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STATE’S CHILDREN AT RISK ON THE ROAD — 
ONLY HALF OF KIDS KILLED OR INJURED ARE PROPERLY RESTRAINED
[If there was a recent crash in which children were involved, reference in headline/subhead] 
[YOUR CITY] — Far too many Minnesota parents are not properly securing their children in car seats and not using booster seats when in a vehicle. Of the 30 children (ages 0–7) killed and 4,021 injured during the last five years in the state, only 53 percent of victims were properly secured.

[IF YOU ARE AWARE OF A CRASH INVOLVING A CHILD IN YOUR AREA, INSERT DETAILS HERE: In [YOUR AREA] in [YEAR] a [AGE]-year-old boy/girl was killed/injured on [ROAD] on [DATE].]

“Children are at greatest risk for harm when they are riding in a vehicle,” says [AGENCY SPOKESPERSON].  “Parents need to take the time to properly secure their child and have them in the correct restraint for their size and age.”
Minnesota Department of Public Safety crash facts reflect the success of child restraints. In Minnesota since 2006, more than 15,000 children ages 0–7 who were properly restrained and involved in traffic crashes, a majority — 86 percent — were not injured and 12 percent sustained only minor injuries.

Child Passenger Safety (CPS) Week is Sept. 18–24, and [YOUR AGENCY] is emphasizing the importance of correct child safety restraint and booster seat use to keep children safe while riding in a vehicle. In Minnesota, three out of four child restraints are used incorrectly — meaning children are riding in the wrong restraint or it is not properly secured. Booster seats — required by law in Minnesota — are the most frequently unused restraint.

During the safety week, [YOUR AGENCY/COALITION] will conduct a child passenger safety seat check clinic for parents on [DATE, TIME, LOCATION]. The clinic will serve as an opportunity for parents and caregivers to learn how to install a child safety seat, and check to see if their seats properly fit their children. For more information, visit/call [WEBSITE OR PHONE].

Booster Age Children (4–7) Fatal and Injury Crash Facts during 2006–2010 in Minnesota:

· Of nine killed, only two were properly restrained. 

· Of 2,200 injured, only 38 percent (838) were correctly restrained. 

· Only 48 percent of all 4–7 year olds involved in crashes were properly restrained in child seats or boosters. 
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In Minnesota, children must start riding in a booster seat once they have outgrown forward-facing seats, typically in the weight range of 40–60 pounds, depending on the seat’s limitations. Children must ride in a booster until they are age 8 or 4 feet 9 inches tall — whichever comes first. [YOUR AGENCY] recommends keeping a child in a booster seat based on their height rather than their age.  
Booster seats lift a child up so seat belts fits them properly. Poor seat belt fit can contribute to serious injury, ejection and death in traffic crashes. [AGENCY SPOKESPERSON] says a sign that a seat belt does not fit properly and a booster is still needed is if the child wraps the shoulder belt behind them or tucks it under their arm to avoid the belt rubbing against their neck.  Fines for not using booster seats vary, but average around $50 [OR INSERT LOCAL FEES/FINES]. 
 [AGENCY SPOKESPERSON] says a major problem with child passenger safety is that parents are unaware of the restraint steps a child should progress through as they age and grow: 
· Rear-facing infant seats 
· Forward-facing toddler seats 
· Booster seats

· Seat belts. 
[AGENCY SPOKESPERSON] encourages parents and caregivers to test their child seats to make sure they are properly installed. The most common child passenger safety mistakes are:
· Turning a child from a rear-facing restraint to a forward-facing restraint too soon.

· Restraint is not secured tight enough — it should not shift more than one inch side-to-side or out from the seat.
· Harness on the child is not tight enough — if you can pinch harness material, it’s too loose.

· Retainer clip is up too high or too low — should be at the child’s armpit level.

· The child is in the wrong restraint — don’t rush your child into a seat belt.

Parents and caregivers are encouraged to visit the state’s buckleupkids.mn.gov website for child passenger safety materials including the “Buckle Up Kids” and “Don’t Skip a Step” brochures that detail how to properly secure a child in a vehicle.
###

Editor’s Note: To schedule an interview with a CPS technician in your area or find upcoming CPS clinics, visit buckleupkids.mn.gov or call/email [AGENCY SPOKESPERSON].
