to the gross 

misdemeanor charge if driver‘s state of residence has statute in conformity with Minnesota‘s criminal 

DWI statute. 

 4 Jurisdiction for prosecuting aggravated violations transferred from district court back to county court.  

(See 1978:6.) 

1984 1 Evidentiary test made mandatory. 

 New language is added to the Implied Consent Notice, read to the offender at arrest, stating 

that Minnesota law requires the test to be performed.  (As before, if the offender refuses the test, the 

refusal shall trigger license revocation.  Language is more explicit now.) 

 2 Administrative revocation for test refusal increased from 6 months to 1 year.  
 3 Longer revocation for juveniles. 

Juveniles who refuse to take, or who take and fail, the evidentiary test shall experience the normal 

administrative revocation, or revocation until 18 years of age, whichever is longer. 

 Also, adults who had adjudications for impaired driving as juveniles may be subject to the 

gross misdemeanor penalties provided for repeat offenders. 
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Appendix C:  Minnesota Impaired Driving Legislation Chronology 

Year passed Reference 
number 

Description of Amendment 

1984 
(Continued) 

4 Alcohol concentration of 0.10% or greater, as measured within 2 hours of offense, is made a 

criminal offense per se.  (See 1982:8.) 

1987 1 County alcohol safety program expanded. 

All counties (not just those over 10,000 population) must establish an Alcohol Safety 

Program (see 1976:3) for the purpose of conducting alcohol problem screenings, and for 

conducting comprehensive chemical use assessments on persons whom screenings show as 

having a possible problem.  (Effective 8/1/87) 

 2 Violators to pay chemical use assessment fee. 

All violators shall pay a $75 chemical use assessment fee.  Money collected to be credited to 

newly created ―Drinking and Driving Repeat Offense Prevention Account.‖ (8/1/87) 

 3 Snowmobile operation while impaired and ATV operation while impaired made comparable 

to normal motor vehicle operation while impaired.  (8/1/87) 

1988 1 Mandatory License Plate Impoundment Law. 
Courts mandated to order certain repeat violators to surrender license plates for all vehicles 

which they own or lease.  The following shall be subject to mandatory license plate 

impoundment:  

1. A person who incurs a violation within 5 years of three prior incidents. 

2. A person who incurs a violation within 10 years or four or more prior incidents. 

(8/1/88) 

 2 Special series license plates. 

―Special Series‖ license plates for vehicles may be issued if the violator obtains a limited 

license or if others in violator‘s household have a need to operate the vehicle whose plates 

have been impounded.  (8/1/88) 

 (The ―special series‖ plates are recognizable by officers, but not by the general 

public, as signifying a vehicle whose normal license plates have been impounded.) 

 3 Mandatory minimum criminal sentences. 

Mandatory minimum sentences established for certain repeat violators (a person who incurs 

an offence within 5 years of a prior incident, or who incurs an offence within 10 years of two 

or more prior incidents):  30 days imprisonment, or 8 hours of community service for each 

day less than 30 days served.  (8/1/88) 

1989 1 Test refusal by repeat violators criminalized. 
It is a gross misdemeanor to refuse an alcohol test if the person has one prior incident within 

5 years or two or more prior incidents within 10 years of the current incident.  (8/1/89) 

 2 Commercial Driver License ―disqualification‖ introduced. 

The Commissioner of Public Safety shall disqualify a person from operating a commercial 

motor vehicle (CMV) if the person refuses an alcohol concentration test, or takes the test and 

has an AC of 0.04% or greater.  Length of disqualification to be as follows: 

First violation:  1 year. 

If violation involved hazardous materials:  3 years. 

If violation is a second or subsequent violation on record:  10 years. 

(1/1/90) 

1990 1 Administrative license plate impoundment law. 
Mandatory license plate impoundment (see 1988:1) changed from judicial implementation to 

administrative implementation (by Commissioner of Public Safety), and arresting officer 

shall act as agent of commissioner and impound license plates at time of arrest.  (1/1/91) 

 2 Procedure established for administrative review of plate impoundment action.  (1/1/91) 
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1990 
(Continued) 

3 Impaired driving at a railroad crossing raised to gross misdemeanor status.  (8/1/90) 

 4 Comprehensive chemical use assessment on all violators. 

The requirement that all violators submit to a preliminary alcohol problem screening (and then 

a comprehensive assessment if the screening indicates that there may be a chemical 

dependency problem) is eliminated and replaced by the requirement that all violators submit to 

a comprehensive chemical use assessment.  (8/1/90) 

 5 A new level (third in the list below) of criminal vehicular operation (CVO) offense is added.  

The categories now are:  Criminal Vehicular Operation resulting in 

1.  death.  

2.  great bodily harm. 4.  death to an unborn child. 

3.  substantial bodily harm (new). 5.  injury to an unborn child. 

(8/1/90) 

1991 1 Establishes 1-year pilot program to test efficacy of ignition interlock devices.  (8/1/91) 

 2 Counties authorized to channel offenders ―considered to be of high risk to the community‖ into 

a pilot program of intensively supervised probation.  (8/1/91) 

1992 1 Any test refusal is defined to be a crime (1/1/93). 

(Previously, test refusal by a repeat violator was a crime.  See 1989:1). 

 2 Violations triggering mandatory license plate impoundment (see 1988:1) expanded to also 

include: 

1. any ―aggravated violation‖ (see 1978:5). 

2. any violation that causes the Commissioner to cancel and deny the person‘s driver‘s 

license on the grounds that operation of a vehicle by the person would be inimical to 

public safety.  (See entry under ―late 1960s.‖) 

(1/1/93) 

 3 Chemical dependency assessment fee (see 1987:2), required of all violators except those 

determined indigent, raised from $76 to $125.  (7/1/92) 

 4 Vehicle Forfeiture law.   
If a person is convicted of  

1. impaired driving within 5 years of 3 prior incidents, or 

2. impaired driving within 10 years of four or more prior incidents, or 

3. aggravated impaired driving, or 

4. any violation that causes the Commissioner to cancel and deny the person‘s driver‘s 

license on the grounds that operation of a vehicle by the person would be inimical to 

public safety, 

then the vehicle used in the offense is subject to impoundment and forfeiture.  (1/1/93) 

 5 “Hard revocation” periods established.  
A person shall not be eligible to obtain a ―limited license‖ for a certain length of time (-- the 

―hard‖ period of the revocation).  The hard periods are as follows: 

 for a first incident:  15 days. 

 for a subsequent incident:  90 days. 

 for a test refusal:  180 days. 

(1/1/93) 

 6 Recidivism problem study commission established. 

―Commission on Confinement and Treatment of DWI Recidivists.‖  (1/1/93) 
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1992 
(Continued) 

7 Test may be compelled by force in event of CVO. 

Test for alcohol and/or controlled substances may be compelled (by force if necessary) if 

there is probable cause to suspect criminal vehicular operation. 

 Since 1961, an officer may ―require‖ a test, but a person might refuse (triggering 

license revocation).  Now, in the event of suspected CVO, officer may require, and compel 

by force if necessary, the test.  (1/1/93) 

1993 1 “Not-a-Drop” law enacted. 
Upon notification by a court that a person under the age of 21 has been found to have any 

quantity whatsoever of alcohol or of a controlled substance, the Commissioner of Public 

Safety shall revoke the driver‘s license of the under-age person.  (6/1/93) 

 2 Child Endangerment law enacted. 
It is a gross misdemeanor for a person to drive while impaired and there is a child in the 

vehicle who is under the age of 16 and who is more than 36 months younger than the 

offender.  (8/1/93) 

 3 Length of ―hard revocation‖ (see 1992:4) increased to 1 year if the violation includes a 

conviction for criminal vehicular operation.  (1/1/94) 

1994 1 ―Habitual Offender‖ penalties established. 

A person who incurs 6 or more incidents in 10 years, or 8 or more in 15 years, must be 

sentenced to a minimum of 1 year incarceration or to a program of intensively supervised 

probation.  (8/1/94) 

1996 1 Not-a-drop violation raised to misdemeanor status. 
In addition to license revocation by the commissioner of Public Safety, the ―not-a-drop‖ 

violation (see 1993:1) is defined to be a misdemeanor offense.  (8/1/96) 

 2 Additional test for controlled substances permitted. 

Arresting officer is explicitly authorized to require a blood or urine specimen, even after a 

breath test has been performed, if the officer has reason to believe the person was impaired 

by a substance not susceptible to analysis by means of a breath test.  (8/1/97) 

 3 Criminal Vehicular Operation expanded. 

A new level (fourth in the list below) of criminal vehicular operation (CVO) offenses is 

added.  The categories now are:  Criminal Vehicular Operation resulting in: 

 1.  a fatality. 4.  bodily harm (new). 

 2.  great bodily harm. 5.  death to an unborn child. 

 3.  substantial bodily harm. 6.  injury to an unborn child. 

(8/1/96) 

1997 1 Special provisions for high-AC (0.20% or higher) offenders established. 
Driving while having an Alcohol Concentration of 0.20% or higher is defined to be a gross 

misdemeanor. 

 Length of Commissioner‘s administrative revocation is doubled from that imposed 

on violators who test below 0.20%.  Revocation lengths therefore are: 

 BAC less then 0.20 BAC 0.20+ 

 First incident 90 days 180 days 

 Second incident within 5 years 180 days 360 days 

 Incident by violator under 21 6 months one year 

(1/1/98) 
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1997 
(Continued) 

2 New offense category, ―Enhanced Gross Misdemeanor,‖ with stricter criminal penalties, 

established. 

The following violations are defined to be ―enhanced gross misdemeanors:‖ 

1. Driving while impaired within 10 years of two prior incidents.  

2. Driving with an AC of 0.20% or higher within ten years of a prior incident. 

3. Child Endangerment (see 1993:2) within 10 years of a prior incident. 

4. Driving while impaired and not stopping at a railroad crossing within 10 years of a 

prior incident.  (1/1/98) 

 3 Officer authorized to stop vehicle bearing special plates. 

Officer is explicitly authorized to stop a vehicle bearing ―special series‖ plates (see 1988:2) to 

determine if the driver ―is operating the vehicle lawfully.‖  (1/1/98) 

 4 Procedure established for “administrative forfeiture” of violator‟s vehicle.  
Prior to this, vehicle forfeiture was conducted through a judicial forfeiture procedure.  Now, 

law enforcement agencies may impound a vehicle and institute forfeiture procedures.  The 

following violations will cause the vehicle used in the violation to be subject to administrative 

forfeiture: 

1. a violation within 5 years of 2 prior incidents. 

2. a violation within 15 years of 3 prior incidents. 

3. a violation that includes child endangerment within 5 years of 1 prior incident. 

4. a violation that includes child endangerment within 15 years of 2 prior incidents. 

5. a violation that includes a high AC within 5 years of 1 prior incident. 

6. a violation that includes a high AC within 15 years of 2 prior incidents.  (1/1/98) 

 5 Violations that trigger license plate impoundment (see 1988:1 and 1992:2) are greatly 

expanded to include: 

1. a violation within 5 years of a prior incident. 

2. a violation within 15 years of two or more prior incidents. 

3. an ―aggravated violation‖ (see 1978:6). 

4. a violation that includes a high AC (.20% or higher). 

5. a violation that causes the Commissioner to cancel and deny the person‘s driver‘s 

license on the grounds that operation of a vehicle by the person would be inimical to 

public safety.  (1/1/98) 

1998 1 Program to use ―remote [home] electronic alcohol monitoring‖ established. 

Judges who sentence offenders to a program of intensively supervised probation (see 1991:2) 

are authorized to require violators to submit to a program of remote electronic alcohol 

monitoring.  Unless determined indigent, offenders to pay the per-diem cost of the program.  

(8/1/98) 

 2 Increased fee for special series plates. 

Fee for issuing ―special series‖ license plates to violators whose normal license plates have 

been impounded is increased from $25 (for an unspecified number of vehicles) to $50 for 

each vehicle for which special series plates are issued.  (8/1/98) 

1999 1 Enhanced gross misdemeanor repealed. 

Use of the term ―enhanced gross misdemeanor‖ as a new category of offense (see 1997:2) is 

repealed, but the expanded penalty provisions for the offenses that had been identified as 

―enhanced gross misdemeanors‖ are retained. 

 Also, courts are explicitly authorized to substitute a program of intensively 

supervised probation, with electronic home alcohol monitoring, in place of the mandatory 

incarceration periods.  (5/25/99) 
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1999 
(Continued) 

2 Prior violations involving snowmobile, ATV, or motorboat to be counted. 

Makes explicit that violations triggering the revocation of snowmobile, all-terrain vehicle, or 

motorboat operating privileges are to be included among the types of prior violations counted 

in determining the charge (misdemeanor or gross misdemeanor) made for a current incident.  

(8/1/99) 

2000 1 All existing impaired-driving statutes are repealed. 
All provisions of impaired-driving law, with some amendments, are recodified as 
Minnesota Statute 169A, which provides that “this chapter may be cited as the 
Minnesota Impaired Driving Code.” 
Chief among the statutes repealed are: 

1. MS 168.042, the license plate impoundment law. 

(incorporated into 169A.60). 

2. MS 169.121, the main criminal impaired driving law. 

(incorporated into 169A.20 to 169A.48). 

3. MS169.1211, ―alcohol-related‖ driving by commercial vehicle operators. 

(incorporated into 169A.20, 169A.31, and 169A.50 to 169A.53). 

4.  MS 169.122, the ―open-bottle law.‖ 

(incorporated into 169A.35). 

5. MS 169.123, the main civil (―Implied Consent‖) impaired driving law. 

(incorporated into 169A.50 to 169A.53). 

6. MS 169.124 through MS 169.126, mandating counties to provide Alcohol Safety 

Programs to conduct chemical use assessments on persons convicted of an offense 

(when the arrest that led to the conviction was for an impaired driving offense). 

(incorporated into 169A.70). 

7. MS 169.1265, authorizing use of intensively supervised probation programs in lieu 

of incarceration. 

(incorporated into 169A.73 and 169A.74). 

8. MS 169.1217, providing for vehicle forfeiture, administrative and judicial 

procedures. (incorporated into 169A.63). 

9. MS 169.126 defining an ―aggravated violation.‖  

Concept of ―aggravated‖ violations is re-defined in terms of ―aggravating factors.‖ 

(incorporated into 169A.20 through 169A.275). 

The Not-A-Drop law for underage divers is incorporated into 169A.33. 

(1/1/01) 
 2 First-, Second-, and Third-Degree Impaired Driving offenses introduced, determined by 

number of “aggravating factors.” 
Concept of aggravating factors introduced.  Aggravating factors are defined to be: 

1. Child endangerment (see 1993:2). 

2. Having a high (0.20% or higher) alcohol-concentration (see 1997:1). 

3. Each prior incident within ten years counts as 1 aggravating factor. 

 A first-degree impaired driving offense is an impaired driving offense with two or 

more aggravating factors, and is a gross misdemeanor. 

 A second-degree impaired driving  offense is an impaired driving offense with one 

aggravating factor, and is a gross misdemeanor. 

 A third-degree impaired driving offense is an impaired driving offense with 

aggravating factors, and is a misdemeanor. (1/1/98) 
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2000 
(Continued) 

4 Mandatory license plate impoundment violations (see 1988:1 and 1997:5) further expanded 

to also include: 

1. any violation involving child endangerment (see 1993:2). 

2. an incident within 10 years of a prior incident. 

3. a commercial vehicle driver license disqualification (see 1989:2) within ten years 

of prior such disqualification. 

(1/1/01) 

 3 Custodial arrest for first-degree impaired driving. 

Officer is mandated to make a custodial arrest (the person must be taken into custody) if the 

officer has reason to believe the person committed a first-degree impaired driving offense.  

(1/1/01) 

 5 Court is authorized to increase maximum fine by $1,000 if offender has high AC (0.20% or 

higher).  (1/1/01) 

 6 A ―working group on DWI Felony‖ law is established and the Commissioner of Corrections 

is to develop a plan for how felony level offenders may be processed. 

2001 1 Felony DWI law enacted. 
A felony impaired driving offense is an impaired driving offense within ten years of 3 or 

more prior incidents.  The felony penalty is stipulated:  ―The court shall sentence [the 

offender]... to imprisonment for not less than three years.  In addition, the court may order 

the person to pay a fine of not more than $14,000.‖  (Maximum prison penalty is stipulated 

as ―not more than 7 years‖.) 

The new categorization of offense levels is as follows: 

4. First-degree impaired driving offense:  felony. 

5. Second-degree impaired driving offense (two or more aggravating factors):  gross 

misdemeanor. 

6. Third-degree impaired driving offense (1 aggravating factor):  gross misdemeanor. 

7. Fourth-degree impaired driving offense (no aggravating factors):  misdemeanor. 

(8/1/02) 

 2 Driver license reinstatement fees increased. 

 The total fee had been $250.00 with a $40 surcharge (total $290).  That total is 

increased to: 

1. $395 ($250 fee and $145 surcharge) effective July 1, 2002. 

2. $630 ($250 fee and $380 surcharge) effective July 1, 2003. 

 3 Custodial arrest for first- and second-degree impaired driving. 

Officer is mandated to make a custodial arrest (the person must be taken into custody) if the 

officer has reason to believe the person committed a first-degree or a second-degree 

impaired driving offense.  (See 2000:3.)  (8-1-02) 

 4 Two new misdemeanor crimes are defined. 

1. It is a misdemeanor for a person whose vehicles has had its license plates 

impounded to drive any vehicle. 

2. It is a misdemeanor for a person who purchases a vehicle, the plates for which have 

been impounded, to allow the violator to drive the vehicle.  

(8/1/02) 
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2002 1 License cancellation (and “B-Card restriction” upon reinstatement) triggered earlier. 
Under the commissioner‘s authority to withhold a driver‘s license from persons whose 

driving behavior is determined to be ―inimical to public safety,‖ a third impaired driving 

incident within 5 years, or a fourth or subsequent one within ten years, triggered the 

Department of Public Safety to ―cancel and deny‖ the person‘s driver‘s license, until 

rehabilitation is established.  If the license is reinstated, it carries the ―B-Card restriction,‖ 

requiring total abstinence 24 hours a day. 

By administrative rule, the triggering of the license cancellation (and B-Card restriction if 

reinstated) is advanced to a third or subsequent impaired driving incident within ten years. 

(See entry under late 1960s, and 1978, 9). 

(November, 2002). 

2003 1 Two inadequate breath samples constitute refusal. 

In submitting to the breath alcohol test, if a person fails to provide two samples of breath that 

are adequate for the chemical test to be performed, that failure shall ―constitute a refusal‖ to 

provide a breath test.  (8/1/03) 

 2 Test refusal increased to gross misdemeanor offense. 
A impaired driving incident with no aggravating factors that involves a refusal to take the 

alcohol concentration test is made a third-degree impaired driving offense:  a gross 

misdemeanor.  (8/1/03) 

 3 Prior not-a-drop violations not counted in determining degree. 

If an offender had a prior ―not-a-drop‖ law violation (see 1993:1), and that prior violation did 

not involve a criminal impaired driving offense or an implied consent violation, then that 

prior violation shall not be included as a prior incident for purposes of determining the degree 

of the current incident.  (8/1/03) 

2004 1 The per se illegal alcohol concentration level is reduced from 0.10% to 0.08%.  
 The new 0.08% illegal per se level applies to criminal offenses and civil law 

violations.  That is, effective August 1, 2005, driving while having an alcohol concentration 

of 0.08% or higher is per se a criminal offense that will trigger criminal penalties.  It is also a 

civil (Implied Consent) law violation that triggers the Commissioner of Public Safety to 

impose license revocation or cancellation actions on the violator.  (8/1/05) 

 2 Commercial Driver License Disqualification made more stringent. 
 The Minnesota Legislature adopts law that Minnesota shall enforce US Department 

of Transportation Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration requirements regarding 

disqualifying persons from operating commercial motor vehicles.  Those requirements (as of 

2006) provide that: 

1. if a person is convicted of test refusal or of impaired driving (in any vehicle, not just 

a commercial vehicle), for a first time, he or she shall be disqualified from operating 

a commercial vehicle for one year. 

2. If the conviction was for an incident involving transport of hazardous materials, the 

disqualification shall be for three years. 

3. Any second test-refusal or impaired-driving conviction shall trigger lifetime 

disqualification. 
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2010 1 DWI Sanctions Strengthened;  Ignition Interlocks Required.  

 Legislation adopted to strengthen sanctions against DWI offenders and require 

certain offenders to use ignition interlock devices. The legislation becomes effective July 1, 

2011, and aims to enhance road safety to prevent alcohol-related crashes which account for 

one-third of all Minnesota traffic deaths annually. The legislation gives DWI offenders a 

chance to regain driving privileges by ensuring safe and legal driving through the use of 

interlocks.   Interlock devices are installed in a vehicle and require a driver to provide a breath 

sample in order for the vehicle to start. The vehicle will not start if the device detects an 

alcohol-concentration level of 0.02 or above after the driver blows into its tube. Interlocks 

require rolling re-tests after the initial test, and have features to deter others from starting the 

vehicle for the intended user.   The legislation includes: 

1.  DWI offenders with a 0.16 and above alcohol-concentration level will be required 

to have ignition interlock devices installed on any vehicle they drive. 

2. DWI offenders with a 0.16 and above alcohol-concentration level that choose not to 

use ignition interlocks will not have driving privileges ranging from one year to six 

years — depending on offense level. Offenders with three or more DWIs in a 10-

year period will be required to use interlocks. 

3. Interlock users will regain full driving privileges immediately after the offense, 

ensuring they are driving with a valid license and not a threat on the roadway. 

4.  Interlocks will be used to monitor chronic DWI offenders (three or more DWIs in 

10 year period) to verify chemical use. 

(05/18/10) 

 

Minnesota law dealing with impaired driving is complex.  The chronology above is selective.  Not all amendments can 

be described in detail.  (See the ―Overview of Minnesota‘s DWI Laws‖ by Jim Cleary and Rebecca Pirius, reprinted as 

Appendix D, for a complete and accurate description of current law and practice).  Persons with expertise in this area 

are encouraged to notify us if any errors are discovered. 
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Prohibited Behaviors  

Minnesota‘s DWI law stipulates that it is a 

crime:  

1) to drive, operate, or be in control of any 

motor vehicle anywhere in the state while:  

 under the influence of alcohol, a controlled 

substance, or (knowingly) a hazardous substance, 
or any combination of these;  
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 having an alcohol concentration (AC) of .08 (.08 

means .08 percent alcohol concentration, which is 

8/10,000ths by volume) or more at the time or 
within two hours of doing so;  

 having any amount or the metabolites of a 

schedule I or II controlled substance, other than 

marijuana, in the body; or  

 if the vehicle is a commercial motor vehicle, 

having an alcohol concentration of .04 or more at 

the time or within two hours of doing so; or  

 

2) to refuse to submit to a chemical test of the 

person‘s blood, breath, or urine under Minnesota 

Statutes, section 169A.52 (implied consent law).  

Criminal Penalties  

Criminal penalties upon conviction for DWI are 

tiered, as follows:  

• Fourth-Degree DWI – misdemeanor, 

punishable by up to 90 days of jail and a $1,000 fine 

(for the person‘s first impaired driving violation 

within ten years without test refusal or any 

aggravating factors)  

• Third-Degree DWI – a gross misdemeanor, 

punishable by up to one year of jail and a $3,000 fine 

(for the person‘s second impaired driving violation 

within ten years or first such violation with test 

refusal or another aggravating factor)  

• Second-Degree DWI – also a gross 

misdemeanor (for the person‘s third impaired driving 

violation within ten years or second such violation 

with test refusal or one other aggravating factor, or 

first such violation with two aggravating factors)  

 First-Degree DWI – felony, punishable by up to 

seven years‘ imprisonment and a $14,000 fine 

(for the person‘s fourth impaired driving violation 

within ten years or anytime following a previous 

felony DWI or criminal vehicular operation 

conviction; other aggravating factors are not 

considered)  

Aggravating Factor  

This includes:  

 a qualified prior impaired driving incident within 

the preceding ten years;  

 an alcohol concentration of .20 or more upon 

arrest (but not for first-degree DWI); and  

 the presence of a child under age 16 in the 

vehicle, if more than 36 months younger than the 

offender (but not for first-degree DWI).  

Qualified Prior Impaired Driving Incident  

This includes both:  

 prior impaired driving convictions; and  

 prior impaired driving-related losses of license 

(implied consent revocations) or operating 

privileges   

for separate driving incidents within the preceding 

ten years involving any kind of motor vehicle, 

including passenger motor vehicle, school bus or 

Head Start bus, commercial motor vehicle, airplane, 

snowmobile, all terrain vehicle, off-road recreational 

vehicle, or motorboat in operation.  

Chemical Testing   

Minnesota‘s implied consent law assumes that a 

person who drives, operates, or is in control of any 

type of motor vehicle anywhere in the state has 

consented to a chemical test of breath, blood, or 

urine for the purpose of determining the presence of 

alcohol or controlled or hazardous substances in the 

person‘s body.  The testing is administered at the 

direction of a law enforcement officer when there is 

probable cause that the person has committed a DWI  

https://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/statutes/?id=169A.52
https://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/statutes/?id=169A.52
https://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/statutes/?id=169A.52
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 has been arrested for a DWI violation;  

 has been involved in a motor vehicle crash;  

 has refused to take the DWI screening test; or  

 has taken the screening test and it shows AC of 

.08 or more.  

To build probable cause, the officer generally, 

though not always, proceeds as follows:  

 observes the impaired driving behavior and  

forms a reasonable suspicion of an impaired  

driving violation  

 stops and questions the driver  

 administers a standardized field sobriety test 

(SFST)  

 administers a preliminary breath test (PBT)  

If, based on these screening tests, the officer has 

probable cause to believe that a DWI crime has 

occurred, he or she may arrest the person and demand 

a more rigorous evidentiary test of the person‘s 

breath, blood, or urine.  Before administering the 

evidentiary test, the officer must read the implied 

consent advisory statement to the person, explaining 

that testing is mandatory, test refusal is a crime, and 

the person has the right to consult an attorney before 

taking the test. If the evidentiary test is requested 

without the advisory being given, then the person may 

be criminally charged and prosecuted following test 

failure or refusal, but the various administrative 

sanctions cannot be applied.  

If the person is unconscious, consent is deemed not 

to have been withdrawn, and the chemical test may 

be administered.  

The officer chooses whether the test will be of the 

person‘s breath, blood, or urine.  A person who 

refuses a blood or urine test must be offered another 

type of test (breath, blood, or urine).   

Blood and urine tests are analyzed by the Bureau of 

Criminal Apprehension (BCA), with results available 

within about ten days.  The BCA may certify 

chemical test results directly to the Department of 
Public Safety (DPS).  

Administrative Sanctions  

Apart from any criminal penalties that may result 

from a DWI arrest, the law provides for three 

administrative sanctions, which can commence 

immediately upon arrest.   

1) Administrative License Revocation (ALR)  
Whenever the implied consent law can be invoked 

during the arrest process, the person‘s driver‘s 

license can be withdrawn immediately following any 

test failure or test refusal. The person is given a 

seven-day temporary license to drive before the 

withdrawal becomes effective.  The period of license 

withdrawal is as follows:  

 90 days for a person with no qualified prior 

impaired driving incident within the past ten years 

and no other aggravating factor was present in the 

current incident (reducible to 30 days upon DWI 

conviction for a first-time offender)  

 six months, if violator is under age 21  

 180 days, if person has had a qualified prior 

impaired driving incident within ten years  

 double the applicable period above, if the person 

was arrested with an alcohol concentration of .20 

or more or while having a child under age 16 in 

the vehicle  

 one year, if the person refused to submit to  

the chemical test of blood, breath, or urine  

(reducible to 90 days upon DWI conviction  

for a first-time violation)  

 cancelled and denied indefinitely as inimical to 
public safety, pending treatment and 

rehabilitation for a third or more impaired driving 

incident within a ten-year period  

The person may appeal the administrative license 

revocation, either administratively to DPS and/or 

judicially through the court.  (See Minn. Stat. § 

169A.53 for the procedural details.) 

 

https://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/statutes/?id=169A.53
https://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/statutes/?id=169A.53
https://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/statutes/?id=169A.53
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2) Administrative License Plate 
Impoundment  

A plate impoundment violation is an impaired 

driving violation involving an aggravating factor, 

such as any of the following:  

 occurring within ten years of a qualified  

prior impaired driving violation by that  

person  

 involving an alcohol concentration of .20 or more  

 having a child under age 16 present in the vehicle  

 occurring while the person‘s license has  

been cancelled for the person being inimical  

to public safety  

Plate impoundment applies to:  

 the vehicle used in the plate impoundment 

violation,  

 as well as any vehicle owned, registered, or leased 

in the name of the violator, whether alone or 

jointly.  

A plate impoundment order is issued by the arresting 

officer at the time of arrest and is effective 

immediately.  The officer also seizes the plates and 

issues a temporary vehicle permit valid for seven days 

(or 45 days if the violator is not the owner).  

The minimum term of plate impoundment is one year, 

during which time the violator may not drive any 

motor vehicle unless the vehicle displays specially 

coded plates and the person has been validly 

relicensed to drive. The violator is also subject to 

certain restrictions when selling or acquiring a vehicle 

during the impoundment period.  

Specially coded license plates—signifying to law 

enforcement that the regular plates have been 

impounded for an impaired driving violation—

may be issued for the vehicle(s), provided that:  

 the violator has a properly licensed 

substitute driver;  

 a member of the violator‘s household is validly 

licensed;  

 the violator has been validly relicensed; or  

 the owner is not the violator and is validly 

licensed.  

It is a crime for a driver whose plates have been 

impounded to attempt to evade the plate 

impoundment law in certain specified ways, or for 

another person to enable such evasion.  

As with the driver‘s license withdrawal sanction, a 

person incurring license plate impoundment may 

appeal this sanction both administratively and/or 

judicially through the court.  (See Minn. Stat. § 

169A.60 for the procedural details.)  

3) Administrative Vehicle Forfeiture  

Minnesota‘s DWI law provides for vehicle forfeiture 

for a designated license revocation or designated 

offense, which is typically the third DWI violation 

within a ten-year period, though with one or more 

aggravating factors, a person‘s second-time or even 

first-time violation might qualify as well.  

DWI law defines ―designated license revocation‖ as a 

license revocation or commercial license 

disqualification for an implied consent violation 

within ten years of two or more qualified prior 

impaired driving incidents. The term ―designated 

offense‖ includes a DWI violation in the first or 

second degree or involving a person whose driver‘s 

license is cancelled as inimical to public safety or 

subject to B-Card (no alcohol) restrictions.  

The law provides that the arresting officer may 

seize the vehicle and requires that the prosecuting 

authority serve notice to the owner(s) of the intent 

to forfeit.  The forfeiture is conducted 

administratively, unless within 30 days the owner 

appeals the forfeiture action by filing for a judicial 

determination of the forfeiture.  

A vehicle is subject to forfeiture under this law only 

if:  

 it was used in the commission of a 

designated offense and the driver was 

 

https://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/statutes/?id=169A.60
https://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/statutes/?id=169A.60
https://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/statutes/?id=169A.60
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convicted of that offense or failed to appear at 

trial on it, or   

 it was used in conduct resulting in a designated 

license revocation and the driver either fails to 

seek administrative or judicial review of the 

revocation in a timely manner or the revocation 

is sustained upon review.  

Other vehicles owned by the offender are not subject 

to forfeiture. As a protection for an owner who is not 

the offender, the law states that a motor vehicle is 

subject to forfeiture only if its owner knew or should 

have known of the unlawful or intended use of the 

vehicle.  

Following completion of forfeiture, the arresting 

agency may keep the vehicle for its official use.  

However, the security interest or lease of the financial 

institution, if any, is protected, and the lienholder may 

choose to sell the vehicle at its own foreclosure sale or 

agree to a sale by the arresting agency.  A 

proportionate share of the proceeds, after deduction of 

certain expenses, goes to the financial institution. The 

law provides similar protection to any innocent co-

owner, as well.  

Charging the Crime   

DWI violations may be charged by:  

 citation (very rarely done, and only if a 

misdemeanor);  

 tab charge when booking the person into jail; 

and/or  

 complaint prepared by the prosecutor subsequent 

to arrest.  

In the case of a blood or urine evidentiary test, the 

officer typically tab charges the violator at the time of 

arrest for driving under the influence, which is one 

category of DWI crime.  Then, at the person‘s first 

court appearance, the prosecutor requests continuation 

of the charges, pending return of the test results from 

the state crime lab.  If the test results indicate an 

alcohol concentration of .08 or more, the prosecutor is 

allowed to add additional charges orally at the 

person‘s next court hearing.  Any charging complaint 

that is subsequently prepared would include all 

relevant charges.  

Mandatory Hold and Conditional 
Release Pretrial  

When a person is arrested for a first-degree (felony) 

or second-degree DWI crime, the person must be 

taken into custody and detained until the person‘s 

first court appearance, at which time the court 

generally sets bail and specifies conditions of 

release.  Unless maximum bail ($12,000 for gross 

misdemeanor DWI) is imposed, a person charged 

with any of the following offenses may be granted 

pretrial release from detention, but only if the person 

agrees to abstain from alcohol and to submit to 

remote electronic alcohol monitoring (REAM)  

involving at least daily breath-alcohol measurements.  

The offenses are:  

 a third implied consent or DWI violation within 

ten years;  

 a second violation, if under 19 years of age;  

 a violation while already cancelled as inimical to 

public safety for a prior violation; or  

 a violation involving an alcohol concentration of 

.20 or more.  

Further conditions apply to a person charged with a 

fourth or more violation within ten years, including:  

 impoundment of the vehicle registration plates, or 

impoundment of the off-road recreational vehicle 
or motorboat itself, if one was being driven;  

 a requirement for reporting at least weekly to a 

probation officer, involving random breath 

alcohol testing and/or urinalysis; and  

 a requirement to reimburse the court for these 

services upon conviction for the crime.  

Chemical Dependency Assessment and 
Treatment   

Every person convicted of DWI or a reduced charge 

must submit to a chemical use assessment 

administered by the county ($125 fee, plus $5 

surcharge) prior to sentencing.  The court must order 

the person to submit to the level of treatment care 

recommended by the assessment, if the conviction is 

for a repeat offense within ten years or the conviction 

was for DWI with an AC of .20 or more.  Treatment 
requirements are spelled out in DPS rules.   
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Rehabilitation Following Driver‟s 
License Cancellation and Denial  

Chemical dependency rehabilitation is statutorily 

required following a person‘s third or subsequent 

impaired driving incident within ten years.  Either a 

conviction or an administrative loss of license, or 

both, constitutes an impaired driving incident.  

Rehabilitation is also required—by DPS 

administrative rule, but not by statute—of a person 

whose license has been cancelled for violating the no 

alcohol provision of a restricted driver‘s license—a 

B-Card (which can be obtained only upon successful 

completion of a prior rehabilitation). 

By statute, DPS is authorized to administratively 

establish the standards for rehabilitation, and the 

periods of rehabilitation must be not less than one 

year for the person‘s third, and not less than two years 

for the person‘s fourth or more impaired driving 

violation.  

Under DPS rules, however, the period of 

rehabilitation is tiered from one to six years, 

according to whether the violator has successfully 

completed rehabilitation previously:  

 one year for the first rehabilitation  

 three years for the second  

 six years for the person‘s third or subsequent 

rehabilitation  

According to DPS rules, rehabilitation requires, 

among other things, that the person:   

 successfully complete chemical dependency 

treatment in a program that requires complete 

abstinence from alcohol and controlled 

substances;  

 actively participate in a recognized chemical 

dependency support group;  

 completely abstain from alcohol and controlled 

substances; and  

 obtain sworn affidavits vouching to that 

effect from at least five other familiar 

witnesses (who are not relatives, an 

employer or employees of the person).  

Mandatory Minimum Sentences  

Upon conviction for DWI, repeat offenders are 

subject to the following mandatory minimum 

criminal penalties:  

 second DWI offense within ten years:  
30 days incarceration, at least 48 hours of which 

must be served in jail/workhouse, with eight 

hours of community work service for each day 

less than 30 served  

 third DWI offense within ten years:  

90 days incarceration, at least 30 days of 

which must be served consecutively in a local 

jail/workhouse  

 fourth DWI offense within ten years:  
180 days of incarceration, at least 30 days of 

which must be served consecutively in a local 

jail/workhouse  

 fifth DWI offense within ten years:  

One year of incarceration, at least 60 days of 

which must be served consecutively in a local 

jail/workhouse  

For All Repeat Offenders  

The court may order that the person spend the 

remainder (nonjail portion) of the mandatory 

minimum sentence under REAM or on home 

detention.  

An Alternative to the Mandatory Minimum 
Period of Incarceration  

The court may sentence the offender to a program 

of intensive probation for repeat DWI offenders 

that requires the person to consecutively serve at 

least six days in jail/workhouse and may order that 

the remainder of the minimum sentence be served 

on home detention.  
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Long-term Monitoring Required  

Long-term monitoring applies to most third-time DWI 

offenders and all those under age 19.  When the court 

stays part or all of a jail sentence, it must order the 

offender to submit to REAM for at least 30 days each 

year of probation.  

Felony DWI Penalties  

If a person is convicted of felony DWI and given a 

stayed prison sentence, then that person must be 

sentenced in accordance with the local sentencing 

provisions described in this section. (For more, see 

the Felony DWI section.)  

Intermediate Sanctions and Probation  

When sentencing a DWI offender, the court may 

impose and execute a sentence to incarcerate, or it 

may stay imposition or execution of sentence and:  

 order intermediate sanctions without 

probation; or  

 place the person on probation with or 

without supervision and under terms the 

court prescribes, including intermediate 

sanctions if prescribed.  

The term ―intermediate sanction‖ includes but is not 

limited to jail, home detention, electronic monitoring, 

intensive supervision, sentencing to service, day 

reporting, chemical dependency and mental health 

treatment, restitution, fines, day fines, community 

work service, restorative justice work, and work in 

lieu of fines or restitution.  

For DWI convictions, the maximum period of the 

stay of sentence, is:  

 two years, for a misdemeanor conviction;  

 six years, for a gross misdemeanor conviction; 

and  

 seven years, for a felony DWI conviction.  

Felony DWI  

Minnesota criminal law defines the term felony to 

mean any crime for which incarceration of more  

than one year may be imposed.  Under Minnesota‘s 

felony DWI law, a person who commits first-degree 

DWI is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to:  

 imprisonment for not more than seven years (or 

more than seven years if the person has other 

prior criminal history);  

 a fine of not more than $14,000;  

 or both.   

A person is guilty of first-degree DWI if the 

person violates DWI law:  

 within ten years of three or more qualified prior 

impaired driving incidents (defined as prior 

convictions or license revocations for separate 
impaired driving incidents); or  

 has previously been convicted of a felony DWI 

crime; or   

 has previously been convicted of a felony-level 

crime of criminal vehicular homicide or injury 

(CVO) involving alcohol or controlled 

substances.  

Unlike nonfelony DWI crimes, being arrested with a 

high alcohol concentration (.20 or more)  or under 

circumstances of child endangerment are not defined 

as aggravating factors for felony DWI; instead, only 

qualified prior impaired driving incidents and prior 

convictions for felony CVO are considered.  

When sentencing a person for a felony DWI 

offense, the court:  

 must impose a sentence to imprisonment for not 

less than three years; and  

 may stay execution of this mandatory sentence, 

but may not stay imposition of this sentence or 

sentence the person to less than three years 

imprisonment.  

A person sentenced to incarceration in prison for 

felony DWI is not eligible for early release unless the 

person has successfully completed a chemical 

dependency treatment program while in prison.  



House Research Department Updated: November 2008 

An Overview of Minnesota‘s DWI Laws  Page 66 

Minnesota Impaired Driving Facts, 2010 page 66 Department of Public Safety, Office of Traffic Safety 

The court must also order that after a felony DWI 

offender is released from prison, the person must be 

placed on conditional release for five years, under any 

conditions that the commissioner of corrections opts 

to impose, including an intensive probation program 

for repeat DWI offenders.  If the person fails to 

comply with the conditions of release, the 

commissioner may revoke it and return the person to 

prison.  

If the court stays execution of the mandatory prison 

sentence, then it must apply the mandatory penalties 

for nonfelony DWI offenses (jail and/or intensive 

probation, as described in a preceding section) and 

must order as well that the person submit to long-term 

alcohol monitoring and the level of treatment 

prescribed in the chemical dependency assessment.  If 

the person violates any condition of probation, the 

court may order that the stayed prison sentence be 

executed.  

The Minnesota sentencing guidelines recommend a 

stayed sentence of 36 months, 42 months, and 48 

months for a felony DWI conviction for a person 

with zero, one, or two criminal history points 

respectively, and they specify a presumptive 

commit-to-prison for a person with a criminal 

history score of three or more.  

To illustrate, a person convicted of felony DWI who 

has had seven qualified prior impaired driving 

incidents within the past ten years, but no other 

criminal convictions, would likely reach the threshold 

for a presumptive commit, as follows:  

 three of those priors are used to establish the basis 

for enhancing the current DWI offense to a 

felony-level crime (but these cannot also be used 

to determine the person‘s criminal history score)  

 the other four priors—provided they involved 

DWI convictions—count as one-half criminal 

history point each, for a total of two points  

 one criminal history point—a custody status 

point—would result from the current  

impaired driving incident occurring while the 

person is on probation for a prior impaired driving 

incident, as would almost certainly be the case in 

this example  

Thus, this hypothetical offender would have a 

criminal history score of three when facing sentencing 

on the current felony-level DWI offense; the person‘s 

presumptive sentence under the guidelines would be 

to commit to prison for 54 months.  With one less 

qualified prior incident during the preceding ten years, 

the guidelines would call for a presumptive stayed 

sentence of 48 months.  

Criminal Vehicular Homicide and 
Injury  

Criminal law defines six levels of criminal vehicular 

operation (CVO)—all but one constituting felony 

offenses—depending on the level of injury inflicted:  

 criminal vehicular homicide (causing death, but 

not constituting murder or manslaughter)  

 great bodily harm (serious permanent injury)  

 substantial bodily harm (temporary substantial 

injury)  

 bodily harm (pain or injury—a gross 

misdemeanor)  

 death to an unborn child  

 injury to an unborn child  

A common element to each of these CVO crimes is 

that the person causes the specified harm to another 

person as a result of operating a motor vehicle under 

any of the following conditions:  

 in a grossly negligent manner  

 in violation of any of the elements of regular DWI 

law  

 where the driver who causes the accident leaves 

the scene in violation of Minnesota‘s felony 

fleeing law  

 where a citation was issued that the vehicle was 

defectively maintained, the driver knew  
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remedial action was not taken, the defect created 

a risk to others, and injury or death resulted from 

the defective maintenance  

In practice, most CVO prosecutions involve 

simultaneous violation of DWI law.  

Under the sentencing guidelines, conviction for 

criminal vehicular homicide or death to an unborn 

child carries a presumptive commit to prison for 48 

months, for an offender with no other criminal history 
points. 

Limited Driver‟s License – Work 
Permit  

A person whose driver‘s license has been revoked for 

an implied consent violation or DWI conviction may 

apply for a limited license to drive:  

 to and from a job, or for a job;  

 to chemical dependency treatment;  

 to provide for the educational, medical, or 

nutritional needs of the family; and/or  

 for attendance at a postsecondary educational 

institution.  

However, the law requires a waiting period (i.e., hard 

revocation) before a suspended or revoked driver may 
apply for a limited license.  The waiting period is:  

 15 days for a first-time implied consent or DWI 

violator;  

 90 days for a second-time or subsequent violator 

who complied with the AC test;  

 180 days for a second or subsequent-time violator 

who refused the test;   

 one year for a person revoked for manslaughter or 

criminal vehicular homicide;  

 if under the age of 18, for twice the applicable 

period above, with a minimum of 90 days;  

 for twice the applicable period above, if person‘s 

AC was .20 or more at the time of violation; and  

 an additional 60 days, if the license withdrawal 

involved use of the vehicle in commission of a 

felony crime or an injury accident involving 

failure to stop and disclose identity.  

For the most part, a limited driver‘s license may not 

be issued to a driver whose license is cancelled and 

denied for a third or more DWI violation. However, 

Minnesota law authorizes DPS to issue a limited 

license to a person whose driver‘s license is revoked 

or cancelled if the person qualifies for participation in 

an ignition interlock program. (Contact DPS Office of 
Traffic Safety for more information.)  

Restricted Driver‟s License – The B-
Card  

Driver‘s licensing law allows DPS to impose 

restrictions on a person‘s license to ―assure safe 

operation.‖ Under DPS rules, a person whose driver‘s 

license has been cancelled and denied for a third or 

subsequent impaired driving violation and who has 

successfully completed treatment and rehabilitation 

may apply for a restricted driver‘s license, a B-Card, 

provided that the person signs a sworn statement to 

never again consume any alcohol (not even in a 

religious service, in medication, in any other manner 

or amount, irrespective of whether the act involves 

driving).  

Any violation of this ―no alcohol‖ restriction of the 

B-Card results in immediate cancellation of that 

driver‘s license (but is not a crime unless it involves 

operation of a motor vehicle).  A subsequent 

rehabilitation is required to regain the B-Card.  

Under DPS rules, the minimum period of time for 

establishing rehabilitation for which the person 

must prove total alcohol abstinence, is:   

 one year for the first rehabilitation,  

 three years for the second rehabilitation, and   

 six years for the third or subsequent rehabilitation.  

It is only following such rehabilitation that the 

offender whose driver‘s license has been cancelled 

may apply for a B-Card license.  The rehabilitation 

requirements following a B-Card violation are not 

mandated by statutes, but have been established 

administratively by DPS rules.
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Violation of the ―no alcohol‖ restriction of a B-Card 

while operating a motor vehicle is a gross 

misdemeanor.   

Record Keeping  

Records of implied consent license actions and 

DWI convictions must be retained permanently on 

the official driving record.  

The ―no alcohol‖ restriction of a person‘s B-Card 

also remains in effect and on the person‘s driving 

record permanently. A temporary law enacted in 

2005 allowed B-Card holders who had gone ten 

years without a repeat violation to request a 

duplicate driver‘s license without the ―No 

Alcohol‖ verbiage showing under ―Restrictions.‖  

However, that law expired July 31, 2006, and as a 

result, there currently is no procedure by which a 

B-Card holder can have the ―no alcohol‖ verbiage 

removed from the B-Card license.  

Driver‟s License Reinstatement Fees  

Before becoming relicensed to drive after the 

period of license withdrawal stemming from an 

implied consent violation or DWI conviction, a 

person must pass the license examination and re-

apply for a driver‘s license and pay the following 

fees:  

 $250 – driver‘s license (DL) reinstatement fee 

(basic fee)  

 $430 – surcharge on the DL reinstatement fee  

 $24 – DL application fee  

The $250 driver‘s license reinstatement fee and 

$430 surcharge apply to alcohol-related and CVO-

related license withdrawals only; the standard 

reinstatement fee of $30 applies following loss of 

license for other reasons.  

Effective July 1, 2009, certain persons who are 

eligible for a public defender may pay the 

reinstatement fee and surcharge in two 

installments.  A handling fee may be imposed for 

utilizing the installment plan.  The driver‘s 

license expires in two years unless the second 

installment is paid.  Full payment of the fee and 

surcharge is required before a person can renew a 

license on the standard schedule or reinstate a 

cancelled, revoked, or suspended license.  

First-time DWI Violator Using an Off-
road Recreational Vehicle or 
Motorboat   

A violator who has no qualified prior impaired 

driving incident is subject only to the criminal 

penalty (a misdemeanor) and the loss of operating 

privileges for that type of vehicle.  

The person is not subject to driver‘s license 

revocation, mandatory chemical dependency 

assessment and treatment, mandatory conditions of 

release, long-term monitoring, the penalty assessment 

fee, or license plate impoundment.  

Any person arrested for a DWI violation involving an 

off-road recreational vehicle or motorboat and who 

has a qualified prior impaired driving incident on 

record is subject to the same administrative sanctions 

and criminal penalties as the person would be if 
arrested while driving a regular motor vehicle.  

Commercial Vehicle Driving  

DWI law sets a lower per se alcohol concentration 

limit for driving commercial motor vehicles, .04 

instead of .08, and the implied consent law allows for 

a chemical test upon probable cause that the 

commercial vehicle driver has consumed any amount 

of alcohol.  

A person who violates the .04 standard while driving 

a commercial motor vehicle is subject to a period of 

disqualification (one year for the first violation and 

ten years for any subsequent violation) from 

commercial motor vehicle driving. The person would 

remain validly licensed to drive regular motor 

vehicles unless he or she also has violated regular 

DWI law by exceeding the .08 per se standard or by  
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driving while impaired or with any amount of certain 

controlled substances in the body, in which case the 

person would be subject to the full range of applicable 

penalties and sanctions of regular DWI law. In 

addition, a commercial motor vehicle driver who 

incurs license revocation or cancellation for an 

impaired driving violation in a personal passenger 

vehicle receives no special dispensations from the 

sanctions and penalties that apply to other drivers—

the person is prohibited from driving any type of 

vehicle until becoming validly relicensed to drive.  

School Bus Driving  

DWI law provides an even stricter standard of zero 

tolerance for school bus driving, by making it 

unlawful to drive a school bus when there is physical 

evidence in the person‘s body of the consumption of 

any amount of alcohol. In addition to criminal 

penalties, such a violation also triggers cancellation of 

the person‘s school bus driving endorsement and, 

upon conviction, disqualification of the person‘s 

commercial driving privileges.  However, as with 

other nonbus commercial vehicle DWI violations, the 

person would remain validly licensed to drive regular 

motor vehicles unless he or she also has violated the 

higher standards of regular DWI law.  

Flying Airplanes  

A special DWI law establishes a .04 per se standard 

for alcohol concentration while flying and also 

criminalizes test refusal. Violation is always a gross 

misdemeanor.  

It also is unlawful to fly within eight hours of any 

alcohol consumption—a zero-tolerance standard, 
but time limited.  Violation is a misdemeanor.   

Special Laws for Youth   

DWI laws apply equally to drivers of all ages.  DWI 

violations require either evidence of impaired driving 

or an alcohol concentration of .08 or higher, or the 

presence of certain illegal substances in the person‘s 

body, during or within two hours of the time of 

driving, operating, or being in control of a motor 

vehicle, broadly defined.  However, two additional 

alcohol-related laws apply to youth under age  

21.  

Drivers aged 16 and 17 years old who violate the 

DWI laws are under the jurisdiction of the adult court, 

not the juvenile court.  As such, they are subject to the 

full range of adult penalties and consequences.  

The drinking age law prohibits a person who is 

under the age of 21 from:  

 consuming alcohol without parental permission 

and supervision;  

 purchasing or attempting to purchase alcohol;  

 possessing alcohol with intent to consume;  

 entering a liquor store or bar for the purpose of 

purchasing or consuming alcohol; or  

 misrepresenting one‘s age for the purpose of 

purchasing alcohol.  

A violation of this statute is a misdemeanor and 

carries a mandatory minimum fine of $100.  

However, it does not result in suspension of the 

driver‘s license unless the person has used a driver‘s 

license, Minnesota ID card, or any type of false 

identification to purchase or attempt to purchase 

alcohol (90 days suspension).  

For purposes of these laws, a person does not attain 

the age of 21 until 8:00 a.m. on the day of the 

person‘s 21
st

 birthday.  

Underage Drinking Driving – Zero 
Tolerance  

Minnesota‘s DWI law provides misdemeanor 

penalties and driver‘s license suspension for any 

driver under age 21 who is convicted of driving a 

motor vehicle anywhere in the state while consuming 

alcohol or while there is physical evidence of such 

consumption present in the person‘s body.  (This law 

applies only to the driver and not to any passengers.)  

However, a violation of the zero-tolerance law for 

underage drinking and driving does not in 
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itself constitute a DWI/impaired driving  

violation, nor can it be used as an enhancing 

factor for any subsequent DWI violation.   

For more information about DWI, visit 

the criminal justice area of our web site,  

www.house.mn/hrd/issinfo/crime.htm  
 

http://www.house.mn/hrd/issinfo/crime.htm
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